Samsung GT-I5500 FIRMWARE Customization, Samsung GT-I5500 FIRMWARE Customization

TSmotafoca
post Jan 14 2011, 09:28 PM, updated 15y ago

113 posts

Latest Versions

http://www.g5devteam.com

Tutorials and info

http://wiki.g5devteam.com

Help and discussions

http://forum.g5devteam.com

This post has been edited by motafoca: Jan 28 2011, 06:53 AM
blacktubi
post Jan 14 2011, 09:28 PM

-
8,415 posts

Version 2.0.6 is up

Changelog - by motafoca

Video:

Link

This post has been edited by blacktubi: Jan 20 2011, 02:21 PM
cpdbolinho
post Jan 14 2011, 09:30 PM

cheers
blacktubi
post Jan 14 2011, 09:31 PM

-
8,415 posts

WHat is the md5 checksum for 0.0.1
qazkurei
post Jan 14 2011, 09:32 PM

99 posts

lets roar!!!
blacktubi
post Jan 14 2011, 09:35 PM

-
8,415 posts

In V0.0.1 aka I5500_FROYO_BATFIX_bymotafoca.tar.md5 The battery is fixed ONLY and no apps or other things was deleted?
gocke55014
post Jan 14 2011, 09:35 PM

287 posts

motafoca, i think u need to put more details there.. maybe change the name to gt-i5500 firmware customization and modification,, surely we dont want people come in here asking how to customize their wallpaper and ringtones of their newly bought G5.
amedeto8
post Jan 14 2011, 09:37 PM

155 posts

gud job done motafoca n others..!!

really enjoy tiz forum unfortunately cannot contribute anything brows.gif
looking fwd tiz forum getting more contributor n new news coming in..
keep it up guys..!!
curiouso9
post Jan 14 2011, 10:10 PM

252 posts

do encourage him and tester or supporting a good idea will be a great help too. nod.gif
now! lets rock this GALAXY 5!! cool2.gif cool2.gif

This post has been edited by curiouso9: Jan 14 2011, 10:12 PM
izwanz
post Jan 14 2011, 10:14 PM

565 posts

can i get basic step by step instruction on how to mod my NEW galaxy5 to the firmware stated above.. .i have no idea how to start... i just bought the galaxy5, what softwares do i need to start.. thanks in advance

ja3kass
post Jan 14 2011, 10:14 PM

264 posts

cool here~
i will flash to stable version and gv feedback later Xp
curiouso9
post Jan 14 2011, 10:18 PM

252 posts

step same like leaked froyo,
need odin and rom.

odin : get it at dropbox or http://www.4shared.com/file/J-WSCJSX/odin_...d_ops_file.html
rom : http://www.multiupload.com/YV8HJJXQBD
step: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1687862 at #1 post.

This post has been edited by curiouso9: Jan 14 2011, 10:20 PM
blacktubi
post Jan 14 2011, 10:21 PM

-
8,415 posts

QUOTE(ja3kass @ Jan 14 2011, 10:14 PM)
cool here~
i will flash to stable version and gv feedback later Xp
Stable just fixed the battery issue... Won't feel changes on the UI
ja3kass
post Jan 14 2011, 10:25 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jan 14 2011, 10:21 PM)
Stable just fixed the battery issue... Won't feel changes on the UI
never mind, enough for me...
because the battery usage is killing me...
sometime i just use half day then finish up my battery, noted that i am not a heavy user...
sometime just think to flash back to 2.1 but i prefer app2SD since i like to test application icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on January 14, 2011, 10:29 pmthe file that i downloaded is .md5
is it just .tar?

This post has been edited by ja3kass: Jan 14 2011, 10:29 PM
xizzat
post Jan 14 2011, 10:36 PM

267 posts

just drop some feedback for the stable version i tried since lastnight.

battery consumption getting better than before
but i notice a bit lagg when using this firmware. (b4 this i use euro eclair)
every application such messaging (Handcent) also a bit lagg when open.
hmm i dun think u drop the cpu to 245mhz will make this lagg cuz it is on demand rite..

other is fine.

ja3kass
post Jan 14 2011, 10:41 PM

264 posts

flash successfully, yeah ~
but i thought my G5 will display I5500M instead of I5500L?
xizzat
post Jan 14 2011, 10:41 PM

267 posts

how to recover the widget after restarting the phone?
cuz all the widget i put gone after restart + not exist in widget list. but its installed
curiouso9
post Jan 14 2011, 10:45 PM

252 posts

QUOTE(ja3kass @ Jan 14 2011, 11:41 PM)
flash successfully, yeah ~
but i thought my G5 will display I5500M instead of I5500L?
motafoca not changing boot.. just name.. maybe inside about u can see it.
ja3kass
post Jan 14 2011, 10:52 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(curiouso9 @ Jan 14 2011, 10:45 PM)
motafoca not changing boot.. just name.. maybe inside about u can see it.
yeah, i am talking "about you"
maybe it is in other version...
anyway, thx to our brother from Brazil~
TSmotafoca
post Jan 14 2011, 11:03 PM

113 posts

500 Downloads from batfix, thanks guys smile.gif

Added on January 14, 2011, 11:04 pm500 Downloads from batfix, thanks guys smile.gif

This post has been edited by motafoca: Jan 14 2011, 11:04 PM
cpdbolinho
post Jan 14 2011, 11:42 PM

NEED BETA TESTER'S .. Join IRC chat...

thanx
TSmotafoca
post Jan 15 2011, 12:50 AM

113 posts

Need anyone with the STable BATFIX, just need a command run. nothing harmless

THanks

Added on January 15, 2011, 1:03 amext2 file system working, bugged but working, phone booted 3g works sdcard works and things like that
Keep you posted

This post has been edited by motafoca: Jan 15 2011, 01:03 AM
kimimaro_kun
post Jan 15 2011, 07:44 AM

I Am Whatever You Say I Am
669 posts

download already I5500_FROYO_BATFIX_bymotafoca.tar
but how come the size differ?
1 is 180mb and another 1 143mb
same file but i download from different site..

izwanz
post Jan 15 2011, 09:18 AM

565 posts

will this mod from original firmware void my warranty? thanks..
takashiyert
post Jan 15 2011, 10:51 AM

650 posts

bro any idea 2 mod d kernel for multi touch since now got youtube show got d multitouch
narkon
post Jan 15 2011, 01:00 PM

647 posts

hello...i think i got prob with my hp battery...it drain really2 fast...in 5 hours it already finish without doing anything...and when i charge, just 1 minutes, the battery already 75% full...i donno what is the problem...i already root and flashed...so if i need to send it back for warranty, what should i do....please help me...
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Jan 15 2011, 01:12 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

rclxms.gif Nice work............you are awesome
anirudh611
post Jan 15 2011, 02:34 PM

can any gimme a guide for installing the modded firmware as i am unable to install it. if i install it as i did for froyo the installation is not completing so can any one guide me how to install it.
curiouso9
post Jan 15 2011, 03:13 PM

252 posts

QUOTE(anirudh611 @ Jan 15 2011, 03:34 PM)
can any gimme a guide for installing the modded firmware as i am unable to install it. if i install it as i did for froyo the installation is not completing so can any one guide me how to install it.
use stable rom? can explain what happen in the process? crash or something?
need7
post Jan 15 2011, 06:04 PM

135 posts

maybe this will help you motofoca...

http://www.xda-developers.com/android/mult...testers-needed/

Multi-Touch Support Recovery – Testers Needed!
If you are waiting for fully working multi-touch on your Android device, XDA forum member chad0989 has been working on an updated recovery that supports multi-touch for all devices!

The XDA member states that he is fairly confident that all amoled devices are able to get either 3 or 5 point multi-touch. Note though that there may still be issues with some SLCD devices, hence the request for more testers.

If you are willing to help chad0989 out, take a look at the forum thread and follow the instructions. You’ll need to download his version of recovery and then flash a known working multi-touch kernel and finally use the multi-touch test app from the Market to check if you have more than 2 touch points.

This post has been edited by need7: Jan 15 2011, 06:05 PM
curiouso9
post Jan 15 2011, 07:47 PM

252 posts

he say "amoled devices". we r not amoled. hope in any other way it can help.
need7
post Jan 15 2011, 10:30 PM

135 posts

But they say all android device... Just a little help for mr.motafoca..

How about the stable version mod?
anirudh611
post Jan 15 2011, 11:35 PM

QUOTE(curiouso9 @ Jan 15 2011, 12:43 PM)
use stable rom? can explain what happen in the process? crash or something?
no nothing like that it is just getting restarted in the middle
actually i should use it as a single file?
will there be any change in my mobile tel me so that i can identify if it has change
The final thing i get in odin is reset pda after that my mobile is getting restarted

This post has been edited by anirudh611: Jan 15 2011, 11:47 PM
xizzat
post Jan 16 2011, 02:45 AM

267 posts

1st day i use the stable version is fine
now is 2nd day. so many crash. open contact crash. wifi also always drop. restart phone and so slow. i dono what happen i dun wan flash back to eclair cuz i love this mod
sad.gif
TSmotafoca
post Jan 16 2011, 06:23 AM

113 posts

Did you factory wipe everything?
bayanster
post Jan 16 2011, 08:11 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(motafoca @ Jan 16 2011, 06:23 AM)
yup, asking the same thing.

You must do a factory reset after the first boot.
My phone never experience crashing and reboot is a lot faster.
And the battery life is a damn better than the leaked one.
I have wifi on the almost whole day yesterday and this morning still got more than 50%.

xizzat
post Jan 16 2011, 05:39 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(motafoca @ Jan 16 2011, 06:23 AM)
yeah. i do factory reset wipe everything. or i still need wipe my SD card too?
crycx
post Jan 16 2011, 10:40 PM

Deam, i get stuck at setup connection... and i dont know what to do. I closed the program. No progress. Can somebody help ? Can the problem be, that i have already frojo installed ?

Edit: Problem fixed.

This post has been edited by crycx: Jan 16 2011, 11:42 PM
hakenslash
post Jan 17 2011, 03:59 PM

QUOTE(xizzat @ Jan 14 2011, 10:41 PM)
how to recover the widget after restarting the phone?
cuz all the widget i put gone after restart + not exist in widget list. but its installed
use a different launcher

try launcher pro
bayanster
post Jan 17 2011, 04:14 PM

34 posts

any updates on this?

hopes get multitouch soon...
TSmotafoca
post Jan 18 2011, 11:07 AM

113 posts

Anyone interessed in developing please read this:
http://www.heypasteit.com/clip/RUS
Also please share your sucess stories with us smile.gif

Added on January 18, 2011, 10:19 pmHey everyone Batfix Version 2.03 is out
Changelog: /system is ext2 (faster)
Added New Bootanimation
adb runs as root
busybox installed (you still need the "fix problems" in titanium backup)
pre rooted
batfix

Download @ http://www.multiupload.com/T7OFGWU8ZX
Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AqHLbEoGMu0

Added on January 18, 2011, 11:41 pmDATA WIPE BEFORE FLASHING
AFTER WONT WORK: Known Bug

This post has been edited by motafoca: Jan 18 2011, 11:41 PM
qazkurei
post Jan 19 2011, 12:30 AM

99 posts

cheers to motafoca.. .so many good feedback on the latest mod.. .going to flash maybe tomorrow if im not busy.. .^__^
TSmotafoca
post Jan 19 2011, 09:34 AM

113 posts

HARD RESET BEFORE INSTALL
Hey everyone Batfix Version 2.03 is out
Added New Bootanimation
adb runs as root
pre rooted
batfix

IF YOU DID NOT HARD RESET BEFORE INSTALL INSTALL ANDROID SDK
ENTER COMMAND PROMPT AND CHANGE TO THE TOOLS FOLDER INSIDE ANDROID SDK AND TYPE
adb shell rm -r /data/*
adb shell rm -r /cache/*
adb reboot

Know bug: after installed you cant hard reset only via ADB ( ask in irc channel on how to )

---Portuguese---

Ola pessoal batfix Version 2.03 saiu!
Mudanças: /system agora é ext2 (Mas rapido!)
Nova Animação de Boot
adb roda como root
busybox instalad (Você ainda precisa rodar o "fix problems" no titanium backup)
pre rootado
batfix

FAÇA O HARD RESET ANTES DE INSTALAR!!!!!

Bug Conhecido: Depois de instalado, você não consegue fazer o hard reset, então se você não fez antes, fica impossibilidade de mexer nas configurações, pergunte no IRC como fazer o Hard reset via ADB

Download @ http://www.multiupload.com/BEDRNP8IUJ

Added on January 19, 2011, 9:54 amCan anyone please make a video of the version booting, the "about" phone and the cyanogen apps running?
Please, i still dont have my phone, thanks

This post has been edited by motafoca: Jan 19 2011, 09:54 AM
need7
post Jan 19 2011, 11:35 AM

135 posts

motafoca can u give me your firmware browser.apk and browser.odex?
i accidentally deleted that file...no backup... please... sad.gif
my browser dont work...
narkon
post Jan 19 2011, 12:15 PM

647 posts

which one is the original firmware for eclair 2.1 ya?

I5503DXJG5 local (93.98MB) -
I5500XWJJ6 (113.74MB) -

I5500XWJK3 (95.84MB) -

This post has been edited by narkon: Jan 19 2011, 12:15 PM
jaithesimpleguy
post Jan 19 2011, 05:54 PM

186 posts

wow. congrats on the latest stable firmware mod! can someone help me to understand, is it a important to install android sdk before flash to 2.03?
TSmotafoca
post Jan 19 2011, 09:11 PM

113 posts

SDK Is needed if data reset hasnt been done
If you hardreseted it before flashing you dont need to

jaithesimpleguy
post Jan 19 2011, 09:18 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(motafoca @ Jan 19 2011, 09:11 PM)
SDK Is needed if data reset hasnt been done
If you hardreseted it before flashing you dont need to
OK thanks. just flashed your latest firmware. MAIGOD Metafoca. I cant stand that dancing android. LOL. Will report how was after few days. TQVM!!
TSmotafoca
post Jan 20 2011, 03:13 AM

113 posts

OK
Ext2 on all partitions, gave a little inprovement wink.gif

http://i1197.photobucket.com/albums/aa423/...ca205bench2.png

Next release maybe today with that

Added on January 20, 2011, 7:28 amVersion 2.0.6
http://www.multiupload.com/3E3AX3O9EM

Changelog
http://pastebin.com/twtX6iQ3

Ext2 conversion: (lagfix like)
http://www.multiupload.com/L18XIGNXWA

Portuguese readme for ext2 conversion:
http://pastebin.com/Zb2NamMh

This post has been edited by motafoca: Jan 20 2011, 07:28 AM
josenigel
post Jan 20 2011, 01:53 PM

227 posts

I flashed to motafoca's mod last night and charged my phone till 99%.
Just woke around 1pm haha and my batt is down to 60% and within mins it went down to 56%. doh.gif
I did leave my data connection on over night as I am on unlimited. Is this the factor?

This post has been edited by josenigel: Jan 20 2011, 01:55 PM
need7
post Jan 20 2011, 02:16 PM

135 posts

Already finish restroing and update all apps. Now new firmware....gonna try this. But for heavy user the battry look like drain faster also on 2.0.3. But it smooth than leaked one.no lag or missing icon on launcher.
blacktubi
post Jan 20 2011, 02:20 PM

-
8,415 posts

QUOTE(josenigel @ Jan 20 2011, 01:53 PM)
I flashed to motafoca's mod last night and charged my phone till 99%.
Just woke around 1pm haha and my batt is down to 60% and within mins it went down to 56%. doh.gif
I did leave my data connection on over night as I am on unlimited. Is this the factor?
data connection is quite battery consuming, disable live wallpaper
josenigel
post Jan 20 2011, 02:53 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jan 20 2011, 02:20 PM)
data connection is quite battery consuming, disable live wallpaper
Oh ok thx bro, I dont have Live wallpaper on. Anyhow, thx for the reply, just flashed to 2.0.6

Added on January 20, 2011, 4:02 pmI think we need to put up a tutorial on how to flash mota's mod. yes it is same as the first froyo in the G5 thread but many are still confused. Maybe a video tutorial from any of the testers out there?

This will definitely help answer all the questions and to those who are worried to flash. Including me blink.gif

This post has been edited by josenigel: Jan 20 2011, 04:14 PM
ja3kass
post Jan 20 2011, 04:02 PM

264 posts

i flash to the 2.06 version, but i stuck at android system recovery there...
dun knw what i choose。。。
1.reboot system
2.apply sd card
3.wipe data/factory reset
4.wipe cache pertition
josenigel
post Jan 20 2011, 04:05 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(ja3kass @ Jan 20 2011, 04:02 PM)
i flash to the 2.06 version, but i stuck at android system recovery there...
dun knw what i choose。。。
1.reboot system
2.apply sd card
4.wipe cache pertition
I got the same thing. I did reboot system blush.gif
opethbleed555
post Jan 20 2011, 04:25 PM

340 posts

crap. ive flashed it. now force close in portuegese/spanish i assume each time my phone runs. help!
g.oostema
post Jan 20 2011, 04:33 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(josenigel @ Jan 20 2011, 03:05 PM)
I got the same thing. I did reboot system  blush.gif
same problem here
josenigel
post Jan 20 2011, 04:35 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(opethbleed555 @ Jan 20 2011, 04:25 PM)
crap. ive flashed it. now force close in portuegese/spanish i assume each time my phone runs. help!
Do a Hard Reset and re-flash! Hope it works blush.gif

Added on January 20, 2011, 4:37 pmIts a holiday so I guess many of our guru's are away. Maybe later at night they will be on to help us out blink.gif

This post has been edited by josenigel: Jan 20 2011, 04:37 PM
g.oostema
post Jan 20 2011, 04:50 PM

31 posts

hey guys, why when i flash i dont have the benchmark app?
do i need to get this somewhere else? please let me know where.
josenigel
post Jan 20 2011, 04:54 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(g.oostema @ Jan 20 2011, 04:50 PM)
Yes at Market Place
curiouso9
post Jan 20 2011, 05:34 PM

252 posts

QUOTE(g.oostema @ Jan 20 2011, 05:50 PM)
search quadrant...
josenigel
post Jan 20 2011, 05:38 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(curiouso9 @ Jan 20 2011, 05:34 PM)
search quadrant...
@ Curiouso9 - Did you flash to the latest one? If so, did you get this option below when flashing?

1.reboot system
2.apply sd card
4.wipe cache pertition

shadow111
post Jan 20 2011, 05:39 PM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(g.oostema @ Jan 20 2011, 04:50 PM)
quadrant can be found inside the g5 dropbox
g.oostema
post Jan 20 2011, 05:57 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(josenigel @ Jan 20 2011, 03:54 PM)
Yes at Market Place
Tnx tongue.gif sometimes i feel like such a n00b, hehe, i should start some android modding myself, no experience in it at all yet though.
which benchmark app is he using in the video? there are too many too choose from.
josenigel
post Jan 20 2011, 05:59 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(g.oostema @ Jan 20 2011, 05:57 PM)
Tnx tongue.gif sometimes i feel like such a n00b, hehe, i should start some android modding myself, no experience in it at all yet though.
which benchmark app is he using in the video? there are too many too choose from.
As mentioned above - Quadrant
From Market place or G5's DropBox tongue.gif
amedeto8
post Jan 20 2011, 06:18 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(josenigel @ Jan 20 2011, 02:53 PM)
Oh ok thx bro, I dont have Live wallpaper on. Anyhow, thx for the reply, just flashed to 2.0.6

Added on January 20, 2011, 4:02 pmI think we need to put up a tutorial on how to flash mota's mod. yes it is same as the first froyo in the G5 thread but many are still confused. Maybe a video tutorial from any of the testers out there?

This will definitely help answer all the questions and to those who are worried to flash. Including me blink.gif
100% agree especially for newbie need stable ver + gud b3 comsumption rclxms.gif
curiouso9
post Jan 20 2011, 06:27 PM

252 posts

QUOTE(josenigel @ Jan 20 2011, 06:38 PM)
@ Curiouso9 - Did you flash to the latest one? If so, did you get this option below when flashing?

1.reboot system
2.apply sd card
4.wipe cache pertition
you should hard reset before flashing..
if you using adb.. just type adb reboot recovery.. all will be ok then happy.gif
chen choose wipe data wipe cache.
amedeto8
post Jan 20 2011, 06:28 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(motafoca @ Jan 18 2011, 11:07 AM)
Anyone interessed in developing please read this:
http://www.heypasteit.com/clip/RUS
Also please share your sucess stories with us smile.gif

Added on January 18, 2011, 10:19 pmHey everyone Batfix Version 2.03 is out
Added New Bootanimation
adb runs as root
pre rooted
batfix

Added on January 18, 2011, 11:41 pmDATA WIPE BEFORE FLASHING
AFTER WONT WORK: Known Bug
hi.. currently using BATFIX n works fine.. since u've new ver would like to try if it stable biggrin.gif
to use/flash new ver as normal step o i have xtra thing to do b4 n after flash it??
tq
josenigel
post Jan 20 2011, 06:32 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(curiouso9 @ Jan 20 2011, 06:27 PM)
you should hard reset before flashing..
if you using adb.. just type adb reboot recovery.. all will be ok then happy.gif
chen choose wipe data wipe cache.
All I do is use Odin and follow all instructions, till comes to the point of reboot and that option comes up. It wont auto reboot it just gives you those choice. doh.gif
But it seems ok after clicking Reboot. Just curious if you guys are face the same?

What's adb btw? Is it the the Android SDK?

This post has been edited by josenigel: Jan 20 2011, 06:37 PM
curiouso9
post Jan 20 2011, 06:44 PM

252 posts

QUOTE(josenigel @ Jan 20 2011, 07:32 PM)
All I do is use Odin and follow all instructions, till comes to the point of reboot and that option comes up. It wont auto reboot it just gives you those choice. doh.gif
But it seems ok after clicking Reboot. Just curious if you guys are face the same?

What's adb btw? Is it the the Android SDK?
like the previous build.. if you want to avoid any problem just hard reset before flashing.. i just reboot recovery n wipe data/cache b4 flash just to take precaution . if you follow above. its ok too. nod.gif
Yes. android sdk. always use that to backup system files and pull installed apk.

TSmotafoca
post Jan 20 2011, 08:15 PM

113 posts

Guys

The battery saving shoulb be the same, in havent touched that area after batfixv1
Rememnber that you need to full charge/discharge before the phone know whats going on
And charge until the 100% message is displayed, yes it takes a while
opethbleed555
post Jan 20 2011, 08:30 PM

340 posts

hie mota im having a really big problem. can i just pvt u on irc>?
TSmotafoca
post Jan 20 2011, 08:42 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(opethbleed555 @ Jan 20 2011, 09:30 AM)
hie mota im having a really big problem. can i just pvt u on irc>?
sure
adamw
post Jan 20 2011, 09:39 PM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,352 posts

hi mota, flash mine using your mod & everything fine except that even though it's already rooted it cannot run titanium backup & root explorer?
TSmotafoca
post Jan 20 2011, 09:51 PM

113 posts

You still need androot to root it
josenigel
post Jan 21 2011, 02:27 AM

227 posts

can i re-flash even after doing the ext2? no one is answering me in the IRC room doh.gif
anyone?
TSmotafoca
post Jan 21 2011, 04:56 AM

113 posts

Reflash can be done to 2.0.6 or aboce
If you reflash to any other version without doing a restore your phone wont boot
g.oostema
post Jan 21 2011, 11:43 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(josenigel @ Jan 20 2011, 04:59 PM)
As mentioned above - Quadrant
From Market place or G5's DropBox  tongue.gif
smile.gif i asked before i saw your answer come up. weird tongue.gif
Naman
post Jan 21 2011, 06:17 PM

QUOTE(motafoca @ Jan 21 2011, 02:26 AM)
If you reflash to any other version without doing a restore your phone wont boot
Does it means if someone is on 2.0.6 with ext2 and forget to restore before flashing other ROM (except ROM u mentioned), his phone is gone.. is that correct? or any other way to recover phone?
LeoKesler
post Jan 21 2011, 06:48 PM

QUOTE(motafoca @ Jan 21 2011, 04:56 AM)
So, if I wish to update to standard samsung firmware, first I need to restore that backup I have done before install EXT2 mod ?

TSmotafoca
post Jan 21 2011, 06:50 PM

113 posts

Just restore to rfs using the restore part on the readme and then flash the samsung firmware
xDarkKnightx
post Jan 21 2011, 08:06 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

Hi there guys. I didn't log in for quite some time. Mind sharing the link of the latest stable firmware with no problems and a backup app that backups everything including my widgets and stuff? Thanks a lot.
TSmotafoca
post Jan 22 2011, 12:48 AM

113 posts

Google code up
check @ https://twitter.com/mad_team
josenigel
post Jan 22 2011, 12:59 AM

227 posts

Just want to report in to you guys, been using 2.0.6 a whole day now with ext2. Whatsapp crashed a few times and I think once my phone just hang. Other than that everything is ok. Battery is better than before. Phone seems much faster. Haven't tried any games but still am happy with this phone.

A suggestion if I may, any chance of getting flash into the next build? tongue.gif
flyingbong
post Jan 22 2011, 11:23 AM

izzit necessary to change to ext2 after flashed to 2.0.6? if i only flash to 2.0.6 but didn't change to ext2...will it matters? whats the diff? Hope to hear some response b4 flashing to 2.0.6..Thanks in advance~! ><
nodeffect
post Jan 22 2011, 11:32 AM

Your past does not equal your future.
1,281 posts

what is ext2? Im a newbie here..... first time using android and feel like flashing to 2.2 froyo but dont know the risk.... Help needed, Thanks !
josenigel
post Jan 22 2011, 01:07 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(nodeffect @ Jan 22 2011, 11:32 AM)
what is ext2? Im a newbie here..... first time using android and feel like flashing to 2.2 froyo but dont know the risk.... Help needed, Thanks !
Don't flash yet. Enjoy 2.1 and get to know your Android a little better before flashing to 2.2 biggrin.gif

subdroid
post Jan 22 2011, 02:01 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(motafoca @ Jan 14 2011, 09:28 PM)
Hi everyone, this message is to clear all all doughts for you hope it helps: Its more like a faq than anything else.

- Whats the stable version?
The stable version is I5500LAR0JP2_MODIFIED.tar.md5 aka I5500_FROYO_BATFIX_bymotafoca.tar.md5 aka V0.0.1                            - The changelog is: - Fixed the powersaving governor to ondemand, so the cpuclock                                                  drops to 245mhz when not in use
                                      - Modified some lines on the init.rc script - you can now SU with adb

- Where do i get the stable version?
http://www.multiupload.com/YV8HJJXQBD

- How do i flash my device? (Thanks curious9)
odin : get it at dropbox or http://www.4shared.com/file/J-WSCJSX/odin_...d_ops_file.html
rom : http://www.multiupload.com/YV8HJJXQBD
steps: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1687862 at #1 post.

- Is version V1.0.2 Stable?
No, V1.0.2 Is the stable version aka 0.0.1 with the cpu min frequency reduced to 122mhz This change makes wifi unstable and aparently some apps arent working in this version either

- What about Versions 1.0.3, 1.0.4 - 1.0.x ?
These versions are testing versions All the version are based on the stable version plus some kind of attempt to boot a new kernel, try ext2 file system or anything else, the numbers change but it doesnt mean that version 1.0.5 is better than version 1.0.4 They are all test versions with diferent changes

- Why you trying diferent things?
Basically because the factory ROM is crap - How about cyanogen? Cyanogen is a very good ROM, im trying to port it to our phone, one of the road blocks is the file system, cyanogen uses severall "links" between files and samsung RFS filesystem (thats based on fat) doesnt support these links One alternative would be copy each file instead of links, but then the system doest fit sad.gif

For now thats it, thank you all for your help

Remember,
for support testing and help enter the IRC Chat at freenode

http://webchat.freenode.net channel #gti5500
Please use this topic for now on for ROM customization, if you have any other questions use the official GT-I5500 Topic

Mota,

Please update this guide to the latest 2.0.6 rom.

Thanx

herry_1818
post Jan 22 2011, 04:18 PM

17 posts

I have finished V2.0.6, how to do ext2?
WanaGo
post Jan 22 2011, 04:30 PM

18 posts

Updated to 2.0.6 with EXT2 mod. No issues so far.

Did the Quadrant test and scored 760 - quite a bit lower than the video.
Cleared RAM and did it again, got 808 - still lower than the video.
Linpack I got 7.123 with this new version.

With 2.2 leaked I got 7.4 or so.
With 2.1 I got 3.6 or so.

I havent noticed any noticable speed increases in general operation, however that is not to say its not faster.
Early days yet, only had it on for a few hours.

What are other people getting Quadrant score wise?
What about Linpack?

Added on January 22, 2011, 4:31 pm
I have finished V2.0.6, how to do ext2?

There is a file called READMEFIRST in the file you download for the EXT2 mod. Its all in there.

This post has been edited by WanaGo: Jan 22 2011, 04:31 PM
TSmotafoca
post Jan 23 2011, 05:44 AM

113 posts

If you flash any version on the phone it will still boot
You just wont have the grafical part because the /cache and /data are ext2
But adb will still work
So YOU CAN RESTORE EVEN AFTER FLASHING
Its fail safe, dont worry
izwanz
post Jan 23 2011, 02:44 PM

565 posts

where to download to the latest 2.06? i just flashed to the I5500_FROYO_BATFIX_bymotafoca.tar.md5

seriously i have no idea what are you guys talking about ext2 and this 2.0.6 stuffs

Added on January 23, 2011, 3:07 pmok i think i get it now.. i just flashed to the old I5500_FROYO_BATFIX_bymotafoca.tar.md5...

can i just straight flash to the latest 2.0.6???

This post has been edited by izwanz: Jan 23 2011, 03:07 PM
blacktubi
post Jan 23 2011, 06:33 PM

-
8,415 posts

QUOTE(motafoca @ Jan 23 2011, 05:44 AM)
If you flash any version on the phone it will still boot
You just wont have the grafical part because the /cache and /data are ext2
But adb will still work
So YOU CAN RESTORE EVEN AFTER FLASHING
Its fail safe, dont worry
How to root the phone, Universal Androot always FCs
nodeffect
post Jan 23 2011, 07:15 PM

1,281 posts

hmm, I think I will wait for the next better version... btw, will it support multi touch next ? That will be super awesome!
narkon
post Jan 23 2011, 08:07 PM

647 posts

hello there....anyone know how to hard reset the phone without entering the codes....my phone brick...now cannot flash to 2.1 or 2.2....
josenigel
post Jan 23 2011, 08:08 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(narkon @ Jan 23 2011, 08:07 PM)
hello there....anyone know how to hard reset the phone without entering the codes....my phone brick...now cannot flash to 2.1 or 2.2....
i think the only is to use adb to reset
narkon
post Jan 23 2011, 08:20 PM

647 posts

what is adb?..
josenigel
post Jan 23 2011, 08:33 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(narkon @ Jan 23 2011, 08:20 PM)
what is adb?..
check this site out for some info about it and getting it installed, hope it helps
http://www.addictivetips.com/mobile/what-i...all-it-android/
narkon
post Jan 23 2011, 08:56 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(josenigel @ Jan 23 2011, 08:33 PM)
check this site out for some info about it and getting it installed, hope it helps
http://www.addictivetips.com/mobile/what-i...all-it-android/
ok..thats look complicated and dangerous....should i just send back to warantty?... hmm.gif
josenigel
post Jan 23 2011, 09:14 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(narkon @ Jan 23 2011, 08:56 PM)
ok..thats look complicated and dangerous....should i just send back to warantty?... hmm.gif
check out the G5 thread, i put a video link on how to prepare your PC for adb

izwanz
post Jan 23 2011, 09:26 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(narkon @ Jan 23 2011, 08:56 PM)
what did you to your phone bro?

i am very concerned if the warranty may void as you have tempered with the firmware.. try calling the samsung hotline and ask them first if anything.. good luck
narkon
post Jan 23 2011, 09:38 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(josenigel @ Jan 23 2011, 09:14 PM)
check out the G5 thread, i put a video link on how to prepare your PC for adb
ok thank you bro...will try it

Added on January 23, 2011, 9:50 pm
QUOTE(izwanz @ Jan 23 2011, 09:26 PM)
what did you to your phone bro?

i am very concerned if the warranty may void as you have tempered with the firmware.. try calling the samsung hotline and ask them first if anything.. good luck
really...im concern on that too...the reason y i flash back to 2.1 bcoz dun want they know i flash to 2.2..but now become more worse...can i just tell them that the phone sudenly become like dat?? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by narkon: Jan 23 2011, 09:50 PM
josenigel
post Jan 23 2011, 10:30 PM

227 posts

Hey guys, to revert back to samsung firmware and remove ext2 I just input these commands?

adb push cache.backup /sdcard/
adb push data.backup /sdcard/
adb shell dd if=/sdcard/data.backup of=/dev/stl13
adb shell dd if=/sdcard/cache.backup of=/dev/stl14
adb reboot

*edit - got the answer smile.gif

This post has been edited by josenigel: Jan 23 2011, 10:42 PM
nodeffect
post Jan 23 2011, 10:44 PM

1,281 posts

QUOTE(josenigel @ Jan 23 2011, 10:30 PM)
Hey guys, to revert back to samsung firmware and remove ext2 I just input these commands?

adb push cache.backup /sdcard/
adb push data.backup /sdcard/
adb shell dd if=/sdcard/data.backup of=/dev/stl13
adb shell dd if=/sdcard/cache.backup of=/dev/stl14
adb reboot

*edit - got the answer smile.gif
so those commands will revert back to original 2.1 firmware? did you backup the original firmware to your PC first?
josenigel
post Jan 23 2011, 10:46 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(nodeffect @ Jan 23 2011, 10:44 PM)
so those commands will revert back to original 2.1 firmware? did you backup the original firmware to your PC first?
nope it will only remove the ext2 but you will still be on 2.0.6 but with that removed you can revert back to older roms if you desire.
grevius
post Jan 23 2011, 11:23 PM

I followed the procedure for. ext2, and everything went well without giving errors, but now the phone I get stuck in the looping animation that says samsung and will not start! I'm desperate, how can I fix this? bye.gif
subdroid
post Jan 23 2011, 11:33 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(narkon @ Jan 23 2011, 09:38 PM)
ok thank you bro...will try it

Added on January 23, 2011, 9:50 pm
really...im concern on that too...the reason y i flash back to 2.1 bcoz dun want they know i flash to 2.2..but now become more worse...can i just tell them that the phone sudenly become like dat??  sweat.gif
What happened actually? hmm.gif

I just recently reverted back to Eclair after flashed Froyo yesterday night sweat.gif and the process to revert worked perfectly (luckily I backed up my contacts, Messages, Settings and Apps Using MyBackup Pro and Titanium Pro).

Maybe I could be of help. thumbup.gif nod.gif

Added on January 23, 2011, 11:47 pm
QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jan 23 2011, 06:33 PM)
How to root the phone, Universal Androot always FCs
try z4root, just added to dropbox. (z4root.1.1.0.apk)

This post has been edited by subdroid: Jan 23 2011, 11:48 PM
josenigel
post Jan 24 2011, 12:40 AM

227 posts

I am noticing many issues now, many are having trouble flashing to the current rom.

My humble opinion to you guys is that flash to 2.0.6 if you want but stay away from the ext2 if your not sure what to do but by having to do so you would still need to do a Hard Reset via ADB and not through phone. In the G5 thread, I posted a video from youtube on how to install ADB. Very easy instructions. Once you set up your ADB, just do the Hard Reset. Reset commands are in the first post of the G5 thread. If and when your confident enough, then do the ext2 biggrin.gif

Flashing back to 2.1 is pretty easy as well when you have the files and follow the instructions. All links and software are in the DropBox G5 folder rclxms.gif

Again, just my humble thoughts and opinion blush.gif

This post has been edited by josenigel: Jan 24 2011, 12:41 AM
grevius
post Jan 24 2011, 12:59 AM

could you please put a link that I do not know what the G5 is the thread and I do not know where to find it. thanks anyway for the info!
josenigel
post Jan 24 2011, 01:07 AM

227 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1687862 tongue.gif

This post has been edited by josenigel: Jan 24 2011, 01:08 AM
grevius
post Jan 24 2011, 01:11 AM

ADB does not make me do the hard reset! I do not know what to do. . .
josenigel
post Jan 24 2011, 01:13 AM

227 posts

have you done and install the sdk and set up your adb so that it will detect your phone?
grevius
post Jan 24 2011, 01:16 AM

if I do adb devices it find the phone, but do not run the command
josenigel
post Jan 24 2011, 01:17 AM

227 posts

K i'm not sure what is wrong sad.gif
try the IRC channel and ask the guys there if they can help you out bro
grevius
post Jan 24 2011, 01:19 AM

ok, thk !

Added on January 24, 2011, 1:27 amnow adb doesn't find my device o.o

This post has been edited by grevius: Jan 24 2011, 01:27 AM
josenigel
post Jan 24 2011, 01:36 AM

227 posts

I dont think you've done it properly, get the SDK tools and do it step by sted to get your ADB as in the video
grevius
post Jan 24 2011, 01:45 AM

but SDK work propetry! before the phone locks it worked perfectly, and i havent't cange nothing
TSmotafoca
post Jan 24 2011, 02:49 AM

113 posts

If your phone doest boot after changing to ext2 it means you dont have 2.0.6 flashed

grevius
post Jan 24 2011, 04:14 AM

I flashed with the version of which is a link in the first post
means that I can not fix the problem?
adb still gives me error as: rm failed for / data / * No such file or directory
TSmotafoca
post Jan 24 2011, 07:39 AM

113 posts

use 2.0.6 version
and there is no space after /data/

Added on January 24, 2011, 10:41 am2.0.7 1000 on quadrant
Releasing it soon

This post has been edited by motafoca: Jan 24 2011, 10:41 AM
win7v
post Jan 24 2011, 11:03 AM

motafoca plz plz help me iam new to android world

I'm Bharath from India I have now running 2.2 on my i5503 device

I'm totally confused on how to get ur new custom firmware. I'm installed the.

and I had successful but main thing
I can't get any features mentioned in ur custom mod no new bootscreen, no busybox. it same same as leaked froyo.
. if do any mistakes plz correct it and explain me step by step installation on ur new custom mod plz plz

TSmotafoca
post Jan 24 2011, 07:13 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(win7v @ Jan 24 2011, 12:03 AM)
motafoca plz plz help me iam new to android world

I'm Bharath from India I have now running 2.2 on my i5503 device

I'm totally confused on how to get ur new custom firmware. I'm installed the.

and I had successful but main thing
I can't get any features mentioned in ur custom mod no new bootscreen, no busybox. it same same as leaked froyo.
. if do any mistakes plz correct it and explain me step by step installation on ur new custom mod plz plz
Use 2.0.6
Look at the first post

Added on January 24, 2011, 7:50 pmhttp://img88.imageshack.us/img88/143/device1t.png

This post has been edited by motafoca: Jan 24 2011, 07:50 PM
ja3kass
post Jan 24 2011, 09:03 PM

264 posts

i am really satisfied with 2.0.6 battery fixed version, thx you very much motafoca ^^
blacktubi
post Jan 24 2011, 10:03 PM

-
8,415 posts

QUOTE(motafoca @ Jan 24 2011, 07:39 AM)
use 2.0.6 version
and there is no space after /data/

Added on January 24, 2011, 10:41 am2.0.7 1000 on quadrant
Releasing it soon
Wow, PM me if need any help like making video intro rclxms.gif
flyingbong
post Jan 24 2011, 10:26 PM

HI, i need some help here.....i falshed to 2.0.6 and change to ext2 already....thats mean my phone is rooted already right? but y i using some apps , it still say don/t have root access....plus i using androot, it said my phone already root...but i wan unroot, it will force close......i don't knw where the problem are....someone can give me some hints? Thanks in advanced~! ><
josenigel
post Jan 24 2011, 10:54 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(flyingbong @ Jan 24 2011, 10:26 PM)
HI, i need some help here.....i falshed to 2.0.6 and change to ext2 already....thats mean my phone is rooted already right? but y i using some apps , it still say don/t have root access....plus i using androot, it said my phone already root...but i wan unroot, it will force close......i don't knw where the problem are....someone can give me some hints? Thanks in advanced~! ><
I had a very similar problem like yours. What I did was uninstall Adroot and re-download a new one and re-install it. After doing so, I didn't have the Force Close issue again and could root my phone rclxms.gif
jwong0303
post Jan 25 2011, 10:50 AM

19 posts

Hi, while trying to flash to 2.0.6

I did the followings:

Odin:
Checked : One Package, Auto Reboot, Protect OPS
OPS selected is : EUROPA_I5508_v1.0.ops
Integrated Package : I5500_MOTAFOCA_BATFIXV2.0.6.tar.md5

Galaxy 5
1. hard reset *#*#7780#*#*
2. Take out battery for 5 sec
3. hold VolumeDown-Center-Power Button (EndCall)
4. Enter in download mode
5. Connect USB cable from PC to Phone

Odin:
detected COM Port
COM Port Mapping : 1 (COM 21) in yellow

Then Click Start:
<1> StartThread Detected : 1
<2> StartThread Detected : 0
<3> StartThread Detected : 0
<4> StartThread Detected : 0
<5> StartThread Detected : 0
<6> StartThread Detected : 0
<7> StartThread Detected : 0
<8> StartThread Detected : 0
<1>---cannot open the usb serial port. code:32

and it just stopped there for 10 min before I pull the cable and restart the phone.
It didnt flash at all.

Anyone has any idea what did I do wrong?

TSmotafoca
post Jan 25 2011, 12:05 PM

113 posts

Never saw that error before
Try changing the port
ronnie039
post Jan 25 2011, 02:07 PM

QUOTE(jwong0303 @ Jan 25 2011, 09:50 AM)

I did the followings:

Odin:
Checked : One Package, Auto Reboot, Protect OPS
OPS selected is : EUROPA_I5508_v1.0.ops
Integrated Package : I5500_MOTAFOCA_BATFIXV2.0.6.tar.md5

Galaxy 5
1. hard reset *#*#7780#*#*

Odin:
detected COM Port

Then Click Start:
<1> StartThread Detected : 1
<2> StartThread Detected : 0
<3> StartThread Detected : 0
<4> StartThread Detected : 0
<5> StartThread Detected : 0
<6> StartThread Detected : 0
<7> StartThread Detected : 0
<8> StartThread Detected : 0
<1>---cannot open the usb serial port. code:32

and it just stopped there for 10 min before I pull the cable and restart the phone.
It didnt flash at all.

Anyone has any idea what did I do wrong?
this issue happened in my forum, the problem was your cable or your windows OS, try another PC or try another cable

Added on January 25, 2011, 2:21 pm
QUOTE(josenigel @ Jan 24 2011, 09:54 PM)
I had a very similar problem like yours. What I did was uninstall Adroot and re-download a new one and re-install it. After doing so, I didn't have the Force Close issue again and could root my phone  rclxms.gif
stupid..............

This post has been edited by ronnie039: Jan 25 2011, 02:21 PM
Harry_MJ
post Jan 25 2011, 03:12 PM

QUOTE(jwong0303 @ Jan 25 2011, 04:50 AM)

Odin:
detected COM Port

Then Click Start:
I had the same issue, and my solution:
Pull out the USB cable
Leave ODIN running
..and then just perform same steps, as in the quote above

Cheers,
Harry
josenigel
post Jan 25 2011, 04:19 PM

227 posts

Lol ok looks like ronnie is here to help everyone and he seems highly intelligent enuff to call others stupid. PM ronnie if you have any issues. I know i will. ;-)
nga911
post Jan 25 2011, 05:37 PM

45 posts

one semi-noob question, if i change to EXT2, is it possible to revert back later in-case i change my mind?
flyingbong
post Jan 25 2011, 06:32 PM

QUOTE(josenigel @ Jan 24 2011, 10:54 PM)
I had a very similar problem like yours. What I did was uninstall Adroot and re-download a new one and re-install it. After doing so, I didn't have the Force Close issue again and could root my phone  rclxms.gif
I will try it...thanks bro~! ^^

Added on January 25, 2011, 6:39 pmerm....one more question....if later 2.0.7 released, and if i wanna flash to 2.0.7, how can i backup all apps that i already installed now? which apps is the best to do this? thanks in advanced~! ^^

This post has been edited by flyingbong: Jan 25 2011, 06:39 PM
TSmotafoca
post Jan 26 2011, 04:45 AM

113 posts

Version 2.0.7 To be released in the hour,
check http://www.g5devteam.com for more info and changelog
herry_1818
post Jan 26 2011, 09:51 AM

17 posts

woo,2.0.7!!install like post #1?
jwong0303
post Jan 26 2011, 11:55 AM

19 posts

Cannot open usb serial port Problem
------------------------------------------
As per ronnie039 suggested, I managed to succeed in flashing to 2.0.6 by using another PC.

Force Close Problem
-----------------------
After click Reboot (when prompted on the phone), i encountered the Force Close problem that pop up every few seconds. This problem continues even after Hard reset by dialing *2767*3855#.

*However, if I remove the SIM, the Force Close problem will disappear. Problem will recur if SIM is inserted.

As suggested by Motafoca in the irc channel, i did a hard reset using the following commands (After removing SIM):
adb shell rm -r /data/*
adb shell rm -r /cache/*
adb reboot

This solve all my problem.

Thanks to Ronnie and Motafoca.
opethbleed555
post Jan 26 2011, 12:32 PM

340 posts

for the 2.07 do i need to do ext2 ? or just leave it cause its already in the 2.07. Im using 2.03 great version the battery life is like a charm
need7
post Jan 26 2011, 01:24 PM

135 posts

Motafoca 2.0.6 has satisfied me...but 2.0.7 all apps to sd more to satisfied me.. but one question, no need to hard reset this time???
izwanz
post Jan 26 2011, 01:36 PM

565 posts

hey guys im currently using firmware in the old I5500_FROYO_BATFIX_bymotafoca.tar.md5

can i just simply flash to 2.0.7 soon?
jaithesimpleguy
post Jan 26 2011, 02:00 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jan 24 2011, 10:03 PM)
Wow, PM me if need any help like making video intro  rclxms.gif
looking forward for the video. step by step guide would be preferable. hehe... TIA.

This post has been edited by jaithesimpleguy: Jan 26 2011, 02:09 PM
WanaGo
post Jan 26 2011, 02:50 PM

18 posts

2.0.7 constantly force closes every few seconds for me - same as above, however the above commands failed to work.

I created the partition on SD, flashed to 2.0.7, ran the scripts and all seemed fine.

Opened superuser once booted and it force closed too.
Managed to get androot installed and re-rooted, but still no luck.

Couldnt open anything really without force closes.

Ran: adb shell
#wipe data

restarted, it rebooted over and over and over.

Loaded download mode again and reflashed. Will try again.

Added on January 26, 2011, 2:55 pmReflashed, all good so far. havent done App2SD again yet though.
Havent tried opening superuser yet either.

Anyone notice when you pull down the system menu the date is on the left, and it sits over any running apps you have up there, preventing you easily reading anything up there...

Added on January 26, 2011, 3:33 pmWifi has locked up. Initially said 'error' when you tried to enable it, and now locks up the phone until the lock screen comes up.

Is 2.0.7 not rooted as standard either, even though superuser is installed?

I cant execute commands like "adb shell rm -r /data/*" as I get an IO error.

Rerooted but still not much luck.

Added on January 26, 2011, 4:10 pmAfter reroot, market disappeared and wifi no loinger works at all.

adb logcat showed the following when I tried to open wifi:

E/WifiHW ( 183): Cannot access "/data/misc/wifi/wpa_supplicant.conf": I/O error
E/WifiHW ( 183): Wi-Fi will not be enabled

Added on January 26, 2011, 4:13 pmReflashed twice and for some reason it is not going back to default settings where you have to change the language from spanish etc... strange.

Added on January 26, 2011, 6:06 pmWorking now. Had to revert back to 2.0.6 from my ext2 backup, which was using the Samsung partition type. Then upgraded to 2.0.7 again and did EXT2 once in 2.0.7 and all is now fine

This post has been edited by WanaGo: Jan 26 2011, 06:06 PM
flyingbong
post Jan 26 2011, 10:21 PM

wow...2.0.7....now i m using 2.0.6 with ext2 already....so if i flash to 2.0.7, do i need to do the ext2 once more?
TSmotafoca
post Jan 27 2011, 03:04 AM

113 posts

Guys if you get stuck use the wiki, it explains alot
nodeffect
post Jan 27 2011, 11:29 AM

1,281 posts

The only let down on this new 2.0.7 is the theme sad.gif
But, it's still a great improvement on other stuffs smile.gif Great work!
leobava
post Jan 27 2011, 08:44 PM

Yeah, i'm using the last version too, and the batfix works like a charm!
But i've the same "complain" that nodeffect. I prefer the original android theme, without those tribals.

Is it possible to change it back somehow?

BTW, congrats MADTeam!

TSmotafoca
post Jan 27 2011, 09:02 PM

113 posts

Guys,

I have made a tutorial on how to edit and change the framework (theme) of the phone
Check it out at the wiki.g5devteam.com

leobava
post Jan 27 2011, 10:15 PM

Perfect motafoca.
What about add your forum/wiki links into the first post? Can you edit it?

That will help a lot, and you dont need to answer the same questions everytime. wink.gif
TSmotafoca
post Jan 28 2011, 09:56 AM

113 posts

Edited
g.oostema
post Jan 28 2011, 10:26 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(motafoca @ Jan 28 2011, 08:56 AM)
Edited
gotta love motafoca, havent tried 2.07 or ext2 yet.
but on 2.06 without ext2 and only 1 full charge - decharge my phone is doing 4 days and on 55% with normal call use and maybe 2-3 hours of app use every day.

thanks man, your the best.

xDarkKnightx
post Jan 28 2011, 03:12 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

Hi there guys. I'm using the first stable version(which is 2.0.2 iirc). When i try rooting, it says my device is rooted. when i try unrooting, it autocloses. When i try tapping root again it also autocloses. Now i'm gonna flash to 2.0.6. I would like to know what is ext2. BTW if i want to send it back for warranty can i undo root, reflash back to original firmware and send it back in?
TSmotafoca
post Jan 28 2011, 10:35 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ Jan 28 2011, 04:12 AM)
Hi there guys. I'm using the first stable version(which is 2.0.2 iirc). When i try rooting, it says my device is rooted. when i try unrooting, it autocloses. When i try tapping root again it also autocloses. Now i'm gonna flash to 2.0.6. I would like to know what is ext2. BTW if i want to send it back for warranty can i undo root, reflash back to original firmware and send it back in?
use 2.0.7

yes you can changeback to stock before sendit to warranty
Lucasnofx
post Jan 29 2011, 01:01 AM

I installed 2.0.7 and everything seems to be fine, except that...I can't seem to find Swype (I couldn't with original Froyo either), it's not in the settings, and the Swype button doesn't appear in the messaging app.

Is there a simple solution? (I tried uninstalling and installing it again, but it won't let me...)
TSmotafoca
post Jan 29 2011, 03:09 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(Lucasnofx @ Jan 28 2011, 02:01 PM)
I installed 2.0.7 and everything seems to be fine, except that...I can't seem to find Swype (I couldn't with original Froyo either), it's not in the settings, and the Swype button doesn't appear in the messaging app.

Is there a simple solution? (I tried uninstalling and installing it again, but it won't let me...)
swype is installed by default on 2.0.7

Lucasnofx
post Jan 29 2011, 03:38 AM

but how do i activate it? I go into..."Language & Text" (Idioma & Texto, actually tongue.gif), and I have the Swype configuration, and "Samsung keyboard" configuration too.

When I enter to the "Swype guide"...a pop up shows, and ask me which keyboard I want to use Swype or Samsung keyboard. If I select Swkype...I can use it IN THE GUIDE, so, yes, it's installed, and it works...in the guide. But...when I enter to the sms app....the samsung keyboard shows by default....and i can't change that from the settings.

Thanks for your answer! (and for the ROM, of course)

EDIT: I solved it in a funny way...I installed SlideIt Keyboard, just to try it out...and when I installed, it let me choose....SlideIt, Swype or Samsung smile.gif

This post has been edited by Lucasnofx: Jan 29 2011, 03:55 AM
WanaGo
post Jan 29 2011, 04:16 AM

18 posts

To use swype normally, you just hold your finger down on the box where you want to type something. It will pop up 'Input Method'. You click that, and then select swype.

I prefer the normal T9 keypad as I cant walk and txt when using swype! lol.
xDarkKnightx
post Jan 29 2011, 08:38 AM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(motafoca @ Jan 28 2011, 10:35 PM)
use 2.0.7

I'll use 2.0.7. But i'm darn confused now. What are the necessary steps to flash? I need to convert to EXT2. How do i convert? How to create an ADB? I might have to spend a whole day just to flash to 2.0.7 sweat.gif
jaithesimpleguy
post Jan 29 2011, 10:44 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(motafoca @ Jan 28 2011, 10:35 PM)
use 2.0.7

good to hear this. after install 2.0.7., can i just normally reflash it back to enclair? or there are step for it as well?

Added on January 30, 2011, 1:54 pm
QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ Jan 29 2011, 08:38 AM)
I'll use 2.0.7. But i'm darn confused now. What are the necessary steps to flash? I need to convert to EXT2. How do i convert? How to create an ADB? I might have to spend a whole day just to flash to 2.0.7 sweat.gif
i think almost everything are covered in wiki.g5devteam.com. except for starter like us, an updated FAQ might be very necessary.

This post has been edited by jaithesimpleguy: Jan 30 2011, 01:58 PM
WanaGo
post Jan 30 2011, 05:52 PM

18 posts

No offense intended, but if you cannot safely understand the steps provided in the wiki or at the start of this post, then I would recomment that you do not attempt upgrading from your stock firmware.

Yes you may get through it, but really - would you drive a car to the airport to pick up your granny if you had never driven a car before?

Do some reading, learn and then try this when you are comfortable.

The process isnt hard, however if you have never done anything like this before then you could put your phone into an unusable state which would then require you to post or ask a bunch of questions. Do some reading first and get comfortable with what you are trying to do.

What is EXT2, What is ADB, How to flash, Can I do this, How do I do that etc - its all been covered before. Read.

As mentioned, no offense intended.

This post has been edited by WanaGo: Jan 30 2011, 05:52 PM
xDarkKnightx
post Jan 30 2011, 06:00 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

^ Also, no offence but the info is kinda scattered over the wiki. I have a suggestion. Why not compile all necessary steps of flashing into one whole guide? Theres 1 guide for flashing and another which teaches you how to hard reset with adb. since both of them are required when flashing instead of scattering the info, compile them. I actually took a longer time looking for the necessary info than flashing/converting it to an EXT2.

Added on January 30, 2011, 6:02 pmBTW, i'm not getting connected to my home wireless and i'm automatically disconnected. Reflash recommended? i'm using ext2. 2.0.7 here.

This post has been edited by xDarkKnightx: Jan 30 2011, 06:02 PM
WanaGo
post Jan 30 2011, 06:15 PM

18 posts

The people doing this work are busy doing the work, plus living their normal lives. It is not their responsibility to constantly keep every forum about their mods up to date 24/7.
Everything required is in the wiki. When you download the files like EXT2, it has a readme file on how to do it in there, plus its in the wiki.

This is all development. If it was a final release or if you paid for it, then yes, you could expect to have everything right at your fingertips, but its not. Its development.

How is the info spread out all over the wiki? There are 5 main topics for each specific thing you need to do.

Howto: Install the Android SDK
Howto: Flash Galaxy 5 Using ODIN
Howto: Conver to Ext2 File system
Howto: Apps2SD Native using ext2
Howto: Hardreset using ADB

I dont see how you could get any more compiled than that.

If you dont know what something is, google it. 'What is ADB', or 'What is EXT2' - These things are not specific to this phone.

Added on January 30, 2011, 6:18 pmStep 1 - Install the SDK (use the wiki for info)
Step 2 - Flash to 2.0.7 using Odin (use the wiki for info)
Step 3 - Convert to EXT2 (use the wiki for info)
Step 4 - Partition your SD using the info in App2SD wiki
Done.

Converting to EXT2 will perform a hard reset. If you are upgrading from 2.1, then hard reset before hand, then upgrade to 2.2 using leaked 2.2, or using a modded version 2.0.7 etc.

This post has been edited by WanaGo: Jan 30 2011, 06:20 PM
xDarkKnightx
post Jan 30 2011, 06:32 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

IMO it should be something like this.

Flashing

1: Install the Android SDK
2: Flash Galaxy 5 Using ODIN
3: Conver to Ext2 File system
4: Apps2SD Native using ext2
5: Hardreset using ADB

Then they would know that its compulsory. What if a beginner stumbles upon this and ask lots of question? IMO if the devs aren't free with the wiki sorting, they should hand the wiki to someone who is not involved in the developing.
WanaGo
post Jan 30 2011, 06:55 PM

18 posts

None of it is compulsary.

If you dont want to flash, dont flash.
If you dont want to change to EXT2, dont - you dont have to. If you do, then you will read you need the ADB tools, so install the SDK.
If you dont want to take advantage of App2SD, dont - its not required. If you do you will ADB also.

Anyway, ive argued enough.
All this stuff is done for free by people who are spending a huge amount of time to make these phones better. Complaining that there isnt a header folder called 'flashing' on a forum which is not even directly 'owned' by the developers, isnt the way to get this sort of thing improved.

And like I said a few posts back, if a new person comes across this and doesnt know how to follow the steps in the wiki, then they are not ready to perform this upgrade. Take a step back and do some reading. This is development, not a final release.

Im out.

This post has been edited by WanaGo: Jan 30 2011, 06:57 PM
xDarkKnightx
post Jan 30 2011, 06:57 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

The hard reset IS compulsory or a lot of problems will surface.
WanaGo
post Jan 30 2011, 06:59 PM

18 posts

No its only required if you upgrade from 2.1. If you are on 2.2 then its not. When you perform EXT2 upgrade it essentially does a hard reset then.
zamic
post Jan 30 2011, 08:07 PM

motafoca/mad team, you guys are stars. I've been running 2.07 with ext2 for 5 days now and my battery life is so much better than it was. I've had no problems whatsoever. Loving it.

A big thank you for all the hard work being put into this. smile.gif
coyie
post Jan 31 2011, 02:15 AM

QUOTE(zamic @ Jan 30 2011, 08:07 PM)
motafoca/mad team, you guys are stars. I've been running 2.07 with ext2 for 5 days now and my battery life is so much better than it was. I've had no problems whatsoever. Loving it.

A big thank you for all the hard work being put into this. smile.gif
problem with 2.0.7. without sim = ok, with sim = com.android force close.. any idea
myms
post Jan 31 2011, 01:49 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(coyie @ Jan 31 2011, 02:15 AM)
problem with 2.0.7. without sim = ok, with sim = com.android force close.. any idea
yeah me to...
g.oostema
post Jan 31 2011, 04:23 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(myms @ Jan 31 2011, 12:49 PM)
yeah me to...
did you do a hard reset before you flashed?
myms
post Jan 31 2011, 04:40 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(g.oostema @ Jan 31 2011, 04:23 PM)
did you do a hard reset before you flashed?
yeah already than that...
i also do hard reset by adb
but it still appear...

right now i try to make ext2 but stuck at dump mode...
after i take out the battery and on...i stuck at boot loop...

Added on January 31, 2011, 5:13 pm
QUOTE(myms @ Jan 31 2011, 04:40 PM)
yeah already than that...
i also do hard reset by adb
but it still appear...

right now i try to make ext2 but stuck at dump mode...
after i take out the battery and on...i stuck at boot loop...
problem solve rclxms.gif
right now downloading apps2sd

This post has been edited by myms: Jan 31 2011, 05:13 PM
TSmotafoca
post Jan 31 2011, 11:08 PM

113 posts

As you all already know the kernel source has been release and works, already using swap here
Also the cyanogen port is booting up working, still some major buggs on the phone and wifi
I would like to ask all you guys that have knwolege in C code, debugging and others to enter the http://webchat.freenode.net channel #gti5500 so we can finish cyanogen and also hopefully get multitouch

opethbleed555
post Jan 31 2011, 11:09 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(motafoca @ Jan 31 2011, 11:08 PM)
As you all already know the kernel source has been release and works, already using swap here
Also the cyanogen port is booting up working, still some major buggs on the phone and wifi
I would like to ask all you guys that have knwolege in C code, debugging and others to enter the http://webchat.freenode.net channel #gti5500 so we can finish cyanogen and also hopefully get multitouch

keep up the good work mota!
myms
post Feb 1 2011, 12:57 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(opethbleed555 @ Jan 31 2011, 11:09 PM)
keep up the good work mota!
i only learn c++ tongue.gif
TSmotafoca
post Feb 4 2011, 06:24 AM

113 posts

Well you all must know but im setting 2.0.8 up, gonna make a friendly build
Im trying to fix the compass (if anyone knows how to fix it please contact me)

making scripts to work on recovery were you will have:
ext2 conversion (fast and bug free)
rfs conversion
backup system (will backup apps and configurations )
restore system (will restore apps and configurations )
app2sd partitioning
app2sd script setup

Also making a toolbox for:
framework theme changing
build.prop customization

Since the build is still under development im open to suggestions
please use the http://forum.g5devteam.com

Thank you all
subdroid
post Feb 4 2011, 11:32 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(motafoca @ Feb 4 2011, 06:24 AM)
Well you all must know but im setting 2.0.8 up, gonna make a friendly build
Im trying to fix the compass (if anyone knows how to fix it please contact me)

making scripts to work on recovery were you will have:
ext2 conversion (fast and bug free)
rfs conversion
backup system (will backup apps and configurations )
restore system (will restore apps and configurations )
app2sd partitioning
app2sd script setup

Also making a toolbox for:
framework theme changing
build.prop customization

Since the build is still under development im open to suggestions
please use the http://forum.g5devteam.com

Thank you all
Go Motafoca, Go!! rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif
XionCity
post Feb 5 2011, 01:46 AM

171 posts

successfully upgrade to 2.2 froyo....using I5500L patch...
problem is, why gallery got problem??
It says, The application Gallery(process com.cooliris.media) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again.
jaithesimpleguy
post Feb 5 2011, 01:00 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Feb 5 2011, 01:46 AM)
successfully upgrade to 2.2 froyo....using I5500L patch...
problem is, why gallery got problem??
It says, The application Gallery(process com.cooliris.media) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again.
try to wipe data
XionCity
post Feb 5 2011, 02:35 PM

171 posts

how 2 wipe?? i did factory restore, still same thing
TSmotafoca
post Feb 6 2011, 09:27 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Feb 5 2011, 03:35 AM)
how 2 wipe?? i did factory restore, still same thing
2.0.8 under testing

forum.g5devteam.com
popeye3rd
post Feb 6 2011, 02:54 PM

361 posts

i just flash 2.07.
how to enable data plan?anyone can help
xDarkKnightx
post Feb 6 2011, 06:50 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

http://downloadsquad.switched.com/2010/12/...-now-available/

Motafoca. Wanna scrap the FroYo and work on this?
XionCity
post Feb 7 2011, 01:01 AM

171 posts

still no 1 telling me how to wipe data
nga911
post Feb 7 2011, 01:47 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Feb 7 2011, 01:01 AM)
still no 1 telling me how to wipe data
try This link
WanaGo
post Feb 7 2011, 05:02 PM

18 posts

Running 2.0.8 - all good so far, and looking great.

Added on February 7, 2011, 6:12 pmuser posted image

This post has been edited by WanaGo: Feb 7 2011, 06:12 PM
popeye77
post Feb 7 2011, 06:12 PM

find one bug in v2.0.8....the wifi always dc and the signal is weak....others are ok....
WanaGo
post Feb 7 2011, 06:24 PM

18 posts

Wifi dc is a Froyo bug, not a 2.0.8 bug as far as I know. Wifi has always dc at random for me since I installed 2.2
popeye3rd
post Feb 7 2011, 10:12 PM

361 posts

mr.motafoca can help me?
i just flashed to 2.07 but my fon dont have setting for internet/data.
when hold the end button(red one),under mobile network shows 'connect to internet is oFF'.
how to fix?thanks
izwanz
post Feb 8 2011, 12:27 AM

565 posts

can somebody be so kind and lovely to write a step by step guide to install the latest 2.0.8 firmware?

im still stucked with 2.2 firmware by motafoca!
XionCity
post Feb 8 2011, 01:29 AM

171 posts

how to flash to 2.0.7 or 2.0.8??
WanaGo
post Feb 8 2011, 01:45 AM

18 posts

@XionCity - Instructions are on the forum owned by the MAD team.
http://forum.g5devteam.com/index.php?/topic/4-releases/

Remember its in testing only.

@izwanz - you need to set up your APN for your provider. If you dont know this then you really shouldnt have flashed without doing some reading first.
XionCity
post Feb 8 2011, 11:29 AM

171 posts

i will wait for official release...
flyingbong
post Feb 12 2011, 07:34 PM

why 2.0.8b have part 1 and part 2? how to flas hwith this two separate part? o.O
Psykit
post Feb 13 2011, 09:55 AM

Psychedelico
773 posts

QUOTE(flyingbong @ Feb 12 2011, 07:34 PM)
why 2.0.8b have part 1 and part 2? how to flas hwith this two separate part? o.O
It's a stripped 2nd file that comes together with the 1st part of the RAR file.

Just extract the 1st RAR file, the 2nd will follow and you get only ONE .TAR file for flashing using ODIN.
flyingbong
post Feb 13 2011, 11:52 AM

QUOTE(Psykit @ Feb 13 2011, 09:55 AM)
It's a stripped 2nd file that comes together with the 1st part of the RAR file.

Just extract the 1st RAR file, the 2nd will follow and you get only ONE .TAR file for flashing using ODIN.
Thanks bro. But one more question, if i extract 2nd one, will the 1st will follow being extracted as well?
jaithesimpleguy
post Feb 17 2011, 11:24 AM

186 posts

QUOTE(flyingbong @ Feb 13 2011, 11:52 AM)
Thanks bro. But one more question, if i extract 2nd one, will the 1st will follow being extracted as well?
yes. n u can test it by ur own. also applicable to all rar / zip files.
magomagutto
post Feb 20 2011, 12:15 AM

Hi folks,
i've just flashed to 2.0.8 but i have a small problem.
I followed the instructions on this page http://wiki.g5devteam.com/index.php?title=...stall_procedure

-flashed
-wipe
-app2sd http://wiki.g5devteam.com/index.php?title=App2sd_script
(SD 8G)
all seems ok but mine app are installed on phone and not on SD.
What could go wrong?

thanks!

Willy
headhunter7
post Feb 21 2011, 01:10 PM

2,355 posts

Heyoo guys. Installed 2.0.7 in my friends phone, everything seems to work well and good laugh.gif

But two things I'd like to clarify?

1. Is the bluetooth working?
2. He can't seem to download apps from the market.

Couldn't get answers, Madteam wiki doesn't state this (or I've missed it) laugh.gif

Thanks!
jaithesimpleguy
post Feb 23 2011, 09:16 AM

186 posts

QUOTE(headhunter7 @ Feb 21 2011, 01:10 PM)
Heyoo guys. Installed 2.0.7 in my friends phone, everything seems to work well and good laugh.gif

But two things I'd like to clarify?

1. Is the bluetooth working?
2. He can't seem to download apps from the market.

Couldn't get answers, Madteam wiki doesn't state this (or I've missed it) laugh.gif

Thanks!
I suggest u flash to 2.0.8b. im using it for one month now. its clean and bug free.

Added on February 23, 2011, 9:21 am
QUOTE(magomagutto @ Feb 20 2011, 12:15 AM)
Hi folks,
i've just flashed to 2.0.8 but i have a small problem.
I followed the instructions on this page http://wiki.g5devteam.com/index.php?title=...stall_procedure

-flashed
-wipe
-app2sd  http://wiki.g5devteam.com/index.php?title=App2sd_script
(SD 8G)
all seems ok but mine app are installed on phone and not on SD.
What could go wrong?

thanks!

Willy
the page is not fully updated. as for make ext + app to sd for 2.0.8, mota team has figured out a better way to solve this issue with autoinstaller. one click and everything will be sorted out. i suggest you go to G5 chat room and they will provide you with links and guide you on how to use the makeext + app2sd autoinstaller.

This post has been edited by jaithesimpleguy: Feb 23 2011, 09:21 AM
g.oostema
post Mar 2 2011, 01:33 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(jaithesimpleguy @ Feb 23 2011, 08:16 AM)
I suggest u flash to 2.0.8b. im using it for one month now. its clean and bug free.

Added on February 23, 2011, 9:21 am
the page is not fully updated. as for make ext + app to sd for 2.0.8, mota team has figured out a better way to solve this issue with autoinstaller. one click and everything will be sorted out. i suggest you go to G5 chat room and they will provide you with links and guide you on how to use the makeext + app2sd autoinstaller.
what is the g5 chatroom? i dont see anyone in freenode server - #gti5000
i need someone to guide me through the whole ext2 and ap2sd process
tnx

Added on March 2, 2011, 4:00 pm
QUOTE(g.oostema @ Mar 2 2011, 12:33 PM)
what is the g5 chatroom? i dont see anyone in freenode server - #gti5000
i need someone to guide me through the whole ext2 and ap2sd process
tnx
I have an unrooted galaxy 5, currently running 2.06M without ext2.
I would like to flash to 2.0.8 with ext2 and ap2sd.
Could someone explain what i should do exactly.

I downloaded the rom + mad toolbox and adb_toolbox.
do i need anything else? and how do i do it.

tnx

This post has been edited by g.oostema: Mar 2 2011, 04:00 PM
WanaGo
post Mar 3 2011, 05:23 PM

18 posts

http://wiki.g5devteam.com/index.php?title=...stall_procedure
g.oostema
post Mar 4 2011, 01:25 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(WanaGo @ Mar 3 2011, 04:23 PM)
tnx but i know that page, however it is not updated with the newest toolbox.

ziafang
post Mar 6 2011, 08:51 AM

55 posts

Hi guys,
I have got my Galaxy 5 and just flashed it with 2.0.8b last night. Everything seems working fine until I insert my SIM. I got a warning saying that "the process com.android.phone has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again." Any sifus here can help me about this? Thank you very much.

Best regards,
ziafang
popeye77
post Mar 7 2011, 04:38 PM

try flashing with ur simcard in the p[hone.
ziafang
post Mar 11 2011, 05:57 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(popeye77 @ Mar 7 2011, 04:38 PM)
try flashing with ur simcard in the p[hone.
popeye77,
Got it. Now it is running smoothly. Thank you very much!

Best regards,
ziafang
eerick
post Mar 12 2011, 02:20 PM

woots 2.0.9 final FTW! XD
ja3kass
post Mar 21 2011, 08:04 PM

264 posts

motafoca: just a suggestion, is it possible to make a setting where our G5 can use MMS without running any data that will cost me a lot. thanks.

0.0946sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:22 AM