29,767 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Mar 6 2011, 04:27 PM)
Hehe..

I m always on d lookout for a bargain..
Pity I m not tat keen on docus..

Stil hv Life bd ..sumwhere blush.gif
D
I love documentary as some is perfectly nice shoot and beyond on what you ever seen. smile.gif

Still have Life BD somewhere? wow! Haha! in the locker room? tongue.gif
TSAndrewtst
post Mar 6 2011, 04:32 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,767 posts

Alien Anthology Frence Edition BD - Review

Finally complete watching the Alien Anthology, all episode I watch is base on Director/Special Edition. Overall it tell the better story especially the Alien 3 which far less connection if you watch the theatrical edition.

I understand most people may prefer the theatrical edition especially the 1st Alien, I watch it before all theatrical version, so I prefer choose the special edition in overall.

I am not going to touch the story part which I believe everyone knowing about it. If you never watch Alien before, is better catch by your own.

Packaging
The current version i review is base on French Limited Egg Edition which include 6 BD + 4 DVD. The 6 BD is same as any version release anywhere, the extra 4 DVD is basically the same copy as year 2003 release DVD - the movie itself only and it was not taken from current BD transfer.

The BD & DVD print is in Frence but inside everything is same as others, menu on English.

Alien
This is the year 1979 production, for that decade, it is somehow in perfection as such standard. One of the Epic Alien film.

Picture Quality
5 star. The most perfect among the rest, it was shockingly how well transfer where it was shoot on year 1979.

Audio Quality
4 star. For that decade, nothing much you can request on it.

Aliens
This is by far my most favour Alien Episode, it was well done and the most enjoyable ever. Release on year 1986.

Picture Quality
4.5 star. Still great transfer, 2nd best after 1st Alien.

Audio Quality
5 star. Perfection.

Alien 3
A lot viewer dislike this episode from what I gather from internet, for me it ain't that bad and the special edition at least far better joining the overall Alien story.

Picture Quality
3.5 star, the transfer is just ok, you will notice certain soften issue and the most I dislike is the fake look of the CGI Alien at the ending part (I know this is not to do with it Picture Quality), it was too CGI, but it was did on year 1992 which CGI isn't mature yet.

Audio Quality
5 star. As great as 2nd episode.

Alien Resurrection
This is the 4th episode of Alien, after this all is Alien v/s Predator show, and I do hope this be the last, the story is the weakness anyway. Not important you watching it or not. Alien creation wise is the best among the rest, thanks for the more mature CGI.

Picture Quality
3 star, the transfer is awful, bad color render, edge enhancement issue everywhere. Terrible transfer, hardly believe this is the latest shoot taken on year 1997.

Audio Quality
5 star. As usual great transfer.

Extra Features
They is in total 2 BD full of extra, I believe it is far than enough for fans. I haven't watch either, just preview, it take times for digest it.

Overall, this a great collection for any Alien Fans, nor-matter what edition you choose for. Highly recommended.

wiNd
post Mar 6 2011, 04:43 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 6 2011, 04:32 PM)

bravo! biggrin.gif

Alien 1,2,3,4...all great and entertaining to me smile.gif

just finished Alien special features...still long way to go tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wiNd: Mar 6 2011, 04:44 PM
dirtrun
post Mar 6 2011, 04:43 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 6 2011, 04:31 PM)
I love documentary as some is perfectly nice shoot and beyond on what you ever seen. smile.gif

Still have Life BD somewhere? wow! Haha! in the locker room? tongue.gif
I guess..

Its d lack of time for de usually expansive story telling tat d episodes entail..
Dont really dislike it per se.

To me if its jus to kill time .. prefer an easy listening music bd or sumtin like tat..

I bot de life cos it was cheap.. tinking maybe I ll find d free time to view it..

Unfortunately.. I m still looking..
D
toratorabluray
post Mar 6 2011, 05:03 PM

314 posts

Posting a bit early as will be busy on weekdays

New BD titles 08th March 2011 (To Rent)

Social Network, The
Town (Extended Cut), The
Despicable Me (Animation)
Takers
Zombieland
Dances With Wolves (20th Anniversay Edition)
Sunshine
Role Models (Unrated)
Number 23, The
Strangers, The (Unrated)
Eyes Wide Shut
Ronin
Signs
Jackal, The
King Of New York
Pink Panther 1, The
Pink Panther 2, The
Superbad (Unrated Extended Special Edition)
Deja Vu
Jennifer's Body
Dual_shock3
post Mar 6 2011, 05:13 PM

68 posts

i just pre-oder a tron legacy 3D movie from amazon.But how can there was no error since my money in my visa debit card is only left about RM8.The question is can i use Maybank Visa debit card.second how would i know when they will debit my account.
dirtrun
post Mar 6 2011, 05:38 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(Dual_shock3 @ Mar 6 2011, 05:13 PM)
i just pre-oder a tron legacy 3D movie from amazon.But how can there was no error since my money in my visa debit card is only left about RM8.The question is can i use Maybank Visa debit card.second how would i know when they will debit my account.
Dont knw abt debit card..

But if it Crdt cart then they will only bill u once they are abt to shp..

So meantime, u wait
D
hye
post Mar 6 2011, 06:05 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Dual_shock3 @ Mar 6 2011, 05:13 PM)
Pre-Order ... the system will only test your card and see whether it is usable or not.
It does not test by charging the fully amount. Make sure you have ample amount before the pre-order date and the item will only be shipped if your card is successfully charged to the full amount.
TSAndrewtst
post Mar 6 2011, 06:24 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,767 posts

QUOTE(wiNd @ Mar 6 2011, 04:43 PM)
bravo! biggrin.gif

Alien 1,2,3,4...all great and entertaining to me smile.gif

just finished Alien special features...still long way to go tongue.gif
Me watching the disc 5 extra now, just finish Alien part. Now continue Aliens part. Great extra which letting you know what ever happen during production.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Mar 6 2011, 06:26 PM
Dual_shock3
post Mar 6 2011, 06:40 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 6 2011, 06:05 PM)
Pre-Order ... the system will only test your card and see whether it is usable or not.
It does not test by charging the fully amount. Make sure you have ample amount before the pre-order date and the item will only be shipped if your card is successfully charged to the full amount.
if the payment is not successful,will amazon will email me about the failure?
anfieldude
post Mar 6 2011, 06:44 PM

3,858 posts

Bolt BD Review

Movie:
Kids movie, nothing great. My kids enjoyed it pretty much, but I doubt it would get too much repeated airtime like some of the other Disney/Pixar discs. Nice twist to the superhero story. It was predictable but hey its a disney show what do u expect. John Travolta was decent, the other voice casting was ok. Movie was fast paced, kept the 8yr happier than the 5yr old. I would rate it a 4/5 for a kids movie

PQ :
Really nothing I could find fault with at all. No signs of banding and other artefacts. Hard to give this one anything other than 5/5

AQ:
The 1st 20mins of the film that has all the action scenes has some very very good LFE, period! I heard this portion before when I had the Ikon and the F15s, but now with the dual F15s there is just so much LFE all round. The DTS Master ES track is very good. Surrounds are very active and panning is great. Oh did I mention the LFE...its really loud and deep! I shudder to think if it was to go on all the way! The final scene also has its fair amount of LFE. I really can't give it anything other than a 5/5 for the AQ.

Decent flick, kids will dig it. Not up there with the Pixar movies, but its good enuf.
Boy96
post Mar 6 2011, 06:57 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

should I get Bolt 3D ?
samuraiiii79
post Mar 7 2011, 09:27 AM

134 posts

[quote=Andrewtst,Mar 6 2011, 04:32 PM]

Piangggzzzzzz!!!!!

Salute you !all 4 movies in one day?!

And By the way!!!! damn nice the whole set! rclxms.gif
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Mar 7 2011, 10:30 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Mar 6 2011, 06:57 PM)
should I get Bolt 3D ?
If the price is right.. blush.gif
Jenn77
post Mar 7 2011, 10:44 AM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(Dual_shock3 @ Mar 6 2011, 06:40 PM)
if the payment is not successful,will amazon will email me about the failure?
YEs, of course.
TSAndrewtst
post Mar 7 2011, 12:50 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,767 posts

[quote=samuraiiii79,Mar 7 2011, 09:27 AM]

Piangggzzzzzz!!!!!

Salute you !all 4 movies in one day?!

And By the way!!!! damn nice the whole set! rclxms.gif

[/quote]
No lah, I finish in 2 days. hehe... one day will faint.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Mar 7 2011, 12:50 PM
maskedchan
post Mar 7 2011, 03:10 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 7 2011, 12:50 PM)
No lah, I finish in 2 days. hehe... one day will faint.
why will faint?
i remember last time i did before movies marathon on LOTR trilogy and also starwars 1-6 in one day laugh.gif
TSAndrewtst
post Mar 7 2011, 03:40 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,767 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Mar 7 2011, 03:10 PM)
why will faint?
i remember last time i did before movies marathon on LOTR trilogy and also starwars 1-6 in one day  laugh.gif
Actually I start watching at Sat night around 9PM, after 3rd episode of Alien, cannot tahan liao, or else later became alien tongue.gif

Last episode I watch at Sunday afternoon. Then I continue the extra after the review post, I nearly complete for Disc 5, Disc 6 not touching yet.

-------------------------------

If I start from morning, I actually can finish in one short. Example the Spartacus: Blood & Sand - I complete in a day. haha.
galantorian7116
post Mar 7 2011, 04:03 PM

304 posts

The Last Emperor (The Criterion Collection) and Baraka

Got these just now ! So excited now !

Andrew, have you received your copy yet ? I think we bought Baraka on the same day - 15/2/2011 .

This post has been edited by galantorian7116: Mar 7 2011, 04:10 PM
TSAndrewtst
post Mar 7 2011, 04:18 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,767 posts

QUOTE(galantorian7116 @ Mar 7 2011, 04:03 PM)
The Last Emperor (The Criterion Collection) and Baraka

Got these just now ! So excited now !
Andrew, have you received your copy yet ? I think we bought Baraka on the same day - 15/2/2011 .
I get on 4th March lo, I even ask you did you get it, maybe you didn't notice it. hehe..

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1733959/+1000

and my review here - http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1733959/+1020

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Mar 7 2011, 04:19 PM

116 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0197sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:58 AM