6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Nokia N900 V10 (Close to 200 owners), New CSSU Update 07/09/2011

V429
post Jun 16 2011, 12:00 AM

1,009 posts

Thank you to both Super_Evil_Alien and Mashimarow,
apt-get update does the trick and apt-get install does the rest.

Anyhow.. really got nobody with any experience with the 2400mah mugen battery? ohmy.gif

V429
post Jun 16 2011, 12:49 AM

1,009 posts

Mashimarow,

You do have a point.. but, quite curious how much longer the N900 can last with a 2400mah battery. I've read comments on the web, doesnt appear to have much negative reviews about the mugen battery.

I remember reading here on the forums that the N900 can last for around 3-4 days! (from Super_Evil_Alien maybe? I forgot) May I ask how you guys managed to get your N900 to last THAT long!? O_O

Mine can only last 1 day... sad.gif
V429
post Jun 16 2011, 11:45 PM

1,009 posts

Guys, smile.gif

Just updated the N900 with the CSSU.
Things look quite nice in Portrait mode. rclxms.gif

but for now dont dare try to force-rotate all apps..
May I ask what will happen if i force-rotate all apps?
I mean even those unusable in portrait mode? will they crash?
or will they just.. rotate and become unusable in real-life? hmm.gif
V429
post Jun 16 2011, 11:54 PM

1,009 posts

As far as I can see,
Default Camera app has been rewritten,
Task switcher can be modified
application menu can be rotated
Apps can force rotate (although I havent try yet)

These are the ones I am aware of for now.
Note : I also installed CSSU Features configuration app, so no need to go to edit the system file manually.

I hope this answers your question, Bushido. smile.gif
V429
post Jun 20 2011, 12:30 AM

1,009 posts

Guys!
I finally have NITDroid up and running along with the Kernel-Power bootable now!

I think the reason it works now is coz I previously reflashed my N900.
Which leads me to think last time there were some conflicting packages with those kernel-power packages...

Hmm...
V429
post Jun 22 2011, 02:16 AM

1,009 posts

Guys,
an interesting theory on why Elop ditched Maemo / Meego..
http://www.mobile-review.com/articles/2011...ki-124-en.shtml
(article near bottom of page)

Quite believable..
V429
post Jun 29 2011, 02:43 PM

1,009 posts

I agree very much that N900 is not dead yet, but sounds like a lot of people is jumping ship.. sad.gif
V429
post Jun 29 2011, 03:47 PM

1,009 posts

Yeah, Jumping ship is normal.. Guess we'll still stick with our N900. smile.gif
One thing I'd agree with very very much is that N900 is still top when it comes to customization!

Read a bit about this programming stuff, I think we start writing with the very basic which is C++, C, or python, and then compiler is offered by Maemo community or Nokia developer site.. and... somehow port them over to N900.. right? Hmm... do correct me if i am wrong.

This post has been edited by V429: Jun 29 2011, 03:53 PM
V429
post Jul 9 2011, 11:47 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(vaizard @ Jul 9 2011, 11:38 PM)
sifus...
how to check we are using power kernel v47?
I think you can check with Conky, top right side should show.

Added on July 9, 2011, 11:53 pmby the way guys,

i noticed when I have application manager running checking or updating the packages,
that the N900 slows down to a crawl.. and i am just running app manager and a single browser.
my N900 is oc'ed to 900mhz, so this shouldnt be a problem?

is this normal? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by V429: Jul 9 2011, 11:53 PM
V429
post Jul 10 2011, 12:05 AM

1,009 posts

yeah, using FAPman.
but the lagginess is.. severe.
the speed returns to normal after the update.

so.. this isnt normal?
V429
post Jul 10 2011, 12:30 AM

1,009 posts

will do so.
hope that'll solve the problem
Thanks smile.gif
V429
post Jul 10 2011, 11:12 AM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jul 10 2011, 01:39 AM)
Yes, App Manager will consume a lot of resources. Another reason is due to low amount of RAM on N900. OC doesn't really help, because the problem is the memory, and if you run other things that consume memory, it'll get worst; If you N900 has been using for days without restarting, the might have memory leak or some process hogging the memory, etc. which will just make it worst

Normally, when I use App Manager, I don't use run other app or browser, let it finish its thing. After update everything, restart the device for a fresh start. After you update, even you close the App Manager, you device may not perform well as the resources doesn't seem to be released "properly".
understood. Thanks for the advice smile.gif

Added on July 10, 2011, 11:19 amguys,
I recently just stumbled upon a post in maemo talk forum,
they made a homemade 3000mah battery!!!
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=65568

cheaper and last longer than even a 2400mah mugen battery.
quite crazy but apparently it works for them and so far so good..

for the N900 is to be able to last for days even under moderate or heavy usage..
quite tempting.... haha..

This post has been edited by V429: Jul 10 2011, 11:19 AM
V429
post Jul 13 2011, 11:29 PM

1,009 posts

Vaizard - Try apt-get update?

muaz5955 - I also wish they sell it.. but they actually DIY it... must have soldering skills to do this sad.gif
V429
post Jul 16 2011, 03:46 AM

1,009 posts

I successfully installed the Potrait desktop deb file..
But it doesnt rotate the homescreen or anything.. rats..
V429
post Jul 17 2011, 04:03 AM

1,009 posts

SEA - I did both, (reboot & also terminal: killall hildon-desktop) still the same.

Dark_Angel85 - you mean enable Force rotation with the CSSU feature configurator? did that, everything rotates except the desktop.

rats. A reflash is needed? o_O
V429
post Jul 17 2011, 04:05 PM

1,009 posts

yup, just done that and it works!

Thanks guys! smile.gif
V429
post Jul 18 2011, 10:54 PM

1,009 posts

Hello,
perhaps you can follow the instructions here to install CSSU first
http://wiki.maemo.org/Community_SSU
V429
post Jul 26 2011, 04:55 AM

1,009 posts

guys, i need your help..

I've just re-flash both my N900's OS and eMMC.
Now for some reason I cant overclock my N900!

I've install both Kernel-power v47 and rootsh.

When i enter xterminal, I typed :
sudo gainroot
kernel-config show
OR
kernel-config load ideal
OR
kernel-config load myprofile

it results in :
/bin/sh: kernel-config: not found

Does anybody know what's wrong??? sad.gif

Added on July 26, 2011, 5:26 amProblem solved!
After digging in the Maemo forums, turns out I forgot to install kernel-power settings, thus unable to configure the settings. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by V429: Jul 26 2011, 05:26 AM
V429
post Jul 27 2011, 12:42 AM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Jul 26 2011, 10:11 AM)
Not that I know of. Asphalt 5 got lah. If got, I want too.
I'm letting go of my N900. Come offer me price. smile.gif

And other Nokia devices as well, Nokia N97, Nokia E90, Nokia X6 32GB

Offer me price. nod.gif  nod.gif
Sad... sad.gif
V429
post Aug 3 2011, 01:40 AM

1,009 posts

Agreed. smile.gif
I wouldnt know what'll happen to me and my N900 without you guys giving us advice.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0467sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:40 AM