If my TAB still original ROM, can I change to EXT4 directly?
YES. You need to unsign bootloader first using Chainfire patch first, Just download the app , launch it - it will check your firmware and just select patch it - very fast few seconds will do it
This post has been edited by benny888: Feb 23 2011, 08:20 PM
Use Odin 1.7 to flash it. Since I was last on ext4 FS, I have to reflash back to RFS fs first ( I flash JMI ) and the recommended modem from JK5. Recommended must use Heimdall to flash but I use Odin 1.7 instead. The whole process just took 3 minutes.
The final specs : Android ver 2.3.2 Baseband : P1000XXJK5 Build number : GRH78C Mod version : CyanogenMod-7-BETA0
Immediate impressions : Fast, extremely fast. Modaco R1 n Overcome 1.1.3 on EXT4 loses out in most areas.. Cyanogen is well known for his slick, smooth , speedy roms and is indeed proven even though is still in beta. So far all the important things work - WiFi, GPS, 3G except Camera. I do however miss the original full featured pulldown notification screen. THe one on this rom is more basic. I replace it with Quick Settings which has more and a better graphical display. Will be installing more apps to test out. Reported still minor bugs by users - will assess it
Anyone using this rom, please share your experience too
This post has been edited by benny888: Feb 24 2011, 02:21 AM
Hi Benny, good try of this ROM. I may try this after read from your result. Most of the time, i'm not dare to flash beta or unstable ROM avoid big issue might occure. BTW, i quite satisfy my surrent TAB with: Overcome 1.1.3 + richardtrip Kernel V15 with Voodoo Sound
This is experimental rom. Not for user who depends on tab daily as it is not a full working version yet. Not recommended yet if you need to do all your stuffs on it
YES definitely. klwong99 is using the same kernel . Make sure you do a nandroid backup from recovery first in case you don't like it - you can just use recovery to restore back to the last default status
i've installed. when run it says waiting for drop & nothing else happens. what did i do wrong?
First did you see the youtube video tutorial ?? What browser are you using - make sure is compatible with HTML5 : safari, Firefox or Chrome
The set-up process is easy. Visit http://labs.dashwire.com on a desktop and enter the displayed code on your phone. Then simply drag-and-drop files into the box. Awesome Drop will then download the files automatically. Again, maybe not the best solution for transferring whole albums, though it is possible, but it’s perfect for quick transfers.
You can refer to this tutorial here very well written and simple.
Added on February 24, 2011, 11:03 amJust an update to my test on CyanogenMOd Gingerbread CM7 beta :
Unlike the default Samsung system, the SD cards are mounted differently . In any file explorer or MyFiles I noted the internal SD card and external cards are mounted separately as :
- internal sdcard is mounted as /mnt/emmc (embedded mmc) - external is mounted in normal /mnt/sdcard
Apparently this is Gingerbread feature - as such one of my apps ( Newsroom ) was unable to detect the external card for backup and restore. Noted quite few other apps ( eg browser bookmarks backup, SMS backup, notes backup etc ) now backup data directly to ext card instead of internal card. In a way this is good so if one ever flash new rom no need to worry about internal SD card being wipeout
All video players ( default, Mplayer, Rockplayer, VPlayer ) cannot work - hear sound , no image
Tab cannot be charged switched off. If I charge it when it is off - it will auto reboot into ON position
Overall the performance of this rom is very good. I look forward to the camera n video being solved hopefully within the next week
So now time to go back to my Modaco R1
This post has been edited by benny888: Feb 24 2011, 11:03 AM
Somebody wrote on the xda thread that camera360 can work.Is it true? What about bluetooth? It has been a while since the rom went public.what concerns me is lack of progress.There hasn't been a single update.Looks like the OP is stuck. Rgds.
The rom is being updated regularly 6 updates since 28 Jan. His last update was 17 Feb. His rom name remain unchange at CM7 beta , so quite misleading
thanx benny. yeah i saw the video. understand it now.
actually i am more interested to be able to see the files on another pc & manage them from the tab. that isn't possible?
Wow you must be a high tech guy wishing to do this way: Google for these - need to use FTP. Sorry I can only write briefly here
TAB : Install SwiFTP FTP server download from market - need WIFI to work. Launch app and just follow to set it PC : Install FTP client if you do not have - try FileZilla opensource client. Launch it and connect to server listed in the TAB
If you done successfully please update here so I can update FAQ
Added on February 24, 2011, 12:27 pm
QUOTE(MAAG @ Feb 24 2011, 12:05 PM)
MKV video file can play on Tab?
Sure ! Use RockPlayer but be aware of FAT32 file size limitation only up to 4GB
This post has been edited by benny888: Feb 24 2011, 12:27 PM
i'm not that techie of a guy . just wish to stream music & videos from pc to tab. can't get it to work yet. i donno what is the host name. there is username & password but what is host name?
btw, should it be PC- server and TAB - client, since i want to access files on the pc, not the other way round? really newb on this
On the TAb , key in your user and a password ( up to you ) - the rest just leave it blank or default After you have key in this, you will see another screen - READ the 2nd tab ( Instructions ) . There is a website - go there and ask for help if you still have issue. Actually it is straightforward setup I don't see any HOST ?? in the app. Did you dl the right app ?
For PC side - you can use any FTP client ; FTP works both ways. If you are not familiar with FTP, google and do some reading up before you start
Actually why would you want to stream - so leceh and is slow ??? Why don't you just copy it directly to the ext SD card using a cardreader or just connect TAB to PC using usb cable ( select mass storage ) and just copy the files over
My tab refuses to charge. Got error message 'battery temperature is too high/too low'. I suspect this is due to the 1.4Ghz kernel. Helppppp
Using nandroid backup, up reload back the pre-overclock version and its charge normally. Really a suspense process watching the restore process since the battery only got 3% left....
Yes, some users reported this problem. Seems you can control this by changing the voltage - I don't know how to do this. Anyone can advise ??
For me it is a case of very slow charging. Anyway I have taken off this OC kernel as really uncomfortable seeing the battery temperature hovering at 35 to 40 while in use when I am so used to 28 to 35 max
1- already done rooting via superoneclick 2- already patch to unsigned bootloader
now i am waiting my microsd to arrive so that i can convert to ext4+cwm.
anyway to use nandroid backup before converting to ext4?
Since rooted, just use Titanium Backup. Nandroid backup only if :
1. Change rom to , say JMI , flash Chainfire CFRoot recovery - you now have recovery installed - can do nandroid and restore . Restore back apps/data from TB Personally I do not like restore from TB as someties it creates some instability and force closures. When I flash new rom. I prefer to reinstall apps back manually and only use TB to restore back some data eg mail accounts, SMS. With this method you now create another working rom with all your data which is very good
2. Change kernel to R3 and convert to EXT4 : Your data intact and recovery installed Flash any EXT4 rom, eg Overcome or Modaco R! - you lose all your data
So you figure out yourself what you wish to do and to what lengths you wish to change
I use overcome V1.1.3 plus 1.4ghz oc v15.. undervolted like this: 1400Mhz: 1450 - 100 = 1350mV 1200: - 100 1000: - 150 800: - 150 600: - 100 400: - 100 200: no changes 100: no changes
Battery temperature while idle 30deg celc.. on charging 40 deg celc.. battery life is very good.. just a bit, around 5% faster drainage comparing to modaco ext kernel.. Plus oc kernel have voodoo sound FTW..
then after i flash to overcome ext4 rom, can i restore back the data (old rfs file) to the new ext4 rom?
or
what they meant the 'restore' is to restore back the whole original stock rom?
When you do the kernel and ext4 change a backup of your data based on rfs is kept in ext sdcard. If you select to restore this file you get back your original rom n data n revert back to rfs. This backup meant ad a rescue file incsse anything goes wrong or you wish to go back to rfs
how do i update firmware officially? dun wan third party ones. can't find the function in kies 2.0
Where did you buy your set? if compatible with your region telco when you connect it will auto prompt you to upgrade if any available
Why not try say rotohammer it is very much better than stock rom. Samsung apps acesss is even more you will not regret. Infact you will be asking why never get it done earlier
You can check www.samfirmware.com for latest official versions for your regionyou can download snd flash this yourself. Samsung takes very long to allow update firmware thro kies dunno why?
This is not new and being announce will be available at least 3 months ago i seriously doubt it will ever get into production micmicking the ipad cck which ends up a failure. I regretted getting it for my ipad. Even the new tab samsung did not provide another usb for flash drive possibly similar to apple to make it inconvenient for users to share files. And working with google the push is towards cloud services and uses of such traditional file transfers i believe will be much reduced
Added on February 25, 2011, 9:17 am
QUOTE(sphiroth @ Feb 25 2011, 09:08 AM)
Still failed on using the OC kernel. Reading the developer thread at the xda I notice this part:
finally joined the games of flashing firmware / kernel...
my own testing and finding (after many times trial and error): Issues encounterd for each version: * Paul version - Stock browser has rotation issue. Auto rotate and become upside down.
* modoca ext4 latest version (p1000-mck-r3-ext4-cwm.tar) - Bluetooth headset pairing issue. Paired but fails to connect. I'm using iTech D-Clip Radio.
* OC v15 (GalaxyTab_1400_MCR_ext_V15.zip) - Bluetooth headset pairing issue. Paired but fails to connect. I'm using iTech D-Clip Radio.
* Roto version - Roto-JME-Full-v4 and Roto-JMI-Full-v2, Bluetooth headset pairing working fine.
Now flashed with Roto JMI version and officially start using today.
Just curious based on your nick, are you the same peterscm from the early days of klang valley user group? If so we have met before if i recall at least 3 times during those meetups at pj. Those days we were crazy over palm and the early pocket pcs
Hi all, I'm not yet a SGT user, but plan to be part of the family very soon. I'm now using HTC Desire btw..
This morning I was in a demo session organized by my dept that was tasked to decide between iPad & SGT for our top management. I guess being an Android user, for me it was really no contest. But one interesting thing the Samsung rep told us that.. & he had one set with him this morning for the demo, Samsung will release a Wifi only version of SGT in the middle of March.. the cost will be around RM1600... I plan to get that one la...
If this is old news then I'm sorry.
I have used both ipad and galaxy tab. Seriously for management purpose the ideal choice is the TAB. I been in top maangement for past 15 years and I do know what management should do with a tablet and what are the requirements. I am sure your managers do not wish to lug around a heavy tablet unless they plan to play games while in transit at airport or during board meeting !!! LOL! For ipad be prepare spend another US$17 for quickoffice or docs to go or US$30 for the iwork package as ipad do not supplied office suite software
This post has been edited by benny888: Feb 25 2011, 07:48 PM
Seems like my battery temperature always stated 30degC, even after I flashed back the pre-OC rom/kernel. I afraid that all those OC kernel flashing has somehow damaged the sensor, thus got fixed values always. How to check/solve this?
I think your sensor file is corrupted - why don't you try to replace it . Us the one provided by richardtrip in his kernel thread - post #1 : he has a link Use root explorer , browse to : system/lib/hw. Select RW mode at the top small dialogue box. Copy a backup of the file first before you overwrite it. It is a standard default sensor file in all android phones
This post has been edited by benny888: Feb 26 2011, 01:32 AM
Checked the file already, its dated the same with others, meaning its the old/original one right?
There is absolutely NO harm to replace it
Added on February 26, 2011, 9:54 am
QUOTE(klwong99 @ Feb 26 2011, 08:33 AM)
After the long waiting, finally, Overcome v1.2.0 has arrived, the Overcome Kernel included. Must give a try on this. BTW, after try several times on richardtrip's v15 kernel and found it during TAB charging, screen won't turn to blank although long waiting. This was make it charging time take longer time. But after turn the screen off manually, the charging time back to normal.
Immediately noticed that there is a builtin option to overclock the kernel. Can select OC speeds up to 1200 or 1400 Mhz I upgraded it using recovery on top of a previously backup version 1.1.3
Noted another point : his rom now also allows one those with default RFS FS converted to EXT4 FS format at same time.
This post has been edited by benny888: Feb 26 2011, 10:10 AM