hairyLGS
post Dec 17 2010, 04:04 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Dec 17 2010, 03:49 PM)
Yonggoh:

FMJ may not drop any jaws but it's a different perspective on war altogether, souped up and served Kubrick-style  nod.gif

Saving Ryan's Privates, ooops, I meant Saving Private Ryan goes without saying. AQ is reference material right? I found The Thin Red Line and Platoon a bit too dreary for my liking.

hairylgs:

I've got Patton BD but yet to find the mood to really sit and watch it. Am sure it'll be great.  nod.gif
I had the two-disc version DVD... and I can guranteed you... it's one of the best historical war figure drama movie of its time. George C. Scott best performance ever! thumbup.gif

If you expect lots of war action ~ well, there isn't much in it. Its more of a performance character acting class that makes this movie worth-while watching.

Ah... wish I could say the same for Korean War Films. There is not much BD versions for them (I missed out Tae Guk Gi: The Brotherhood of War BD, but the supplements was not as good as the one I had for the Korean version steelbox edition).

The much recent Korean war drama ~ 71: Into the Fire was one of the best Korean War film I have watched ever!

This post has been edited by hairyLGS: Dec 17 2010, 04:10 PM
Jenn77
post Dec 17 2010, 04:42 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,119 posts

On my wish list is just

i) Apocalypse Now (normal Edition)
ii) Thin Red Line

Read alot of reviews from bluray.com. But the price still.. sweat.gif
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Dec 17 2010, 05:06 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(Jenn77 @ Dec 17 2010, 04:42 PM)
On my wish list is just

i) Apocalypse Now (normal Edition)
ii) Thin Red Line

Read alot of reviews from bluray.com. But the price still.. sweat.gif
Ah, talking bout The Thin Red Line. Received The Thin Red Line today. Should have asked me for it.
Bought it through a friend. He bought it from Barnes&Noble and sent it over.

The DVD was "cheng". Its worth upgrading to BD. thumbup.gif
dirtrun
post Dec 17 2010, 05:19 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Dec 17 2010, 01:37 PM)
The Sound Of Music had the grains washed out completely, but it looks great for a movie released in 1960's. There are no other examples i could remember of, if i do, i let you know. I'm more concerned on some Hindi titles which has grains washed out, but looks blurry and its too bright tongue.gif
Agree..
Hi..

Talkin abt ol mvs.. 2001 had really gud vdo.. [ I didnt like d story .. thou'] Blade Runner was exemplary well done too [I got d 5 disc CE] n another oldie tat went thru immaculate restoration is Casablanca..
I oso hv Nrth by Nrthwest, Cinema Paradiso, St Nite Fvr n Superman too but hvnt watchd tat yet..

O ya.. BTTF bd [well at leas d 1st instlmnt, tat I hv viewd] is beeeutiful too..

I plan to get Sound of Music thou.. when d prc is lower..

D

This post has been edited by dirtrun: Dec 17 2010, 05:34 PM
bobtahar
post Dec 17 2010, 05:47 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Dec 17 2010, 02:13 PM)
Yonggoh:

Bro,

Appreciate your lengthy attempt at justifying your earlier comment.

Yes, I've seen pics of your home theater set up which you have posted and I'd say it's one of the best (if not the best) that I've seen in the thread so far. And for that I give you this -  notworthy.gif
Can I see it...??
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Dec 17 2010, 05:52 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Dec 17 2010, 05:19 PM)
Hi..

Talkin abt ol mvs.. 2001 had really gud vdo.. [ I didnt like d story .. thou'] Blade Runner was exemplary well done too [I got d 5 disc CE] n another oldie tat went thru immaculate restoration is Casablanca..
I oso hv Nrth by Nrthwest, Cinema Paradiso, St Nite Fvr n Superman too but hvnt watchd tat yet..

O ya.. BTTF bd [well at leas d 1st instlmnt, tat I hv viewd] is beeeutiful too..

D
How many classics turn out to be good on BD. Not Criterion we are talking bout here. unsure.gif
specuvestor
post Dec 17 2010, 06:47 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Dec 17 2010, 01:37 PM)
True but,

I guess you haven't had chance to watch The Sound Of Music? Not giving you example based on 1 particular title tho, but personally i feel the PQ is excellent and the colors are restored in a very fine manner. The audio clarity is good as well.

I must say this is a film i've seen (probably) w/o grain present looks great on BD. Not an expert, but commenting based on experience.
TSOM was an exception to the rule tongue.gif I am also waiting for the price to drop more post Christmas to grab biggrin.gif

On the other hand, BTTF was more disappointing to the critics which I dropped the idea to buy after reading the reviews comparing with the DVD releases.

So what's the big deal with criterion???

This post has been edited by specuvestor: Dec 17 2010, 06:54 PM
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Dec 17 2010, 07:03 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(specuvestor @ Dec 17 2010, 06:47 PM)
TSOM was an exception to the rule  tongue.gif I am also waiting for the price to drop more post Christmas to grab  biggrin.gif

On the other hand, BTTF was more disappointing to the critics which I dropped the idea to buy after reading the reviews comparing with the DVD releases.

So what's the big deal with criterion???
As it been said earlier, not all classics turn out the be excellent release. Zulu one of it, the next i know TSOM, The Bridge On The River Kwai (probably). Any you can name? Blade Runner of course..anything else you guys wanna add.

Identify the reference quality classics on BD.
dariofoo
post Dec 17 2010, 07:03 PM

In the kingdom of the blind, the one-eyed man is king
2,795 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Dec 17 2010, 05:19 PM)
Hi..

D
Blade Runner's transfer was immaculate. Also got North by Northwest on my radar. Cinema Paradiso is UK Region Free version right? If i'm not mistaken it's not the director's cut version of it. hmm.gif

Added on December 17, 2010, 7:39 pm
QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Dec 17 2010, 07:03 PM)
From what I've watched so far, I'd say Zulu. nod.gif

Perhaps Criterion's release of Seven Samurai will upstage that. Anyone has that one already?

This post has been edited by dariofoo: Dec 17 2010, 07:39 PM
Jenn77
post Dec 17 2010, 08:39 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Dec 17 2010, 07:03 PM)
As it been said earlier, not all classics turn out the be excellent release. Zulu one of it, the next i know TSOM, The Bridge On The River Kwai (probably). Any you can name? Blade Runner of course..anything else you guys wanna add.

Can I recommend The Wizard of Oz? tongue.gif
low98944
post Dec 17 2010, 08:41 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(Jenn77 @ Dec 17 2010, 08:39 PM)
Can I recommend The Wizard of Oz?  tongue.gif
Godfather trilogy better laugh.gif
kobe8byrant
post Dec 17 2010, 09:19 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

Inception is awesome on Blu!
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Dec 17 2010, 09:43 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(Jenn77 @ Dec 17 2010, 08:39 PM)
Can I recommend The Wizard of Oz?  tongue.gif
For me 2001 A Space Odyssey , Blade Runner, The Bridge On The River Kwai, Zulu, The Sound Of Music certainly classics that presented well on Blu-ray
nazmanson
post Dec 17 2010, 09:53 PM

Smell Like Teen Spirit
1,275 posts

Arrived today rclxms.gif amazon uk shipped 04/12/10 kastam 15/12/10

nazmanson
post Dec 17 2010, 09:58 PM

Smell Like Teen Spirit
1,275 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Dec 17 2010, 09:43 PM)
For me 2001 A Space Odyssey , Blade Runner, The Bridge On The River Kwai, Zulu, The Sound Of Music certainly classics that presented well on Blu-ray
Another title not to be miss Tora Tora Tora only available from amazon uk
dariofoo
post Dec 17 2010, 10:37 PM

In the kingdom of the blind, the one-eyed man is king
2,795 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Dec 17 2010, 09:43 PM)
Have you watched the The Bridge On The River Kwai? Intend to get it but it's kinda pricey at the moment.

Lawrence of Arabia would be another epic not to missed on blu-ray nod.gif
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Dec 17 2010, 10:39 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Dec 17 2010, 10:37 PM)
Have you watched the The Bridge On The River Kwai? Intend to get it but it's kinda pricey at the moment.

Lawrence of Arabia would be another epic not to missed on blu-ray  nod.gif
Got it when it from my friend from US for about 17.99. Its worth buying.
interpol
post Dec 17 2010, 10:57 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(nazmanson @ Dec 17 2010, 09:53 PM)
Arrived today  rclxms.gif  amazon uk shipped 04/12/10 kastam 15/12/10

got mine last few days too,but havent got a chance to open it yet..i see a serial number thingy there...will post up mine later...hmm mine shipped 1 day later than urs but received a day earlier then urs...

oh yes...tora tora tora was great!!!! got it few mths back...its region free and worth every cent...definite must have title for any ww2 fans...

Attached image(s)
nazmanson
post Dec 17 2010, 11:29 PM

Smell Like Teen Spirit
1,275 posts

QUOTE(interpol @ Dec 17 2010, 10:57 PM)
got mine last few days too,but havent got a chance to open it yet..i see a serial number thingy there...will post up mine later...hmm mine shipped 1 day later than urs but received a day earlier then urs...

oh yes...tora tora tora was great!!!! got it few mths back...its region free and worth every cent...definite must have title for any ww2 fans...
Those are the miracles of Pos Malaysia nod.gif

In my wishlist to buy after recovering from BF sales.....wow got slipcover somemore

This post has been edited by nazmanson: Dec 17 2010, 11:29 PM
Jenn77
post Dec 18 2010, 01:25 AM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,119 posts

Woot! Inception is now 16.99..

124 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:50 AM