Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V3, Dark Lord going strong

aldosoesilo
post Jan 17 2011, 03:23 PM

I was like LOL :D
1,457 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jan 17 2011, 03:13 PM)
Useful or not ? I feel quite useful just that I lazy to bring out sometimes tongue.gif

KTCY can you please give me some enlightening about the actual range of the 70-200? (What I mean here is the actually distance of the subject to the object to get the full body)
aldosoesilo
post Jan 17 2011, 03:25 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Jan 17 2011, 03:21 PM)
First want tamron 17-50mm F2.8, then sigma 50mm F1.4 and now nikon 70-200mm VR2? laugh.gif

lol slow down bro, learn to use what you have first. You wont achieve image quality like the season veteran here without practicing and learning the proper technique and look back what you said in your sig no? tongue.gif
I know I know. I am just considering where to invest. because I have kitty with mine 35mm with mine. basically what I actually lacking is tele which 70-200 is a good option. instead of upgrading the lens it's better to have lenses for the different2 purpose isn't it? Correct me if I am wrong

Added on January 17, 2011, 3:26 pm
QUOTE(chiahau @ Jan 17 2011, 03:25 PM)
70-200 f2/8 to get full body, i think you need to stand QUITE FAR.. I handled before the 70-200 and it require quite some space 2 use unless you want to play sniper. XP
do you know the exact value of QUITE FAR? so at least I can put it into consideration.

This post has been edited by aldosoesilo: Jan 17 2011, 03:26 PM
aldosoesilo
post Jan 17 2011, 03:29 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ Jan 17 2011, 03:28 PM)
turn your kit lens to 70mm. and see how far u gotta stand.
it's 1855 bro rclxub.gif
aldosoesilo
post Jan 17 2011, 03:39 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jan 17 2011, 03:30 PM)
Few metre away.  And of course depends on how tall your model is. Pun intended whistling.gif
QUOTE(chiahau @ Jan 17 2011, 03:31 PM)
Erm, I don't even know how to tell you how far coz my estimation skills is poor. But for me, you need to stand behind quite some distance to get full body.
hmm.gif I think I have to go to BTS and give 70-200 a try. to focus on my budgeting anyway thank you guys.
KTCY can I know what is the preparation need to be made in order to master weeding stage kind of photography since you do experience on that field.

QUOTE(eddy230379 @ Jan 17 2011, 03:33 PM)
bro ... i already sold off my 50mm f/1.8D ... now i only have a 16-85 with me until the end of the month ... its just that i think u can take good pics regardless of the gear u have as long as u have the eye for a good picture & the heart to learn more in depth ...
Yeah.. that's very true bro. but do you find it tele is useful?
actually I have several options of next months either upgrade my lens as in having a better IQ or cover tele. That's what makes me confuse bro. =\

Added on January 17, 2011, 3:43 pm
QUOTE(gnome @ Jan 17 2011, 03:36 PM)
I'll gladly trade my 18105 kit with 1870 anytime laugh.gif

Use it first time with my frien D40 last time and really like the lens alot smile.gif
may I know any reason why the lens is discontinued?

This post has been edited by aldosoesilo: Jan 17 2011, 03:43 PM
aldosoesilo
post Jan 17 2011, 03:48 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jan 17 2011, 03:43 PM)
18-70 rocks ! And pair with 70200, full range laugh.gif
Shoot and shoot and shoot !
Flash control, WB control and most important, moments !
equipment-wise?

QUOTE(eddy230379 @ Jan 17 2011, 03:45 PM)
bro aldosoesilo ... its all depends on what u like to shoot ... for me i like wide angle shoots & the creative pictures than i can make with it ... hence i dont need the extra tele range ...
hmm.gif I think I haven't found what kind of photography I am most.
aldosoesilo
post Jan 17 2011, 03:55 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jan 17 2011, 03:52 PM)
D3s, 14-24, 24-70, 70-200, 24/1.4, 35m/1.4, 50/1.4, 85/1.5, 135/2 and SB-900 x 10 whistling.gif
Pardon the pun. Use whatever you have. Kit lens can makes wonder too.
rclxub.gif I think I'll just stick with whatever I have currently. hahaha thanks anyway smile.gif
aldosoesilo
post Jan 18 2011, 10:56 AM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Jan 17 2011, 07:07 PM)
Useful or not have to depend on you, even 70mm on DX is quite far.. For FX it's just perfect, ditch your d3100 b4 thinking of getting 70-200 lar  brows.gif
I dunno what to play again on D3100. Color balance, Play till sien liao.
Hmm... I am wrong choosing entry level cameras as my 1st camera I should know it's not much customization offered.

QUOTE(Destro89 @ Jan 17 2011, 09:08 PM)
Is Nikon D5000 a good investment for beginner???And what lens you recommend for 1st time DSLR owner?
go for d3100 instead or D7000 wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif

QUOTE(elainor @ Jan 17 2011, 09:15 PM)
cheers.gif  cheers.gif lol the shop owner also ask me dont buy the d700 first as he knew that i just use it not even a month yet... he give me the suggestion to get the lens instead...  laugh.gif
70-200 2.8? wub.gif

QUOTE(luminescence69 @ Jan 17 2011, 09:18 PM)
Hi guys, just wanted to know what 50mm lens will be compatible with my D5000? Preferably tamron or sigma. Thanks  smile.gif
Sigma 50mm 1.4 is always been there to grab. Reason choosing sigma instead of Nikon?
It feel so solid to hold, makes Nikon lens feels like cheap China town lens. IMHO brows.gif

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jan 17 2011, 10:38 PM)
get D3100 more bang for bucks
y looking for 3rd party 50mm lenses? if u r expecting them to b cheaper then u r mistaken
Tamron dun have 50mm, n Sigma 50mm f/1.4 cost around rm1.5k-2.2k
for Nikkor lens, only AF-S 50mm f/1.4G can AF on D5000, cost around rm1.8k
Sigma is more geng? solid, big, nice. and IQ-wise is comparable.
(-) 77m Filter sucks!

QUOTE(zaxxshoxx @ Jan 18 2011, 02:04 AM)
my 18-55 nikkor have problem auto focus ( its anold lens btw ) anyone know how much to fix it? or buy new one?
Throw it away and buy the new one instead of servicing it which will eventually cost you like the new lens itself.
aldosoesilo
post Jan 18 2011, 11:07 AM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(cik_tak @ Jan 18 2011, 11:02 AM)
but sigma 50mm 1.4g is quite soft bro .. when u shoot @ f1.4, we tested the lens last week with tungsten light. Nikkor way better.
are you sure that's not a lemon copy of sigma 50mm 1.4? because I test it out seems like it is sharper compared to Nikon 50mm 1.4 G
aldosoesilo
post Jan 18 2011, 11:17 AM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jan 18 2011, 11:13 AM)
1.2G N is coming brows.gif
and Hell yeah, it will cost like hell. just like the other N lens out there. tongue.gif
aldosoesilo
post Jan 18 2011, 11:27 AM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 18 2011, 11:18 AM)
Shooting in a busy place always got ppl at the back >_<

Walao~ can see the color differences, one hosted at FB another at Flickr lol.
bro mind to tell me which one is flickr and which on is facebook?
I think facebook will offer you a significantly quality degradation. since it will host it to somewhere else and of course they do some compression algorithm to make the uploading process faster. (if you do realize uploading photo is facebook is significantly faster compared to flickr).

That's what I learn in my college anyway. compression algorithm. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by aldosoesilo: Jan 18 2011, 11:28 AM
aldosoesilo
post Jan 18 2011, 11:50 AM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(dawho @ Jan 18 2011, 11:43 AM)
guys...what do u think about tamron 70 - 300 zoom n macro lens...???anyone tried it..??
a friend of mine own it and I've played around with it.
I don't really like it.
IQ-wise I'd say like kit lens but a longer focal length.
aldosoesilo
post Jan 18 2011, 11:52 AM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jan 18 2011, 11:33 AM)
Who cares about cost when it's like god like ? rolleyes.gif
Fuyyoohh.. Rich fella. I started to envy you now. blush.gif blush.gif
aldosoesilo
post Jan 18 2011, 12:15 PM

1,457 posts

^
I bet your flash player will be crashed like 3-5 times.
if you do a bulk upload.
aldosoesilo
post Jan 18 2011, 12:53 PM

1,457 posts

Spam old archive

Added on January 18, 2011, 1:00 pm
QUOTE(wadever @ Jan 18 2011, 12:19 PM)
what is the difference between DX and FX nikkor?
What happens when I use them on my D90?

Im looking for a telephoto zoom lens but not those sniper la.. budget <RM3000. wanna use for bird-birding.
any suggestion?
DX nikkor meant the lens is purposely made to be used for DX sensor. so does FX nikkor. it applied in vice versa condition.

however FX nikkor has no issue if you used it on DX sensor.
where as DX nikkor will cause vignetting if you use it on FX sensor.

70-200 2.8 Sigma or Tamron will help you for less than RM 3k

QUOTE(shinjun @ Jan 18 2011, 12:36 PM)
I often upload in bulk and no it didnt crash. biggrin.gif
you are consider lucky then unlike me.

This post has been edited by aldosoesilo: Jan 18 2011, 01:33 PM
aldosoesilo
post Jan 18 2011, 01:33 PM

1,457 posts

^
maybe my problem is with my flash player. =\

anyway a little sharing.
http://www.mt-soft.com.ar/2011/01/16/55-br...ed-photography/
aldosoesilo
post Jan 18 2011, 03:24 PM

1,457 posts

^
I don't get the question seriously.
you want 1 prime lens to serve you on wide up to mid tele? or multi lenses?
aldosoesilo
post Jan 18 2011, 03:42 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(syukriramli @ Jan 18 2011, 03:29 PM)
sorry..of course multi lenses..primes mehh wink.gif

sleep.gif bruce.gif cool2.gif
24 1.4
50 1.4
85 1.4
aldosoesilo
post Jan 18 2011, 06:07 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ Jan 18 2011, 04:57 PM)
i've read somewhere that VR will degrade image quality at higher shutter speeds.

now i cant remember what is the threshold. anyone of you know at what shutter speed would that be?
1st of all it's not degradation of IQ because IQ will always the same regardless the VR.
However if you open the shutter for a longer period of time e.g 1/13s or even longer I think.
the photo will shows some shaking because the VR system itself is shaking even your hand is not shaking therefore turn off your VR for those kind of shoot.
e.g 20 sec aperture.
I do read it somewhere the VR system will automatically signaled to turned off by the body if the aperture is opened for a long period of time. Only apply for some body <-CMIIW
Canon does this as well. <- http://cpn.canon-europe.com/content/educat...ation_lenses.do

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ Jan 18 2011, 05:05 PM)
yeahh...my own effort...all my hardwork trying to rob the bank.  drool.gif
Same with me. Yay.! my salary is not enough. bank might be the only answer. whistling.gif

QUOTE(Soul-X @ Jan 18 2011, 05:42 PM)
Hello all sifuss, just got my very first DSLR xD~

Got a stupid n00b question ya... When you all transfer pic to pc~ You guys use the sd card to transfer or just use the usb cable?

First time got DSLR, very 'sayang' the camera~ Scare open the usb 'rubber' thingy alot of times then later become very loose ^^".. So which one do you guys usually use ah? xD

Sorry for being so n00b + broken english yeah~
Good Card reader > USB cable > BAD card reader.
In my case my laptop couldn't detect SDHC therefore I use cable because lazy to buy good card reader.
aldosoesilo
post Jan 18 2011, 06:44 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ Jan 18 2011, 06:26 PM)
hmm...that's weird. i've never heard about turning off VR for slow ss unless it's on tripod.

what i've heard before is, the vr system needs some time to settle down to float in the middle. if the ss is fast enough....it will not have enough time to settle down or smth like that. so it'll actually blur the shot compared to VR off. anyone heard before?
QUOTE(Bliz @ Jan 18 2011, 06:42 PM)
Don't give people wrong info la, if the VR needs to be turned off at slow shutter speed then what's VR for?  sweat.gif  Never turn off the vr unless u have it mounted on tripod ( This is what i read from my 70-200vr2 user manual, yes the lens has a thick user manual  whistling.gif  )
That's the reason I put CMIIW out there bro.
CMIIW = Correct me if I am wrong.
aldosoesilo
post Jan 18 2011, 06:47 PM

1,457 posts

^
blush.gif I am sorry. my bad

This post has been edited by aldosoesilo: Jan 18 2011, 06:48 PM

13 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 >Top