Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V11, Please read FAQ at 1st page!

kmrdeva
post Jan 8 2011, 10:31 PM

4,776 posts

Whoa, some really interesting improvements coming in the next Speedmod kernel..

Anyone currently running the K12J test kernels? Feedback?

TEST version: K12J-T3 (8-Jan-2011)

- Using O3 optimizations again, possibly better battery life
- Compiled in ARM mode again
- Updated lowmemorykiller to latest version from Android git
- Increased volume of headphone output for media playback (be careful!)
- Reduced mic gain for recording and voice calls to improve sound quality

kmrdeva
post Jan 9 2011, 10:11 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(headhunter7 @ Jan 9 2011, 09:48 AM)
But I've installed voodoo through ODIN v1.3, it doesn't matter if I have 3e/2e ,when I'm using ODIN right?

Ah okay then. So far voodoo is good, probably I'll try speedmod later on laugh.gif
Yes, with ODIN it shouldn't matter you have 2e or 3e recovery.

Did CWM update to speedmod k12j-256hz. First thing I am noticing is the reduced mic gain when recording videos. I am hoping that speakerphone mode mic gain is also reduced, will test later.
kmrdeva
post Jan 9 2011, 10:52 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(omaryoma @ Jan 9 2011, 10:33 AM)
what is purpose of kernel??? ermmmm....if i change my kernel will all my data lost???........so i need to back up????
I hope you can read better than the way you ask your questions.

Answer1 : http://developer.android.com/guide/basics/...is-android.html (see at bottom part of web page for info on kernel).

Answer2 : Changing kernels generally does not result in data loss. However it all depends on what kernel+firmware you are running now and what kernel+firmware you plan to upgrade to.

Answer3 : Yes, backup is always important. More importantly, I hope you know how to restore. biggrin.gif
kmrdeva
post Jan 9 2011, 03:37 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(fishtail @ Jan 9 2011, 03:32 PM)
i cannot update to Froyo 2.2.1 XXJPE.
even i have remove the voodoo lag fix.

i have the latest version of kies, but is showing me
PDA: JPA MODEM: JPA CSC : JPA

This device version cannot be updated.

Anyone can help?
Firstly, you want to update to DXJPE, right? I've never heard of XXJPE. BTW, DXJPE is 2.2 and not 2.2.1.

Secondly, I'd suggest you use ODIN to flash firmware instead of depending on Kies.
kmrdeva
post Jan 9 2011, 03:48 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(fishtail @ Jan 9 2011, 03:43 PM)
haha, ya thanks for ur information.

but i thought is 2.2.1.

before i update can i know any diff with this two firmware?
I'm not sure what you mean. There is no XXJPE so I don't think we can compare to DXJPE. Anyway, I am running XXJPY and have not tried DXJPE before, so I can't really comment on DXJPE.

As far as 2.2.1 vs 2.2, I feel 2.2.1 on SGS is much smoother/speedier.
kmrdeva
post Jan 9 2011, 09:25 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Fornx @ Jan 9 2011, 05:48 PM)
tried rerooting through odin which i should not do..

only way now is to reflash stock firmware.. oh mai @@
You should've rooted using the 'Install Superuser' option in CWM of speedmod. I remember some weird issues with Titanium Backup after installing speedmod k12j on darky 8.0, so I did the re-rooting via CWM and it was ok after that.

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0476sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:16 AM