Alienware Mothership v7, waiting for M14x and M18x !

eclectice
post Apr 22 2011, 08:54 PM

2,734 posts

Hmm, it is kind of strange to see high memory setup in GPUs nowadays when tessellation technique can help to reduce the memory footprint and bandwidth through a vertex shader.

It is most likely used to support higher screen resolutions, I guess.

Ok, higher memory is useful to save more states during heavily-parallelized methods especially when the ratio of arithmetic operations to memory operations is high

http://www.oxford-man.ox.ac.uk/gpuss/simd.html

But how many games are there can fully utilize parallelized GPU methods?

This post has been edited by eclectice: Apr 22 2011, 09:03 PM
Lil Kiasu
post Apr 22 2011, 09:35 PM

Ok
723 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Apr 22 2011, 08:11 PM)
Just like taking "fake" medicines and you believe that you'll get better by eating it.

Same like you think you have 3.0GB of graphics memory will give you better performance than the 1.5GB version.
Hmm... I see~ ohmy.gif But isn't 512MB actually enough edi? tongue.gif
Lil Kiasu
post Apr 22 2011, 09:38 PM

Ok
723 posts

QUOTE(eclectice @ Apr 22 2011, 08:54 PM)
Hmm, it is kind of strange to see high memory setup in GPUs nowadays when tessellation technique can help to reduce the memory footprint and bandwidth through a vertex shader.

It is most likely used to support higher screen resolutions, I guess.

Ok, higher memory is useful to save more states during heavily-parallelized methods especially when the ratio of arithmetic operations to memory operations is high

http://www.oxford-man.ox.ac.uk/gpuss/simd.html

But how many games are there can fully utilize parallelized GPU methods?
I can't brain what you just said~ rclxub.gif
duabijitelur
post Apr 22 2011, 09:52 PM

iPhone 6 :D
1,951 posts

hey, what is the most effective way to remove smudges on the alienware laptop chasis?
putochip123
post Apr 22 2011, 09:55 PM

1,496 posts

Is marketing. Even my gtx580 with 1.5gb doesnt fully utilize. Im wondering gt555 with 3gb can do what? Comparing 9800m gs, still 9800m gs is better, 9800 come with 512mb ddr3 only. Just lack of direct x11. But what i think tesselation we cant really notify in the game. Even i max out the game, i cant really see the tesselation.
fireboy
post Apr 22 2011, 10:45 PM

59 posts

m14x offical can customize 1.5 gt555m?? straight giving with 3gb. so just can choose 3gb tongue.gif
putochip123
post Apr 22 2011, 11:32 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(fireboy @ Apr 22 2011, 10:45 PM)
m14x offical can customize 1.5 gt555m?? straight giving with 3gb. so just can choose 3gb tongue.gif
u can start customise from the lowest end to save some bucks. not sure gonna be cheaper or not. ghahaa.
for the better spec, i rather get m15x
Dominus91
post Apr 22 2011, 11:33 PM

252 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1847267

is this deal believable?
duabijitelur
post Apr 22 2011, 11:44 PM

1,951 posts

very hard to believe.... lol since got crack on the chasis d... hmmm
putochip123
post Apr 23 2011, 12:02 AM

1,496 posts

crack is a serious problem
Neoborn
post Apr 23 2011, 12:12 AM

74 posts

but still can replace rite? since he claim to have warranty...
putochip123
post Apr 23 2011, 12:17 AM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(Neoborn @ Apr 23 2011, 12:12 AM)
but still can replace rite? since he claim to have warranty...
the crack is not covered by warranty
Eugene91
post Apr 23 2011, 12:23 AM

6,109 posts

I thought it is under complete cover? One of my customer had a keyboard crack just within 3 weeks and he's working in Vietnam, Dell don't have their own service there.. either he has to pay for the service in vietnam or they advice him to come back to Malaysia get it replaced.
putochip123
post Apr 23 2011, 12:24 AM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Apr 23 2011, 12:23 AM)
I thought it is under complete cover? One of my customer had a keyboard crack just within 3 weeks and he's working in Vietnam, Dell don't have their own service there.. either he has to pay for the service in vietnam or they advice him to come back to Malaysia get it replaced.
keyboard is covered. the laptop chassis is not covered.
but still the price is vry reasonable
Heroez
post Apr 23 2011, 12:24 AM

163 posts

is it recommended to order alienware from dell us online compared to order in msia ?
Eugene91
post Apr 23 2011, 12:27 AM

6,109 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Apr 23 2011, 12:24 AM)
keyboard is covered. the laptop chassis is not covered.
but still the price is vry reasonable
Oh, I guess the fella in NBR who had his M15x fell from the 1st floor was lucky then? Getting his M15x replaced? shocking.gif

Added on April 23, 2011, 12:27 am
QUOTE(Heroez @ Apr 23 2011, 12:24 AM)
is it recommended to order alienware from dell us online compared to order in msia ?
Might as well get from Malaysia considering the warranty hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Eugene91: Apr 23 2011, 12:27 AM
zorbyss.
post Apr 23 2011, 12:32 AM

here you go.
1,513 posts

we don't have the personalized name tag for m11x r3?
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 23 2011, 12:35 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Apr 23 2011, 12:32 AM)
we don't have the personalized name tag for m11x r3?
Not yet... same goes to the M14x sad.gif
duabijitelur
post Apr 23 2011, 12:38 AM

1,951 posts

how much isit if change the chasis?
putochip123
post Apr 23 2011, 01:18 AM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Apr 23 2011, 12:27 AM)
Oh, I guess the fella in NBR who had his M15x fell from the 1st floor was lucky then? Getting his M15x replaced?  shocking.gif

Added on April 23, 2011, 12:27 am

Might as well get from Malaysia considering the warranty  hmm.gif
nope, unless he is getting dell premium care, complete cover is cover accidental(not included chasis)

Warranty from malaysia is international, so dont worry.

122 Pages « < 119 120 121 122 >Top

0.0152sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:48 PM