QUOTE(ryanconferido @ Mar 3 2011, 01:37 PM)
actually, i didn't say no. if you willing to pay the price for the teacher's time, then go ahead. ☆Fellowship of the Strings☆Violin,Viola,Cello etc., ~String Instruments Lovers are welcome!~
☆Fellowship of the Strings☆Violin,Viola,Cello etc., ~String Instruments Lovers are welcome!~
Mar 4 2011, 01:13 AM
3,242 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: From: From: From: From: From: From: From: From: |
Mar 4 2011, 09:54 AM
1,346 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Mar 3 2011, 06:04 AM) hey guys....im thinkin of getting a violin (as im playing this instrument in the modern music club in my uni).so,what brand should i get as a beginner and whats the price range? sorry cz i ony have knowledge on guitars. so er... Modern music club...Use to syn into your bands o new age keyboard group? QUOTE(ryanconferido @ Mar 3 2011, 01:37 PM) hi there, Frankly... agree with lil ice.... Don't rush up everything... lol. Yes...Having a teacher to guide you more on every practice can improve you maybe 3 times more than the usual way but I believe everyone of us (most violinist here) grew up getting 1 hour a week and thats when we were in a higher grade. So don't have to rush everything up... Practice everyday ... put it down into notes for whichever parts you don't understand or having doubts in it. Ask your teacher all at once for the whole week's questions or confusion... can ask us in this forum too... Like you said... we had jobs on hands so can't really lurk around this forum 24/7. Of course like you see.... lil ice did try his best to answer your question asap (just one hour after you posted it) i only get your answer is - No No No No... i dun know what to say again. seen you are so experiance violin player also a teacher, i appreciated it. as student, i have my own concern. anyway, thank you! QUOTE(little ice @ Mar 4 2011, 01:13 AM) waa...you beat me to that.This post has been edited by liez: Mar 4 2011, 09:56 AM |
Mar 4 2011, 12:13 PM
201 posts Joined: Jun 2009 From: Cheras |
actually i really speechless.
Actually i feel hopeless & helpless, if i cant get any progress. I dun know what to say. I'll work on my own to solve the problem.. I dun want to argue or againts you all, even i am not really agree with that. I better keep silent! |
Mar 4 2011, 11:06 PM
3,242 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: From: From: From: From: From: From: From: From: |
QUOTE(ryanconferido @ Mar 4 2011, 12:13 PM) actually i really speechless. ok. feel free to come back if you want to seek for helps. Actually i feel hopeless & helpless, if i cant get any progress. I dun know what to say. I'll work on my own to solve the problem.. I dun want to argue or againts you all, even i am not really agree with that. I better keep silent! |
Mar 5 2011, 12:11 AM
Mar 5 2011, 01:03 PM
205 posts Joined: May 2009 |
take a closer picture near bridge, back of the body, the f hole area, the side,the crafting area at the 'head' sorry dunno wat to call, etc.
Mar 5 2011, 10:19 PM
QUOTE(ryanconferido @ Mar 5 2011, 12:11 AM) don't use anything other than just a simple dry cloth to wipe off dust, rosin and sweat. my violin is in 5 figure price mark and i never use any polish product, just simple dry cloth.This post has been edited by little ice: Mar 5 2011, 10:19 PM |
Mar 7 2011, 04:03 PM
623 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
can someone guide me how to practce rhythm efficiently. Is foot tap more suggestable or counting in heart. When i concentrate on counting. I cannot focus on the violin sound produced.
Mar 7 2011, 04:45 PM
QUOTE(ilovestitch @ Mar 7 2011, 05:03 PM) can someone guide me how to practce rhythm efficiently. Is foot tap more suggestable or counting in heart. When i concentrate on counting. I cannot focus on the violin sound produced. you may refer www.reddesertviolin.com ,Or use metronome clap or tap first, to get use on tempo. It works for me. When hand on on your violin, try to move your foot step forward & backward, to count the beat. Please refer this, from www.reddesertviolin : It's funny. My adult students are always anxious to get startedpracticing with a metronome, but my young students don't even knowwhat a metronome is, and they don't care! That's good because itmeans I get to introduce the metronome to a child only after theyhave developed a good sense of internal rhythm.It is often hard to convince my adult student that a metronome isnot going to give them good rhythm. There, I said it. A metronomedoes not give you good rhythm any more than a gun makes you a goodshot. (I am a fountain of analogies...and I love them even if noone else does!) Before a metronome, which is purely externalrhythm, can be helpful to you, you must develop a good sense ofinternal rhythm. The following is what I have my students do beforeI allow them to start practicing with a metronome:First Prerequisite: A student must be able to pick out "the beat"on the tunes they are currently learning, or have learned already.They must be able to tap it out. This is rarely a problem.Second Prerequisite: They must be able to tap their foot to theirown playing, and accurately place each beat in the right place.Many students have the habit of skipping or adding beats for theirconvenience. And if they practice doing this with a metronome, theyjust get better at the bad habit of adding/dropping beats. Irealize that some teachers think tapping the foot is a bad habit,but I find it is an easy habit to break. And it creates somenecessary skills and coordination.The ultimate test for this skill is Twinkle Variation B or "Song ofthe Wind" because the student must tap their foot during a SILENCEwhere they must not play. It is very hard to get your foot to doone thing while forbidding your hands from moving.Third Prerequisite: A student must be able to clap and maintaintheir own rhythm against an opposing, but complementary rhythm. Forinstance, I will ask them to clap the rhythm to Twinkle VariationB. Why Variation B? Because it is very easy to throw them off byclapping other rhythms such as Variation A or C. Eventually, mystudents can clap any variation rhythm against any other variationrhythm. I might also ask them to clap sub-divisions of my quarternote claps. (That is, I might ask them to clap twice for each of myclaps, or 4 times, and so on.) This is extremely difficult forbeginners, but wow does it develop their sense of sub-division!Final Prerequisite: They must be able to play one of their easiesttunes (one they know very well) in any tempo I choose, and theymust be able to tap their foot while they do it, placing the beatin the correct places. This requirement of versatility solidifiesan understanding in a student's mind that TEMPO is fluid, butRHYTHM is not. The rhythm must remain the same RELATIVE to thetempo. At this point, the student has developed a sense of internalrhythm, they understand that they can manipulate the tempo, butthey can't manipulate the rhythm, and they can reconcile their ownplaying and internal rhythm to the static, rigid, external,metronome. If you meet those prerequisites and believe you are ready for ametronome, I reviewed one that I like, the Korg TM40, on my blog.Check it out here:http://www.reddesertviolin.com/2011/02/korg-tm-40-metronome-review/And with those prerequisites in mind, here are some practice tips tohelp you develop that internal rhythm.Practice Challenge: Try to assess your internal rhythm byattempting the pre-requisites listed above. Number 2 is hard to dowithout a teacher, so you might have to ask a friend to listen andtell you if you skipped or added any beats.Practice IdeasWhile the radio is playing, clap along. Figure out the meter of thepiece....is it ¾ time, 6/8 time, 4/4 time? If you don't read music,can you tell if the beats are in groups of 3's or 4's? To do this,figure out where the STRONG beat happens, and count how many beatsare between each strong beat. If there is a pattern of 1 strongbeat then 3 weak beats, add 1 plus 3, and you have a 4-beatpattern. * While the radio is playing, clap along to the beat. * Next, try to clap to the off-beats. * Next, try to clap only on beat 1. * Next, try to clap 2 times per beat. (8th notes) * Try to clap 4 times per beat (16th notes) * Try to clap 3 times per beat (triplets) * While WALKING, use your footsteps as a metronome. * Try clapping opposing, yet complementary rhythms to yourfootsteps. Examples: * Clap any of the Twinkle Variations along with your footsteps. * Clap the rhythm of any tune you have learned or are learning.You might have to adapt the speed of the song to fit with yourfootsteps.....but the footsteps are the boss. Make the tune fit. * Clap twice as fast or twice as slow as your footsteps. This post has been edited by ryanconferido: Mar 7 2011, 04:51 PM |
Mar 7 2011, 04:51 PM
623 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
QUOTE(ryanconferido @ Mar 7 2011, 04:45 PM) you may refer www.reddesertviolin.com , means now u dun count or tap ?Or use metronome clap or tap first, to get use on tempo. It works for me. When hand on on your violin, try to move your foot step forward & backward, to count the beat. This post has been edited by ilovestitch: Mar 7 2011, 04:51 PM |
Mar 8 2011, 11:24 AM
326 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
Hi guys,
have been learning/playing violin for 2 years and I guess it is about the time to 'upgrade' it.. i have no idea what kind of violin i'm using now as it is passed down from my sistersssss (yes, all my sisters used them before) so it is kind of old. but i m quite sure it isn't a good one, perhaps an around RM500-600 one. so how do I make my choice? any suggestion on that? any recommended brands or shops? what criteria shall i be looking for? btw, my budget would be ranging from 1k-2k.. |
Mar 8 2011, 01:27 PM
73 posts Joined: Sep 2010 From: Sitiawan, Perak |
QUOTE(FinFin @ Mar 8 2011, 11:24 AM) Hi guys, buy a violin with a board one, but not with 2 boards have been learning/playing violin for 2 years and I guess it is about the time to 'upgrade' it.. i have no idea what kind of violin i'm using now as it is passed down from my sistersssss (yes, all my sisters used them before) so it is kind of old. but i m quite sure it isn't a good one, perhaps an around RM500-600 one. so how do I make my choice? any suggestion on that? any recommended brands or shops? what criteria shall i be looking for? btw, my budget would be ranging from 1k-2k.. Sound different one =P |
Mar 8 2011, 03:20 PM
11 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
I bought mine at Euro Music at Jalan Imbi, Antonin Dvorak RM2499.
You can find wide range of violin there. How much for those with one board, thats cool ;D |
Mar 8 2011, 03:26 PM
QUOTE(cecy @ Mar 8 2011, 03:20 PM) I bought mine at Euro Music at Jalan Imbi, Antonin Dvorak RM2499. You can find wide range of violin there. How much for those with one board, thats cool ;D The quanlity of sound can fight with RM2000++ But.... The violin was break because of the worm. |
Mar 8 2011, 03:39 PM
11 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(ilovestitch @ Mar 7 2011, 04:03 PM) can someone guide me how to practce rhythm efficiently. Is foot tap more suggestable or counting in heart. When i concentrate on counting. I cannot focus on the violin sound produced. go through all the note before you play, remember the rhythm if you can,count with mouth is more efficient to me. hope this helps. too bad, u keep it for long time? I dont think this will happen if you play it oftenly. |
Mar 8 2011, 03:51 PM
Mar 8 2011, 09:15 PM
1,154 posts Joined: Dec 2010 From: Arts Industry |
........... how could they put problem violin on sale? whats the name of the shop?
Mar 8 2011, 09:30 PM
326 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
Mar 8 2011, 09:41 PM
1 board or 2 board...means 1 piece back or 2 piece back. some wood blocks are large enough to make a violin back without the need to split into 2. some maker also use those wood cut on the "slab".
best violins in the world are mostly 2 piece back (including paganini's favourite violin, nicknamed "il cannone" means "the cannon" because of its explosive power of sound). if the violin maker know what he's doing, there isn't going to be much differences between 1 piece back and 2 piece back, including those much lower priced mass produced ones. majority of the people will like a 1 piece back more than 2 piece back, in general they have more beautiful appearance, but some 2 piece back violins can be very very beautiful. |
Mar 8 2011, 10:18 PM
hmm,
few weeks ago, i went to Euro Music, they told me all handmade violin start with the price at least RM2k ++ my personally research, it doesnt matter with the price, 1. Go to the shop - Euro Music, Chamber music located at sg wang or jln imbi. 2. Touch the violin, play on it. The feel of you on violin. 3. Listen the sounds it produce, high? Flat? Clear? Warmth? Powerful? - - it all about your personal taste!!! 4. It doesnt matter with the price, of course handmade violin would becomes valueable if under well-care after years. 5. Sometime inexpensive price also could get the good one. Dun rush. Seek & compare. |
| Change to: | 0.0292sec
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:59 AM |