44 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

☆Fellowship of the Strings☆Violin,Viola,Cello etc., ~String Instruments Lovers are welcome!~

kissmyass4147
post Feb 1 2011, 03:10 PM

QUOTE(little ice @ Feb 1 2011, 02:23 PM)
of course he's ok with anyone who walk in with cash ready. he will not dare to challenge with money. dry.gif

if you try to annoy him more, he'll show his attitude, especially those more troublesome works that'll require lots of effort and time. i'm very fussy about my violin, and know exactly what kind of potential my violin has. asked him to tweak my violin more (even after he ruined my violin) he dare tell me he don't want to "waste" his time and ask me to tweak my violin myself, and get the tools myself.

imagine if he's a doctor and you're the patient, how will you feel? rolleyes.gif

by the way, remove all those "lil" in your post to make more sense. i wouldn't call RM1500~RM2000 violin selling at RM7000 "lil" high. tongue.gif
cheapest Arcus bow is already 4 figure range. i don't have any experiences with Coda, but once owned the Arcus top model before. my advice is, if you want to get an Arcus, choose the lowest range instead, top of the line model doesn't worth the price IMHO. i sold my Arcus because found an old brand-less wooden bow (said to be french) that play and sound way better than that Arcus, that cost MUCH lower.
So where can we find out own old French bows that cost MUCH lower as well? tongue.gif

Btw, are there any Strad owners in Malaysia?
little ice
post Feb 1 2011, 04:58 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(kissmyass4147 @ Feb 1 2011, 03:10 PM)
So where can we find out own old French bows that cost MUCH lower as well?  tongue.gif
i'll only tell those who're truely in need of a bow for own use. i don't like people bringing in nice bow and charge sky high.

QUOTE(kissmyass4147 @ Feb 1 2011, 03:10 PM)
Btw, are there any Strad owners in Malaysia?
no, as far as i know.

and it's going to be very hard to take care such old instrument in malaysia, let alone valuable. old violins usually have cracks developed along its age, and the glue used to repair the cracks can open easily in mid-high to high humidity. then, the wood has been aged for so many years, has become very sensitive to humidity changes.
Stuffi
post Feb 1 2011, 07:19 PM

Orchid Malevolence.
1,154 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Feb 1 2011, 02:07 PM)
I do not know but you can try to find them in music stores.... lol. Not really a fan of CF bow coz bored of it already since been using it for many years since I was still a kid but Forgot all the feelings already. Coz I stopped 8 years in between. sweat.gif

Anyway... here are their websites.

http://www.codabow.com/
http://www.arcus-bow.de/english/01e_welcome.htm

you can contact them and acquire infos about their bows' availability and buy the bows directly from them. If you had no knowledge about this kind of international trade thingy. You can contacts some third party to help you bring them in.... Can easily find them in service noticeboard. those who helped others buy stuff from e-bayor amazon are the third party I am referring to....
Thanks. But little ice already mention 4 figure and I sweat.gif liao. Haha

of course he's ok with anyone who walk in with cash ready. he will not dare to challenge with money. dry.gif

if you try to annoy him more, he'll show his attitude, especially those more troublesome works that'll require lots of effort and time. i'm very fussy about my violin, and know exactly what kind of potential my violin has. asked him to tweak my violin more (even after he ruined my violin) he dare tell me he don't want to "waste" his time and ask me to tweak my violin myself, and get the tools myself.

imagine if he's a doctor and you're the patient, how will you feel? rolleyes.gif

by the way, remove all those "lil" in your post to make more sense. i wouldn't call RM1500~RM2000 violin selling at RM7000 "lil" high. tongue.gif
cheapest Arcus bow is already 4 figure range. i don't have any experiences with Coda, but once owned the Arcus top model before. my advice is, if you want to get an Arcus, choose the lowest range instead, top of the line model doesn't worth the price IMHO. i sold my Arcus because found an old brand-less wooden bow (said to be french) that play and sound way better than that Arcus, that cost MUCH lower.
4 figure... I dare not to read further anymore. haha. Out of my budget. I think I get a CF bow from Euro Music instead. laugh.gif
little ice
post Feb 1 2011, 09:12 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(Stuffi @ Feb 1 2011, 07:19 PM)
Thanks.  But little ice already mention 4 figure and I  sweat.gif  liao. Haha
4 figure... I dare not to read further anymore. haha.  Out of my budget. I think I get a CF bow from Euro Music instead.  laugh.gif
i think cheapest Coda bow is also RM1xxx, or close to RM1000.

they're not exactly cheap, that's why i recommend euro music's CF bow, cheapest i've seen. you'll also see a lot of these on ebay for similar price, IMHO they're very good for the money.

be careful when you choose one, see if the hair is tight enough, and test it with your violin if you can as they'll still sound different from bow to bow.
Cirno
post Feb 1 2011, 09:33 PM

21 posts

Add me into the violinist list please. biggrin.gif

Well, I think I've posted in the previous thread before, asking for a teacher and stuff. Good thing my music teacher at school is willingly teaching me how to play it.

Hmm, right now I can't understand some of the notes on a music sheet. Anyone know any good website that knows every meaning of the symbols in a violin sheet?
TSliez
post Feb 1 2011, 10:54 PM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(Cirno @ Feb 1 2011, 09:33 PM)
Add me into the violinist list please. biggrin.gif

Well, I think I've posted in the previous thread before, asking for a teacher and stuff. Good thing my music teacher at school is willingly teaching me how to play it.

Hmm, right now I can't understand some of the notes on a music sheet. Anyone know any good website that knows every meaning of the symbols in a violin sheet?
sure.... smile.gif

about the bold part...

memorize this... The treble clef's note

and this.... the purple part on violin

This post has been edited by liez: Feb 1 2011, 10:54 PM
Cirno
post Feb 1 2011, 11:23 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Feb 1 2011, 10:54 PM)
sure....  smile.gif

about the bold part...

memorize this... The treble clef's note

and this.... the purple part on violin

Ah, this helps with my learning very much! Thanks man! But eh, what does the little dots that sometimes appear beside a note mean?
TSliez
post Feb 1 2011, 11:45 PM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(Cirno @ Feb 1 2011, 11:23 PM)
Ah, this helps with my learning very much! Thanks man! But eh, what does the little dots that sometimes appear beside a note mean?
nothing... Its just to separate each notes so you can read clearer. laugh.gif
Cirno
post Feb 1 2011, 11:54 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Feb 1 2011, 11:45 PM)
nothing... Its just to separate each notes so you can read clearer.  laugh.gif
Really? My sister keeps saying it adds half/ 1 beat to a note if it's an eight note or something similar... Weird...
TSliez
post Feb 2 2011, 12:13 AM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(Cirno @ Feb 1 2011, 11:54 PM)
Really? My sister keeps saying it adds half/ 1 beat to a note if it's an eight note or something similar... Weird...
omg doh.gif ...I thought you were saying those dots beside notes at the pic I posted.

in that case, you were referring to dotted notes.

then yes...it add half the beat of its master.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dotted_note
Cirno
post Feb 2 2011, 12:18 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Feb 2 2011, 12:13 AM)
omg  doh.gif ...I thought you were saying those dots beside notes at the pic I posted.

in that case, you were referring to dotted notes.

then yes...it add half the beat of its master.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dotted_note
So those notes you just posted, does it mean they need to be slurred? As in move the bow in one direction while changing the notes? What does the 'tail' on the notes mean? Sorry for being so noob. My teacher didn't have time to teach me as she is busy with other stuff and I rarely have time to ask because of it. She's doing it for free too... doh.gif

This post has been edited by Cirno: Feb 2 2011, 12:19 AM
TSliez
post Feb 2 2011, 12:58 AM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(Cirno @ Feb 2 2011, 12:18 AM)
So those notes you just posted, does it mean they need to be slurred? As in move the bow in one direction while changing the notes? What does the 'tail' on the notes mean? Sorry for being so noob. My teacher didn't have time to teach me as she is busy with other stuff and I rarely have time to ask because of it. She's doing it for free too... doh.gif
no worries, feel free to ask any question and the forumers will try to answer your questions provided someone is able to do so. You thank your teacher for doing it free for you.

The 'tails' on notes are not slur but tie instead. it indicates you to play all the notes at the duration of total time of all the notes 'tailing' each other. It can be played in one bow or more (usually happens to a very very long tie)

while slur.... you are bound to play in one bow or its not a slur.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tie_%28music%29

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slur_%28music%29
Cirno
post Feb 2 2011, 03:09 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Feb 2 2011, 12:58 AM)
no worries, feel free to ask any question and the forumers will try to answer your questions provided someone is able to do so. You thank your teacher for doing it free for you.

The 'tails' on notes are not slur but tie instead. it indicates you to play all the notes at the duration of total time of all the notes 'tailing' each other. It can be played in one bow or more (usually happens to a very very long tie)

while slur.... you are bound to play in one bow or its not a slur.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tie_%28music%29

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slur_%28music%29
Ah, thanks a lot, again! By the way, I seem to have a problem with my violin. I use a tuner to tune it and stuff, and when I play my open strings, it's all okay. But when I press any other strings, it goes really off-tune. Anyway to solve this?
Stuffi
post Feb 2 2011, 04:02 PM

Orchid Malevolence.
1,154 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Feb 1 2011, 09:12 PM)
i think cheapest Coda bow is also RM1xxx, or close to RM1000.

they're not exactly cheap, that's why i recommend euro music's CF bow, cheapest i've seen. you'll also see a lot of these on ebay for similar price, IMHO they're very good for the money.

be careful when you choose one, see if the hair is tight enough, and test it with your violin if you can as they'll still sound different from bow to bow.
okay noted thanks biggrin.gif
TSliez
post Feb 2 2011, 06:36 PM

1,346 posts

Well, would not hurt to be a 'lil' humble on the shop's image. sweat.gif

QUOTE(Cirno @ Feb 2 2011, 03:09 PM)
Ah, thanks a lot, again! By the way, I seem to have a problem with my violin. I use a tuner to tune it and stuff, and when I play my open strings, it's all okay. But when I press any other strings, it goes really off-tune. Anyway to solve this?
so you tune your violin (assuming you tune all the strings) and its okie when you play on your open string.

but when you press other strings....wad do you mean by that? Or you would like to rephrase your question a lil?

This post has been edited by liez: Feb 2 2011, 06:42 PM
Cirno
post Feb 2 2011, 07:53 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Feb 2 2011, 06:36 PM)
Well, would not hurt to be a 'lil' humble on the shop's image.  sweat.gif
so you tune your violin (assuming you tune all the strings) and its okie when you play on your open string.

but when you press other strings....wad do you mean by that? Or you would like to rephrase your question a lil?
Simply put, when I play my open strings and I check it with my tuner, everything is fine. The note hits the desired pitch.

But when I press a string (e.g: I press the C string on an A string), the tuner says it's out of pitch.

How do I solve this?
little ice
post Feb 2 2011, 08:02 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Feb 2 2011, 06:36 PM)
Well, would not hurt to be a 'lil' humble on the shop's image.  sweat.gif
i rather be honest than...humble? actually why i want to be humble about it?? don't like means don't like, and i'm stating my true first hand experience.

QUOTE(Cirno @ Feb 2 2011, 07:53 PM)
Simply put, when I play my open strings and I check it with my tuner, everything is fine. The note hits the desired pitch.

But when I press a string (e.g: I press the C string on an A string), the tuner says it's out of pitch.

How do I solve this?
to put it simple:
you have to adjust your finger so that it'll hit the correct pitch. you pitch your singing with your vocal cord, and you pitch your violin with your left hand fingers.

if you want to ask how to play more in tune? it's just like asking how to sing more in tune.

to put it complex:
i can play a note that sound absolutely in tune, but the tuner will say it's off pitch. a rather complex subject for beginner to understand, you can safely pass this first and focus on your posture and bowing as they're more important.

This post has been edited by little ice: Feb 2 2011, 08:03 PM
seanlara
post Feb 6 2011, 12:25 PM

29 posts

hi all

i can see many violinist in this thread biggrin.gif

Too bad i am not one of them
TSliez
post Feb 6 2011, 10:09 PM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(seanlara @ Feb 6 2011, 12:25 PM)
hi all

i can see many violinist in this  thread biggrin.gif

Too bad i am not one of them
But you can always join us... rclxms.gif ....having some knowledges about violins and bows makes you cool too. laugh.gif
chienx
post Feb 9 2011, 04:43 PM

205 posts

hi, anyone know teacher around setia alam area,..violin teacher.

44 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0282sec    1.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:03 PM