4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Nokia N900 V10 (Close to 200 owners), New CSSU Update 07/09/2011

FlameReaper
post Oct 3 2011, 10:06 AM

I lari portable on my dude
560 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Oct 3 2011, 08:57 AM)
Hahaha...  don't kipas the flame of SEA selling his N900.  Hahaha

How much are you buying the second N900?
no idea lol. just saying. but if anything i'd find those below rm 700. to be exact, below 680 since i got mine for that much.
FlameReaper
post Oct 3 2011, 08:22 PM

560 posts

Fiddling around with N9 at Nokia pavilion. Doesn't feel too bad. Though I'll still miss the qwerty keyboard...

Btw anyone here today? Looks like I met a fellow N900 owner laugh.gif
FlameReaper
post Oct 3 2011, 08:44 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(V429 @ Oct 3 2011, 07:27 PM)
Who did you met?
dunno lol. that's why I'm asking. who knows if we met somehow tongue.gif
FlameReaper
post Oct 3 2011, 09:40 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Oct 3 2011, 08:24 PM)
Offer me low2 price lah... biggrin.gif

Anyone tried out the 720p video playing patch?
Dunno lol. All I did was OC my DSP to 600MHz, since they say its required to play 720p, dunno if it applies to the post-dsp addition or without it. But media player just refuse to play, say codec not supported sad.gif

V249: I have 2 friends using the N900, in fact I kena cucuk into buying mine by the lol. But one of them is from penang though D:

This post has been edited by FlameReaper: Oct 3 2011, 09:42 PM
FlameReaper
post Oct 14 2011, 02:31 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 13 2011, 09:33 AM)
yup! I tried the HTC Desire Z .......... comes with keyboard but it's so spaced, so different from N900. smile.gif

Nothing beats N900 so far.
I use Joikuspot.

However the WiFi by N900, it's not detected by my Android tablet. sad.gif All other devices (eg iPad, & notebooks) can see if just fine.
No necessarily need for Joikuspot IMO, though I haven't been able to testify how good that is. I have here two apps that can do the same thing (and even use USB tethering), look for the keywords "Mobile Hotspot" in the repository.

One of them I'm using, called Qt Mobile Hotspot, gives you a set of drivers you can use to initialize N900's USB host mode LAN on Windows. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(nemoegg @ Oct 14 2011, 02:05 AM)
is that possible that n900 apps able to install into n9 ??
Uh, I don't see why not, just most N900 apps are optimized for N900 use (especially with physical keyboard integration and resistive touchscreen input etc), so there's high chances that the app must be reoptimized for N9 use.

This post has been edited by FlameReaper: Oct 14 2011, 02:32 PM
FlameReaper
post Oct 15 2011, 08:15 PM

560 posts

I'm running on 950MHz max on mine. 1000 above out of reach. 1100, 1150 straight away reboot. sad.gif
FlameReaper
post Oct 16 2011, 08:22 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(vaizard @ Oct 15 2011, 11:27 PM)
bro..i try search the 'mobile hotspot'that u talking about..but its say it required custom kernel..r u on custom kernel..?if im using stok linux omap..can i still using it?tq...
Unfortunately, though, nope. I am on custom kernel by the way.
FlameReaper
post Oct 18 2011, 09:56 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(mashimarow @ Oct 18 2011, 08:20 AM)
last week my gf saw one at JB Today Mall, ap set 1200
Still got? I thought brand new N900 wiped out from Malaysian market already. shocking.gif
FlameReaper
post Nov 8 2011, 06:58 AM

560 posts

Well, post the log here lol, from there we might know something.
FlameReaper
post Nov 13 2011, 08:09 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(mashimarow @ Nov 12 2011, 12:55 PM)
that guy con you, N900 never support chinese input natively, you need to download a program to key in chinese/japanese language.

as far as I know, there are 3 ways to key in chinese/japanese, you can search around http://www.wda.cn/forum.php for chinese input.

p.s. same for MMS, N900 never support it also, you need fMMS install
Yep. The best way is to use the SCIM stack adapted for Maemo. I can't remember but there are at least three different adaptations of it. I'm using the maemocjk set to input in JP.

But once you install it (for mine anyway), you'll lose your virtual keyboard as it'll be replaced with the input box for CJK, and you'll have to type in it using the physical keyboard

This post has been edited by FlameReaper: Nov 13 2011, 08:10 AM
FlameReaper
post Nov 17 2011, 04:38 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(mashimarow @ Nov 13 2011, 03:55 PM)
I use Emacs, my virtual keyboard is intact, only a bit troublesome to input, but it's worth it rolleyes.gif
But impractical if you have some Japanese people in your contacts, and I need to type almost as fast as they can do while still looking up the dictionary (still learning the language - thanks to Gjiten I can).

... Well, it's not like I really favor typing on the VKB all the time, it's only at times I feel so lazy to flip out the physical keyboard. Especially when I'm using the phone on portrait mode...
FlameReaper
post Nov 26 2011, 08:40 AM

560 posts

'Kay. Though I should say something just to show I'm still alive... I mean, my N900.

Recently updated to the latest FW release (21.2011.38-1), also not to mention I'm using Kernel-Power v49 and CSSU.

Everything updated smoothly, and I can see some little improvements. E.G. Firefox not lagging anymore (at least not very heavily). rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by FlameReaper: Nov 26 2011, 08:41 AM
FlameReaper
post Dec 7 2011, 10:43 PM

560 posts

Nokia BH-503 headset. Works fine. Plantech also works, can't remember what model was it.

Seems that bluetooth headset remembers the last device(s) it last connected to and will automatically connect to it the next time both of these are near and are turned on at the same time.
FlameReaper
post Dec 28 2011, 02:47 AM

560 posts

For those using the CSSU, the separate wallpaper settings for portrait/landscape mode has been fixed, I'm using it now. Although I'm too lazy to upload screenshots of them all now hahahaha.
FlameReaper
post Dec 30 2011, 05:06 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(V429 @ Dec 28 2011, 09:07 PM)
Thanks for informing FlameReaper!
There are quite a few quirks with it:

1. Update to LATEST CSSU (stable/testing)
2. Enable the separate wallpaper for portrait mode desktop with this (don't need to be root):
3. Read this: http://forums.internettablettalk.com/showp...1&postcount=620
4. Set the separate wallpaper manually as in entering desktop edit mode when the desktop is currently rotated to portrait mode.

My first homescreen landscape and portrait mode.

This post has been edited by FlameReaper: Dec 30 2011, 05:17 PM
FlameReaper
post Jan 8 2012, 06:53 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(mashimarow @ Jan 8 2012, 06:52 AM)
plug in usb and copy everything to your pc then hmm.gif

use nokia suite to backup all system file
Nokia suite can only back up our personal files, contacts etc on it I think. System AFAIK nope.
FlameReaper
post Jan 9 2012, 10:39 PM

560 posts

alphaz: Last I checked, you probably need to fork out RM40ish because AFAIK there's no phone accessory seller I know of that sells a rubber case for the N900... worse case is that you might need to order it overseas (hence the RM40 thing ;( )

This post has been edited by FlameReaper: Jan 9 2012, 10:40 PM
FlameReaper
post Jan 25 2012, 12:53 AM

560 posts

Hmm, I just realized it, the current CSSU seems to be the smoothest N900 experience I've ever had so far. Even now I can't stop tapping the screen and browsing from screen to screen just to feel the smoothness... I had 6 homescreens LOL.
FlameReaper
post Jan 27 2012, 08:03 PM

560 posts

All right, I forgot to tell you guys that someone over at talk.maemo.org has finally made 720p playback (and recording) possible on our beloved N900!

Here

Although, smoothness is another factor. But then again this solved another problem I had with... um, 480p MKVs encoded in H.264 profiles higher than Baseline (which, IIRC, the N900 can play without any problem).

Disclaimer: attempt this at your own risk. whistling.gif
FlameReaper
post Feb 4 2012, 10:30 PM

560 posts

Nothing much, just my homescreen out of six showing the media widgets.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0401sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:00 AM