9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Career v2, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing

azraeil
post Oct 11 2011, 03:37 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Some people say that it is better to start with the service companies while some say it is better t start in an Operator. I really can't give you any advice on that (since I've never been in a service company) other than my belief that if you are in an operator's company, you will be in an Asset team where you will be working with people from the entire scope of the field life. If you are a geologist, you will be working with the petrophysicist, reservoir engineers, drilling engineers, facilities engineers etc and you get to know why your work is needed, where your data is being used and you can also know what other people are doing, why it is important for you to understand what they are doing etc. I believe it gives a holistic approach to the entire O&G operation. In service companies, you will be focused on getting your project in your area of interest and you won't be exposed to the other parts of the filed life (sorry if this is a misconception on my part).
azraeil
post Oct 12 2011, 12:20 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Operational experience is always an advantage and you get to know the issues associated with theories such as the logistics etc etc. Go for it if you can.
azraeil
post Oct 15 2011, 03:11 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Oct 14 2011, 05:04 PM)
Currently in Abu Dhabi for interview with adco. Right now they have a recruitment drive to hire new people. There are lots of people (mostly asian, african) here from many discipline, from subsurface to maintenance and even IT and safety officer. Met afew malaysian also.
And lucky for me is I got the job, yey! rclxm9.gif
Congrats! Didn't have to worry about carbonates right? heh heh heh heh ....

Added on October 15, 2011, 3:14 pm
QUOTE(maryjane9996 @ Oct 15 2011, 05:57 AM)
thanks for the reply.i would love to know more about the chopper.the company it self own the chopper ? or charted ? thanks bro.
Mostly charted. Oil company do not want to go into a business line that others can do better.

This post has been edited by azraeil: Oct 15 2011, 03:14 PM
azraeil
post Oct 15 2011, 07:55 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Oct 15 2011, 02:12 PM)
Ha ha... thanks! I was called to be interviewed as geologist, but during interview I told them Im a geomodeller. So they interviewed me as geomodeller instead.
Met many petronas staff during this recruitment drive. And many of them also successful. So petronas will loose abunch of good guys again.
But I have to say, the adco payscale is not that good. I reject their offer twice before they gave me a number that I can consider.
Yes, both the Petrophysicist that I told you about didn't go to the interview, they have a cap actually (i.e. this level salary ranges from this to this ....). Adco maximum range can't even meet the minimum salary ... sigh ...

Anyway, use ADCO as a stepping stone.
azraeil
post Oct 16 2011, 08:59 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Oct 15 2011, 02:12 PM)
Ha ha... thanks! I was called to be interviewed as geologist, but during interview I told them Im a geomodeller. So they interviewed me as geomodeller instead.
Met many petronas staff during this recruitment drive. And many of them also successful. So petronas will loose abunch of good guys again.
But I have to say, the adco payscale is not that good. I reject their offer twice before they gave me a number that I can consider.
Before I forget, do they cover schooling and housing assistance (at least), or do they have a compound for you to stay in?. Abu Dhabi believe it or not has rents that are more expensive than Dubai (but the house in Abu Dhabi is not so nice as Dubai).
azraeil
post Oct 17 2011, 03:05 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Oct 16 2011, 09:23 PM)
so youre going there alone or with your family?btw do you guys go to the site or work at the site or at the office,  and make routine stops/visits to the site??made me wonder since the housing would be distanced from a production site/oil field right? hmm.gif
Modelers stay in the office and play with computers only smile.gif
azraeil
post Oct 17 2011, 03:11 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Oct 16 2011, 09:15 PM)
For my grade they have both school and housing allowance.  School is aed35k per annum (which is not quite enough)  while housing is aed150k per annum (which I read is decent enough) .
By the way you are right about the cap for each grade. But I think they many people didn't (including myself)  is what they call market adjustment. So even if its max, they can put some amount for market adjustment.  For me I only manage to push my adjustment untill aed5k permonth only.
Check the fees for the schools in Abu Dhabi (I suspect it will be higher that the AED35K), check location of the schools and also where you may want to get houses for rent. I recommend you getting a house closer to school as compared to a house closer to the office. Housing in Abu Dhabi is terrible 150K a year looks a lot but most likely you will get a small 2 room apartment for that amount (yes the rental is insane). The rental is paid yearly (yes, you have to pay lump sum for one year) so you need to choose the houses wisely.

Other than that ... have fun and if you are taking the job, enjoy the expat life smile.gif

Added on October 17, 2011, 3:15 am
QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Oct 16 2011, 10:08 PM)
My role would be at the headquater. But I met few guys which their rotaion likes 5/3, 46/24. These guys im not sure about the housing allowance though.
Most likely they have transit housing for these rotating people. Aramco has started hiring staff on rotation basis as well and I think they are in the men-camp.

This post has been edited by azraeil: Oct 17 2011, 03:15 AM
azraeil
post Oct 17 2011, 12:45 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

ADCO and their Egyptian Mafia .... I've heard about it as well. But then again, 3 years in ADCO will significantly increase your market value. You can then apply for Aramco, Maersk Oil etc and if you're successful, the hiring point will be higher as your salary in ADCO is higher and they will need to match or offer at least 30% higher than that etc.
All ME companies will give preference to their locals. Over here, maybe 5% of management (or maybe a lot less than that) is expats, ALL are locals. We know why we are here and it's not to go higher up in Management. That would be in Malaysia.

Good Luck in making your decisions.
azraeil
post Oct 18 2011, 12:15 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

I don't know about anyone else but I usually never put anything regarding expected salary in my resume.
azraeil
post Oct 18 2011, 01:22 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Headhunters usually will ask your expected salary ranges and they will note it in their profile of you but they will not ask you to put it in your resume. Had one called me yesterday asking if I want to come back to Malaysia ...

I said, can but 45K net and 60K schooling per year per child and I'll come back home. She noted it ...
azraeil
post Oct 19 2011, 08:43 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

For those working as a Petroleum Geologist (basically any Geologist working in the O&G Industry lah)

Work force continues to ‘mature’
GeoSalaries Rise Almost 8 Percent
By LARRY NATION, AAPG Communications Director
As crude prices came out of the doldrums in 2010-11, so have the pay hikes for petroleum geologists.
Over the past year, salaries for petroleum geologists for the year showed a weighted average increase of 7.9 percent, according to the annual AAPG Salary Survey.
This compares with a 5 percent overall increase in 2009-10 and a 2 percent increase the previous year.

Mike Ayling, of MLA Resources, who has conducted the annual salary survey for AAPG since 1981, said the largest pay increases came in the “high demand” groups with 10-14 and 25-plus years experience, with increases between 10 and 12 percent.
“These demographic groups entered the work force at times when demand for geologists was not as high (mid-1980s and mid-1990s) – but now they are at the point in their careers where they can be key players,” Ayling said. “And, they are getting paid for it because the companies are wanting to keep them.”

The industry has a two-generation history of hiring and paying a premium for new talent in the good times – and during bad times, not so much. This has given the industry curious gaps in the age and experience levels in the work force.
In fact, Ayling noted that nearly 44 percent of the respondents to the 2010-11 AAPG survey had over 25 years experience, indicating the extent of the aging of the work force.
Ayling continued there are other factors at work with the numbers, including reluctance on the part of smaller and mid-size companies to staff-up at the entry levels, “because they can’t spare the mature geologist the time to mentor the new geologist.”
Also, at the senior levels, there is not much movement from job-to-job due to “golden handcuffs” of accruing bonuses and retirement programs – as well as uncertainties in the economy causing individuals to be hesitant to make a move.

Ayling also noted the economic insecurity has caused companies to be slow in their hiring decisions.
The survey found that the 0-2 year experience levels showed a small increase, up 6.2 percent, but recently graduated bachelor level geologists had a difficult time finding work – and the few that did worked for lower salaries, depressing the overall average.
The 3-5 year and 15-19 year geologist groups showed little change, but these groups contained few individuals, Ayling said.
The 6-9 year and 20-24 year groups had between a 5 and 6 percent increase.
Ayling also noted the number of people in the demographic age groups can have a big bearing on both the marketplace and the salaries they are paid due to the supply and demand for their level of experience and expertise.
The annual salary survey is based on employed, salaried geoscientists and is based on salaries alone. It does not include bonuses, employee benefits, autos or other perquisites.
It does not attempt to include anyone whose compensation is in the form of consulting fees, retainers or overrides.
The survey also is based on U.S. salaries only, considered the “gold standard” for the industry. The measurement for international salaries for explorationists is virtually on a country-by-country, case-by-case basis, Ayling said, which makes statistical averaging non-productive beyond the boundaries of any specific country.
Ayling added that many ex-pats are paid U.S.-based salaries, while the national oil companies opt to pay compatriots on a different, lower scale. 
I'll be in the 15 years experience group next year ..... market is hot right now.
azraeil
post Oct 19 2011, 11:16 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Oct 19 2011, 04:19 PM)
those are net or gross?
I suspect it's gross coz otherwise it will be difficult to compare from countries that have taxes and those that doesn't.
azraeil
post Oct 20 2011, 01:36 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Oct 20 2011, 03:15 AM)
To tell you you the truth, I was never intended to take geology during my uni. I was force to do so (kind of) by my sponsor. But heck, I guess it turn out ok after all.
Those kind of events take makes you realized later in your life that there is this thing call destiny.
Same here. I actually asked for accounting for the Rancangan Bersama but the guy who interviewed me asked me to do Geology. Hated the course in Uni coz it was nothing but looking at rocks! Arghhh. I was really good at structural mapping though and when I came back, the put me to work on mapping and 3D modeling. Have not looked back since. I guess it's fate.
azraeil
post Oct 21 2011, 01:46 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(forrest @ Oct 20 2011, 09:42 AM)
now, solved puzzle, what a small world, hehe..
Do you know what is the current market for geophysicist/interpreter? As good as geomodeller? I'm more on the development.
Can you explain what do people expect from a geophysicist with 7 yrs experience? What kind of skills/experience they looking for? e.g. Skill in QI generation is a must or advantages (AVO/Inversion)?
Really appreciate your explanation and help, thanks. 
No matter how Petronas adjust the Tier 1 personnel salary, their salary scheme are still always lower compare to shell, slb... etc
bro congrat!!
if you entered university/college 5-6yrs ago or earlier, basically majority will not choose this course.
most ppl don't even look or think about geology.
and geology is my fifth choice that time.
Geophysicist especially development geophysicist is in demand especially in my company (we don't have a lot of them). It depends on the scope required, in my company, the Geophysicist is not required to do QI, all of the QI work is done by another department. The development geophysicist here does nothing but do structural interpretation (in time). Depth conversion is done by another department. They are however responsible for well placement. A lot of the time spent deciding where to put the well. If you have 7 years experience, you may want to have a look at openings in my company (there's an App for that as well) smile.gif

Added on October 21, 2011, 1:50 amMyhug, the company will offer you a scholarship based on THEIR needs and not what YOU wish ... that's the case with a lot of us who took Geology. During the interview, you're like (what the heck is Geophysicist etc etc) but once you get the scholarship offer with the required degree that they want you to take, then it's a different story. All in all, during my time, Petronas only sent 2 students to do geology. One is now a big shot, while another (me) served my required bond and left smile.gif

This post has been edited by azraeil: Oct 21 2011, 01:50 AM
azraeil
post Oct 23 2011, 08:37 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Marginal oilfields in malaysia will be those with 7 million barrels of oil or less. Previously it was 15 million but with the advent of MOPU and oil price of 100 USD (that's 1.5 billion USD in potential revenue), 15 million is now considered small field (instead or marginal).
azraeil
post Nov 12 2011, 02:43 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Nov 11 2011, 06:29 AM)
Guys, if you received two offers, one is in middle east and the other one is in Australia, both with a similar package and job scope, which one do you consider? say if you have a family to take along.
Does the company cover the Autralian taxes (which can be as high as 47%)? If they do, then go for Australia.
azraeil
post Nov 12 2011, 03:23 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

The kasta system in the Middle East for one thing .... whatever you do, you will always be thought of as either a Filipino or some Indonesian labourer. The treatment is the shops is different etc

The weather from April to October is another ... too hot and too many dust storms so the quality of life is probably better in Australia (which I assume is Perth, am I correct?)

The drivers in the Middle East are mentally insane though it's much much better in UAE.

It's only a 4.5 hour flight back to Malaysia from Perth, it's 6.5/7 hours from UAE. Though being in the middle east opens up the travel option for you (everything is 6.5/7 hours from where you are)

Education System - yes they have international schools but I would assume that you can send your kids to a normal schools in Australia.

Potential of getting a PR in Australia - if this is something you are considering.

azraeil
post Nov 20 2011, 01:45 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Why are you guys selling yourselves short? You already decide that you are not good enough for the job. If you don't go, you will never know and I think that is a lot worse than going and getting rejected.
azraeil
post Nov 26 2011, 07:41 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

What's MMCOG? MMC Oil & Gas?
azraeil
post Nov 27 2011, 12:48 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Ahh ... It's MMC (Syed Bukhari punya kan?). Get your hands dirty and if possible, get lots of experience in FEED (Front End Engineering Design) and maybe after 3-5 years, you can join the Operators. Some of my good friends are decision makers in Petronas Carigali Development Division.

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0277sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:42 AM