Gym Etiquette, what ticks you off in your gym?

TSmikehuan
post Oct 21 2011, 12:13 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(razorboy @ Oct 21 2011, 11:39 AM)
You can actually see the similarities in the other threads. It's just me. Lol
TSmikehuan
post Oct 24 2011, 11:56 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(ChipZ @ Oct 24 2011, 09:58 PM)
Was doing squat today and this guy with his "disciples" came in and said loudly behind me "The way he squats is wrong and nobody does this" before proceeding to teach them how to "squat".

Even if I'm wrong just came and tell me la, dun have to say something like this.
the guys a d***, seriously. tell him off.
TSmikehuan
post Oct 26 2011, 01:09 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(cyloh @ Oct 21 2011, 08:13 AM)
Yesterday I went to the ghetto gym.

Was resting between sets so I decided to look around the "scenery". Saw two bodybuilders. They took turns doing half ROM wide grip pull ups with the comfort of straps. I think that is quite normal, warm up the lats before they blast it or perhaps finishing off their lats with this final set of pull ups.

Then I noticed they spotted or "helped" each other with the pull ups by holding on to the hips..... can say half of an ass grab or ass push.

Usually I don't let much get to me already but this is just disgusting sad.gif
this, alpha.
and lol at using belt for pull ups. maybe its the angle and quality of the pic but they dont look like bb'ers to me.
TSmikehuan
post Oct 26 2011, 04:57 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Oct 26 2011, 04:19 PM)
Don't forget wrist straps, elbow and knee wraps, those huge weightlifting boots the pro BBers are always wearing and some shoulder pads for good measure.  brows.gif
ehh shoulder pads? what are those used for and what does it look like lol. you forgot earphones, iPhone strapped to the arm and SUNGLASSES.
TSmikehuan
post Jan 17 2012, 03:33 PM

6,160 posts

Bump, let's use this instead of the bb thread guys.
TSmikehuan
post Jan 21 2012, 10:34 PM

6,160 posts

Almost finished my workout, and the gym is empty, just me and this other indian guy.

he was doing shoulders, and deliberately slamming the weights down. literally throwing them down from standing position, accompanied by loud grunting.

those sub 10kg db's really had a beating today.

on my final set of hammer curls, the guy was right beside me, probably waiting for the db's that was right near my feet (cos he slammed it and bounced there). I deliberately dropped the 20kg db's. Didnt slam it down, just dropped it, lol looking at the fella jumping away: priceless.
TSmikehuan
post Sep 11 2012, 09:00 AM

6,160 posts

Nothing to argue about here tbh. U can definitely tell when someone is dropping/throwing weights on purpose or not.

Sometimes its just safer to drop em, especially when you're doing a set to failure.

U should probably aiming the hate on the people who SLAMS the weight down set after set.
TSmikehuan
post Oct 1 2012, 03:08 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(enix2000 @ Oct 1 2012, 02:38 PM)
People turn me off by asking me silly question and give me silly advices

"Lifting heavy no effect one only will injured yourself" - I was doing 120lbs bar bell rows
"Your deathlift form wrong la bro" I asked "How do you DL then?" He ans "I dont do DL" - LOL
"Why you only use free weight? No difficult meh? Use machine la, why don't you? Oh.. Too many people using har? Come we share".......

Same person...
Deadlift

D E A D L I F T

Ironic considering the title of the thread
TSmikehuan
post Oct 15 2012, 12:20 PM

6,160 posts

Seriously guys, don't be timid at the gym. You'll avoid a lot of problems that way.

Just ask darklight how he handles shit while working out. He claims to be friendly but if you don't know him he's pretty intimidating.

Ever seen a buff guy smile like the joker? Scary stuff I tell ya
TSmikehuan
post Oct 17 2012, 03:04 PM

6,160 posts

Happened yesterday

Average guy with a trainer doing squats. Fella is big, weight range in the 80kg and above, has some size but with a belly.

First set is 60kg. Now its kinda rare for people to be squatting so I looked on while on my rest between sets. Fella thinks he's ronnie coleman or something, giving a yelp before and after the set. I'm like fine whatever, ghetto gym afterall

The next two sets totally pissed me off. 100kg and 120kg, quarter squats, yelping before and after and groaning like its a 4 plate squat during the set. The audacity to LOOK at me after finishing the sets. Really?

I hope he's there for my squats session today. I really do.
TSmikehuan
post Oct 17 2012, 03:30 PM

6,160 posts

The look was pretty obvious. Totally malaysian mentality. No sense of humility whatsoever.

Whatever you can squat, someone out there is warming up with your max. Getover yourself. Numbers don't mean squat (pun intended) if u look like a couch potato.

Powerlifters however, don't fall into this category tongue.gif
TSmikehuan
post Oct 18 2012, 01:03 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Oct 17 2012, 08:47 PM)
Dude, you are a gay magnet anyway. He wanted your ass so bad.
Veeeeeeeeeery funny. Toes are laughing. Hurhurhurhurhur
TSmikehuan
post Oct 19 2012, 10:33 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Oct 18 2012, 12:56 PM)
Yeah he wanted to lick in between your toes too. =P
=.="

sicko!
TSmikehuan
post Oct 19 2012, 11:53 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(playerseeker @ Oct 19 2012, 11:31 AM)
Well, it's not that hard to ask but every fricking time? Man, it's a common courtesy though, don't you think? Both equipments are not side by side, they are like at end of 2 corners in the gym.
I don't think its that big a deal.
TSmikehuan
post Oct 23 2012, 03:05 PM

6,160 posts

Fuh, PR 110kg bro? did u get it?
TSmikehuan
post Oct 23 2012, 04:29 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(Seasick85 @ Oct 23 2012, 03:25 PM)
I do my deadlifts with mixed grip, and it feels more comfortable although less power gripping the bar..

But for PRs, I do 125kg double overhand grip for maximum power... smile.gif Still needs improvement before reaching 140kg..

In the gym that I usually go to, I saw one personal trainer do 220kg 2 reps of deadlift! Perfect form! Seriously he's good and when I asked him, he said that he really likes strength training.. smile.gif
u do em without straps? imho mixed gives you the best grip, and grip usually fails first, no?
TSmikehuan
post Oct 23 2012, 04:37 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(mazer6446 @ Oct 23 2012, 04:35 PM)
hahaha! i've seen worse.. 1 guy just butt naked in the changing room.. walking around to "cool down" i think.. we seriously don't want to have a glance on your tentacle! daym gross
tentacle, huh?

which gym do you go to? Aquaria KLCC?
TSmikehuan
post Oct 24 2012, 11:08 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(Seasick85 @ Oct 23 2012, 03:25 PM)
I do my deadlifts with mixed grip, and it feels more comfortable although less power gripping the bar..

But for PRs, I do 125kg double overhand grip for maximum power... smile.gif Still needs improvement before reaching 140kg..

In the gym that I usually go to, I saw one personal trainer do 220kg 2 reps of deadlift! Perfect form! Seriously he's good and when I asked him, he said that he really likes strength training.. smile.gif
QUOTE(Seasick85 @ Oct 24 2012, 10:41 AM)
Yup, without straps and mized grip..grip usually fail first but normally what I do is that after my grip fails, I put the bar down, rest for a little while, then continue doing it until lower back fails.. this is normal for weak grips like myself..

I am planning to do some experiment on dead start for each rep, meaning putting the bar on the ground, reset the grip, with no rest or 1 sec rest in between reps, do another rep and so on.. This will off course cheats the purpose of grip training during deadlifting but I suppose your deadlift number will increase?

There are some papers on how to improve grip strength..I'm still looking into that too.. smile.gif
Contradicting yourself?

I agree with doing deadstops. Tbh I prefer doing it that way. Deadlifts ain't about grip anyways. I'll do bounce reps as burnouts, pretty damn intense. Use straps for those so you can just focus one getting the bar up.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0210sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:34 AM