62 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

Olympus XZ-1, - Olympus does enthuasiast compact

jchue73
post Aug 2 2011, 02:11 PM

2,496 posts

Thom Hogan did a mini review on the XZ-1.

http://www.bythom.com/olympus-xz-1-review.htm
TSsniper on the roof
post Aug 2 2011, 03:32 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Aug 2 2011, 02:11 PM)
Thom Hogan did a mini review on the XZ-1.

http://www.bythom.com/olympus-xz-1-review.htm
Yeah... fully agree with it.

It's not a perfect and produces its best (and it's soooo brilliant at its best) with some basic understanding.

Ditto the bright light flare which is a major issue for streetlights...the crappy video, the jpeg smear, the mode dial too loose.

Also wanna add that they should have the ND filter on icon in red color instead. Too many times I've accidently left the ND on doh.gif

But it's still the best and only alternative for me.

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Aug 2 2011, 03:34 PM
turbo10
post Aug 3 2011, 11:52 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(turbo10 @ Aug 1 2011, 02:01 AM)
some pics i took BBQ with frens..just some normal snapshots..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA by adiman77, on Flickr

one day at Batu Feringghi.. tongue.gif
The candid kiddies pictures can enter street photography category? blush.gif

TSsniper on the roof
post Aug 4 2011, 11:33 AM

23,414 posts

Guys.. check out seriouscompact's XZ-1 image thread. There's some real nice inspirations there

Link:
http://www.seriouscompacts.com/f61/xz-1-image-thread-2277/
turbo10
post Aug 4 2011, 04:03 PM

237 posts

I have visited the site..Amazing! I think some of them are pros..the b & ws are superb..the cats also nice..
Dry Pillow
post Aug 6 2011, 05:16 PM

623 posts

Do you guys let the image stabilizer turned on usually? Do you think it is helpful when doing night shots?
TSsniper on the roof
post Aug 6 2011, 05:43 PM

23,414 posts

why turn it off at the first place?

Added on August 6, 2011, 8:22 pmXZ-1 does food photography..yum yum.. drool.gif

P8031230 by vmwt, on Flickr

P8031238 by vmwt, on Flickr

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Aug 6 2011, 08:22 PM
nles
post Aug 7 2011, 05:42 AM

♥ It's not about the girl ♥ It's the G-Shock
2,125 posts

Got mine too, RM1499 with 8GB Card, Extra Battery, Case and Screen Protector. Almost bought E-P3 there, need to keep reminding myself I'm looking for a compact xD

This post has been edited by nles: Aug 7 2011, 05:47 AM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TSsniper on the roof
post Aug 7 2011, 08:15 AM

23,414 posts

nles: what case is that you're using?
ben3003
post Aug 7 2011, 09:43 AM

10,859 posts

that the olympus case i am using too smile.gif should be csch-85..
TSsniper on the roof
post Aug 7 2011, 09:57 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Aug 7 2011, 09:43 AM)
that the olympus case i am using too smile.gif should be csch-85..
Hmmm.. here dun have. That case got belt hoops or not?
ben3003
post Aug 7 2011, 12:35 PM

10,859 posts

yeah got, can tie to belt one..
nles
post Aug 7 2011, 01:52 PM

2,125 posts

The original leather case they quote me RM250, so expensive so I didn't take. Need to upgrade firmware?
maylin_90
post Aug 7 2011, 02:12 PM

QUOTE(nles @ Aug 7 2011, 06:42 AM)
Got mine too, RM1499 with 8GB Card, Extra Battery, Case and Screen Protector. Almost bought E-P3 there, need to keep reminding myself I'm looking for a compact xD

may I know where did you got yours?
I was quoted RM1499 as well but only with 8GB and case
nles
post Aug 7 2011, 02:24 PM

2,125 posts

QUOTE(maylin_90 @ Aug 7 2011, 02:12 PM)
may I know where did you got yours?
I was quoted RM1499 as well but only with 8GB and case
BOEING sg.wang, One thing I dislike while I trying this camera the other day. Needs to change to Macro focus way too early.

This post has been edited by nles: Aug 7 2011, 04:48 PM
turbo10
post Aug 7 2011, 06:58 PM

237 posts

they gave me E-PL case to me..it's huge..haish..

Valentino46
post Aug 7 2011, 10:08 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(nles @ Aug 7 2011, 02:24 PM)
BOEING sg.wang, One thing I dislike while I trying this camera the other day. Needs to change to Macro focus way too early.
jz switch to macro mode all the time lo,it doesn't affect the focus time too much anyway
for my type of photography i din notice it to be a problem,i don shoot close close all the time
TSsniper on the roof
post Aug 8 2011, 11:09 AM

23,414 posts

Yup.. I keep mine in macro mode all the time as well.
mofidz9
post Aug 9 2011, 10:05 AM

guys,
any idea what is the cheapest & reliable wireless remote shutter for our camera? and i also looking for joby (or alike) gorillapod (based on my research, joby SLR suits best)
and yes guys, i'm not impress with my lens filter, thinking to take it off. shud i? hahaha
doh.gif
TSsniper on the roof
post Aug 9 2011, 10:37 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(mofidz9 @ Aug 9 2011, 10:05 AM)
guys,
any idea what is the cheapest & reliable wireless remote shutter for our camera? and i also looking for joby (or alike) gorillapod (based on my research, joby SLR suits best)
and yes guys, i'm not impress with my lens filter, thinking to take it off. shud i? hahaha
doh.gif
I've got both the Gorillapod SLR Zoom and the small Gorillapod. Naturally the SLR is more stable but its also not pocketable... so either I don't bring either, or just keep the small gorillapod in my pocket.

62 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0306sec    1.00    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:11 PM