Olympus XZ-1, - Olympus does enthuasiast compact

Valentino46
post Oct 5 2011, 04:14 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(turbo10 @ Oct 5 2011, 04:01 PM)
selecting one area on the af point doesn't help?
its not about which area to choose,its the focusing area being to big for composition,try focus some small flowers and insect with further background then u'll know what i meant

turbo10
post Oct 5 2011, 04:20 PM

237 posts

yeah..i understand that..sometimes need to focus a few times to get the correct one..quite annoying when the insect you wanna snap went away while we are trying to get a good focus point..
TSsniper on the roof
post Oct 5 2011, 06:51 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(turbo10 @ Oct 5 2011, 02:42 PM)
spot metering will only interpret light metering on the spot on the center of the picture (for some can multi spot)..in this case the lighting outside the jeans might be too overexposed by reflection on the floor so to have correct metering we can switch to spot metering and aim it on the jeans..pls correct me sifu sniper..smile.gif
Multi spot is not spot metering. Anyway there's many articles online about camera's metering system. Usually I just stick with ESP(matrix) mertering but in this case, I saw some muted reflections on the floor (later zoomed in to leave those areas off) and I want to expose for the gray of the jeans and risk overexposing the floor. Turned out alright though

QUOTE(Valentino46 @ Oct 5 2011, 03:47 PM)
just to share with u guy that i have another issue with this xz-1 i find particularly annoying

ignore the dirty bokeh and over process looks,its the flickr server compresses the image causing the artifacts and degrade of image quality there
Your chili and the girls face is not very contrasty compare with the background and I reckon since the cdaf will take focus samples even without half press shutter to get faster AF speed.. its a case of the guesswork went wrong.

What I do when shooting tougher conditions like flowers at low light etc... is put a key or something contrasty to get focus correct or use Iphone LED light to light up the subject to AF first.

That's hardly practical for insects though tongue.gif

As for the girl/backlit scenario... my 550D misses too but the XZ-1 shows green box though again... I think this is the sampling guesswork as above.

Don't shoot me.... my post strictly based on theory and pure keyboard warrior guesswork only.

Valentino46
post Oct 5 2011, 06:56 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 5 2011, 06:51 PM)
Multi spot is not spot metering. Anyway there's many articles online about camera's metering system. Usually I just stick with ESP(matrix) mertering but in this case, I saw some muted reflections on the floor (later zoomed in to leave those areas off) and I want to expose for the gray of the jeans and risk overexposing the floor. Turned out alright though
Your chili and the girls face is not very contrasty compare with the background and I reckon since the cdaf will take focus samples even without half press shutter to get faster AF speed.. its a case of the guesswork went wrong.

What I do when shooting tougher conditions like flowers at low light etc... is put a key or something contrasty to get focus correct or use Iphone LED light to light up the subject to AF first.

That's hardly practical for insects though  tongue.gif

As for the girl/backlit scenario... my 550D misses too but the XZ-1 shows green box though again... I think this is the sampling guesswork as above.

Don't shoot me.... my post strictly based on theory and pure keyboard warrior guesswork only.
i tried with strawberries,small flowers,insects which i believe is contrasty enough and its under bright natural light when i went cameron,the camera will always pick the background,no matter its in macro or no macro mode,i deleted all those fail pics liao though,nex time i get some good one to show u,but if u don't believe try yourself,its easy to provoke the issue
thats y the new pen series all have selectable focus area size

This post has been edited by Valentino46: Oct 5 2011, 06:57 PM
TSsniper on the roof
post Oct 5 2011, 07:03 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Valentino46 @ Oct 5 2011, 06:56 PM)
i tried with strawberries,small flowers,insects which i believe is contrasty enough and its under bright natural light when i went cameron,the camera will always pick the background,no matter its in macro or no macro mode,i deleted all those fail pics liao though,nex time i get some good one to show u,but if u don't believe try yourself,its easy to provoke the issue
thats y the new pen series all have selectable focus area size
Don't get me wrong...I fully agree with you. Many of my daugther's pic (of her running around) also missed focus though camera says green box. Also the flower/insect scenarios.

I've not other new CDAF cameras like the PEN's in similiar scenarios but will be interesting to see.... if only my collegue loan me his EP3... which he freakin wont mad.gif
Valentino46
post Oct 5 2011, 10:32 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 5 2011, 07:03 PM)
Don't get me wrong...I fully agree with you. Many of my daugther's pic (of her running around) also missed focus though camera says green box. Also the flower/insect scenarios.

I've not other new CDAF cameras like the PEN's in similiar scenarios but will be interesting to see.... if only my collegue loan me his EP3... which he freakin wont  mad.gif
green box only mean that some part in the AF area is already in focus,no necessarily should be the subject as camera doesn't know how to differentiate that,maybe they should correct it in the firmware so that the camera will give priority to the front element in focus as subject commonly will be in front of the intended background,its easy to do in firmware change if they really mean to improve it

speaking of which another thing good bout this xz-1 as relative to DSLR i once own is the willingness to take everywhere,last time i will not take my SLR gear and lens to my boat fishing trip,with the xz-1 i'm being more adventurous in using it,partly maybe because of the smaller form factor its easier to protect it from the natural elements in the middle of the ocean

P9238555 (Large) by robinlim, on Flickr

This post has been edited by Valentino46: Oct 5 2011, 11:59 PM
turbo10
post Oct 6 2011, 09:08 AM

237 posts

OOT..nice catch there bro!

irmond
post Oct 7 2011, 02:48 AM

629 posts

hey everyone especially Sniper,

I would like to ask something relates to Xz-1.
Since i'm going to buy Xz-1 and I want to make sure I get the best out of it.
What do you think other accessories should I get to improve it?
maybe lens or flash gun or optical viewfinder and let me know the approx. price.
The one I heard was the flash lite FL-14 for olympus.
any other suggestion?

This post has been edited by irmond: Oct 7 2011, 02:49 AM
littleprawn
post Oct 7 2011, 08:23 AM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

Thanks for the reply on the spot metering issue~
Learn some new thing ~
TSsniper on the roof
post Oct 7 2011, 09:54 AM

23,414 posts

Valentino: Nice catch there.. that's huge @@

irmond: Dunno what u need but my accessories for the XZ-1 is a carrying pouch, 2 extra third party battery and charger. That's it.
pengster
post Oct 7 2011, 11:17 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

Hey guys! Been using my white XZ-1 for a few months now and I love how portable it is compared to my 5D2 and the IQ is pretty darn good too. biggrin.gif

Pardon the quality, it's a direct link from my FB. laugh.gif

Most of the time I shoot in JPEG. RAW only when I'm shooting in low light and want to process the photos at home with LR3. laugh.gif
Valentino46
post Oct 7 2011, 04:40 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(irmond @ Oct 7 2011, 02:48 AM)
hey everyone especially Sniper,

I would like to ask something relates to Xz-1.
Since i'm going to buy Xz-1 and I want to make sure I get the best out of it.
What do you think other accessories should I get to improve it?
maybe lens or flash gun or optical viewfinder and let me know the approx. price.
The one I heard was the flash lite FL-14 for olympus.
any other suggestion?
if u do flash photography i recommend getting the fl-36r(top of my accessory list for xz-1 right now),a properly powerful flash gun with wireless flash capability with the xz-1,some maybe say the size a big for xz-1 but i don't mind as long as it does the job,otherwise fl-300r is a bit weaker but the profile is smaller and thinner

i do wish i have the vf-3 but after using for a while without it,i dont feel the need for it as much liao

you don't need spend much and won't be able to spend much anyway with the xz-1 since its does everything right out of box adequately,thats one of the best thing bout xz-1

This post has been edited by Valentino46: Oct 8 2011, 12:04 AM
TSsniper on the roof
post Oct 7 2011, 06:41 PM

23,414 posts

For me veli simple.. XZ1 is for times when dont feel like bringing the big camera so no point getting flashes.

Welcome to the club pengster
irmond
post Oct 8 2011, 03:27 AM

629 posts

@sniper lensmate adapter?
anyone heard of it before? i wana take sharper and crispier image.
i heard can add this to improve it. anyone think is good?

@valentino i might be planning to buy studio lighting rather then buying flash gun. because i heard is too expensive and in different angle is not that good where else studio light can be taken easily in every angle.

This post has been edited by irmond: Oct 8 2011, 03:34 AM
turbo10
post Oct 8 2011, 02:36 PM

237 posts

spam spam...pics PP shot in RAW..my son and my weeknight car...still unfinished project

celica-1-5 by adiman77, on Flickr

celica-1-3 by adiman77, on Flickr

shot my boy's cheap hotwheels..funny he wanted only this matte black like his dad's car..

torino-1 by adiman77, on Flickr

This post has been edited by turbo10: Oct 8 2011, 03:12 PM
littleprawn
post Oct 8 2011, 07:20 PM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

QUOTE(turbo10 @ Oct 8 2011, 02:36 PM)
spam spam...pics PP shot in RAW..my son and my weeknight car...still unfinished project
shot my boy's cheap hotwheels..funny he wanted only this matte black like his dad's car..

wah, this mana ada cheap hotwheels~
this is from the HW Garage series one rite~ brows.gif
HW Basic baru cheap haha~ tongue.gif
turbo10
post Oct 8 2011, 09:01 PM

237 posts

hehe...correct...sometimes i exchange with frens..i love KPGC10 old skyline..too bad i cant find old school celica like mine in there..

TSsniper on the roof
post Oct 11 2011, 01:56 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(irmond @ Oct 8 2011, 03:27 AM)
@sniper lensmate adapter?
anyone heard of it before? i wana take sharper and crispier image.
i heard can add this to improve it. anyone think is good?
Just shoot first... accessories when/if needed later.

hush_puppies
post Oct 12 2011, 02:15 AM

60 posts

this camera is sooo tempting! anyone just got this camera and mind to share how much is this currently? Plan to get this end of this month after survey among LX5, S95 and this! biggrin.gif

** Will this camera has big different (picture quality) compare to the E-PL1?

This post has been edited by hush_puppies: Oct 12 2011, 06:42 PM
TSsniper on the roof
post Oct 12 2011, 10:33 PM

23,414 posts

Ur buying strictly on price?

62 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0349sec    1.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled