4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

PC logitech z5500/z680/z5450 thread, all about logitech speakers thread

exergy
post Sep 18 2005, 11:10 PM

6,079 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Sep 18 2005, 11:07 PM)
WOW giga satellite height @ 16cm~~ hehe make my hand itchy...feel like using C.card n swipe hehe
whats the height of the z680's sat? [excluding the speaker stands, as i did]
exergy
post Sep 18 2005, 11:13 PM

6,079 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Sep 18 2005, 10:47 PM)
**silon** i know . its  .. Z680 is 11in x 12in x 11in (not including the pop out circuit at the back
QUOTE(terencetoo @ Sep 18 2005, 11:08 PM)
@g5sim waaaa u faster then me...tongue.gif

But anyway is approx 11in x 12in x 11in for z680
oh, then it must have been my mistake sweat.gif
it always looked as if its smaller than the z5300's sub, and thus is assumed its smaller than the z680's sub also. its a 12x12x12 all around, i didnt include its 4 legs in the height measurement sweat.gif
exergy
post Sep 18 2005, 11:18 PM

6,079 posts

it must be the additional tweeter causing the extra height increase...

look at it in comparison with its little bro, the megaworks.

edit: this is a pic from gear.ign sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Silon: Sep 18 2005, 11:23 PM
exergy
post Sep 19 2005, 02:01 PM

6,079 posts

QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Sep 18 2005, 11:30 PM)
Klipsch Ultra sat behind them! tongue.gif
ive read that review @ gear.ign at least 5 times biggrin.gif

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Sep 19 2005, 08:34 AM)
Found Klipsch GMX5.1 selling for A$390 =approx rm 1200 the satellite looks like a bit~~ to over trandy~haha:P
they look retro, id like them very much, but their sound is... biggrin.gif
exergy
post Sep 20 2005, 05:39 PM

6,079 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Sep 20 2005, 08:40 AM)
as promised aerial, side, front view ..... aiyo .. for rear view pulak  tongue.gif
thanks for those lovely pics g5sim thumbup.gif notworthy.gif

it seems that weve all been cheated into this fake illusion that our 'comp' speakers are good, entry level HT systems at the same price [or cheaper] seem to be better. we should all just sell them away, crush all our thoughts on high end 'comp' speakers and change over the HT systems, low entry or not rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Silon: Sep 20 2005, 05:40 PM
exergy
post Sep 20 2005, 06:51 PM

6,079 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Sep 20 2005, 05:56 PM)
i know .... get a BELOW RM800 system for PC .. save the rest for A HT ... they are no more that expensive ..
i was being sarcastic with my previous post
exergy
post Sep 22 2005, 01:09 AM

6,079 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Sep 22 2005, 12:54 AM)
anyone know how to tweak SB A2ZS Plat. Pro. to sound more better playing MP3?

now using WINAMP 5.1.. kinda sucky.. .any player to reckon?
dont know if this would work on a Platinum, but you can try installing the audigy4 drivers. i started a thread about this, 'improved sounding audigy drivers' or something like that, if its still around, Joseph Hahn prodivided links to download the softmod towards the last pages of the thread.

IMO, it makes the music sound more bright and coloured. i dont like it though, found the original driver more natural, but thats just me tongue.gif
exergy
post Sep 24 2005, 04:29 PM

6,079 posts

QUOTE(n|c#o[L]a^s @ Sep 24 2005, 04:20 PM)
slightly below 1k for once high end speaker (last time, maybe.. or maybe not) is just killing my brain cell. tempted in getting one.. but currently, my priority falls under songs and movie. hardly had my hands on game nowadays. sighss..  doh.gif
hmm nah, it still is one high end mutimedia speaker at less than 1000 quid biggrin.gif laugh.gif
exergy
post Sep 25 2005, 06:32 PM

6,079 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Sep 25 2005, 06:21 PM)
i have checked Logitech.com and Z680 IS NO LONGER in the catalogue list. Does it mean, it has stop production ? if that is the case ... grab the remaining sets that are available people ...
most probably so. the mx700 is no longer on their site, when i RMAed one, an mx1000 popped out wub.gif thumbup.gif
exergy
post Sep 25 2005, 10:10 PM

6,079 posts

QUOTE(n|c#o[L]a^s @ Sep 25 2005, 09:49 PM)
Blind or what? tongue.gif

Z680

Hrmm.. decisions decisions.  grumble.gif
well, for its price, i guess its very much worth the money, but if you want something that is more for music, theres the megaworks and s5.1, but otherwise, i think this would make one fine set of speakers... considering the price thumbup.gif
exergy
post Oct 4 2005, 02:24 PM

6,079 posts

QUOTE(weeluvmal @ Oct 4 2005, 02:07 PM)
have been a Megaworks 510d for about a year (until it died on me.. ), and now i'm using z5500. i was surprised to hear that the crispness and clarity of the logitech is actually much superior than the megaworks, and the bass is not as boomy as the megaworks.

Not sure wat kinda bass u r looking for, but the logitech's bass is somewat tighter than the megaworks. the bass is well defined as u can hear the change of bass node as compared to the boomy bass from the megaworks where i can't tell wat node is being played. The bass i get from megaworks is a bit over-emphasized and undefined..

If u ask me, i would prefer the z5500 to the megaworks.
did u went for an audition for the gigaworks? why not?

btw, how long have u been using the megaworks before it died on you? somehow, im beginning to question creative's speaker reliability

edit: also, if its been a year, have you spoken to creative about getting them to 'fix' the megaworks for you or anything like that? or did u just left it alone?

This post has been edited by Silon: Oct 4 2005, 02:28 PM
exergy
post Oct 4 2005, 11:22 PM

6,079 posts

QUOTE(weeluvmal @ Oct 4 2005, 02:49 PM)
Have not have any chance to audit on the Gigaworks here in Penang, though it was 2nd in my list after the Z5500. the promedia 5.1 ultra is simply too expensive to my liking, their GMX series on the other hand does not impress me with their lousy control pod design and boomy bass.

i listen to music a lot apart from movie watching, and i would put my priority to music when i make my selection as i believe a reasonable powerful / good set of system should be sufficient to drive the movie watching without the need to specifically emphasizing on bass.

so, call it phobia if u may.. the megaworks didn't actually went 'dead' as it still powers on, but getting pretty close to that state..

the megaworks i got was a refurbished set sold by a fellow forumer. been using it for about 1 & half year, then somehow the volume starts to go high and lows all by itself, until recently the sound went crack/distorted when i turn my volume above 1/3 of the whole range.

been doing some research of the matter, and i end up finding a lot of such similar cases in a Creative's forum, where i seen a lot of case of the forumer with their dead / bad subwoofer-amplifier.

the cause of the problem were due to some badly designed power circuit. there's a case where the transistors even cracked into half.

http://forums.creative.com/creativelabs/bo...ard.id=speakers

can't remember the exact thread, then again, do some searching in this forum, u'll see wat i mean. i do realize that these cases could be some rare case that only happened to the forumers in there. but since i myself is caught once in such situation, i figure i'd better pass the Gigaworks and go for the logitech's highest range ( i still have a set of z640 which served me fine, of which being used by my gf later after the upgrade to megaworks).

i'm a happy user of z5500, even my gf can tell the diff of the sound quality for it's crispness and clarity. the control pod combined with the infra-red remote is working well, the reception of the remote is good, the set up is easy, the Stereo X2 mode is good for music, i use foobar to play DTS-CD and the staging of the speaker set is superb...

hmm.. this is getting very long, ask me if still got anymore questions...

tips: Find the easter eggs in z5500 by doing the following: while the z5500 in standby mode, pressing combinations of buttons on the control pod for 6 seconds will switch / enable some hidden mode. for instance, pressing all buttons except the "Level" button will trigger a Second Skin, which would change the LCD display scheme and even the color of the power button (Red --> Purple).
ah, i see. so it was more of a i-dont-want-another-creative kinda thing you had?

your priority was on music and in that, the gigaworks beats even the PMU. ive considered the PMU heavily and even if the prices werent inflated to such an extent, i would still have gone for the gigaworks. though, when and if it dies on me, ill certainly remember to stay away from creative in the future. the megaworks, the gigaworks, theyre both high end stuff. theyre very little of them out there and even then, there are countless cases of them dying. this would most certainly suggest a high failure rate. ive seen many times in a couple of forums where gigaworks unit would arrive either dead on the spot or with a few deffective satellites.

QUOTE(weeluvmal @ Oct 4 2005, 03:11 PM)
tried to get it repaired through the local distributor, the answer i got was:
Sorry, can't be fixed, the 510d is an obsolete set. and even if it can be fixed, it's better for u to get a new set, as the repairing fees is gonna be close to that.

also went to some electronics appliances repairing shops, ppl there have no idea of the design and dare not to fix the damn thing.. probably i've not search hard enough for a repairing shop, but i'd be leaving it aside for now as i'm happy with the Z5500.
that reply sounded abit cold sweat.gif
why didnt you speak to creative directly? im guessing people at creative would be more helpful than the distributor?

QUOTE(g5sim @ Oct 4 2005, 05:34 PM)
haha .. luckily my Z680 comes with a three year warranty  thumbup.gif

my housemate (ex-housemate) creative inspire 6.1 oso dead without warning. He upragraded the set to Gigaworks and put the inspire in the box. A while after that, he found a prospective purchaser of the inspire set. The poor thing came to the house to try to test the system ... and there was the system... totally dead, couldn't even power on. my housemate (ex) was soooo embarassed ...  blush.gif
i thought logitech had a standard 2 year warranty for their speakers? unsure.gif
perhaps they had different warranty lenghts for different products. my 5300 had a 2 year warranty. speaking of logitech, the mx700 mouse has a whopping 5 year warranty! it is to my belief that every mx700 is faulty [logitech discontinued it, it is no longer on their site, you can barely find a ingle page with 'mx700' on it]. when i sent my mx700 for an RMA, an mx1000 poped out magically. thumbup.gif

exergy
post Oct 5 2005, 11:06 PM

6,079 posts

QUOTE(n|c#o[L]a^s @ Oct 5 2005, 10:47 PM)
Maggi? I'm working in Nestle.. still wanna eat Maggi?  laugh.gif
Hrrm.. as mentioned by a staff in one of the lowyat's shop, my speaker warranty is only 1 year. But when I look into the Z680's setup book, it mentioned that there is a limited warranty of 2 years..  huh.gif I'm confuse now..
either its that the shopkeeper didnt know what he was selling [hey, it happens] or that they just dont support RMA claims after 1 year of purchase, in which case youd have to send it to the distro or to logitech direct.

i had an mx700 which had a 5 (five) year warranty. i sent it for an RMA during the second and i got a replacement. smile.gif

exergy
post Oct 10 2005, 01:16 PM

6,079 posts

QUOTE(gryp_enigma @ Oct 10 2005, 11:27 AM)
sorry this questions has been asked b4 but just wanna double confirm: is z680 gonna discontinue? cause wanna buy 1 but incase if spoil then sent warranty the next time they will give u something lower than z680 than bo syiok liow.. sorry noob here..
hmm they MIGHT replace you with a z5500 whistling.gif
i sent an mx700 for RMA and an mx1000 poped out! laugh.gif

i highly doubt would replace a z5300 for you, that would just spoil their name and drive customers away.
exergy
post Oct 10 2005, 06:37 PM

6,079 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Oct 10 2005, 03:23 PM)
*i want to send tiara for a one to one replacement warranty but tiara no more in production .. i got a Waja as replacement instead*  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
logitech is not like proton in any way. they're a large mutinational company pushing the limits of technology in their fields, theyre products are recognised all over and people react favourably to their brand. besides, a car costs much more than a mouse or a set of multimedia speakers whistling.gif
exergy
post Oct 10 2005, 07:20 PM

6,079 posts

QUOTE(tyss @ Oct 10 2005, 07:06 PM)
this might be a dumb question, how to enable the central speaker to have sound while playing music .....cause currently only the 4 sat speaker is producing sound.

z-680 user here

dam.....have to send my woofer for repair........
playing music through all the 5 speakers are not the way to listen to music. music should be done in 2.1 mode only. youll have optimum performance this way.
exergy
post Oct 11 2005, 10:03 PM

6,079 posts

QUOTE(c3ksam @ Oct 11 2005, 09:57 PM)
how the logitech z5500 and z5450 sounds? seem like it is the high-end speakers available in town......
Creative gigaworks, Klipsch Promedia Ultra are the best multimedia speakers runder RM2500 [i havent heard of any MM speakers >rm2500?]. the 5500 beats the 5450.
exergy
post Oct 14 2005, 11:38 AM

6,079 posts

QUOTE(tiSSue_paPer @ Oct 14 2005, 05:24 AM)
i wanna ask,gigawork hav 5.1product..? im interested la..
coz i think 7.1 is more then enough..
not every dvd got 7.1 feature
most of the dvd is 5.1 oni..  cry.gif
well, i can buy the other 2 sats from you for RM150 if you want laugh.gif
theres a gigaworks s700 in the US, essentially a 5.1 version of the gigaworks... but they dont sell it anywhere else. and please, those 'Gamer edition' or whatever doesnt deserve the 'gigaworks' name laugh.gif

QUOTE(g5sim @ Oct 14 2005, 09:45 AM)
Z680 - RM990. Z5500 - RM1,499 ... i wonder Z5300 is going to compete with Z680 with the price diffrence of just a hundred
it is not going to compete. the 5300s are extremely weak. IMO, it cannot even produce a proper surround sound enviroment
exergy
post Oct 14 2005, 01:58 PM

6,079 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Oct 14 2005, 01:49 PM)
then might as well as just stop it. with Z680 selling at the current price, who in a 'correct mind' would want to get a Z5300 tongue.gif
no one, but the current pricing is because of logitech trying to clear stock, right?
exergy
post Oct 14 2005, 06:46 PM

6,079 posts

QUOTE(n|c#o[L]a^s @ Oct 14 2005, 06:35 PM)
I guess they're trying to clear the old stocks and discontinue it for good.  smile.gif

Z680 is a 2 years old product, isn't it?
possible older.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0412sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:56 PM