=.=.... is it simple?
University Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP) Thread, A warm welcome to the new intakes!
Apr 3 2012, 11:48 AM
4,297 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
=.=.... is it simple?
Apr 3 2012, 12:15 PM
1,344 posts Joined: Jan 2011 From: Ipoh |
Choosing a final year project based on the supervisor is a BIG mistake. The title always comes first before the supervisor.
Ok, let's say you got a big shot Prof with a shopping list of credentials and a bank-load of grants, but at the end, you find yourself doing something you don't have any interest in. Do you think that Prof will be able to use his big shot name and his long list of credentials to help you? I don't think he will have time to even take care of such petty issue. Not that I don't encourage people to choose Profs as their supervisor, but in my personal opinion, you should choose the title first. But to be fair, if you got a big shot Prof with the title of your interest, well, by all means, go for it. But getting the best of both worlds, it's very rare, if you get what I mean. |
Apr 3 2012, 01:57 PM
35 posts Joined: May 2011 |
Hello UniMap-ians, Naveen here, currently a STPM leaver with a passion for Mechanical engineering. I've chosen UniMap as my preferred choice for engineering besides UTM and now waiting for the UPU results. How I came to know about UniMap?....Well, I know some seniors studying there whom recommended me to study in this uni. So, how's the uni doing so far?
Apr 3 2012, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(nav92 @ Apr 3 2012, 01:57 PM) Hello UniMap-ians, Naveen here, currently a STPM leaver with a passion for Mechanical engineering. I've chosen UniMap as my preferred choice for engineering besides UTM and now waiting for the UPU results. How I came to know about UniMap?....Well, I know some seniors studying there whom recommended me to study in this uni. So, how's the uni doing so far? Hi Naveen! First of all, welcome to this thread. I am glad that you found your way here. Some seniors here can really guide you through, if you really land yourself in UniMAP. Some notable contributors to this thread are IvanWong1989, bb100, ghodul and jay, just to name a few. Some of them have already graduated, but quite a number of them is still in UniMAP.If you have any doubts, just post and ask. I am sure they are most willing to answer all of them. By the way, mind sharing your STPM result? |
Apr 3 2012, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Apr 3 2012, 02:58 PM) Hi Naveen! First of all, welcome to this thread. I am glad that you found your way here. Some seniors here can really guide you through, if you really land yourself in UniMAP. Some notable contributors to this thread are IvanWong1989, bb100, ghodul and jay, just to name a few. Some of them have already graduated, but quite a number of them is still in UniMAP. Thank you. I got 1A, 1A-, 1B-,1C+ with an overall CGPA of 3.17. I've been following this thread since the STPM results were out last month. And this is my 1st post, lol. If you have any doubts, just post and ask. I am sure they are most willing to answer all of them. By the way, mind sharing your STPM result? Added on April 3, 2012, 3:38 pmThis thread really did give me a positive impression about the all the unis in M'sia. I was expecting a better pointer to enter the more popular unis like UM, UKM, USM and etc. But in the end, I had to consider all the other unis as well and UniMap appeared the most suitable one for engineering. Do tell me more about the campus? Is the main campus ready for use now? This post has been edited by nav92: Apr 3 2012, 03:38 PM |
Apr 3 2012, 05:04 PM
1,439 posts Joined: Jan 2011 From: Ipoh, Perak |
QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Apr 3 2012, 11:48 AM) Ok. Let's be down-to-earth, shall we?The idea is this: If you are a top student, then pick the title which suits you best and try to choose a Prof or Dr as your supervisor. But if you are just an average student in your class, pick your favourite title and then choose a Mr/Mrs/Miss as your supervisor. Why am I saying this? Usually, Profs and Drs do not have so much time to slowly explain to you the basics of your FYP. So you would need a relatively strong foundation in order to be able to handle your FYP with minimal guidance from your supervisor. On the other hand, should your supervisor be a Mr/Mrs/Miss, he/she would be free most of the time, provided he/she is not actively involved in out-of-school activities like Robocon, Varsity Race and the like. So you and your supervisor would most probably be spending most of your time together experimenting on your project and stuffs. However, don't expect to be spoon-fed by him/her. No such thing, dude! Having said that, I would once again like to reiterate what exquisite_markas has put forward: It is of great importance to pick a title which is of interest to you, and not to go after BIG NAMES. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Added on April 3, 2012, 5:07 pmPlease just keep the FYP selection process simple. That's my biggest advice. This post has been edited by bb100: Apr 3 2012, 05:07 PM |
Apr 3 2012, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(nav92 @ Apr 3 2012, 03:25 PM) Thank you. I got 1A, 1A-, 1B-,1C+ with an overall CGPA of 3.17. I've been following this thread since the STPM results were out last month. And this is my 1st post, lol. If your A and A- comes from either Mathematics or Physics, I suppose your chances of getting into UniMAP is fairly bright.Added on April 3, 2012, 3:38 pmThis thread really did give me a positive impression about the all the unis in M'sia. I was expecting a better pointer to enter the more popular unis like UM, UKM, USM and etc. But in the end, I had to consider all the other unis as well and UniMap appeared the most suitable one for engineering. Do tell me more about the campus? Is the main campus ready for use now? UniMAP really is not that bad, considering the fact that it has been consistently climbing up the ranking in recent years. So if you were to be offered to do engineering in UniMAP, it would definitely be a very enlightening 4 years of your journey. For campus questions, please refer to IvanWong1989. He is a very friendly, honest and most of all, helpful gentleman. |
Apr 3 2012, 05:40 PM
346 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
In my own experience, the young fresh master/phd lecturers are the one difficult to deal with. Cos they're trying to prove to seniors they can produce quality research projects. Their supervisees would be their victims cos of demanding supervisor. The more senior one is more lenient and understanding cos they have experience handle more undergrad and know what to expect out of em. The only problem with them is probably they hold higher position and got more work load. Thus, can't focus on their supervisees.
This post has been edited by seanwc101: Apr 3 2012, 05:43 PM |
Apr 3 2012, 05:50 PM
QUOTE(bb100 @ Apr 3 2012, 05:13 PM) If your A and A- comes from either Mathematics or Physics, I suppose your chances of getting into UniMAP is fairly bright. O.o... im frenly and honest and helpful? lolx..UniMAP really is not that bad, considering the fact that it has been consistently climbing up the ranking in recent years. So if you were to be offered to do engineering in UniMAP, it would definitely be a very enlightening 4 years of your journey. For campus questions, please refer to IvanWong1989. He is a very friendly, honest and most of all, helpful gentleman. anyway, to Naveen, come here see green. good for your eyes. I kinda like it. ^^ =P no riots or what racism here.. peaceful.. Not perfect, thr are problems, but overall... I find my experience here worthwhile. Lecturers? erm... haha.. u'll meet many types. lolx... anybody here remember.. ''relaxxxxx, tak boleh buat? drop saje..=)'' hhaaaa.. and those very good ones. any questions shoot me one up. I'm lurking in lowyat although i didn't post stuff as much nowadays. Bz. lol Added on April 3, 2012, 5:51 pm » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « haha.. ok..... i'll try to keep it simple.. hopefully... This post has been edited by IvanWong1989: Apr 3 2012, 05:51 PM |
Apr 3 2012, 05:52 PM
QUOTE(seanwc101 @ Apr 3 2012, 05:40 PM) In my own experience, the young fresh master/phd lecturers are the one difficult to deal with. Cos they're trying to prove to seniors they can produce quality research projects. Their supervisees would be their victims cos of demanding supervisor. The more senior one is more lenient and understanding cos they have experience handle more undergrad and know what to expect out of em. The only problem with them is probably they hold higher position and got more work load. Thus, can't focus on their supervisees. Yup, this is also quite true to a certain extend. You get all kinds of people, to be fair.Since choosing the supervisor is such a tedious task, I always advice FYP students-to-be to make title-choosing as their priority. Choosing of supervisor comes secondary. Coz at the end of the day, your supervisor can be Stephen Hawking, but it is the title that will be written on your resume, and not the supervisor's name... |
Apr 3 2012, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Apr 3 2012, 05:50 PM) O.o... im frenly and honest and helpful? lolx.. IvanWong1989,anyway, to Naveen, come here see green. good for your eyes. I kinda like it. ^^ =P no riots or what racism here.. peaceful.. Not perfect, thr are problems, but overall... I find my experience here worthwhile. Lecturers? erm... haha.. u'll meet many types. lolx... anybody here remember.. ''relaxxxxx, tak boleh buat? drop saje..=)'' hhaaaa.. and those very good ones. any questions shoot me one up. I'm lurking in lowyat although i didn't post stuff as much nowadays. Bz. lol Added on April 3, 2012, 5:51 pm » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « haha.. ok..... i'll try to keep it simple.. hopefully... Do you have photos of the campus? I was told that the campus has experienced a lot of changes since I left. Maybe you can send some to me and I shall post it in the first page. Since the new intake will report in pretty soon, I guess those photos will come in handy. |
Apr 3 2012, 08:59 PM
QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Apr 3 2012, 05:50 PM) O.o... im frenly and honest and helpful? lolx.. GREEN! That's nice, haha anyway, to Naveen, come here see green. good for your eyes. I kinda like it. ^^ =P no riots or what racism here.. peaceful.. Not perfect, thr are problems, but overall... I find my experience here worthwhile. Lecturers? erm... haha.. u'll meet many types. lolx... anybody here remember.. ''relaxxxxx, tak boleh buat? drop saje..=)'' hhaaaa.. and those very good ones. any questions shoot me one up. I'm lurking in lowyat although i didn't post stuff as much nowadays. Bz. lol Added on April 3, 2012, 5:51 pm » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « haha.. ok..... i'll try to keep it simple.. hopefully... Added on April 3, 2012, 9:05 pm QUOTE(bb100 @ Apr 3 2012, 05:13 PM) If your A and A- comes from either Mathematics or Physics, I suppose your chances of getting into UniMAP is fairly bright. A- for Physics and C+ for Mathematics, Didn't do the best for STPM but aim to do better and further improve myself later in uni. UniMAP really is not that bad, considering the fact that it has been consistently climbing up the ranking in recent years. So if you were to be offered to do engineering in UniMAP, it would definitely be a very enlightening 4 years of your journey. For campus questions, please refer to IvanWong1989. He is a very friendly, honest and most of all, helpful gentleman. This post has been edited by nav92: Apr 3 2012, 09:05 PM |
Apr 4 2012, 12:13 AM
346 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Apr 3 2012, 05:52 PM) Yup, this is also quite true to a certain extend. You get all kinds of people, to be fair. Ya, famous supervisor won't have much advantage if he/she is not supportive and always delay student's work.Since choosing the supervisor is such a tedious task, I always advice FYP students-to-be to make title-choosing as their priority. Choosing of supervisor comes secondary. Coz at the end of the day, your supervisor can be Stephen Hawking, but it is the title that will be written on your resume, and not the supervisor's name... |
Apr 5 2012, 08:55 AM
to markas.. wait ar.. I will take photos after mis sem break. ^^
Apr 5 2012, 10:37 AM
Apr 5 2012, 02:18 PM
30 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
Apr 5 2012, 11:04 PM
Apr 5 2012, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Mar 14 2012, 01:12 AM) BINGO! izzit : Prof. Ir. Dr. Md. Yusof Ismail ??Added on March 14, 2012, 12:22 amanybody here been taught by a lecturer named yusuf sumting before? his first class.. n he says "i'm an IR, i'm also on the board for EAC"... then bla bla later on he mentioned.. "these formulae easy only, economics formulae...as engineering students it should be a piece of cake for you." then he mentioned. "only those that's good in math, the smart ones are in engineering, our formulae are many times more complex than accountant's. That's why only smart ones get into engineerings, and the stupid ones in arts cause it's easy." i was... waddafak.... thinking of raising my hand up and bantah... really... it's super super f***ed up comment man... but alas.. i did not have the guts to do so infront of 100+ students... any comments? really hate these type of people he thin, wear spec, fair skin and white hair....??? Izzit him ?? |
Apr 5 2012, 11:47 PM
Apr 5 2012, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(bb100 @ Apr 6 2012, 12:04 AM) Hello Newbie... Welcome to UniMAP! New or current student? Please intro yourself... I'm from School of Computer and Communication Engineering......Name: Programme*: Year of study*: Current CGPA: *Denotes compulsory fields. Name/programme/year of study/Current CGPA:(((( Rather not to say )))) |
| Change to: | 0.0230sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:44 PM |