TSclazzikul
post Jan 5 2011, 12:46 PM, updated 15y ago

32 posts

Dear sifu,

Need help here, i have been work out for 1yr plus but my mucles aren't grow

recently i start to consume protein twice per week after my workout

instand of gaining muscle i notice that i have gain move belly fat

why izzit so???

how to avoid getting bigger belly fat when consuming protein???

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
janson_kaniaz
post Jan 5 2011, 12:58 PM

6,955 posts

protein cannot be transformed into fat.
it's the extra carb tat you are eating tat's causing it.

and unless you have alot of protein from solid foods, protein shake twice per week ain't going to make you grow, which explains your problem now.
ijnek
post Jan 5 2011, 01:31 PM

566 posts

u r not eatin right if u r not growing

too much carbo in ur diet?
darklight79
post Jan 5 2011, 01:44 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Jan 5 2011, 12:58 PM)
protein cannot be transformed into fat.
it's the extra carb tat you are eating tat's causing it.

and unless you have alot of protein from solid foods, protein shake twice per week ain't going to make you grow, which explains your problem now.
No. Protein still consists of calories. I don't care how thermogenic protein is(it is...) but calories in vs out. Obviously he might not be training insanely enough.

ARE YOU BOY? ARE YOU??? I ASKED YOU A QUESTION!!! Are you training hard enough??
kurtkob78
post Jan 5 2011, 01:57 PM

Do your best
3,833 posts

QUOTE(clazzikul @ Jan 5 2011, 12:46 PM)
Dear sifu,

why izzit so???

rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Are you eating the correct protein ? Dont say that you eat mass gainer protein. Mass gainer contains alot of calories or carb and sugar.

But, even if you eat weight gainer just twice a week, i dont see how can it develop muscle fat so fast. unless you also eat more on your other meal ?
arekey
post Jan 5 2011, 03:24 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(clazzikul @ Jan 5 2011, 01:46 PM)
Dear sifu,

why izzit so???

Only Protein??? Some guys think that just because you drink a ‘protein drink’ after a workout that everything is dandy. Just because you put it into your mouth does
not mean it is traveling to the right place in your body. If you consume only a protein drink after your workout then you are short-changing yourself. The
protein is almost useless without its taxi driver - insulin! And the taxi driver (insulin) only shows up when the right passengers are on board (simple sugars).
darklight79
post Jan 5 2011, 05:45 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(arekey @ Jan 5 2011, 03:24 PM)
Only Protein??? Some guys think that just because you drink a ‘protein drink’ after a workout that everything is dandy. Just because you put it into your mouth does
not mean it is traveling to the right place in your body. If you consume only a protein drink after your workout then you are short-changing yourself. The
protein is almost useless without its taxi driver - insulin! And the taxi driver (insulin) only shows up when the right passengers are on board (simple sugars).
But... but what if people don't have enough money to use a taxi? =(
jamis
post Jan 5 2011, 06:06 PM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Jan 5 2011, 05:45 PM)
and tons of taxi driver
iamyuanwu
post Jan 6 2011, 12:15 AM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(clazzikul @ Jan 5 2011, 12:46 PM)
Dear sifu,

why izzit so???

I strongly suspect that you're training with the same intensity as my grandma.

Added on January 6, 2011, 12:15 am
QUOTE(arekey @ Jan 5 2011, 03:24 PM)
Whey itself can cause an insulin spike. It's just that protein + simple sugars >>> protein or simple sugar alone.

Added on January 6, 2011, 12:15 am
QUOTE(darklight79 @ Jan 5 2011, 05:45 PM)
I almost died from choking in my own saliva.
Bus, kenot?

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jan 6 2011, 12:16 AM
arekey
post Jan 6 2011, 07:46 AM

454 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Jan 5 2011, 06:45 PM)
Credit card also accepted....
mzack1104
post Jan 6 2011, 04:10 PM

256 posts

Not training hard enough and not eating enough to build muscle. shakehead.gif

Do you feel muscle sore in the morning after you workout? if not than not enough training.

If you do feel, but u didnt eat right also would be the reason why u didnt grow.

I didnt take whey, only eat chicken, meat, eggs, milk and other protein sources.
Because not enough money to use taxi, I walked tongue.gif

Cheers smile.gif

ijnek
post Jan 6 2011, 04:54 PM

566 posts

QUOTE(mzack1104 @ Jan 6 2011, 04:10 PM)
I didnt take whey, only eat chicken, meat, eggs, milk and other protein sources.
Because not enough money to use taxi, I walked tongue.gif

Cheers smile.gif
u fly by eating real food. thumbup.gif
there's a reason why there r stuffs called supplements.
SUSeksk
post Jan 7 2011, 11:33 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jan 6 2011, 12:15 AM)
I strongly suspect that you're training with the same intensity as my grandma.
sadly i see this case a lot in the gym.. lotsa so called bber hogging weights with beer bellies and chugging shakes
John91
post Jan 8 2011, 12:41 AM

1,193 posts

I depend A LOT on shakes to reach my required daily protein intake to maintain muscle mass. Real food is hard to come by, I just eat whatever my mom cooks and eating outside is real expensive. Maybe real food would do better, but I"ll try that in my cutting phase probably in March.
ijnek
post Jan 8 2011, 07:45 AM

566 posts

try a canned of tuna in water after workout...
but not too often cos it might b high in mercury...i hv canned tuna in water abt 2-3 times a week after workout
janson_kaniaz
post Jan 8 2011, 07:48 AM

6,955 posts

wat exactly is 'tuna in water'
doesn't sound edible to me.
mikehuan
post Jan 8 2011, 07:50 AM

6,160 posts

aha, i think what he meant is the canned tuna. comes in water or olive oil IIRC?
shiloong7081
post Jan 8 2011, 10:25 AM

928 posts

canned tuna can come in oil, brine or water. i prefer in water
kurtkob78
post Jan 8 2011, 12:01 PM

Do your best
3,833 posts

i found that canned tuna is too salty. And also quite expensive. Whey protein is cheaper by gram of protein

This post has been edited by kurtkob78: Jan 8 2011, 12:06 PM
John91
post Jan 8 2011, 01:03 PM

1,193 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Jan 8 2011, 01:01 PM)
i found that canned tuna is too salty. And also quite expensive. Whey protein is cheaper by gram of protein
+1. Eggs are the cheapest still though. But tuna makes a good alternative although it taste like cardboard and is slightly more expensive.
statikinetic
post Jan 8 2011, 01:07 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

I like having open options like tuna and eggs instead of whey or blends when I need protein. Powders same time everyday makes my day kinda grey.
ijnek
post Jan 10 2011, 10:34 AM

566 posts

yup...canned tuna in water instead of mayo.
brand ayam...
in office, it's a fast way.pop open and start stuffing
look for the less sodium 1...should have...

in fact, i noticed now got canned tuna in mineral water...
i normally get the less fat less sodium 1...
TSclazzikul
post Jan 15 2011, 12:12 PM

32 posts

i juz wondering will protein make my belly bigger.... hehe

i admit i do not train very hard but probably better than those gradma

Normally i will went to gym 3 to 4 time per week

and

i do get sore after work out.

zaxxshoxx
post Jan 15 2011, 12:53 PM

put up or shut up
1,331 posts

QUOTE(clazzikul @ Jan 15 2011, 12:12 PM)
i juz wondering will protein make my belly bigger.... hehe

i admit i do not train very hard but probably better than those gradma

Normally i will went to gym 3 to 4 time per week

and

i do get sore after work out.
fat cannot transform into fat, it must be your carb intake la bro
sore after workout? normal
nod.gif

John91
post Jan 15 2011, 01:10 PM

1,193 posts

QUOTE(zaxxshoxx @ Jan 15 2011, 01:53 PM)
fat cannot transform into fat, it must be your carb intake la bro
sore after workout? normal
nod.gif
Protein is still calories, calories CAN convert into fat. Muscle cannot be converted into fat, you mixed it up there.
zaxxshoxx
post Jan 15 2011, 10:31 PM

put up or shut up
1,331 posts

QUOTE(John91 @ Jan 15 2011, 01:10 PM)
Protein is still calories, calories CAN convert into fat. Muscle cannot be converted into fat, you mixed it up there.
thx for the fix biggrin.gif
haroldz123
post Jan 15 2011, 10:37 PM

1,063 posts

hit plateau?

try tabata / interval

bigger = heavy weight
fat loss = more reps

correct ka?
jhong
post Jan 16 2011, 09:59 PM

685 posts

Perhaps you can try L-Carnitine to cut off those fats first?
law1777
post Jan 17 2011, 12:21 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(ijnek @ Jan 10 2011, 10:34 AM)
yup...canned tuna in water instead of mayo.
brand ayam...
in office, it's a fast way.pop open and start stuffing
look for the less sodium 1...should have...

in fact, i noticed now got canned tuna in mineral water...
i normally get the less fat less sodium 1...
yes i just love the canned tuna in mineral water. those in water only r too salty for my taste = alot more sodium
samsk
post Jan 21 2011, 02:34 PM

68 posts

If you are taking Ultimate Musclejuice 2544, confirm you will get fat because it contains sugar alot.. the new musclejuice 2600 are 71% sugar less.
John91
post Jan 21 2011, 02:37 PM

1,193 posts

Who the fk mentioned Musclejuice? Musclejuice is a weight gainer anyway. Your answers from the other threads shows you're a moron who probably doesn't even train or doesn't knows squat.
TSclazzikul
post Jan 22 2011, 11:17 AM

32 posts

apparently my fat only at my belly, its really make me frustrated cuz
when i tend to do a lot of cardio and diet i could not loss fat from belly

fyi, prevously im 80kg currently is 65kg and 174cm

nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif

This post has been edited by clazzikul: Jan 22 2011, 11:21 AM
4Rings
post Jan 23 2011, 06:16 AM

Lord of the Rings
1,783 posts

QUOTE(John91 @ Jan 15 2011, 01:10 PM)
Conventional nutrition is wrong. Protein and fat cannot be be converted into body fat. Excessive insulin spike converts sugar into body fat.
No doubt protein and fat are still calories but inside our body they work differently. But in mathematics you are correct. In reality you are wrong.
Excessive intake of protein and fat will be excreted out. Those who are on keto diet can never get fat no matter how much they eat. Putting them back on the same amount of calories with increase in carbs and reduction in protein and fat, they will start to gain back their body fat.
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 23 2011, 02:19 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(4Rings @ Jan 23 2011, 06:16 AM)
Conventional nutrition is wrong. Protein and fat cannot be be converted into body fat. Excessive insulin spike converts sugar into body fat.
No doubt protein and fat are still calories but inside our body they work differently. But in mathematics you are correct. In reality you are wrong.
Excessive intake of protein and fat will be excreted out. Those who are on keto diet can never get fat no matter how much they eat. Putting them back on the same amount of calories with increase in carbs and reduction in protein and fat, they will start to gain back their body fat.
thanks for the explanation.. i thought i interpreted wrongly after watching gary taubes's lecture, now this really had clear my doubts.
iamyuanwu
post Jan 23 2011, 11:13 PM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(clazzikul @ Jan 22 2011, 11:17 AM)
apparently my fat only at my belly, its really make me frustrated cuz
when i tend to do a lot of cardio and diet i could not loss fat from belly

fyi, prevously im 80kg currently is 65kg and 174cm
nod.gif  nod.gif  nod.gif
Good luck trying to lose belly/abdominal fat through cardio and diet... coz it ain't gonna work.

zaphod42
post Jan 24 2011, 12:11 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jan 23 2011, 11:13 PM)
Good luck trying to lose belly/abdominal fat through cardio and diet... coz it ain't gonna work.
Out of curiosity what would we have to do then ? Especially for skinny fats like me ? I'm thin all over at 68kg but have frustrating belly and love handles
SUSizdyharz
post Feb 5 2011, 02:38 AM

469 posts

*deleted*

This post has been edited by izdyharz: Feb 5 2011, 03:34 AM
EpsilonStar
post Feb 6 2011, 01:18 AM

1,245 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jan 23 2011, 11:13 PM)
QUOTE(zaphod42 @ Jan 24 2011, 12:11 AM)
Out of curiosity what would we have to do then ? Especially for skinny fats like me ? I'm thin all over at 68kg but have frustrating belly and love handles
Yeah, care to share what is the proper way to lose abdominal fat then?
iamyuanwu
post Feb 6 2011, 02:46 AM

2,425 posts

Relax yo, I cuti a few days.

Metabolic Resistance Training / circuit training. Skinny fat needs to build strength, build muscles and add some resisted conditioning. If not, belly fat is not easy to get rid.

It's somewhere in the first post.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1170813

Cardio... unless you're running fast, sprinting and running hills (all of which builds some strength)... will not help skinny fat guys get rid of that belly.

The easiest to start: http://hunderpushups.com
Do loads of it, and you'll be happy with the results.
kaspersky-fan
post Feb 6 2011, 04:05 AM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Feb 6 2011, 02:46 AM)
Relax yo, I cuti a few days.

Metabolic Resistance Training / circuit training. Skinny fat needs to build strength, build muscles and add some resisted conditioning. If not, belly fat is not easy to get rid.

It's somewhere in the first post.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1170813

Cardio... unless you're running fast, sprinting and running hills (all of which builds some strength)... will not help skinny fat guys get rid of that belly.

The easiest to start: http://hunderpushups.com
Do loads of it, and you'll be happy with the results.
hey mate, i think you meant http://www.hundredpushups.com ... lol

0.0256sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:54 AM