9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Credit Card v14, Please read the 1st post before posting

erry-
post Feb 7 2011, 02:57 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(Robin Liew @ Feb 7 2011, 02:31 PM)
help needed
i downloaded the cimb balance transfer form but its too small...seems like CIMB made a mistake while uploading the form

last time can print the form in a single page

now its compressed 2 pages in 1 and its too small

how?
go to CIMB to get the form? sweat.gif

or, can try using old form - http://www.cimbbank.com.my/index.php?ch=43...7&tpt=cimb_bank

stated there till 31/12/2010 only, but the rate is same, can go try laugh.gif
erry-
post Feb 8 2011, 03:17 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(shawn2k4 @ Feb 7 2011, 11:45 PM)
Hi All,

Sorry as i'm new to the Credit Card world. Just a question, are there actually ANY SIGNIFICANT difference between Master & Visa cards? Because i've been checking around and i don't really see any SIGNIFICANT differences now. Back in the older times they said that certain places only accept certain types of cards. What about now?

And is anyone in here using CIMB Petronas MasterCard? Any feedbacks regards to this card?
nowadays in malaysia, almost all place that accept visa can accept mastercard too. so yes, no significant diff.

the diff usually on their promo, example mastercard got promo with giant.

cimb petronas mastercard only good if u pump with petronas (2% rebate) and for others, 0.5% rebate.

if u earned rm3k/month then better go with ocbc titanium mastercard, 5% rebate at all petrol, 1% for others.

another card is maybankard 2 amex, which give 5x points everywhere and extra 5% rebate on weekend.
but this card (amex) acceptance at petronas is very2 low sweat.gif

erry-
post Feb 8 2011, 10:29 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Feb 8 2011, 02:11 PM)
if swipe my CC at 18/1 RM200

then if I no pay it before 31/1 , i will need to pay interest for the RM200?

Or bank will not charge me interest since its not yet 1 month?
look at ur statement date.

if ur statement date is 19 each month, so u need to pay that RM200 before somewhere around 6/7/8 February.

if ur statement date is 13/2, then the longer time u can take to pay it (coz the due date will be 2/3 March).

QUOTE(OldKidz @ Feb 8 2011, 03:51 PM)
Tis benefit only available for Amex Platinium right? The maybankard 2 plat card...

Gold one I dont think have it.
same goes to Gold. the diff are plat priviledges only, such as free golf.

QUOTE(dr2k3 @ Feb 8 2011, 04:13 PM)
i have 2 maybank petronas card 1 is gold and 1 is plat.....so do i get 2 GST or 1 only?

i read that new card GST are suppose to be charged on the first month statement....but now is the 2nd month for me.....any idea anyone?
u mean 1 GST for 2 card? no. other than maybankard 2, all card will be charged with GST. so u have 2 GSTs...

erry-
post Feb 9 2011, 10:19 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(aero @ Feb 9 2011, 03:28 AM)
hi guys, need advice.

Just got my HSBC gold credit card on January 2011 as I took it as together with house loan. But I have notice they already charged me RM 50 GST.

1. GST will be charge upon CC registration or until the year end?
2. Is there a way I could waive it without points redemption, since my card is new I will not have any good points now.
3. For the petrol rebate, which bank cc is the best and any catch?

Thanks  notworthy.gif
1. gst will be charge upon CC approval, once u received the CC, then u will be charged with GST.
2. No offer from HSBC for new card application. If you not using it yet, u can request to cancel it.
3. HSBC give 2.5% rebate at Caltex (min accumulate is rm200 within statement date, get back rm5).

OCBC Titanium MC is the best petrol rebate card, 5% at all station.

erry-
post Feb 9 2011, 11:18 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(timetravelller @ Feb 9 2011, 10:59 AM)
hi, wanna ask about balance transfer of credit card. if i got 3 credit card. Credit Card A have 5k debt, then i BT use credit card B and C. If both credit card B & C i BT 5k each to Credit Card A, then meaning that my Credit Card A will receive 10k, possible this happen?
the simple answer is NO.

u cant BT more than outstanding (debt) of the card.

erry-
post Feb 9 2011, 01:17 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Feb 9 2011, 11:51 AM)
While your answer is the correct one, I suspect erry answered his way because he didn't want to affirm the idea of giving more rope for someone to potentially hang himself.
QUOTE(hye @ Feb 9 2011, 11:58 AM)
Yes ... such answers are unfavorable in here.This thread serve to educate on good usage and general info of CC and not to help people create more debt.
The people who give answers normally answer without malice but sometime the one asking the question intends to maneuver around the system and/or create more debts.
yes, dont create more debt! notworthy.gif

Added on February 9, 2011, 1:18 pm
QUOTE(skincladalien @ Feb 9 2011, 12:52 PM)
wanna ask the min req salary for cards, lets say its 30,000p.a., and my company gives 13month salary, so i divide that amount with 13?

and also can i include fixed allowance(not basic pay/OT claim, etc) to that amount?
min salary p.a means for 12 months.

actually bank just need ur 1 month salary amount. so when it is said 30k/year means need min rm2.5k/month.

so if u can supply 3 months latest payslip with rm2.5k/month, u are qualified already smile.gif

This post has been edited by erry-: Feb 9 2011, 01:18 PM
erry-
post Feb 9 2011, 01:27 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(volrath @ Feb 9 2011, 12:42 PM)
hello,

i jz received a call from CPP (Card protection plan) RM98 for a year that cover fraud cases/lost wallet.. sounds like insurance to me, but he claimed it is not, coz we dont need to pay monthly, just RM98 for single or RM118 for household coverage.

Is this worth it?

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p.../PRO-Promotions

u can check here, theyre like MEPS i think?

n 1 more question...

is it safe to give credit card number to people over the phone? (if theyre calling from the bank? or theyre calling from an agency? like MEPS or CPP?)

I was asked for CC number and valid thru date..

thanks.
for me, CPP is insurance, but for ur credit card protection only, with 1 time payment.

its up2u actually want to subscribe or not.
if u, are the type of always checking ur wallet and credit card (physical and online banking), then no need.
means, if u noticed ur card is missing, u can call the bank immediately to block the card (before the card can be swipe out there).

it is better not to give credit card number when receiving call.
(ambank got case their cust received call from their helpline number 603-2178888, which is their real number, but that number only for receiving call, not calling! the caller actually is a scammer/thief).

Added on February 9, 2011, 1:29 pmmy advise is to tell the CS that give u a few minutes then u will call him/her back (ask their name or extension number).

call back using confirm real number (in ur example, as stated at the URL), not from the number they called u, and ask to talk with the agent that just called u (tell the name or extension number).

notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by erry-: Feb 9 2011, 01:29 PM
erry-
post Feb 9 2011, 01:33 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(timetravelller @ Feb 9 2011, 01:30 PM)
i just want to know the possibility of doing this way. if u can manage ur finance wisely, it could be wise to do that. i'm asking this because of some credit card only provide for 0% BT for fresh application. So if i got 2 credit card approve and definitely i have to utilize this advantage to enjoy the benefit of 0% interest for a period. If it were possible, then how does the statement look like? negative balance?
what do u mean with 'some credit card only provide BT for fresh application'?

some1 here mentioned he/she did CIMB BT for more than once.

btw for ur question, yes, when amount paid is higher than statement balance, the new balance will be negative.

This post has been edited by erry-: Feb 9 2011, 01:34 PM
erry-
post Feb 9 2011, 01:45 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(volrath @ Feb 9 2011, 01:35 PM)
sh1t lor!! i gave him de, coz he gave me his fullname, and also phone number (hotline shown on maybank website) along with extension to get back to him.

but giving 16 digit number + valid date also can get scammed one ah? coz i asked and he said, "dont worry, the only thing u shudnt give out is ur mother's maiden name and security number"

what should i do now bro? i kan chiong d -.-..i think ill call the hotline now ....pffft
to make u feel better, its ok actually smile.gif

u can try to contact him back (just to verify) using the phone num and extenstion.

now, u need to always check ur credit card transaction (via online banking) and see if got unknown transaction.

to answer ur question about scam... yes possible, but rare sweat.gif

This post has been edited by erry-: Feb 9 2011, 01:46 PM
erry-
post Feb 9 2011, 07:08 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(timetravelller @ Feb 9 2011, 01:47 PM)
certain bank only offer 0% BT for new credit card applicant.

never heard like this sweat.gif

Added on February 9, 2011, 7:17 pm
QUOTE(timetravelller @ Feb 9 2011, 05:16 PM)
enlighten me, i plan to perform 2 BT to 1 of my credit card and additional payment will be the advance payment. with the advance payment, i will cash it out. it is better a lot than personal loan.
AFAIK, u cant cashout advanced payment? hmm.gif

example, just example, if ur RHB debt now is rm5.1k, u do BT to CIMB and HSBC, both 6 months.
and just let say, both bank approved ur BT, ur RHB will received rm10.2k, and new balance will be negative rm5.1k (-rm5.1k).
u cant cashout that rm5.1k, u need to swipe till the negative become positive amount.
in the end u still need to pay rm1700/month (rm850 x 2 = bank).

again, above is just example!
but RHB is CONFIRMED cant cashout negative balance (i had experienced regarding fraud, do search my old post).

This post has been edited by erry-: Feb 9 2011, 07:17 PM
erry-
post Feb 9 2011, 07:45 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Feb 9 2011, 07:22 PM)
yes there is.
OCBC offers 0% BT to new Titanium cardmembers only.
Almost every OCBC Ti cardholder is new-to-bank because OCBC is not popular in cc market.
oh OCBC. i dont have the card and never planned to do BT notworthy.gif

erry-
post Feb 10 2011, 01:39 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 10 2011, 12:06 AM)
well you have direct access or cimb right. If yes then you should know that when CIMB/Direct Access first introduce BT last year with 0% it was initially for new applicants only.  notworthy.gif

For example, someone asked what is the best BT plan in the BT thread and you replied one of them was  Alliance Bank 0% 12 months. Did you know that Alliance Bank got penalty of 5% of the Balance Transfer amount if settle in full early?  notworthy.gif
yes i have DA but never know the BT is for new applicant only.

and yes i admit i also dont know much about Alliance BT.
but for me, mostly people do BT (example are my sis-in-law and my 5 friends, i replied based on their experience - with PBB) coz want to pay monthly without interest. so why want to finished early?

Added on February 10, 2011, 1:43 amOT: i never mean to spam. i also dont care about my post count increasing. it doesnt effecting me at all ~

This post has been edited by erry-: Feb 10 2011, 01:43 AM
erry-
post Feb 10 2011, 06:23 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Feb 10 2011, 12:06 PM)
I re-checked first page already, anyone has the link to download the form/PDF file for the MBB-2-CC auto-debit (TM/Maxis/TNB/etc.) ?

icon_rolleyes.gif
here - http://www.americanexpress.com.my/cms_uplo...0Sept_final.pdf

QUOTE(shing87 @ Feb 10 2011, 03:49 PM)
hello with salary 1k per month can i apply for any credit card? cox im planning to sign a plan with installment, but it need credit card can do installment. who can help me~
no u cannot, as minimum salary to apply credit card is rm1.5k/month.

1 option u can choose is - go to BSN and purchase sijil simpanan premium (ssp) worth rm4000, and bsn will give u classic card.
pls do mind that u cant cashout/sell back that ssp for a period (1 year if not mistaken).

erry-
post Feb 10 2011, 07:11 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(zachkid @ Feb 10 2011, 06:41 PM)
My salary is around 45-50k pa. Can I apply for mbb2card platinum?
by default, no. but u can try, and probably in the end they give u gold card ~

erry-
post Feb 11 2011, 02:36 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 11 2011, 11:16 AM)
1.5% for education is good. After reading the T&C (click here for OCBC GE T&C)noted the following:

Annual fee RM68 and RM138 for GE Titanium and Plat respectively.
Max Education and Medical rebate per month RM250 and RM200 for GE Plat and GE Titanium respectively.
QUOTE(winner @ Feb 11 2011, 11:43 AM)
I guess the AF can be waived upon request, subject to bank's approval. Since this is not a premium card, OCBC is willing to consider AF waiver.
do remember, OCBC give free annual fee and annual usage bonus! thumbup.gif

for Great Eastern, principal must swiped RM24k/year for platinum, or RM18k/year for titanium,
then both principal and supplementary annual fee will be waived!

upon achieving above condition, free annual fee and also free annual usage bonus RM50! rclxms.gif

source - http://www.ocbccards.com.my/bonus/promoAnnualFee_geCard.aspx

Added on February 11, 2011, 2:42 pmwhile for supplementary, swiped RM5k/year, free annual usage bonus RM25.

can use the annual usage bonus to offset the gst smile.gif

source - http://www.ocbccards.com.my/bonus/

This post has been edited by erry-: Feb 11 2011, 02:42 PM
erry-
post Feb 11 2011, 04:55 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(princezs @ Feb 11 2011, 12:01 AM)
RM8k credit limit can prompt to hsbc amanah platinum now. smile.gif
wah the requirement for hsbc amanah plat is very low now eh? hmm.gif

QUOTE(bingozero @ Feb 11 2011, 12:57 AM)
How about with normal hsbc visa platinum?
normal hsbc plat now need rm100k/year salary or other credit card that have same requirement with it.
better submit latest 3 months payslip with at least rm10k/month ~

QUOTE(Fall guy @ Feb 11 2011, 01:15 AM)
What's the advantage of HSBC platinum card? I have the Gold card now and I really don't see much advantages with HSBC CC. Only reason I have it is simply because of it's 'global' presence. In terms of points, have to admit that HSBC is not good.
1st, there are hsbc and also hsbc amanah.

hsbc give points while hsbc amanah give rebates.

the diff of gold and plat are the amount of points and rebates.

example for hsbc amanah, plat can get back 1% cashback if swipe oversea, while gold only 0.5%.

another diff is usually the amount of cashback can get from contest/promo.

like now got CNY SMS campaign, gold can only received cashback max rm400, while plat is rm500.

erry-
post Feb 12 2011, 01:36 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(changjie83 @ Feb 11 2011, 05:23 PM)
Hello, just to clear my doubt.

I'm 18k per annum based on salary only, therefore more likely I receive 3k credit limit, just like my current PB and MBB CC.

I'm looking to increase to at least 4-5k credit limit. Is it any possible? If I provide commission slips.
i give u 1 idea.

ur CL now is 3k right. just swipe till reach the CL and pay it immediately.
example current unbilled transaction is rm1k, tomorrow (saturday) go swipe rm1.8k, then go pay (deposit) rm2.8k.
so ur available CL will be rm3k again.
do it again and again before ur statement date! if u do it 4x, means u already swipe ± rm11k/month!
when bank see u are capable of swipe then pay to use within CL, bank probably will increase ur CL automatically smile.gif

(this happened to me with my DA and also HSBC).

QUOTE(eddievh @ Feb 11 2011, 11:59 PM)
Mbb2 weekend 5% rebate is  it compulsory to use Amex or MC entitle 5% too?
only AMEX.

QUOTE(MNet @ Feb 11 2011, 10:50 PM)
CL is how to calculate?

how many times monthly salary?
QUOTE(David83 @ Feb 11 2011, 10:50 PM)
Roughly 3x of your monthly salary.
QUOTE(changjie83 @ Feb 12 2011, 12:35 AM)
If roughly mine should be around 4k if 3x my salary. either way PBB and MBB are being strict.  shakehead.gif
it depends on bank, either 2x, 2.5x or 3x ~

PBB only give me equal to my 1 month salary. but its ok for me. coz i used it to pump esso/mobil only laugh.gif

my sis-in-law MBB ikhwan islamic, CL only rm1k! not even half her salary ~ sweat.gif

erry-
post Feb 14 2011, 12:31 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(leongal @ Feb 13 2011, 04:28 PM)
is it my card problem (Maybank Visa) that I can't use it at Esso pump? but, if i swipe at the counter, it was ok....anyone with this experience?
QUOTE(bingozero @ Feb 13 2011, 07:48 PM)
If you swap at the pump, your account must have RM200 and above.
QUOTE(shakku @ Feb 13 2011, 09:56 PM)
I'm having this problem as well. Esso/Mobil station been rejecting MBB Visa cards since last month. However at the counter not a problem as well as other Petrol Kiosk (Shell, Petronas etc).
same like me, cant use mbb visa at esso pump - declined, but swipe inside no prob sweat.gif
my available CL is 5-figures and current bill is negative (mbb owned me). dunno la why cant swipe at pump rclxub.gif

QUOTE(berdorki @ Feb 14 2011, 12:03 AM)
Any one knows whether Alliance Younique card gives cashback rebates on petrol?
read at their website, yes for credit card! thumbup.gif

"Get monthly cash rebates up to 2% on all retail purchases, without any restrictions on petrol, groceries or specific merchants. This is truly a one-of-a-kind rebate card for anything, anytime, anywhere"

edited: but the alliance younique card rebates are tier-based. better use another card? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by erry-: Feb 14 2011, 07:01 AM
erry-
post Feb 15 2011, 01:39 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(Stephant @ Feb 15 2011, 01:11 PM)
did you guys check the MBB 2 card charges properly ?

Tier 1 - 8.88% if you prompt repayment 12/12 / new member
Tier 2 - 16.0% if you prompt repayment 10/12
Tier 3 - 17.5% if you prompt repayment below 10/12

Actually do you guy's / girl's understand how they charge you the interest rate based on retail trans ?

What i see on their T&C, i think is that if you swipe RM 1,000 and pompt repayment in 12 months time (they earn you 8.88& interest)

If you prompt repayment 10 months time, they charge you 17.5% interest.

Correct me if i am wrong.
as replied by jensen_tidus, interest rate applied only to oustanding balance.

if u always pay full amount of statement balance each month, then 1000% interest also wont be any problem smile.gif

u swipe rm1000, the bill come next month, u pay full amount of that rm1000 before due date, then no need to care about the interest rate ~

erry-
post Feb 16 2011, 03:42 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Feb 15 2011, 01:54 PM)
Hey guys, would like to ask you this question although I understand it had been answered quite few times.

I have MBB cc which is expired on 02/13, does the RM50 tax charge based on the card issued on which month instead of every new year once?

Then if I cancel this card and apply new MBB 2 cards, I still need to pay another RM50 right? correct me if I'm wrong. THanks!
QUOTE(eddievh @ Feb 15 2011, 02:03 PM)
I think you're a bit too late to cancel. Now already Feb.
1. mbb charged rm50 gst on exactly date of annivesary.

ur card shows 02/13, thats mean somewhere in february. check ur previous statement, it will shows when the gst will be charged.
if it is 25/2, then u still have time to cancel it! if 13/2, then u are late already sweat.gif

2. yes u are correct, u need to pay rm50 gst for new card.

QUOTE(utp_tyco @ Feb 16 2011, 01:49 AM)
hello everyone..can sumbody explain to me how the interest being calculated..let say i use 100...then i need to pay at 1 jan...if i pay 5% of the amount,do i still being charge for interest..?then what happens if i do not pay event 5% of the amount.need help coz still new in cc
1 simple rule - if u not paying full statement balance, u will be charged with interest!

so the answer for ur question is - YES u still being charged with interest even u still pay 5% from ur statement balance.

if u not pay that 5% by the due date, u will be charged with late fee (usually 1% from the balance or rm5 - rm75, whichever is higher, depends on the bank).

ur example of 100 is too low. i give u example of 1000.
a. if u pay 5% (50) by due date, balance 950 will be charged with interest.
b. if u not pay that 5% by due date, all 1000 will be charged with interest + late fee (rm5 / rm10 / 50 / rm75)

for case a or b, another swipe before next bill will be also charged with interest!

bottom line - always pay full statement balance by due date!

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.1598sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:35 PM