Review of Acer 5750G, Okay, 1st time please don't flame :)
tonyvyp
Feb 11 2011, 05:29 PM
QUOTE(lakost @ Feb 11 2011, 04:20 PM) thx tony.so what r u going to do with ur laptop as u r leaving for Australia soon?if i send my lappy to highpoint when the motherboard n chipset is available, can they can it in a day? i oso dunno oh...mayb lodge a warranty claim at sydney acer service centre, see how they comply lor...haih...
mdnurman
Feb 11 2011, 06:06 PM
This is my correspondence with Acer.
Re: Acer Aspire 5750G From: "supercare@highpoint.com.my" <supercare@highpoint.com.my> View Contact To: Nurman <mdnurman@yahoo.com> Dear Nurman,
Thank you for contacting Acer.
We recommended customer to get a replacement on motherboard as this model is high end specification and we estimating to get the MBOs by earlier of March 2011. The design error only affects the chipset but not the 2nd Generation Intel® Core™ processors. We would like to reassure that you can continue to use your notebook without compromise. We are offering this option only to effected unit upon comprehensive inspection at service centre and our dealer are aware on this issue.
If you require further clarification, do feel free to contact us at 1800-88-1918.
Thanks & Regards
Rosnani Dullah Appandi Technical Support Highpoint Service Network Sdn Bhd email : supercare@highpoint.com.my Tel : 03 80266288 Fax : 03 80266311
This email contains information that is for sole use of the intended recipient and may be confidential or privileged. If you are not the intended recipient, any further review,disclosure,copying, distribution or use of this email, or the contents of this email is prohibited. Please notify the sender by reply this email and destroy the original email if your receipt of this email is in error.
Nurman <mdnurman@yahoo.com> To supercare@highpoint.com.my 11/02/2011 12:26 AM cc Subject Re: Acer Aspire 5750G
Dear Acer,
Regarding the swap, can i swap the laptop straight away? i need my laptop for my work. therefore 2-3 weeks without a laptop will be a nightmare. does the shop which sell 5750g aware of this recall?
Regards,
Nurman
From: "supercare@highpoint.com.my" <supercare@highpoint.com.my> To: Nurman <mdnurman@yahoo.com> Sent: Sat, 12 February, 2011 7:16:09 Subject: Re: Acer Aspire 5750G
Dear Nurman,
Kindly be informed at this moment we still waiting for further instruction from principal for equivalent model to be swap. Do kindly bring the notebook to nearest service centre / shop where the unit was bought with the original sales receipt or equivalent document whereby this process may take one to two weeks include extended warranty if you did purchased it.
If you require further clarification, do feel free to contact us at 1800-88-1918.
Thanks & Regards
Rosnani Dullah Appandi Technical Support Highpoint Service Network Sdn Bhd email : supercare@highpoint.com.my Tel : 03 80266288 Fax : 03 80266311
This email contains information that is for sole use of the intended recipient and may be confidential or privileged. If you are not the intended recipient, any further review,disclosure,copying, distribution or use of this email, or the contents of this email is prohibited. Please notify the sender by reply this email and destroy the original email if your receipt of this email is in error.
Nurman <mdnurman@yahoo.com> To
supercare@highpoint.com.my 10/02/2011 05:45 PM cc
Subject Re: Acer Aspire 5750G
Dear Acer,
Regarding option 2, where can i do that? i bought the notebook from senq. does senq aware of this? is it comparable price or comparable performance? how about if senq dont have any notebook that comparable to 5750g? can u give me the models that comparable to 5750g for exchange? how long will this process take?
regarding option 3, how long does the process of refund take? from who should i get it? i am paying via 0% instalment for 12 months via senq. so how can this be done?
thank you. need to sort out this problem asap as my data will building up as time goes along
Nurman
From: "supercare@highpoint.com.my" <supercare@highpoint.com.my> To: Nurman <mdnurman@yahoo.com> Sent: Sat, 12 February, 2011 1:29:45 Subject: Re: Acer Aspire 5750G
Dear Nurman,
Pertaining to your enquiry, please be informed that Acer will give options as below:
Option 1: Motherboard replacement under the terms of standard warranty at no cost once it is made available from Intel. Acer will arrange pick up from your location that are covered by local courier service. By selecting this option, you do not need to re-install or re-configure any applications you might already have on the product. We are estimating to get the motherboard by earlier of March 2011 and will take within 3 working days for replacement.
Option 2: Swap your product with another Acer Aspire product of equivalent amount upon comprehensive inspection that the affected product is isolated to Cougar Point’s chipset issue and none other persisting issues from now till 15 April 2011.
Option 3: Full refund upon comprehensive inspection that the affected product is isolated to Cougar Point’s chipset issue and none other persisting issues from now till 15 April 2011. The refund for this issue shall be directly from Acer whereby it may take one to two weeks include extended warranty if you did purchased it.
Nurman <mdnurman@yahoo.com> To
supercare@highpoint.com.my 10/02/2011 04:16 AM cc
Subject Acer Aspire 5750G
Dear Acer,
I bought Acer Aspire 5750G in SenQ last month and recently found out that there is a flaw in the Intel chipset. How do i deal with this problem?
thank you
Nurman
lakost
Feb 11 2011, 06:51 PM

maybe i will just replace the motherboard at Kluang Highpoint.no highpoint in BP haizz..
ThisIsBoletaria
Feb 11 2011, 07:36 PM

QUOTE(mdnurman @ Feb 11 2011, 06:06 PM) This is my correspondence with Acer.
Re: Acer Aspire 5750G From: "supercare@highpoint.com.my" <supercare@highpoint.com.my> View Contact To: Nurman <mdnurman@yahoo.com> Dear Nurman,
We recommended customer to get a replacement on motherboard as this model is high end specification and we estimating to get the MBOs by earlier of March 2011. The design error only affects the chipset but not the 2nd Generation Intel® Core™ processors. We would like to reassure that you can continue to use your notebook without compromise. We are offering this option only to effected unit upon comprehensive inspection at service centre and our dealer are aware on this issue.
Thanks & Regards
Rosnani Dullah Appandi Technical Support Highpoint Service Network Sdn Bhd email : supercare@highpoint.com.my Tel : 03 80266288 Fax : 03 80266311 Well, looks like no Sandy Bridge laptops until mid-March at the earliest.
lakost
Feb 11 2011, 08:16 PM

yea.and i have to wait till march to change my motherboard.dammit. but at least i can still use my lappy. no problem at all atm from my lappy.
hongjoo
Feb 12 2011, 03:21 AM
QUOTE(lakost @ Jan 31 2011, 10:49 PM) Yay!!i must get black ops tomorrow as it can be played on 5750.my Football Manager cannot be played on 5750.crashes during the match.dammit change the compatibilty mode to windows vista sp 2 and it'll work
faezfahmi618
Feb 12 2011, 11:31 AM
hey guys how to turn on directx 11 manually to play a games?
lee_what2004
Feb 12 2011, 11:32 AM
*stare* ji--------
It depends on the games...
faezfahmi618
Feb 12 2011, 11:37 AM
ok i'll example, i play batman arkham asylum n how to know which directx im using?
lee_what2004
Feb 12 2011, 11:57 AM
*stare* ji--------
yeapsc73
Feb 12 2011, 03:03 PM
which cooler pad is suitable, u2, u3 or infinite?
lakost
Feb 12 2011, 04:02 PM

QUOTE(yeapsc73 @ Feb 12 2011, 03:03 PM) which cooler pad is suitable, u2, u3 or infinite? i guess this depends on ur laptop.make sure it sits comfortably on the cooler pad.have u look at zalman nc2000 or nc3000? but it cost around rm200-230.
iLoveChicks
Feb 12 2011, 05:43 PM
Hey guys erm.. i dont know how to start but is this another optimus problem -.-
Kyozen
Feb 12 2011, 05:52 PM
QUOTE(lakost @ Feb 12 2011, 04:02 PM) i guess this depends on ur laptop.make sure it sits comfortably on the cooler pad.have u look at zalman nc2000 or nc3000? but it cost around rm200-230. bro nc1000 unable to fit 15' laptop? i bought it already but waiting for SB fix >.<
lakost
Feb 12 2011, 06:44 PM

QUOTE(Kyozen @ Feb 12 2011, 05:52 PM) bro nc1000 unable to fit 15' laptop? i bought it already but waiting for SB fix >.< im not sure abt nc1000.but im pretty sure nc2000 can support up to 20" laptop.and its performance is very good.
TS[G]ooD_DaY
Feb 12 2011, 07:40 PM
The U3 fits perfectly with extra space, movable fans and cost RM99(retail price I guess). Btw thanks Nurman for the information, seems like we need to use the laptop for now until March and wait for replacement, if refunding now need to wait until April or May also to buy a new one. Better refund later.
hongjoo
Feb 12 2011, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(Kyozen @ Feb 12 2011, 05:52 PM) bro nc1000 unable to fit 15' laptop? i bought it already but waiting for SB fix >.< i'm using NC1000 on my 5750G, although it doesnt fit but its doing a good job on cooling the notebook  it is still stable
Kyozen
Feb 12 2011, 11:03 PM
ahh...thx for the reply...as long as it does the job is good enuff for me XD
faezfahmi618
Feb 13 2011, 02:05 AM
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 12 2011, 11:57 AM) really?? sory2 4 my mistake hmm can i overclock GT 540m?  How to OC?
lee_what2004
Feb 13 2011, 02:09 AM
*stare* ji--------