Credit Card v14, Please read the 1st post before posting

chemistry
post Feb 18 2011, 05:48 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Feb 18 2011, 05:40 PM)
Any one here successfully using MBB2 Amex to enroll auto payment for TNB bills ?
Aiyo, 1% so little, you purchase from me I'll give you 12% rebates  tongue.gif
Express Autopay is very common among Amex cardmembers, it should not encounter any problem. Why are you asking this?

Regarding iTalk, no, thanks.
chemistry
post Feb 18 2011, 06:07 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Feb 18 2011, 06:01 PM)
You successfully registered TNB with MBB2 Amex before ? I asked because I want to be sure. Not all billers are accepted by Amex and not all CC are accepted by TNB.
I am not Amex cardmember, but I can be sure that TNB accepts Autopay by Amex. Many forummers here are doing that.

If you want an answer from an Amex cardmember, then please proceed.
chemistry
post Feb 18 2011, 06:55 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(jackolantern @ Feb 18 2011, 06:49 PM)
im facing problem with mbb petronas visa card, cannot use at esso petrol stations recently.. try at 3 different esso stations also same..
Have you tried the card at cashier counter?
chemistry
post Feb 18 2011, 10:14 PM

3,065 posts

HLB Launches New Fortune Credit Card

A Hong Leong Credit Card that offers real cash earnings every time,
anywhere you use it

Kuala Lumpur, 19 February 2011 - As competition intensifies in the market, Hong Leong Bank (HLB), continues to innovate by developing a brand new Credit Card that would meet the tangible needs of its customers. The Hong Leong Fortune Credit Card in association with Visa International, is the first-to-market credit card to offer customers real cash.

"Instead of reward points or cash back for the usage of the card, customers will now receive real cash earnings which will be accessible to card members anytime, anywhere via HLB's wide network of ATMs," said Ms Moey Tan, Hong Leong Bank's Chief Operating Officer for Personal Financial Services.

"From our proprietary research, consumers are keen on the concept that they get to enjoy rebates from all retailers with no specific time/days constraint. The basic consumer expectations from a credit card lies in the simplicity, flexibility of spending habits and more savings compared to existing cards in the market," she added.

Another attractive feature is a high credit limit which may be offered to match the financial needs of new Card members. Targeted at those who are yet to become Hong Leong Credit Card members, the Fortune credit card offers other great benefits, some of which include:

* Travel Protection Plan - when Card members charge their air tickets to their Hong Leong Fortune credit card, they are automatically insured for up to RM500,000 via the Bank's Travel Protection Plan. The Plan also reimburses Card members for any inconveniences experienced during their travel such as luggage delays, lost luggage and delayed/missed flight connections.
* Free KLIA Ekspres return ticket - Card members who purchase economy class air tickets/packages worth RM3,000 and above from Hong Leong Travel Services will enjoy a return KLIA Ekspres ticket absolutely free.

"We are at the forefront of developing and addressing the ever-changing needs of the market by designing new and relevant products for our customers. We will continue to bring innovation to the mass affluent segment," she concluded.

To apply for the Hong Leong Fortune credit card, visit any of HLB's branches nationwide, Open Houses and roadshows, or call 1-800-38-8888 or log on to www.hlb.com.my.

-END-

Press Release - 19/02/2011

chemistry
post Feb 18 2011, 10:21 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ Feb 18 2011, 10:16 PM)
1 % only ar!
Did you ever click the link and read the details?

1% Real Cash Earnings on your purchases*

Whether it's shopping, dining, petrol or anything else, you will earn 1% cash for every Ringgit spent. E.g. RM100 x 1% = RM1. Spend more, earn more.

Earn interest on your Real Cash Earnings
Your Real Cash Earnings balance will also be earning interest (interest rate is based on the prevailing Hong Leong Bank 3-month fixed deposit rate).

Up to RM1,800 extra Real Cash Earnings on your card's anniversary
Extra earnings are based on your total annual retail spending, up to RM1,800 in real cash.
Total annual retail spending Bonus
Equal or more than RM38,000 RM280
Equal or more than RM68,000 RM880
Equal or more than RM108,000 RM1,800

Spend more, earn more
This is an example of how your Real Cash Earnings can grow in a year.
Monthly retail spending RM3,500
Monthly Real Cash Earnings RM35
Total retail spending in one year RM42,000
Total Real Cash Earnings in one year RM420
Extra Real Cash Earnings received on your credit card's anniversary RM280
Total interest earned (no withdrawals made from earnings account) RM6.03
Total Real Cash Earnings RM420 + RM280 + RM6.03 = RM706.03

Your Real Cash Earnings never expire
The cash you earn is yours to use as you wish. Withdrawals can be made anytime at any Hong Leong Bank ATM

Higher credit limit
Enjoy more spending power with a higher credit limit of up to 5x your monthly income

Conditional Free-For-Life card membership
As long as you use your Hong Leong Fortune Credit Card twice a month or spend a minimum of RM8,000 a year, you can continue enjoying all the benefits that come with being a cardmember - free of charge for life.

Global acceptance
Your Hong Leong Fortune Credit Card is backed by Visa, the world's most popular electronic payment card brand that is welcomed by millions of merchants world wide.
chemistry
post Feb 18 2011, 10:30 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Feb 18 2011, 10:25 PM)
I still feel OCBC Titanium is better than this card anytime...
This Fortune card is good for those who easily spend above RM3,200++ in a month.
Because, an annual spending of RM38k is entitled to additional bonus of RM280. Spend more, earn more.

On top of that, cardmembers get to earn 10% p.a. interest on the accumulated cashback.

Added on February 18, 2011, 10:39 pmbased on monthly spending of RM3200,

An MBB2Amex cardmember gets to earn RM50 (weekend cashback of the first RM1000 spending) and 16000 TreatsPoints. If 16k pts can redeem RM80, so the total cashback will be RM130 each month. Annualized cashback will be RM1560.

An HLB cardmember gets to earn RM32 cashback monthly, which implies RM384 per year. On top of that, there is yearly bonus of RM280 (for spending more than RM38k). Total cashback+bonus is RM664.

The conclusion is, Maybankard 2 Amex still wins hands down over HLB Fortune.

This post has been edited by chemistry: Feb 18 2011, 10:39 PM
chemistry
post Feb 18 2011, 10:53 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 18 2011, 10:46 PM)
As for the 10% p.a. interest, it is for outstanding balance which means you have to pay interest.
i think the word "daily balance" refers to earned cashback.
chemistry
post Feb 18 2011, 11:37 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Feb 18 2011, 11:20 PM)
This card is like CC + Savings account... new concept indeed.
This card is for real big spenders to really take advantage of the Annual Spending Bonus.
Force the cardmember to open new savings account (if he/she has not had one) and charge fee on Debit card? brows.gif shakehead.gif
chemistry
post Feb 18 2011, 11:48 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Feb 18 2011, 11:41 PM)
More importantly the new HLB Fortune Credit Card give OCBC TI a challenge now. OCBC TI only limitation is the card is virtually useless beyond RM1K spending.
I would say Fortune is not a challenge but complementary to OCBC Ti.
After max out the OCBC Ti's RM50 cashback then only turn to Fortune.
chemistry
post Feb 19 2011, 12:39 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Feb 19 2011, 12:04 AM)
It depends on individual but I don't want to complicate my life by tracking my spending in OCBC and then switch over to HLB.
The HLB card will appeal to those not having OCBC TI yet or having the need to spend a lot on a monthly basis.
Absolutely true. "Depends on individual"
For me, I don't mind taking 1 minute or two to jot down on my mobile phone whenever I make a card swipe. Maybe I am too free to do so.

I may or may not do this job in future. Who knows wink.gif
chemistry
post Feb 19 2011, 12:55 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(chng5255 @ Feb 19 2011, 12:47 AM)
should HLB forture cc considered as best card in its (classic) category???
It depends on how you look at its features.
From the cashback point of view, its uncapped 1% is attractive.

However, a housewife (for example) who spends RM500 every month at hypermarts would rather get a CIMB Classic Mastercard which gives 5% cashback at Tesco/Giant on Sundays.
chemistry
post Feb 19 2011, 01:01 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(chng5255 @ Feb 19 2011, 12:56 AM)
gosh, addicted to HLB Fortune before going to apply Citi Cash Back Platinum and OCBC TI, what are the opportunity cost?
Saw the HLB Ads saying that first 10,000 approvred cardholders enjoy free for life AF
Citi Cashback Platinum is certainly better than Fortune card, if you spend mostly on certain merchants which give higher rebates.
Meanwhile, OCBC Ti is only good for spending of RM1,000 in Fuel/Dining/Groceries/Utilities.
If you are eligible for OCBC Titanium & MBB2, get these cards first. If couldn't get, then only look for alternatives.

I think "Free For Life" is no big deal nowadays, given that most cards require just 12 swipes per year (which is very easy to achieve) to qualify for annual fee waiver. Unless you don't intend to use the card.

This post has been edited by chemistry: Feb 19 2011, 01:21 AM
chemistry
post Feb 19 2011, 01:26 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(chng5255 @ Feb 19 2011, 01:22 AM)
make up my mind to apply HLB Fortune so that i can utilise it's uncapped1% cash earnings without concerning who is the merchant.  together with my current PB EM Gold, enough for my spending pattern.
During the Campaign period, the minimum threshold for the crediting of the Real Cash
Earnings into the Hong Leong Fortune Credit Card account will be RM10.00 and will be
reverted to the minimum of RM20.00 after the campaign period.

Are you OK with this?
chemistry
post Feb 19 2011, 01:34 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Feb 17 2011, 10:14 PM)
Previously I mentioned that the 3% (+2% for selected cardmembers) cashback given by OCBC did not tally with my calculation. Yesterday I made up my mind to file a dispute to the bank. The CS promised to investigate and would call back on the next day.

And yes, she did call back today. She said OCBC will credit back the rebate in next statement. Yoohoo!  rclxms.gif
It's already credited into my card account ! Well done OCBC CS!
chemistry
post Feb 19 2011, 12:41 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 19 2011, 08:02 AM)
MBB Dua even better than my AMEX Gold Charged Card.
There is a card out there that gives you 2% for all spending up to RM9000/month i.e. cash back capped at RM180/month, but it is not a credit card and the card is Alliance Bank Premier Debit Card.
The Premier Debit Card has high income requirement, hence not suitable for Classic/Gold card applicants. This Fortune card will appeal to those earning 30k & above yearly. Among the cards with this income requirement, MBB2Gold is first choice, then Fortune, then SCB Biz Gold, HLB Essential, etc...
chemistry
post Feb 19 2011, 01:20 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(butthead012 @ Feb 19 2011, 01:15 PM)
yeah, correct. but someone i know got 100k CL his salary only 12k per month nod.gif
Hye said "normally 3x-5x", didn't rule out possibility of unusual high CL. biggrin.gif
chemistry
post Feb 19 2011, 01:49 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(butthead012 @ Feb 19 2011, 01:47 PM)
ok, i also just asking only no problem. dont take it so seriously laugh.gif
Ok wink.gif
Enjoy your weekends.
chemistry
post Feb 19 2011, 08:14 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 19 2011, 05:30 PM)
I disagree in total what you mentioned above.

1) In order to get the Premier Debit Card, you do not need to be a high income earner, you just need to have money.

2) I dont understand why you are still supporting HLB Fortune card and said it is "the" second card to get after MBB 2. As winner, hye and myself said - complicated system.  And based on what I understand, I have shown you that it only gives the most 0.1% extra (can be even 0.001% because it is based on daily interest at 10%p.a.) from your transactions. I would said even Alliance You:nique or Alliance Plat can be better than HLB Fortune.

3) In order to withdraw the cash earned and 10p.a. interest on your cash back, do you need to go open a HLB savings or current account? If yes then there's where HLB make money from you if you don't have an account with them. Or if you can use your CC at the ATM, you only can withdraw RM10 and RM50 notes so balance still with HLB and what you earn from them cannot be utilized in full.

4) as far as I am concerned, the Fortune = Essential with promotion.

5) Fortune card do not appeal to those earning RM30K and above. It will attract those who spend minimum RM38K a year and if you are earning like RM40-RM50K pa, I doubt you will benefit much from the annual bonus because if you do then you'll be spending more than you can afford to or you charged all your company expenses to the card.

6) Complicated Bonus - RM280m RM880 and RM1,800 (got No.8 in it, like what I mentioned in my post in MBB 2 Cards in my blog, must have No.8 for marketing):

but to enjoy maximum returns from the annual bonus (more No.8, hey, the guy that came out with the figures must have read my tip), you are going to complicate your life.

bonus RM280 for spending RM38K to RM67,999 - or returns of 0.4118% to 0.736842%
bonus RM880 for spending RM68K to RM107,999 or 08148% to RM1.294118%
bonus RM1,800 for spending 108,000 you will get 1% or less

so actually from the above, the more you spend, most likely you end up getting less % in returns! If you spend RM216,000 a year, then your bonus is equivalent to 0.5%, spend more than that, the % reduces further. So not necessary good for big spenders i.e. more than RM10/month. If you know exactly how much you going to spend with the Fortune card, say for example insurance premiums > RM38K/yr best if exactly RM68K/yr, then the card may be good. 

chem, before you go promote more on HLB Fortune, please show us more examples as to how we can benefit from it compared to other cards.
haha, calm down bro.
You are expert in cards and I dare not to challenge your sharings. I apologize for my ignorance, sorry.

But one thing to clarify is, I am not promoting any card. Watch your words.

This post has been edited by chemistry: Feb 19 2011, 08:15 PM
chemistry
post Feb 20 2011, 12:01 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 19 2011, 09:38 PM)
Well, I am not expert, just into CC like you and the regulars here and I just state or intreprete what I read. But maybe it my training to be as accurate as possible and kiasu especially when reading/preparing agreements/contracts.

well, from what I read from your post, you may not realise it but you are promoting HLB by stating that HLB Fortune  is "the" second card to get after MBB 2. Just like I am promoting when I say MBB Dua is the must have card, but that's a fact. The thing is many people come here and don't take the time to read the T&C and when you being one of the regular here, your comments have to consider this as not to mislead them.
If my replies sounded like promoting HLB Fortune, I must apologize for the mistake. In fact I really don't like the card.
I shall stop mentioning HLB Fortune to prevent further misunderstanding.
Bro Gen-x, pls accept my apology. Pls continue to share your valuable opinions. Enjoy your weekends.
chemistry
post Feb 20 2011, 09:54 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Feb 20 2011, 09:27 AM)
anyone ever used posonline to pay bills? I have one bill that can be only paid using posonline if would like to use CC.  so far all attempt is unsucessfull
Please do not pay bills via PosOnline using cc, as you will be charged 2% admin fee. And if you think you still earn 3% after deducting the admin fee from the 5% cashback given by OCBC Ti, then you're wrong, because the transaction is named as 'Pos Online' instead of the name of utility provider. As such, in the end you still lose 1% because (1% minus 2%). Could be better if pay via Online Banking (direct pay by Savings/current account).

Added on February 20, 2011, 10:04 am
QUOTE(wshoh @ Feb 20 2011, 09:15 AM)
@Gen-X Could have just called the new HLB Fortune...HLB Essential 2 thumbup.gif Anyway, HLB seems to be challenging the intelligence of those most likely to benefit the most from the Fortune's card features (see Gen-X's illustrations, ante).  The promotional statements such as "Earn interest on your Real Cash Earnings" will probably appeal to as well as grab enough attention of the uneducated and ignorant public to sign up.

@winner HLB's marketing department probably knew from their proprietary research (what a nice term for their press release) that most people do not peruse the T&Cs. I disagree...they are actually creatively deceptive  icon_rolleyes.gif I, for one, boycott such products.
Wonder how HLB Card Agent introduces Fortune to the people. I'm sure many will be confused by the complicated features. Having said this, Card Sales might think of a 'creative' way to promote the card, trying to simplify the features so that easy to 'understand' but in fact misleading.

This post has been edited by chemistry: Feb 20 2011, 10:04 AM

12 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.0480sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:23 AM