Oil & Gas Career v2, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing

dvlzplayground
post Jan 23 2011, 10:36 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

hey guys, need ur opinion here

im currently in my final year, taking degree in mechanical engineering. to be honest, my performance is just so-so.. 2nd lower shud be ok but 2nd upper not sure can get or not. not very active too tongue.gif

i dun feel like wasting my time trying to apply for huge companies like shell or exxonmobil. what sort of companies should i try my luck once i graduate? something not too competitive but can pave the way for a good career?
dvlzplayground
post Jan 24 2011, 09:10 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

im not sure how my resume would pop out among others haha. ya, im doing my internship now and all my engi knowledge is pretty much useless tongue.gif

how did u apply using ur 2nd year result? ur company waited 2 years then recruit u?
dvlzplayground
post Jan 29 2011, 07:00 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

that's my concern. it doesnt matter if im able to portray myself well etc if my CGPA is too low, right?

let's assume my CGPA alone is too low for big companies. back to y question: what sort of companies should i try my luck once i graduate? something not too competitive but can pave the way for a good career?
dvlzplayground
post Jan 30 2011, 07:12 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

haha okay. probably i should rephrase. any (probably relatively obscure) companies that most good students didnt try to apply (bcuz they feel they can go for better companies) but is actually a decent starting point for a career? ;p
dvlzplayground
post Nov 16 2011, 11:20 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

any opinion on working in a small o&g consultant for a fresh grad? good or too risky? :S

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Nov 16 2011, 11:20 AM
dvlzplayground
post Nov 16 2011, 09:30 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Nov 16 2011, 02:24 PM)
Some small o&g consultant paid big, even bigger than what operators offer.
A very good place if you want to learn and working with different discipline. Dont have a structured
training method though. Also you will miss the operation side of work.
examples of those paying big? tongue.gif im more interested in designing stage, so that's why if possible wanna start in o&g consultant first. but i dont think im qualified for those like worleyparsons, technip etc. looking for smaller companies, in KL

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 16 2011, 05:32 PM)
Oh... i wanna ask, is ajang a good company to join? I wanna apply for their TA position.. is it an offshore position?
errr i think ajang is just a shipping company, not oil and gas.
dvlzplayground
post Nov 17 2011, 05:13 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

if like that... any small consultant o&g companies to AVOID? can PM me tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post Nov 17 2011, 06:09 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

well im in miri now, but looking to start a life in kl. personal reasons tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post Nov 19 2011, 12:32 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 18 2011, 10:20 PM)
can give some example? not very familiar with the field yet..
MLNG bintulu?
dvlzplayground
post Nov 20 2011, 04:24 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 19 2011, 11:28 PM)
anyone went to Ranhill Worley interview? do they have minimum requirement grade for fresh grad?

Added on November 19, 2011, 11:33 pm2nd lower class go got chance or not? lol..
i just got back from the ranhill worley open interview. trying to apply for mechanical engineer. im a fresh grad (well not really lah, will be officially graduating on wednesday hehe)

the interviewer said only got 3 vacancy. n he's looking for someone with a bit experience in oil n gas construction. i have none +_+ so i dont think i have a chance. they didnt seem to really care about my results though. but then again the interviewer was the lead engineer la, not HR ppl

but the interview was pleasant, with mat salleh.
dvlzplayground
post Nov 20 2011, 08:16 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Nov 20 2011, 04:32 PM)
100+ candidates today itself...
my god today 100+... sure no hope.. hahaha

QUOTE(exploited @ Nov 20 2011, 05:52 PM)
last time when i came for ranhill interview, one HR recipient ahso didnt allow me to go in because of my low pointer and passport picture which she claimed not standard no necktie etc.

WTF not even get a chance to rejected by interviewer but by front desk ahso only ...

All the way from melaka - kl , im just go back 'happily'
i didnt even state my pointer on my resume tongue.gif go take a new passport photo!

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 20 2011, 06:25 PM)
I went to the interview, but they say no opening for materials engineer.. only the hr ppl say so without knowing my course structure is 80% similar to mechanical... if is their engineer screen thru my resume maybe more chance.. Haiz stupid hr..
for mechanical the job relates more to rotating equipment like pumps, compressors etc. u got learn?
dvlzplayground
post Nov 20 2011, 11:41 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

oh i see, it's more similar than what i thought tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post Nov 24 2011, 03:11 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

oh turns out i did get the job at ranhill worley XD
dvlzplayground
post Nov 24 2011, 04:24 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

seems like tokuyama accepted every single applicant tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post Nov 25 2011, 07:39 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

thanks smile.gif oic, ergh UTP students know more abt oil and gas? ;p
dvlzplayground
post Nov 26 2011, 09:09 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

thanks biggrin.gif from the interview they did say my for job it is required to go offshore. but i dont know how often, n i have no idea about the allowance
dvlzplayground
post Nov 26 2011, 12:17 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(neo_sharky @ Nov 26 2011, 09:13 AM)
where will u be based at?
miri. i hope can transfer to KL after 1 year :S

Added on November 26, 2011, 1:12 pmmay i ask how's the dress code at consultant companies? what is too formal and what is too casual?

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Nov 26 2011, 01:12 PM
dvlzplayground
post Nov 27 2011, 12:21 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

may i ask again what's too formal and too casual in a consultant company working environment? tongue.gif

going to kl soon for shopping haha
dvlzplayground
post Nov 27 2011, 09:19 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

im going to kl before i start working tongue.gif i do have a rough idea lah, shud be fine

btw i just finished all 94 pages of this thread. fuh, so much things to learn. i think i need to go to the petroleum museum someday to learn more about this industry
dvlzplayground
post Nov 28 2011, 11:58 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(me076310 @ Nov 28 2011, 09:29 AM)
guys, are Ranhill-Worley-Parson and Ranhill Berhad the same company or is it just a coincidence that they share the same name?
ranhill is one company

WP is another company

but in msia, ranhill joint venture with WP, but i think it's more under WP control

0.0543sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:29 AM