8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Asus G-Series Notebooks Thread V3, G74's Pics at Post #483 :)

Bushido
post Oct 29 2011, 10:35 PM

75 posts

The backpack is the same for everyone.. But you cant fit the goddamned laptop in it.. massive fail.
Bushido
post Oct 30 2011, 09:51 AM

75 posts

Most probably i will post a short review next weekend. Can't sacrifice exam time for this.

BTW Riku, was it hard opening up the keyboard and palm panel to get to the underside? I'm planning to open it up to do a small LED cooler mod at the exhaust. tongue.gif
Bushido
post Oct 30 2011, 01:43 PM

75 posts

@Riku: Hmm, most probably i'll do it year end. Can't risk losing my work progress and all. More so a new laptop. hahaha.

@DoubleU: Which backpack you got? The same one as us? (Alien green ROG bag?)

I think the problem is, the bag they gave is nice for a 15.6" laptop. Eventhough ours is advertised as a 15.6" laptop, the overall size is actually 17.3" .... D:
Bushido
post Oct 30 2011, 08:27 PM

75 posts

oooo, gotta let my laptop run in a little longer before i start OC-ing it. meeehhh cant wait to do my simple review.

btw guise, will the G53 switch to Intel graphics when it's on battery saving or does it run full time on the GTX? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by Bushido: Oct 30 2011, 09:09 PM
Bushido
post Oct 30 2011, 09:26 PM

75 posts

Ah as expected.. Btw, diggin your signature. LULZ.
Bushido
post Oct 31 2011, 01:01 PM

75 posts

Yeah Riku's and my laptop both comes with fHD. Surprising really when i got it, was expecting only HD. Have to get used to small fonts but its so damn clear.

My GPU temp running on FurMark is around 85-87C, which i think it's good enough as im running it fullscreen with fullHD. tongue.gif CPU never above 80C. Still better than my previous BenQ. Play TF2 will get me around 113C on my ATi HD 4650

This post has been edited by Bushido: Oct 31 2011, 01:03 PM
Bushido
post Oct 31 2011, 08:31 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Oct 31 2011, 06:13 PM)
final exams? when u end?
DoubleU, you meant me or someone else?
Bushido
post Oct 31 2011, 09:22 PM

75 posts

Just tested BF3 running full HD native reso with max and ultra settings.

Gosh, my eyes just jizzed. Running smooth, temp for CPU not going over 80 and GPU's stagnant at 76C.

Can life get any better than this? <-- /foreveralone.jpg
Bushido
post Nov 1 2011, 09:28 PM

75 posts

Those who are asking the same old question on 560M and 460M, read the few pages before this page. EVERYTHING is there.

But so far I've tested, the 560M is not slacking on fHD gameplay performance either. Losing to the 460M on fHD gameplay doesnt mean it's unplayable at full HD. The 560M still has higher texture filling rate.

All the games im playing now, i did not downscale it to HD, full HD all the way.
Bushido
post Nov 2 2011, 01:53 PM

75 posts

@kalist0:
Bear in mind you still have to pay for shipping fees which is around 300-400 ringgit. And the warranty is 1 year global and 1 year accidental, here you get 2 years global. That 1 year accidental only for US customers. If the customs decides to impose tax on your package, then you have to go down there and pay tax, then only you can collect.

@kennyguy:
not much of a difference but the effect can be felt, for me at least.

I think stocks has been out already as they only bring in enough to cover orders, my advise is to order.
Bushido
post Nov 2 2011, 05:49 PM

75 posts

Asus Malaysia already said they will only bring in enough number of stocks to fulfill orders, not to for keeps in the dealers. If you really want it, ORDER IT and wait.

Else order from GenTech or XoticPC like some of the members here. Going to MAC won't help.
Bushido
post Nov 4 2011, 01:49 PM

75 posts

Right, so I'm off today, decided I should start on my impression review. It'll be very casual minus all those technical stuff, which i believe you can get from Google.

So I've been waiting close to 3 months for this particular laptop, the Asus G53SX. First an order has been placed at EverNew MidValley but they have failed me badly, screwed it and went to Acme Computer in Pyramid in the end. Ordered, put a deposit and the aunty gave me a period of 2-3 weeks. Truth to be told I was pushing the aunty every single week, but I have to else they won't really rush the suppliers. In the end, it finally came.

I was in my networking lab when the call came. She called me to go pick it up tonight as they close at 10PM. Finished most of my workload and decided to go over to Pyramid. FINALLY. Asus Malaysia should really reorganize their management and QC department. It's seriously f***ed up.

Well, upon arrival I was greeted with a humongous box that has an Asus logo on it. Everything looked okay and the tape wasn't tampered. Everything going smoothly at the moment. Took a blade and cut the tapes open, clearing the box's guts.

Was actually expecting the model that comes with i7-2630QM, glossy HD screen (1366x768) but I didn't know I'll be surprised.

A ROG box containing the beast and also, the backpack that failed so miserably. More on that later.
Took the laptop out and checked if everything was working accordingly, waited for Windows to configure the first time usage, everything a-ok and then paid so I can rush home to bask in its glory.

Upon reaching home, took everything out and laid them nicely to check out what is bundled in the box.

Asus's motto. If only they can apply that to their service and management.

The laptop itself, the driver disc, the battery and the power brick.

The famous ROG emblem embedded into the lid.
One thing I was a little disappointed was, I was expecting the Asus logo on the lid to be a little brighter as it's quite dim. But then again, small little personal ding.

The exhaust vents. One for the CPU and one for GPU.

Opened up the laptop and was greeted by a stealthy keyboard layout. But one thing that struck me was, the screen wasn't glossy. It's MATTE. I thought this was supposed to be an option and it wasn't available on this model for us in Malaysia. But whatever, this is a +1 for the amount of time i had to wait. I've heard very good things about the matte screen and I'm happy to say that it really doesn't disappoint.

Definitely inspired by a stealth fighter jet.

Chrome Asus logo to add classiness to the stealthy looking laptop.

//End of part one

This post has been edited by Bushido: Nov 4 2011, 01:57 PM
Bushido
post Nov 4 2011, 02:01 PM

75 posts

Powered by an i7-2670QM, nVidia GTX560M and running on Windows 7.

A sticker containing the specs, personally I dislike Asus putting this huge ass sticker on it, spoils the look. And of course, another ROG emblem, showing what kind of breed the laptop is living on.

Oh yeah and this is how big the power brick is. You can actually use it for self defense. I know i would.

And of course, the backlit keyboard. I've never owned a laptop that has a backlit keyboard before. Good to say that I'm loving this one. There are 3 stages of brightness for the keyboard and none of them is too glaring. Another +1 on adding classiness. Very good for me as well as I do a lot of late night coding, hacking and work. I read reviews saying that the keyboard sucked and could do better. But personally for me, it's really good. Not as good as a MBP but it's really good enough. It's even better than my Asus EeePC's chiclet. Good enough layout for touch typing as well. Will not go into detail on every single function found on this keyboard.

One thing that grinds my balls about this keyboard is the open spaces around each key is too big, as dust and debris can just go in easily.

Oh yeah and the bundled gaming mouse. Truthfully my first gaming mouse, as for me, spending so much on a gaming mouse is a stupid move. I'd still pawn players in CS or COD using just a RM30 Logitech mouse. But the bundled mouse is really nice to use. Nicely weighted and there are four DPI settings.

The laptop, minus the exhaust vent at the back would be a 15.6" inch in size. But including those giant vents, it's already 17.3" overall. This is where the backpack bundled failed badly. The laptop bag couldn't be zipped all the way without one corner of the laptop sticking out. It's disappointing because the bag's internals are nicely padded and I liked the look, but what a waste. To give you a clear look on the size, I've compared it to my EeePC which is 10" in size.

There's a reason why I needed a netbook, one is because lugging around this beast all day wouldn't be ideal. I'm a gym person and lugging this beast around one handed is tiring, let me tell you. It's still bearable if you carry it in your backpack, but it will leave your shoulder sore after an hour or so.

The fHD matte screen in action. Was testing out Battlefield 3. No hiccups whatsoever playing on fHD.

As for the audio, I'm very impressed at the THX TruStudio tech. I paired the laptop with my Grado SR-60i headphones and the audio quality really shines. Bass is bloody tight and the highs are bloody clear, esp. playing FLAC files. As for the speakers, it's above average. It's loud enough for me despite some reviews saying it's soft. I prefer the speakers to be configured to the 'External Speakers' setting instead of the 'Built-in Speakers' setting on THX. Too thin sounding on the latter setting.

Some things i REALLY hate about this laptop, well maybe one, is all the port placements. ESPECIALLY the USB ports. There are so much spaces around the sides of the laptop but still they put it near the areas which we use our mouse. Really gets in the way when using a mouse, no matter right or left handed. The power port is still bearable but still, bad placement.

Will continue with another review on the performance soon. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Bushido: Nov 4 2011, 02:31 PM
Bushido
post Nov 4 2011, 02:32 PM

75 posts

@eenong89:

Power port is okay, the USB is the shitty part.
Bushido
post Nov 4 2011, 02:56 PM

75 posts

I didn't reformat because the amount of bloatware isn't that much compared to other Asus laptops. Just uninstall them and you are good to go. Unless you don't like the partitions they have made for you.

Of course you can use the nVidia drivers, that's what it's for isnt it? You don't even have to delete the current one to install the new one. Just over install it. My BIOS i'm not sure, haven't check it out yet.

To use the backlit just press Fn+F3/F4
Bushido
post Nov 4 2011, 03:29 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Nov 4 2011, 03:25 PM)
lol bushido, the usb placement imo were perfect. especially the dvd drive on the left since i'm right handed. The problem is the power port, such a shit location to put it. the cable its straight somemore.

why don't u just peel off the sticker if you hate it so much, personally i removed all the stickers even the intel and nvidia ones

Getting a gaming mouse, with a polling rate of 1000Hz does make a difference, you'll notice it more in LAN gaming.
well it's personal preference anyway. i don't like USB port placed near where i use the mouse. Esp when I have a couple of HDD and wireless interfaces attached to my laptop.

thought of peeling it but scared if it would leave a stain behind or screw up the rubberized material. the sticker is good to prevent dirt on the palm area anyway tongue.gif

i don't game many hours a day so i'd prefer to spend the money on something else, like headphones.
Bushido
post Nov 4 2011, 03:41 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Nov 4 2011, 03:35 PM)
if better peel now if you don't want the imprint being left behind.
why not the HDD cables on the left side of the laptop? still got 2 more ports
Peeled it off right after you said that. tongue.gif I'm okay with the small nVidia stickers, i like it.
On my left I hooked up my N900 and a Wifi Interface. So it's the same no matter what side tongue.gif The audio port is also disturbing. It's okay if you use the normal sized audio jack on your headphones, but my headphone is recabled so the audio jack is huge as hell. Oh well this is the only cons of the laptop. No biggie. biggrin.gif

OH just saw your picture on ur mouse placement. You're okay cuz you have loads of space. My workspace has quite a limited amount of space, so my mouse is very close to the ports if u see the pictures i've posted.

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Nov 4 2011, 03:37 PM)
Read the manual, on how to use the laptop. Every information is there, there's e-manual in the godamn laptop.
Wanted to say that, but is in a good mood today. So I shall be nice. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Bushido: Nov 4 2011, 03:43 PM
Bushido
post Nov 4 2011, 05:47 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(jimmykvt @ Nov 4 2011, 05:12 PM)
@Bushido
Grats on purchase and nice pictures.
Mind showing your laptop backpack and how is it difficult to fit your laptop into it?
And yeah, the USB ports on the right is a minor turn off, would prefer them to be just beside the LCD monitor near the edge close to the vent.

I realize they rely on the sides to fit in all the ports. I wonder next time if they can come up with a design to place some ports at the back like the power port, VGA-port, HDMI port.
Thanks. smile.gif Pictures are not top class, took it with my Nokia N900. Yeah sure will take one later in the evening and post it up.

QUOTE(trustmeiamlegit @ Nov 4 2011, 05:34 PM)
@bushi

a generally good review..

looking forward to the gaming performance review

keep it up
Thanks dude. smile.gif Just a simple one for now. Still need to explore the laptop further.

Going to buy some LED kits to DIY around this weekend. Gonna do a cooler mod. nod.gif
Bushido
post Nov 4 2011, 07:36 PM

75 posts

I can't wait too. Quite a challenge for me, as i don't like soldering. Will post pics as i do it.

Btw call me Ken, dudes. Calling me Bushido reminds me of Bush LOL.

This post has been edited by Bushido: Nov 4 2011, 07:37 PM
Bushido
post Nov 6 2011, 02:54 PM

75 posts

Just went to the PC Fair in MidValley. Saw Evernew and a few others there. Same thing, display unit and stock are all 3D version. Non-3D have to order.. Saw a G74SX also. Hmmmm

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0470sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:55 AM