14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V4, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher

chiahau
post Dec 20 2010, 01:03 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Dec 20 2010, 11:20 AM)
But why would you consider a D90? It is a 2 years ago model.
I would suggest a D7000.
D7000 is 4.5k.
D90 is 3.3k.
Difference of 1.2k is ALOT.

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Dec 20 2010, 11:44 AM)
Help me to decide a compact small camera...

Undecided between; Sony NEX, Olympus EP Series, LX-5, GF1/2 etc....

Already have a DSLR just that some occasion is not apropriate to bring a DSLR and sometimes I prefer to bring a smaller one easier to bring around.

Budget wise below 2.5k the better.
Sony NEX perhaps? Its quite small n compact + have a decent IQ. At least for me la XD
chiahau
post Dec 20 2010, 10:56 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(kinomoto91 @ Dec 20 2010, 10:48 PM)
4 a beginners??
which one better??
n cheaper la..
hahahaha..
Budget not given, how to help you?
chiahau
post Dec 21 2010, 10:10 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(noway1166 @ Dec 21 2010, 03:20 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget: Below 2.5k
Your Location:  KL
Preferable brand :  Canon / Nikon
Any specific models in mind? :  Canon 550 Nikon 3100

Not familiar with the difference with it. This is my friend ask for and i helped to research for it.

Any comment will be appreciate smile.gif
550D with kit around 2.7k dy, if i not mistaken. Erm, D3100 has HD video.
If you willing to look aside big names, there's Sony A33 n A55 for you.

QUOTE(Cirno @ Dec 21 2010, 09:53 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : RM3000 include kits
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Pentax/Canon/Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Cosplay, figurine
Any specific models in mind? : Pentax K-x
Any specific features u want? : Not that I know of.

I just want to know what's the best price I can find on this camera, but if there are other models, they're fine too.
Pentax K-5? Its 4k stg XD
Canon is 550D or perhaps 60D
Nikon can get D90 if u add abit more.
Sony can give you A55/A580.
chiahau
post Dec 22 2010, 08:59 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(asfiezul @ Dec 22 2010, 07:35 AM)
Guys, i'm looking to buy a NEX -5 with dual kit.. But, seeming the price.. i might go for a dslr.. I am kind of noob here..But, really interested in photography and i am kind of an all rounder.. I love to take shot at wedding too...

so, do you think NEX 5 is already okay, or i'll shoot go for DSLR instead?
You can get a55/a580 for that price lol.
If you like PnS camera, Nex5 is more than enough.
chiahau
post Dec 22 2010, 10:42 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(asfiezul @ Dec 22 2010, 09:27 AM)
@chiahau: yeah..rite? but still.. i've read better not go for a sony alpha dslr cuz they might not continue with dslr and focus on nex.. Canon or nikon is no problem for me but.. there am i again.. confuse whether i should go for a dslr or nex instead... sigh..

Added on December 22, 2010, 9:38 am@Jurlique: i've search some of them on the net.. but most of the comment are like fanboys(either hate it or love it too much)..

plus, from what i've collected:

ease of use: nex
quality of pic : draw or some mid-end dslr or all high end dslr
learning curve: nex
customisation: dslr
full control : dslr

but how about future proof(from lens price, accessory and variability)?
Why Sony stop DSLR production? They just released DSLT n a newer firmware for A850 n A900.

Nex is a commercial product. DSLR are for enthusiast that loves serious photography.

Future proof? In Photography world, where got anything future proof one?
Lol.
chiahau
post Dec 22 2010, 07:10 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Dec 22 2010, 04:58 PM)
SONY NEX seems to gain my interests....now my next question is should I go for Nex 3 or Nex 5 since the diff is only on the 1080i video recording and the build quality. And also the type of lens I should go first?

I know with $ anything is possible but I'm trying to keep it as low as possible looking around below 2.5k

Btw any installment usually from SONY?
Erm, I think Sony shop like Midvalley do offer installments. And shops like Creative Damansara can give you cheaper price cash, but installment wise, hard 2 say la lol.

On a sidenote, its better not to use installment to get your camera.

Added on December 22, 2010, 7:13 pm
QUOTE(kidzz @ Dec 22 2010, 03:32 PM)
Thank for the guidance.

Any recommendation on a semi pro (nikon or Canon) cost < 3.5K?
60D or perhaps 550D with some fancy lens biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by chiahau: Dec 22 2010, 07:13 PM
chiahau
post Dec 24 2010, 11:12 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(ChickenWing24 @ Dec 24 2010, 01:26 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR
Budget: <RM5k
Your Location:   KL
Preferable brand : Canon / Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Wildlife and Landscape 
Any specific models in mind? :  Canon EOS 60D
Any specific features u want? :  User friendly

p/s : I am a beginner and have no basic skills whatsoever. Finding for a decent DSLR so that I can learn with. Rather buy a good one than learning with a cheap one and having to switch later on.
You can D7000 or 60D with it. If you feel more adventurous instead, You can get a FF from Sony if you top up abit summore LOL~
If not, might as well get better lens n flash to support your style of shooting rather than an expensive body.
chiahau
post Dec 25 2010, 01:40 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(hunter4774 @ Dec 24 2010, 10:44 PM)
Budget : RM4000 include kitlens
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do :Portrait
Any specific models in mind? : D90
Any specific features u want? : wondering for 17-50 tamron f2.8
Why not D7000? Rather than the older D90.

QUOTE(amiezam @ Dec 25 2010, 01:09 AM)
Budget : RM4500 include lens
Preferable brand : Canon
Type of photography u want to do :For traveling
Any specific models in mind? : 60d
Any specific features u want? : Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 USM IS
Again, why not D7000? 60D is stronger in video side actly. But 60D is also decent.
chiahau
post Dec 25 2010, 12:19 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(kuf412 @ Dec 25 2010, 07:45 AM)
Budget : somewhere RM2000
Preferable brand : Sony and Nikon
Type of photography: Portrait and (landscape if possible)
Any specific models in mind? D80, D5000, and sony a550 (prefer used)
flex.gif  yawn.gif  shocking.gif  whistling.gif  cool2.gif
Why don't you consider A33 instead bro? Its 2.1k and brand new. Feature wise, beats the A550 slightly more.
chiahau
post Dec 27 2010, 12:41 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(syncomp @ Dec 27 2010, 12:40 AM)
hurm.... Nex is better? Actually Nex series is one of my choices back then.. but after seeing the ergonomic design of g12, i become confused.
Nvm... So u re suggesting Nex because the excellences of low light capture ea... Thanks for the recommendation. I will consider that model.
Any other recommendation?
Sony A33 DSLT / Canon 1000D / Nikon D3100.

All these are around 2k mark. That's if you want DSLR / DSLT instead.
chiahau
post Dec 28 2010, 02:03 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(- JaY - @ Dec 28 2010, 02:00 PM)
those cameras need bags right? any compact ones? and i believe DSLRs are quite heavy..  hmm.gif
Nex 3~

Quite light, semi-DSLR. Should be enough 4 your usage.
chiahau
post Dec 28 2010, 03:31 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(- JaY - @ Dec 28 2010, 02:43 PM)
Nex3 how much?
ok will have a look.. thx.
Erm around 1.4k or maybe more. Garage sales is the way to go biggrin.gif

And as a sidenote, D3000 has no AF motor inside. Means if you intend 2 upgrade lens later in future, you need to buy lens with AF built in. Not worth spending that much for it. smile.gif
chiahau
post Dec 28 2010, 06:21 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(darkevilzzz @ Dec 28 2010, 06:07 PM)
oic.....but the quality of the d3100 almost same as 500d..even cha a bit rite???
thx
You said your budget around 2.5k wad. Add 200 get 550D lo. Win 500d n D3100.

Or better, you can get Twin kit A33 for that price, which can technically take out D3100 out of the pix. A55 can compete with 550D easily.

This post has been edited by chiahau: Dec 28 2010, 06:21 PM
chiahau
post Dec 28 2010, 10:12 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(twisties @ Dec 28 2010, 10:07 PM)
Type of camera : PNS camera
Budget : RM1500+/-
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon
Any specific models in mind? : nikon p7000,canon g12
You can consider Nex3, if not, G12 makes a good option. Played with that b3fore.
chiahau
post Dec 29 2010, 01:25 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(darkevilzzz @ Dec 28 2010, 11:27 PM)
thx ...... a33 and a55 oso  beh pai.....may consider it too...
It's quite decent, really lol.

QUOTE(- JaY - @ Dec 29 2010, 01:18 AM)
ic.. mind telling me how much u bought it and where? if not convenient can do via PM  blush.gif
Erm, try Creative Damansara? The price there quite low. Go search garage sales also. Maybe got promotion.
chiahau
post Dec 29 2010, 04:06 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(ChickenWing24 @ Dec 29 2010, 10:41 AM)

I'm a noob in photography and want 2 buy a DSLR(have posted earlier) I am thinking between the Nikon D7000 and the Canon 60D.
So can anyone like recommend me which is the better one in terms of functions and user friendly as I will use it to learn the basics and all.
My interest is to photograph wildlife and landscapes.

Thanks... biggrin.gif
For the price of D7000, Rm 4.5k, why not top up and get a FF instead laugh.gif

If not, 60D has stronger video functions compared to D7000. Otherwise no issues.

On a sidenote - A few D7000 recently is defective due to unknown reasons. Might as well TEST KAW KAW b3fore purchase.
chiahau
post Dec 29 2010, 04:31 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(sharksuke @ Dec 29 2010, 04:30 PM)
my budget limited only for this dlsr.
RM1500-RM1800
Canon 1000D...Sony a290..
Which both are the best?
Nex3 or Sony A33 for 2.1k..

Better save up a bit more and get the A33. You wont regret it.
chiahau
post Dec 29 2010, 04:43 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Dec 29 2010, 04:42 PM)
which FF you are talking about?? model?
go for canon 450D or nikon d3000
the price will be around your budget
A850 lol. Was merely jesting la >">

He wants either 60D or D7000 wad. smile.gif
chiahau
post Dec 29 2010, 05:49 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(ChickenWing24 @ Dec 29 2010, 05:36 PM)
I don't think i want to get the 7d coz i'm still to this...
since 7d is oredi a pro camera, i don't think i can learn easily with it....
that's why i'm considering either 60D or D7000
QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Dec 29 2010, 05:47 PM)
doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif if that so go for entry level camera.
550D is good, d5000 is good, d3100 is good. 500D is good as well.
even 1000D for learning purpose.
Get a pro camera means kenot learn? laugh.gif

You want learn, you use the most expensive DSLR on earth also you can learn. That's it. If budget permit, might as well get cheaper one and get flash or better glasses.
chiahau
post Dec 31 2010, 01:20 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(not nott boys @ Dec 30 2010, 09:04 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR CAMERA
Budget: 1400
Your Location:   SHAH ALAM & KL
Preferable brand :  CANON AND NIKON
Type of photography u want to do :  Landscape and portait
Any specific models in mind? :  NO
Any specific features u want? : NO

I'M BEGINNER HERE.....PLS....
Add 100 can get Sony Nex3 liao lo. but not a DSLR lol.

14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0785sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:11 AM