University Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP) Thread, A warm welcome to the new intakes!
IvanWong1989
Apr 6 2012, 01:21 AM
may i ask something...
degree fyp titles do they need to be cutting edge research? means. new not discovered yet, new research type?
or
a field something that has been done before also can
zz
Mr.Wang
Apr 6 2012, 01:45 AM
QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Apr 6 2012, 01:21 AM) may i ask something... degree fyp titles do they need to be cutting edge research? means. new not discovered yet, new research type? or a field something that has been done before also can zz Both can. But can you produce cutting edge research with just 1 or 2 years time? You need to suit your research objective to your degree, time, financial, expertise. In other words, make sure your research objectives are obtainable and not too ambitious.
IvanWong1989
Apr 6 2012, 02:01 AM
QUOTE(Mr.Wang @ Apr 6 2012, 01:45 AM) Both can. But can you produce cutting edge research with just 1 or 2 years time? You need to suit your research objective to your degree, time, financial, expertise. In other words, make sure your research objectives are obtainable and not too ambitious. good point... hmm... i'll reflect on that. =)
TSexquisite_markas
Apr 6 2012, 08:29 AM
QUOTE(Mr.Wang @ Apr 6 2012, 01:45 AM) Both can. But can you produce cutting edge research with just 1 or 2 years time? You need to suit your research objective to your degree, time, financial, expertise. In other words, make sure your research objectives are obtainable and not too ambitious. I will second that... Be sure that the objectives that you set are not too vague. Have intense discussions with your supervisor on this subject matter. No worries though, a good supervisor will always guide you on setting objectives for your FYP. You will always want to set your objectives worthy of a degree project, but not too advanced until you can get a PhD with that.
IvanWong1989
Apr 6 2012, 12:57 PM
hehe.. cz what i have min mind may as well reach PhD level if added more detail. haha..
markas, bb, mind i ask who's your su[pervisor last time?
bb100
Apr 6 2012, 04:22 PM
QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Apr 6 2012, 12:57 PM) hehe.. cz what i have min mind may as well reach PhD level if added more detail. haha.. markas, bb, mind i ask who's your su[pervisor last time? It's absolutely fine to have a PhD-level FYP project. Your supervisor will have no problem with that. You only have to ask yourself one very simple question: Can I ultimately achieve my project objective(s) in one year's time??? If your answer is a solid YES, then by all means, go ahead. My supervisor was a Mr Nobody in PPK Mekatronik. Yet I enjoyed working with him and that was the time when I finally made up my mind to pursue my PhD studies.
Mr.Wang
Apr 6 2012, 05:56 PM
QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Apr 6 2012, 02:01 AM) good point... hmm... i'll reflect on that. =) It's just some stuff you'll need to think of if you want to produce breakthrough research. But if you think you really can produce such research, you're encourage to do so.
IvanWong1989
Apr 6 2012, 10:15 PM
haha.. then i hav to really think.. capable or not to do that.. haha...
think think.. thx for ur input guys..
TSexquisite_markas
Apr 6 2012, 10:48 PM
There is a reason why they named it Final Year Project, and not Final Year Research. Make sense?
bb100
Apr 13 2012, 09:16 AM
No more updates from IvanWong1989, ghodul, jay and all our other fantastic UniMAPians? Keep the updates coming, man!!
This post has been edited by bb100: Apr 13 2012, 09:17 AM
IvanWong1989
Apr 15 2012, 12:08 AM
lol.. what kind of updates ??? photos i will take pic next week after mid sem break.. AND exams.. sobz...
bb100
Apr 15 2012, 11:55 AM
Maybe you can provide us former UniMAPians with latest snapshots of our remarkable Kampus Alam @ Pauh Putra. We would very much appreciate your efforts.
wleong
Apr 15 2012, 01:34 PM
After 1 week of Holiday.... feel lazy back to Unimap.....
TSexquisite_markas
Apr 15 2012, 11:09 PM
QUOTE(wleong @ Apr 15 2012, 01:34 PM) After 1 week of Holiday.... feel lazy back to Unimap..... One week of holiday? How come one week? Study week?
IvanWong1989
Apr 16 2012, 10:17 AM
QUOTE(bb100 @ Apr 15 2012, 11:55 AM) Maybe you can provide us former UniMAPians with latest snapshots of our remarkable Kampus Alam @ Pauh Putra. We would very much appreciate your efforts.  lol.. when i got go thr.. maybe today or 2mro. lolx.. =P QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Apr 15 2012, 11:09 PM) One week of holiday? How come one week? Study week?  midterm sem break. hehe
TSexquisite_markas
Apr 16 2012, 04:10 PM
Oh, I have totally forgotten about mid-sem break.
ghodul
Apr 18 2012, 12:37 AM
QUOTE(niceman2008 @ Apr 5 2012, 11:52 PM) I'm from School of Computer and Communication Engineering...... Name/programme/year of study/Current CGPA:(((( Rather not to say )))) wow, another SCCE people. I tot there is no SCCE people here... Me is RK20, enroll last september, ex-diploma polytechnic. You must be seniors, right???? Its not like i dun wanna update here, there tonnes of things to be done. Before and after the semester break. Me oso slowly recruit my friends, either from poly, matrix and STPM leavers to enter UniMAP. I oso tak sampai lagi dekat that main campus. Maybe this weekend gonna go to the new library. But no drills will be given, since my HP is chepo HP, camera quality sucks... This post has been edited by ghodul: Apr 18 2012, 12:40 AM
bb100
Apr 19 2012, 09:49 AM
QUOTE(ghodul @ Apr 18 2012, 12:37 AM) wow, another SCCE people. I tot there is no SCCE people here... Me is RK20, enroll last september, ex-diploma polytechnic. You must be seniors, right???? Its not like i dun wanna update here, there tonnes of things to be done. Before and after the semester break. Me oso slowly recruit my friends, either from poly, matrix and STPM leavers to enter UniMAP. I oso tak sampai lagi dekat that main campus. Maybe this weekend gonna go to the new library. But no drills will be given, since my HP is chepo HP, camera quality sucks... You sounded very busy there. At least we know you are still doing fine in UniMAP. Please provide some drillz la, buddy. Cheapo HP or expensivo HP also nevermind one. All we need is drillzzz. You don't want people to ask.... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « MANA GAMBARNYA PONDAN??? Do you? This post has been edited by bb100: Apr 19 2012, 09:50 AM
ghodul
Apr 19 2012, 05:28 PM
QUOTE(bb100 @ Apr 19 2012, 09:49 AM) You sounded very busy there. At least we know you are still doing fine in UniMAP. Please provide some drillz la, buddy. Cheapo HP or expensivo HP also nevermind one. All we need is drillzzz. You don't want people to ask.... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « MANA GAMBARNYA PONDAN??? Do you?  Later on la kot. This 16/5, got SCCE program at Main Campus library. People ask me to become emcee for the event. And I was like, LOL? Y U GUISE CHOOSE ME???
TSexquisite_markas
Apr 20 2012, 11:11 AM
Emcee? That's cool. Try to savour the moment. It will come to you as a valuable experience. This post has been edited by exquisite_markas: Apr 20 2012, 11:11 AM