HTC Wildfire V4, Hello, Froyo! Guide to updating to Froyo

v1900130
post Dec 23 2010, 11:37 AM

745 posts

QUOTE(modben @ Dec 23 2010, 11:35 AM)
It says htc sense encountered an error, then it asks if i want to force quit. Press or not it will stay at the same loading screen
You need to reset back to factory settings ??? Did you root your phone ???
alvin ong
post Dec 23 2010, 11:41 AM

1,136 posts

wa.. froyo really did come before Christmas...
anyone finish update already please tell us how is it.

modben
post Dec 23 2010, 11:41 AM

153 posts

Dont think it has been rooted, its my gf's phone. She will soooo go berserk on me. Should i bring it to a store? You guys better be careful as well :/ stupid update. Anything that i can do to switch htc sense off or something?
v1900130
post Dec 23 2010, 11:47 AM

745 posts

QUOTE(modben @ Dec 23 2010, 11:41 AM)
Dont think it has been rooted, its my gf's phone. She will soooo go berserk on me. Should i bring it to a store? You guys better be careful as well :/ stupid update. Anything that i can do to switch htc sense off or something?
I think you need to go for Hard Reset. Backup your things first la.

I read once in HTC. But I can't find it now. But you can refer to this, because the steps are the same.

Referrence:
http://www.knowyourmobile.com/smartphones/...c_wildfire.html
whitegoh
post Dec 23 2010, 11:50 AM

1,207 posts

yeah better do a factory reset, maybe some old widgets installed on yr phone which not compatable with 2.2.. that why it crash...
so just do a factory reset 1st...
definitely got some apps crash with the system..
danieloo
post Dec 23 2010, 11:52 AM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(v1900130 @ Dec 23 2010, 11:47 AM)
I think you need to go for Hard Reset. Backup your things first la.

I read once in HTC. But I can't find it now. But you can refer to this, because the steps are the same.

Referrence:
http://www.knowyourmobile.com/smartphones/...c_wildfire.html
Please note that all data will be deleted from the HTC Wildfire as a result of this procedure. This process does NOT delete data stored on the microSD card. We recommend backing up all of your personal data before proceeding.   
1. Turn the power off. If your HTC Wildfire is frozen, pull the battery out and reinsert it   
2. Hold the Volume Down button   
3. Press and release the Power button   
4. You are now presented with a menu that allows for Fastbook, Recovery, Clear Storage, and Simlock    5. Select Clear Storage by pressing the Volume Down button   
6. Press and release the Power button   
7. Now simply confirm your decision: Volume Up for YES and Volume Down for NO 

If you selected YES, all data including third-party applications will be deleted from the HTC Wildfire.  Once the wipe is complete, the phone will reboot to its factory fresh state.

Hm...I wonder this will also help to easy un-root our phone? cool2.gif
hyperx
post Dec 23 2010, 11:52 AM

||Lunatica||
1,198 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Dec 23 2010, 11:02 AM)
Turning the data connection on or off

Turning your data connection off can help optimize your battery life. It can also save money on data charges. However, when your data connection is turned off, you may not always receive automatic updates to your email, social network accounts, and other synchronized information.

-From the Home screen, press MENU, and then tap Settings > Wireless & networks.
-Scroll down the Phone options menu.
-Tap Mobile network and uncheck for it.

http://www.htc.com/uk/howto.aspx?id=3380&type=1&p_id=316
alr did that since day 1.. still being charged
modben
post Dec 23 2010, 12:04 PM

153 posts

Ok thanks, reset already. Thanks for the help
KHOdin
post Dec 23 2010, 12:06 PM

7 Stars Newbie
2,928 posts

why still no update for my phone ><
harryfoo
post Dec 23 2010, 12:10 PM

2,296 posts

Damn, Froyo come liao?
alvin ong
post Dec 23 2010, 12:10 PM

1,136 posts

Downloading now...1%...

for those who are going to update, please make sure there is enough space on the sd card before downloading.better leave at least 100mb of space or else it won't install
just some tips for you guys.
v1900130
post Dec 23 2010, 12:12 PM

745 posts

After an hour plus ad, still updating.... 64% only... Thanks to the people who pps...
harryfoo
post Dec 23 2010, 12:15 PM

2,296 posts

"There are no updates available for your phone." doh.gif
v1900130
post Dec 23 2010, 12:16 PM

745 posts

QUOTE(harryfoo @ Dec 23 2010, 12:15 PM)
"There are no updates available for your phone."  doh.gif
Your phone is under our region ??? Server is busy ???
koinibler
post Dec 23 2010, 12:17 PM

2,050 posts

QUOTE(endymeon @ Dec 23 2010, 09:46 AM)
Guy, any idea where i can check for the data usage, i can't find and i unable to control my data plan...
Try 3g watchdog . great app in my opinion

QUOTE(modben @ Dec 23 2010, 11:31 AM)
Guys help, i updated it already but now htc sense got problem now whole phone cant use!
I would like to know more problem b4 upgrade.
Hopefully its going smooth for everyone.

This post has been edited by koinibler: Dec 23 2010, 12:21 PM
xngjn
post Dec 23 2010, 12:17 PM

1,239 posts

QUOTE(v1900130 @ Dec 23 2010, 12:12 PM)
After an hour plus ad, still updating.... 64% only... Thanks to the people who pps...
what yours Baseband version?

this?
13.45.55.24H_3.35.15.31
v1900130
post Dec 23 2010, 12:19 PM

745 posts

QUOTE(xngjn @ Dec 23 2010, 12:17 PM)

this?
13.45.55.24H_3.35.15.31
yup. why ?
xngjn
post Dec 23 2010, 12:20 PM

1,239 posts

then i will able to update. now waiting my phone finish charge then unroot only can update

harryfoo
post Dec 23 2010, 12:20 PM

2,296 posts

QUOTE(v1900130 @ Dec 23 2010, 12:16 PM)
Your phone is under our region ??? Server is busy ???
Of course under our region. KHOdin also haven't update yet.

this?
13.45.55.24H_3.35.15.31
I'm having the same baseband.
danieloo
post Dec 23 2010, 12:22 PM

1,434 posts

this?