14 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V4, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher

chiahau
post Jan 9 2011, 01:01 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo @ Jan 9 2011, 12:31 PM)
Should I choose 550D kit with 18-135 or 550D kit with 18-55 + additional 55-250?

And what is the cheapest price I can find in Lowyat for 550D kit with 18-135? Usually what free things can I get?
With kit, i think around 2.7k or lesser perhaps. Not 100% sure.
18-135 is indeed more expensive, then you need to ownself go search.

Free things? Cleaning kit, mem card and bag perhaps. Throw in some cheap tripods as well.
chiahau
post Jan 9 2011, 08:14 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(nooboy @ Jan 9 2011, 07:55 PM)
hye all,

i wanted to know

me really pening
between nikon D7000 and Canon 60D

which good to go? best bang for buck?
Depends on your needs. D7000 has a stronger low light performance but 60D has a stronger video recording functions.
chiahau
post Jan 10 2011, 09:33 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Steven7 @ Jan 10 2011, 06:34 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DLSR Camera
Budget: Around 2k
Your Location:   Penang
Preferable brand :  Canon/Nikon
Type of photography u want to do :  Portrait/Landscape
Any specific models in mind? :  D3100,500D,550D,1000D
Any specific features u want? : 

Hi guys, I am a beginner in photography and plan to buy a DSLR but I am torn between few models.  My initial plan was 1000D but few of my friends said I will regret this deal as 1000D will bottleneck the performance soon enough. Then I tried to increase my budget and aim for 500D(I heard the production is ended?) and 550D but is the price difference worthy for the performance difference? Anyway, D3100 then came along and it seems like a great deal as well although personally I vouch for Canon more compared to Nikon. I still don't know which to choose.

P/S: Price matters as I am still a university student and I can't spend too much on a camera, for now.
If you are serious about photography and not brand minded, there's sony A33 for you for 2.1k and its the latest tech compared to the D3100 or 500D.

It works fine and would serve you quite long, providing you have interest lulz.

If not, budget wise, students should not overspend on their toys/equipments. D3100 is the way to go.
chiahau
post Jan 10 2011, 09:46 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(SeNnDoh-7 @ Jan 10 2011, 09:42 PM)
Type of camera : dslr 
Budget: under 1.5k AND complete set(kit lens) AND bang for bucks  drool.gif
Your Location: selangor
Preferable brand : any
Type of photography u want to do : various
Any specific models in mind? : sony a230(still exist??) or d1000
Any specific features u want? : not sure..

i already got PnS cam but recently my interest towards dslr is getting stronger..especially when i see everybody taking picture with dslr.. flex.gif
im still beginner and wanna try cheap2 dslr 1st.  smile.gif I already now what basic photography jargon like aperture, dof, shutter speed, focus and what they do and would like to experiment with it since PnS camera feature is limited.

I hope there's dslr that suit my tight budget since im still a student.  rolleyes.gif
Erm, seriously save up 2 2k and get a Sony A33 which will last longer in future. Under 1.5k can get like 2nd hand or perhaps canon 1000D which is quite limiting. But 1000D is decent and it allows you to take good picture with it,
chiahau
post Jan 11 2011, 08:01 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(ak.hazwan @ Jan 11 2011, 07:00 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : RM 2 - 3k
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape & Portrait
Any specific models in mind? : Nikon D3100, Nikon D5000, Canon EOS 500D, Canon EOS 550D (all standard 18-55mm kit)
Any specific features u want? :
As a beginner, I just want most of my pic to be perfect. Easy to handle, focussing & especially SUPERB macro mode. also love to take Video. Past Experience with Canon IXUS 860IS was Great until I lost it =( Heard Many people choose Nikon for DSLR, so..Need Opinion here...
550D is technically with the highest specs for all the model chosen.

But if you don't mind looking outside of this 2 big names, there's sony A55/A580 which is quite worth looking.
chiahau
post Jan 12 2011, 04:39 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(shinchan0824 @ Jan 12 2011, 10:56 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Point and shoot camera
Budget : Below 2k
Your Location : KL/PJ
Preferable brand : Panasonic
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape or Portrait
Any specific models in mind? : LX5
Any specific features u want? : Good night shooting quality

P/S: Can i compare Sony NEX3/5 , Canon S95 and LX5 ? Or is there any other Compact Camera that is recommended? Thanks.
Nex 3 and Nex 5 not bad what? Summore there might be more lens for the E-mount soon.
chiahau
post Jan 13 2011, 07:11 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(qdipanda @ Jan 13 2011, 06:29 AM)
thanks for the suggestion...but i asked many place already. ..550d most d place selling at price <>2.8k...do u have any idea whr can get 2.5k wit kits?
Erm, 2.5k not too steep meh? Cheapest offer i got like 2.7k+ like that only ~.~
chiahau
post Jan 13 2011, 10:41 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(nooboy @ Jan 13 2011, 08:25 PM)
between 7D and D7000

which is good on low light situation?
D7000 is quite powerful with low light performance and high iso.. 7D quite decent also.

QUOTE(Neo8663 @ Jan 13 2011, 09:45 PM)
I'm totally 100% noob in DSLR. Hope u guys can help me out  nod.gif

Budget : below RM2300 include/without kitlens
Your Location : PJ
Preferable brand : Canon
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape/ Portrait /Convention Night
Any specific models in mind? : 500D,550D
Any specific features u want? : FULL HD (1080P)
1080p? 550D from Canon. But if you dun mind looking elsewhere and brands, Sony A55 has stronger Video recording functions side.
chiahau
post Jan 13 2011, 11:49 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(zoetigger @ Jan 13 2011, 11:46 PM)
im nt going for dslr cos my bf has one..and its kinda bulky for me
i just want sth that can snap nicer pics compared to those snapped with regular compact..
im using sony t-70 now..i found the pics are slightly yellowish/orangie..i simply dun like it..
help me!!i saw panasonic gf-2 promo video..wow the touch and snap=background defocus thingy..i like it
but the price is quite steep rite??
pentax is no good??
Pentax Kr n Pentax K5 are DSLR >">

Then NEX 5 should be a quite good buy for you. But then again, depends on what you want. If you like Panasonic, then get it.
chiahau
post Jan 14 2011, 02:10 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Neo8663 @ Jan 14 2011, 01:18 AM)

actually i'm more on photographing. may i know which one better?
btw whats the difference 500d and 550d except the megapixel...and should i take lens? blink.gif
No lens, how to take picture? hmm.gif

550D is newer lo compared to 500D. But specs wise, I prefer Sony over value for $$ than others. Sony A580 also outperforms the 550D slightly.

550D got some newer functions compared to 500D. Nothing much special.
chiahau
post Jan 15 2011, 06:23 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(jamesly @ Jan 15 2011, 04:09 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :dslr  
Budget: less then RM4k
Your Location:  KL
Preferable brand : canon 
Type of photography u want to do :  Normal, excellent in night pics without flash
Any specific models in mind? :  5d
Any specific features u want? :  sharpness

pls recoommmmed thankx
5D mark II?? Can get for 4k ar?

QUOTE(masterackn @ Jan 15 2011, 04:14 PM)
Budget :2k-3k
Preferable brand : Nikon/Canon/Sony
Type of photography u want to do :
Any specific models in mind? :

My sister is getting a DSLR soon. Any recommendation on which camera she should get? She is totally new to DSLR world. Which shop offers the best price. Thanks
Sony provides the best for value with A55/A580 while Canon comes close with 550D

QUOTE(darkevilzzz @ Jan 15 2011, 04:59 PM)
yuo..actually i oso look into the 500 and 550 d...but both is more specific in video recording rite?

Added on January 15, 2011, 5:11 pmpossible get the 550D for rm2.5K ??
Quite unlikely, depends on your luck.
chiahau
post Jan 15 2011, 09:16 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(starcian @ Jan 15 2011, 08:47 PM)
Guys, I have a tide budget of RM2300 for my first DSLR, but which shall i choose?

Nikon D3100 and D5000 looks great but the body don't have autofocus, only the lense did. Would this cause poorer image?

How about Canon 500D but is it abit old-tech? Does it have body built-in autofocus? How is the image as it have lower autofocus point and slower continuous speed than Nikon.

How about Sony and Pentax? They are bargain but somehow seen like not popular among photographer.

Added on January 15, 2011, 8:54 pm
Any idea why Sony cheaper but not popular among photograper?
No AF means you need AF-S lens. Therefore, incurs higher cost.

Sony not popular cost got things called Canon and Nikon that is very popular. But somehow, Sony always provide value for $$ and that is a very tough deal to refuse XP
chiahau
post Jan 16 2011, 03:21 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(nyot91 @ Jan 15 2011, 10:30 PM)
Budget : RM3000 include kitlens
Your Location : JB
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon or Sony
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape and Portrait
QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Jan 16 2011, 02:37 AM)
550D is the best option considering your condition.
550D technically loses out to A580/A55 when it comes to specs wise lulz. High iso performance of Sony had been improvised much compared to the past.

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 16 2011, 02:50 AM)
Sony is such a huge electronics company, we all know that. Hence, they have so much to cover- LCD TVs, laptops, handphones, walkmans and cameras laugh.gif ?

Pity Canon and Nikon la, they don't have much to advertise about- only cameras smile.gif

Oh btw guys, been reading some comments here lately, do be careful with your comments because I smell some fanboy-ism
Mana ada huge? L lens bigger XP

Canon got advertise about printer also what? Lol.
chiahau
post Jan 19 2011, 04:39 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Jarod @ Jan 19 2011, 02:42 PM)
thx for reply. if not between those 2 what wud you recommend?
There is sony A33 if you don't mind using a slightly less popular brand.

QUOTE(D_L @ Jan 19 2011, 04:24 PM)
juz don wan sumthing bulky...need camera with superb qualities n looks cool too..
Nex series? Now got discount at Studio Zaloon. 1.4k for Nex3 lol.
chiahau
post Jan 19 2011, 05:22 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(shinchan0824 @ Jan 19 2011, 05:19 PM)
Bro, what is the price for Nex5? Nex 3 and Nex 5 big diff?
Other than slightly better built and 1080p video recordin, nothing much differs.

I'm sorry I'm not sure the price for Nex5. Nex3 i know la coz just go n see see lulz.
chiahau
post Jan 19 2011, 11:34 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Jarod @ Jan 19 2011, 05:21 PM)
I don't mind Sony. I pick Canon & Nikon becos both seem popular.
expensive la... i'm just starting out only... trying to keep it below 2k budget...
A33 for 2.1k has enough functions and features compared to D3100. If you want, take Nex lo. Also can match up but a bit smaller.

QUOTE(april @ Jan 19 2011, 10:32 PM)
so what is the different between D3100 and D5000?
Ergonomics wise. Both also no AF motor inside. Lol.
chiahau
post Jan 20 2011, 08:17 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(tenable @ Jan 20 2011, 07:18 AM)
Hye...
Beginner here...
Im in the process of learning DSLR....
so currently using my dad's Canon EOS E450....
n planning to get a new camera soon....
so I'm opting for these two...Canon D60 n Sony alpha A580....
I don't know why but i seem like sony more bcoz probably due to the brand itself but canon seems to have much more lenses n specs are bit better...rite?
what do u guys think?

Budget : Unlimited....(probably rm6000 including lenses n laccessories)
Preferable brand : Sony, Canon, Olympus
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, Portrait, Macro, Actions (Want to learn all)
Any specific models in mind? : 60D, A580, E5
Any specific features u want? : Well...for learning purpose n can lasted for years
60D slightly better than A580. But A580 is indeed cheaper compared to 60D.

Quality wise, there is nothing superior about both model. They both match up quite evenly although the tilt LCD 60D might be better for video.

Btw, Canon n Nikon are the branded ones in DSLR, not sony. and Sony usually offer specs over price compared to other company's model.
chiahau
post Jan 20 2011, 10:09 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(tenable @ Jan 20 2011, 09:56 PM)
As i know, theA580 offer sweep panorama which quite indeed useful right?
Both can take videos too rite?
n canon 60D does not have that panorama feature as sony got is it?
Yeap. Got sweep panaroma and got video.
chiahau
post Jan 23 2011, 01:25 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(skycrawler @ Jan 23 2011, 01:40 AM)
Yeah, better get nikon D3100..Sony DSLR sucks..btw, nikon D3100 can record Full HD video and oso has miniature effect..it has small n compact size but its performance is superb.. thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
This is coming from a DSLR that don't even have AF motor built in and saying Sony's DSLR sucks? Clearly fanboyism right?

Comparing D3100 and A33 at both range, A33 is slightly more superior than D3100 in few aspects.

Anyway, I don't believe in brands. If you can take awesome picture on Nikon, so can you with Canon and Sony. Camera is just a tool for the person.
chiahau
post Jan 23 2011, 03:45 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 23 2011, 01:44 PM)
Now now... what's with that generalization? It's misleading and there's no clear basis to what you said. "A man's meat may be another man's poison" smile.gif
I've been hearing this for quite some time now. Kindly name them out smile.gif
Want meh? Later this thread go off topic all come troll >">

Built in AF motor. Image stabilization. higher iso. 7fps. Dual mem slot. AF focus during video. Etc etc etc....

Tech specs wise, A33 is better. Usage wise, that's depending on the user. I was merely pointing at the fact that Sony do not suck, its just under-par compared to the GREAT Nikon and Canon. Nobody ask anyone to use Sony, its a freedom of will. The comment suck was clearly uncalled for.

14 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:37 AM