5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V11, Please read FAQ at 1st page!

kmrdeva
post Dec 22 2010, 12:17 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Dec 22 2010, 12:08 PM)
so i do i still need the 512.pit file? and do i need to check repartition?
If the firmware is just 1 TAR file, do not select PIT do not select repartition.
kmrdeva
post Dec 22 2010, 01:11 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(omaryoma @ Dec 22 2010, 01:09 PM)
whr  is the default task manager.....still new with this phone....
If you're using Froyo, just press HOME button for 2 secs, the recently opened apps window will appear, you should see a Task Manager button below that. Tap that.
kmrdeva
post Dec 22 2010, 03:48 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(butthead012 @ Dec 22 2010, 03:41 PM)
yeh, I'm on JPU now... I'm also looking for PIT,CSC and modem files

Do I need them or just flash JPY PDA file will do?

as for JPY can download from samfirmware.com
Just flash JPY under PDA without any PIT, CSC, Modem files. That's what I did.

Added on December 22, 2010, 3:49 pm
QUOTE(kokhuang @ Dec 22 2010, 03:46 PM)
Any experience when open some webpage which is need flash support?
Yes, impressive to finally see Flash playing in a mobile browser but not really speedy. Most times I leave plugin-support as 'on demand' so I can choose which Flash part of a web page is activated.

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Dec 22 2010, 03:49 PM
kmrdeva
post Dec 22 2010, 03:52 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Crossover @ Dec 22 2010, 03:50 PM)
Unfortunately if u wanna flash the JPY, u have to flash stock JPU 1st (can download from samfirmware), if you just flash JPY, it will vibrate and not able to boot at all. Here is my steps.

1) odin JPU, place all the PDA, MODEM, CSC, PIT 512 accordingly, TICKED REPARTITION, then start
2) odin JPY, place the PDA file with UNCHECKED REPARTITION, then start
3) odin CF-root JPU, place the .tar file at PDA and again UNCHECKED REPARTITION, then start ---- this step is to get 2e plus root
It's the same process for JPX too, if I remember correctly.
kmrdeva
post Dec 22 2010, 04:01 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(kokhuang @ Dec 22 2010, 03:55 PM)
I would like to share is when i open the webpage,i find it so hard to control.
I were playing fb game.hehe tongue.gif
But disappointed with it.
I don't even play FB games on my computer ha ha..

Added on December 22, 2010, 4:03 pm
QUOTE(Narako @ Dec 22 2010, 04:01 PM)
http://www.samfirmware.com/WEBPROTECT-i9000.htm

erm guys i downloaded JM8 from the website which is a rar file but got password so how do i flash with odin?
You need to check your eyesight.. whistling.gif

The password for the RARs on that website is listed on the same page.

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Dec 22 2010, 04:03 PM
kmrdeva
post Dec 22 2010, 05:14 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Crossover @ Dec 22 2010, 05:11 PM)
anyone here having any idea:
i copied out the stock JPY framework, trying to do the batt mod at the UOT kitchen, i managed to cook it, and flashed it via CWM. Once boot, phone keep vibrate despite able to enter to homescreen, then lotsa FC windows pop out.

However if using custom ROM, this aint a problem. Anyway to get around it beside using custom ROM?
I kena this many times before. In the end I just use custom rom. Less headache..
kmrdeva
post Dec 22 2010, 05:30 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Dec 22 2010, 05:14 PM)
ok but my csc now is jp6 is it compatible with jm8 ? cuz they said newer version may have newer things
Let me try to simplify this further, using my experience with Eclair JM9 firmware:

PIT - Use 512 file
Repartition - Enable this
PDA & Phone - Download from http://www.multiupload.com/A6ACXWHMKB
CSC - Asian CSC - http://www.multiupload.com/GMEWD57TNE

Info/Instructions at http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=802909 .

Added on December 22, 2010, 5:32 pm
QUOTE(narkon @ Dec 22 2010, 05:28 PM)
owhhhh....so it is ok la..i tot there is a problem that give the SGS use headache  sweat.gif .. tq.....any more personal review guys?
My only complaint regarding the SGS is relatively poor battery life (compared to my earlier phones, Nokia 5800XM and BB Curve 8900). Other than that, SGS totally rocks. Some here complain about GPS issues, but since I don't depend on GPS for my survival (if I did, I'd probably buy a standalone GPS device) I don't face any issues with it.

My guess is that DHD will have the same battery woes as SGS, but since I've never tried the DHD, I can't say for sure.

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Dec 22 2010, 05:32 PM
kmrdeva
post Dec 22 2010, 06:14 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Dec 22 2010, 06:11 PM)
oh man thanks. done flashing worried like hell be4 that
Don't worry, be happy. You don't try, you will not cry.. tongue.gif

So what's your plan after applying Eclair JM9?
kmrdeva
post Dec 22 2010, 06:29 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Dec 22 2010, 06:25 PM)
i am on JM8 i just use the csc that u post thats all

planning to go darky 6.0 but i saw on the video it says need to do a factory reset, cache wipe and dalvik wipe is this necessary?
Oh I see. You can go ahead and apply Darky 6.0 first, and then factory reset and wipe if you face issues after the upgrade. Read the steps in detail at http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=814091

7. JUST DO THIS STEP IF YOU HAVE FORCE CLOSES OR OTHER PROBLEMS!

> In ClockworkMod, select "Wipe data/factory reset".
> *** This will delete ALL YOUR APPS & SETTINGS ***

kmrdeva
post Dec 22 2010, 06:48 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Dec 22 2010, 06:46 PM)
i did this step

6. Select "Apply SDCARD:update.zip" (use volume keys/rocker to move up and down, and HOME button to select).
ClockworkMod Recovery will boot now (you may have to do the "Apply update.zip" twice for ClockworkMod Recovery to show up).

but nothing shows up clock work recovery doesnt start... did i put the file in the wrong place or something?
Did you download the CWM update.zip file and save it in the root of your internal SD?
kmrdeva
post Dec 22 2010, 07:08 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Dec 22 2010, 06:59 PM)
nope never applied any lag fix or voodoo or even root the phone

i just only flashed to JM8 like half an hour ago
Maybe you didn't follow the proper CSC configuration steps as listed in the JM8 and JM9 threads on xda-developers forum.
kmrdeva
post Dec 22 2010, 07:47 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Dec 22 2010, 07:39 PM)
recovery 2e
Did you read and follow the part about multiCSC and what you need to do after flashing the JM8/JM9? Sorry to say this, but I am starting to sense that you're either not reading enough or not understanding the details of what you are reading.

When using *Multi CSC* you need to:

Turn on USB debugging and plug in the phone.
Open command prompt and type:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...7&highlight=JM8
kmrdeva
post Dec 22 2010, 08:00 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Dec 22 2010, 07:57 PM)
erm my phone is not rooted so that means i cant use adb can i just use other csc like CSC_I9000XEEJM1.rar

XEE - Nordic: (Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden).
You don't need root to run adb. Just turn on usb debugging on the phone and ensure you have working copy of android SDK (tools folder as that's where the adb.exe is) on your PC.
kmrdeva
post Dec 22 2010, 08:05 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Dec 22 2010, 08:03 PM)
alright thanks will do that , the guide said that to use adb need a rooted sgs

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=723596
Yes, a number of powerful ADB commands need a rooted phone, especially commands that require you to execute 'su' command. Other than that, the normal adb commands can run fine on non-rooted phone.
kmrdeva
post Dec 22 2010, 08:49 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Dec 22 2010, 08:10 PM)
the guide says i need busybox do i really need it? or can i just use reflash with CSC_I9000XEEJM1.rar
as my csc
Busybox will come with most root packs. Dunno about that CDC I never flashed it before.

Added on December 22, 2010, 8:58 pmActually, Narako, you're making yourself worry for no reason. If you wanna go to darky 6, and you're having a standard sgs with download and recovery modes available, just check the first page of this thread and download eclair dxjg4 sea firmware then follow steps to upgrade to darky. No need to worry about csc or busybox or adb.. any more problem just pm me I will try to help further..

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Dec 22 2010, 08:58 PM
kmrdeva
post Dec 22 2010, 09:40 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(kilacmaster @ Dec 22 2010, 09:34 PM)
Any friends has using iphone and the Samsung S, can you compare the touch-function between two phone.
Feels same to me. Have played extensively with my friends' iphone4 phones..
kmrdeva
post Dec 23 2010, 04:28 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(one81 @ Dec 23 2010, 04:01 PM)
ouchhh.. now i sudah kena racun..
i also want to try this game..  tongue.gif
i have this splinter cell game on my iPad.. Nice effects and graphics, but a bit tiring to play - iPad heavy ma.. flex.gif
kmrdeva
post Dec 24 2010, 04:07 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(night_wolf_in @ Dec 24 2010, 04:03 PM)
guys, for all the owners here. being unbiased. will u recommend this phone or Desire HD. SGS is cheaper by 400 bucks where i wanna buy it.
How to be unbiased? I have never owned a Desire HD before.
kmrdeva
post Dec 24 2010, 04:54 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(night_wolf_in @ Dec 24 2010, 04:28 PM)
first, u already know the device's issues
second. u might know someone with DHD, so u know whats going on.

i googled everywhere. not getting a satisfying answer. sad.gif
I don't know all the issues affecting the SGS, as I don't really use each and every feature of the phone, e.g. GPS. For more info on the DHD and its issues, you can try reading the Desire HD discussion threads in this forum.

kmrdeva
post Dec 24 2010, 09:24 PM

4,776 posts

Merry Christmas all my SGS peeps.. smile.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:37 AM