Plasma or LCD

SUSMatrix
post Dec 7 2010, 10:17 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(j_h0059 @ Nov 30 2010, 06:52 PM)
LG 42" 200 hz only rm2899...Sharp n LG 100hz only around rm2400-2600. Yes, it's LCD
Those 200Hz and 100Hz does nothing. Absolute no difference. Only those like Philips HD NaturalMotion, new Sharp LED with 100Hz(not the old 2k plus LCD) and SONY motionflow shows real improvement.

Samsung and LG 100/200/xxx Hz does nothing.

Added on December 7, 2010, 10:19 pm
QUOTE(maryjane9996 @ Dec 4 2010, 06:55 PM)
i read somewhere ppl said Hz is just marketing stuff..
Nope. Depends on which brand and model. Those that works, really superb...better than watching at Cinema!!!

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 7 2010, 10:19 PM
VeeJay
post Dec 7 2010, 10:36 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 7 2010, 10:15 PM)
Not true. This is just your assumption. All TV buyers do their own research.

Give it 3 more years, plasma will disappear, Given it another 5 years, only LED will in the market, no more LCD. All this due to global consumer preference and technological development driving commercial viability. 3DTV, LaserTV, holographicTV will come in the next 20 years.

Same thing happened when the CD replaced the LP and DVD replaced VCR.
Wrong analogy, mate, because you are talking whats coming in the future, but we are discussing here what we have at this point in time. LED or OLED might be the future, but it aint here yet. It doesnt make any difference with what you purchase now and the future....
AVFAN
post Dec 7 2010, 10:36 PM

24,477 posts

To my eyes, 100Hz makes a difference when playing DVD or Astro normal. For HD input like 720/1080p and BeYond 1080i, I see no difference.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 7 2010, 10:39 PM
Drian
post Dec 7 2010, 11:00 PM

4,999 posts

The 200Hz is noticable, but the movement looks "fake".

catsper
post Dec 7 2010, 11:27 PM

1,241 posts

From my personal experience, just for general reference, not fact though...

LCD/LED
TVs are much brighter.
Colours are saturated and catchy, good for drawing attention.
Very crisp clear and sharp
Higher end has better motion flow control
Slim and sexy design
Good for PC and games than cinematic movies

Plasma
Natural colours, may look dull beside LCD
Smooth motion, good dark scene
Render SD better, especially on Astro
Suit dark room viewing
Gentle on eyes for long viewing
Good for movie and sports

My two cents....

liez
post Dec 8 2010, 12:51 AM

1,346 posts

I thought plasma is better than LCD and there is no more argument bout that??? Ppl told me LCD runs by liquid thus it moves slower than plasma which act as a normal TV but just crystal clear.... in terms of quality, resolution, clarity....plasma wins everything rite?
h0inerve
post Dec 8 2010, 01:07 AM

163 posts

@liez

I thought so too bro. Now, I'm all confused after reading all these since I'm still using my CRT tv.

I wanna watch FullHD movies, football game and being able to play PS3/XBOX with satisfaction. Now I dunno which one to get since I'm planning to get one.

LED is tv is out of my budget. Too pricey at the moment. All I heard from ppl is that it's the best so far.

I'm thinking of getting one with the abovementioned preferences with RM 4k budget. Which one should I get now?

Need help.. Thanks in advance guys.
ZeneticX
post Dec 8 2010, 01:27 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

Senheng doing promotion for samsung UA40C6200 now...RM3299 is im not mistaken

and regarding the Hz thg....depends wheter u rly like it or not.for me i dun really prefer it,the movement is like more fake rather than real,still used to 60Hz.and if u do gaming,on game mode,the tv will always limit to 50Hz anyway
denon91
post Dec 8 2010, 02:31 AM

321 posts

i choose plasma!!!
SUSMatrix
post Dec 8 2010, 07:31 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Dec 8 2010, 12:51 AM)
I thought plasma is better than LCD and there is no more argument bout that??? Ppl told me LCD runs by liquid thus it moves slower than plasma which act as a normal TV but just crystal clear.... in terms of quality, resolution, clarity....plasma wins everything rite?
Individual preference. I dun like plasma. If got money, i buy full array LED like those new Sharps.
SUSOptiplex330
post Dec 8 2010, 08:15 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 8 2010, 07:31 AM)
Individual preference. I dun like plasma. If got money, i buy full array LED like those new Sharps.
Yes, LED is much better than LCD but so much more expensive. A lot of things boil down to budget.

vikashshah
post Dec 10 2010, 12:20 PM

121 posts

I had the same question too...
ended up with an LCD LED

Plasma was not for me because :

1) Reflection on the screen ( Plasma good for dark rooms )
2) Energy consumption is higher
3) Heavier

ronaldkwok
post Dec 11 2010, 11:13 AM

656 posts

Those undecided can perhaps check my HDTV Blog here to get a general idea. Hope it will help a little. Not for the expects here but for the laymen only. blush.gif
rocket_jet
post Dec 16 2010, 11:35 PM

Videogame connosieur
712 posts

Led TV
TSjacktan1888
post Dec 17 2010, 03:41 AM

103 posts

watch astro on lcd , picture not nice.
SUSMatrix
post Dec 17 2010, 09:41 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(jacktan1888 @ Dec 17 2010, 03:41 AM)
watch astro on lcd , picture not nice.
Why until this day and age, still got people expect SD transmission to look nice on a FullHD LCD panel?? doh.gif
jchong
post Dec 17 2010, 05:19 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 17 2010, 09:41 AM)
Why until this day and age, still got people expect SD transmission to look nice on a FullHD LCD panel??  doh.gif
Maybe people expect or think that Full HD panel can magically transform SD to become Full HD quality biggrin.gif

In reality the average joe doesn't understand issues about resolution.
tathoumse07
post Dec 19 2010, 10:09 AM

40 posts

I got 2 LCD and one 50inch plasma in my house
for my personal opinion
if I got lots of money I will go for Led if I would like to show off to my fren that I got a ultra thin flat panel in my living hall
but I don like the picture in LED as it's too bright, the picture as if computer graphic
I feel comfortable in my theater room with the plasma tv
if you put plasma in living hall it's not that suitable as plasma tv works perfect in dim room
LCD works perfect in bright room
for gaming and movie in theater room
go for plasma
for gaming and movie in living hall
go for LCD
that's my personal opinion
finally it all depend our budget and personal preference
bear in mind that the brighter the tv goes, the shorter the life span
eventually you must look at the life span of the LCD or plasma
try to get extra warranty for the tv
my Phillis LCD got problem after 1 year
my plasma after one year still work perfect
luckily I got 3years warranty for my LCD
5 years warranty for my Panasonic 50inch plasma for just rm4750

Added on December 19, 2010, 10:17 amby the way
don buy HD ready
as it's waste your money
but full HD
it just difference 200 to 300

This post has been edited by tathoumse07: Dec 19 2010, 10:17 AM
catsper
post Dec 19 2010, 10:24 AM

1,241 posts

Where to get 5 year warranty nowadays? Your plasma is like few years back where Panasonic still honored 5 year warranty. Now, all cut cost, warranty period also cut....haiz
SUSOptiplex330
post Dec 19 2010, 10:31 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(vikashshah @ Dec 10 2010, 12:20 PM)
I had the same question too...
ended up with an LCD LED

Plasma was not for me because :

1) Reflection on the screen ( Plasma good for dark rooms )
2) Energy consumption is higher
3) Heavier
Ya, the major disadvantage of Plasma are screen reflectiveness and energy consumption (need better ventilation because it can get pretty hot at the rear).

As for heavier, it's not a problem because I am not in the habit of moving my TV around everyday. Heck, I don't even move them once a year or 2 years or ......

Ultimately, for me, it boils down to what I wanted and how much I am willing to spend. I wanted best Picture Quality for movies, so it just have to be the Plasma and definitely not the LCD. Also I wanted to spend <RM4K for a 50", it again has to be a Plasma because LED will increase budget by 50%.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0191sec    1.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 05:15 AM