How much is the Graphic Designer First Salary?, Around 2009-2011

heinlein
post May 6 2011, 12:15 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(snail_yin @ May 5 2011, 09:10 PM)
haha.... Few months ago, my elder sis gave me a link on Top 10 High Paid Job, and one of the Top 10 is Designer.  And I told my sis that, this is not true in M'sia, unless you are an Art Director or Creative Director.

I'm considering lucky after I read all of your posts here, coz, I'm a Communication Degree holder, but loves designing, so start my job as graphic designer at RM1k + RM200 petrol allowance and I work for only 1 month....hahhaha...

Then continue study in IT as I see the future have high possibility in moving to IT world which maybe related to design and here we called it UI/animation/interactive stuffs.  So after grad from IT, I try to change my job to IT field but fail as the manager (Marketing HOD) loves me very much as I can communicate well in 3 languages spontaneously (dunno why and this is the reason she gave me???) but I work for 2 months only and get paid at RM1.6k as management trainee.

Then move to another entertainment company as graphic designer for 1 year at the paid of RM1.8k....ya la...GD cum Web designing....haiz...no mention has involve in alittle bit of IT (WTF??? ..... ask me to wait for IT guy to check server?? I'm a designer ler!!)  Cakap oni probation 6 mths but then drag till 1 year!!! WTH!!!... When I want to resign, then only they said wanna confirm me!! shit them!! But, no bother, just resign and move to a software company until now.

So, as usual, workload byk, stress byk till you dun really know what is STRESS ... but can train up ur speed...can finish a design in few minutes or few seconds ..... had chances to go oversea to help in UI development, have chance to learn new technology and the salary gurantee increase every year and of course based on ur performance...

*this company not so bad la...coz..when I 1st join, they pay ard RM2.xk, within a year increase about RM1k...then every year increase lagi ler....plus bonus and now, consider as senior staff although the title is not, but enjoying good good benefits ..... tongue.gif
Not bad. At least you quite successful liao. Can share your portfolio?
snail_yin
post May 6 2011, 11:55 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ May 6 2011, 12:15 AM)
Not bad. At least you quite successful liao. Can share your portfolio?
haha...now specialize in Intranet UI development and other multimedia interactive thing.... so...mostly P&C lorrr...... tongue.gif

But if you want to, can check out at any music store .... give u hints:
1. The most famous entertainment company that produce CNY albums in M'sia...try to look at year 2007 and 2008 ...yup..that's mine
2. The logo is like a triangle.
3. See the changes before 2007 design and till 2008 .... I don't really know it, but it does gives a big impact to the fans or buyer about the design as the operation department get good feedback from the fans saying the design is totally different than previous years.... blink.gif The design has goes till oversea and other country (erherm erherm...) trying to mimic my design to produce erherm erherm copy ... (bad huh.... doh.gif )
4. All albums that produce within 2007-2008 is mine design.....including movie or single album cover, banner and poster ......

tongue.gif
heinlein
post May 6 2011, 08:47 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(snail_yin @ May 6 2011, 11:55 AM)
haha...now specialize in Intranet UI development and other multimedia interactive thing.... so...mostly P&C lorrr......  tongue.gif 

But if you want to, can check out at any music store .... give u hints:
1. The most famous entertainment company that produce CNY albums in M'sia...try to look at year 2007 and 2008 ...yup..that's mine
2. The logo is like a triangle.
3. See the changes before 2007 design and till 2008 .... I don't really know it, but it does gives a big impact to the fans or buyer about the design as the operation department get good feedback from the fans saying the design is totally different than previous years....  blink.gif  The design has goes till oversea and other country (erherm erherm...) trying to mimic my design to produce erherm erherm copy ... (bad huh.... doh.gif )
4. All albums that produce within 2007-2008 is mine design.....including movie or single album cover, banner and poster ......

tongue.gif
Can pm the company name to me so I can search it online? I like to see other ppl design rather than doing my own. Thanks smile.gif
g r a p e k e y
post May 9 2011, 10:54 PM

483 posts

how old are you ts? tongue.gif
B-Mecha
post May 10 2011, 09:27 AM

Mecha collector & Multimedia Designer
1,080 posts

QUOTE(snail_yin @ May 5 2011, 09:10 PM)
haha.... Few months ago, my elder sis gave me a link on Top 10 High Paid Job, and one of the Top 10 is Designer.  And I told my sis that, this is not true in M'sia, unless you are an Art Director or Creative Director of MNC agency / company.
fixed.

compare with other field, with the same amount of experience even art director is no where qualify the word "high pay". To qualify as an Art director, 3 years experience with good portfolio and people management skill will give u around 3-5k. If the art director is one man show, he is as good as senior designer, please don't spoil the "art director" title.

Creative director available only in MNC advertising agency, 10k possible but make sure you won some design award for your campaign & design. Creative director requires impressive communication skill, management skill, presentation skill, marketing skill & creative thinking. BTW, this is the top position in design industry, just like those board of director in other industry lol.

TSd3by
post May 10 2011, 09:32 AM

18 posts

I believe if people have good portfolio and communication skill, they can get high salary.

Anyway I am 21 years old this year smile.gif
How about you guys?

How about we share some portfolio here? Good Idea? so we can see each other better.
and What do you guys think if people take double job in a company as example become Web and Graphic Designer together or etc.
Maybe we can demand higher?
B-Mecha
post May 10 2011, 09:47 AM

Mecha collector & Multimedia Designer
1,080 posts

QUOTE(d3by @ May 10 2011, 09:32 AM)
I believe if people have good portfolio and communication skill, they can get high salary.

Anyway I am 21 years old this year smile.gif
How about you guys?

How about we share some portfolio here? Good Idea? so we can see each other better.
and What do you guys think if people take double job in a company as example become Web and Graphic Designer together or etc.
Maybe we can demand higher?
This is obvious. However, it is not about how good you are, but how much value you can create for client and how willing your employer want to pay u.

I'm 27 tongue.gif

You mean double job scope. You can demand higher, maybe additional 200-300 that's all. It is not about how good you are, it is the value you can create for your client. If your client pay peanut for design, even you are world no.1 designer you will only get 1/4 peanut (the rest go to company and other staff).
snail_yin
post May 10 2011, 02:36 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(B-Mecha @ May 10 2011, 09:47 AM)
This is obvious. However, it is not about how good you are, but how much value you can create for client and how willing your employer want to pay u.

I'm 27 tongue.gif

You mean double job scope. You can demand higher, maybe additional 200-300 that's all. It is not about how good you are, it is the value you can create for your client. If your client pay peanut for design, even you are world no.1 designer you will only get  1/4 peanut (the rest go to company and other staff).
Agree wih u ... hahaha... rclxms.gif
Zom Zoner
post Jan 24 2012, 02:19 AM

I wonder who is the best graphic designer in Malaysia? hmm.gif
Criteria : Works for big company local / oversea, let's say 10+/- years working experience, Malaysian, artwork(s) have been published in DailyDeviant (deviantArt.com), etc,
If you know one, do quote me when you reply so I'll be notified. Just asking for fun rolleyes.gif
bloodvanille
post Jan 24 2012, 12:03 PM

57 posts

Hey there! smile.gif Just sharing.. I'm still a student studying Graphic Design, and a few years back, I was introduced to an architect who's luckily in a partnership with a Graphic Designer.

Somehow he told me that the company needs a designer to fill in immediately so they asked me to do it although lacking a diploma. Somehow, i showed him my portfolio and he accepted.

Now I'm on my sem break and working with the design company and got like 800 per month. Not bad for someone lacking a qualification. He also told me that a fresh graduate can get about 1200 per month (starting). I'm not sure..

I'm thinking of working overseas after a few years working in Malaysia. My lecturers told me that we can't really survive being graphic designers in Malaysia unless if u own ur own company and spread it. What do u guys think?
Gmruleme
post Jan 26 2012, 08:37 PM

Art Enthusiast
1,468 posts

the vote result is just disappointing.. how about multimedia designer? Also the same? heart-breaking..
sojiroseta
post Jan 30 2012, 07:21 PM

The Tenken
652 posts

QUOTE(kamisama @ Nov 27 2010, 11:45 AM)
degree holder can go for 2k+
yeah the higher your education the better is the wages..smile.gif
Gmruleme
post Jan 30 2012, 09:49 PM

Art Enthusiast
1,468 posts

QUOTE(wanobi @ Feb 28 2011, 08:13 PM)
yeah maybe we should have  a standard salary for graphic designer..our job more to skill base

from my experience with my senior..some company pay u too low and working with long hours..

the result is u can't perform..yes we like to design and passionate towards it..but what is the meaning of passion when u almost eat nasi putih with ikan bills everyday + u pay ur PTPTN + car loan+ rumah sewa also ( if u live on your own lah )..some more debt with ptptn..

really will make ur morale down afterwards..i like to work long hours..that what suppose we do when we are still young..

another things is about the freelance work..i set my mind if they pay u about RM60-RM80 for doing any design..i spend it about 2 -4 hours maximum for that job...because i know that is nonsense if I stay all night just doing that..usually if client pay u low is becoz they are the middle man..who love "kerja atas angin" things..at the end of the day..these middle men actually asked a few more designer to design the same things..at last u can't even get paid but u doing that designs for hours..that how designer being treated..some client just pay half only (I kene a lot of times)

I think designer just good on its name only..even cashier at Giant or Jusco can earn RM 1500 per month if they working long hours..believe me..no stress no deadline..(just to compare fresh graduates paid only la bcoz cashier don't have any "cashier director" )

I heard a lot that even corporate companies also hire internal designer.. they pay u well though and u go back as early as 6 p.m..that is another alternative..
I feel that my dream and what I'm chasing for are starting to collapse after I read this

Added on January 30, 2012, 10:00 pm
QUOTE(heinlein @ Apr 27 2011, 01:08 PM)
Designer's life is sad. I have 5 years experience and my salary now is less than yours now. I was thinking of jumping out of the circle too. Designer is a job that doesn't get acknowledgement and appreciation.
.. tears are rolling down from my eyes

Added on January 30, 2012, 10:04 pm
QUOTE(Ryto @ Apr 29 2011, 06:30 PM)
Wow is graphic design is really sad job here?
Here my chronology of my life as a graphic designer

2008 -- graduate in Degree in Multimedia
2009 -- work at a magazine publishing - salary rm 1500 - contract 1 year (this company is SOB, the boss rather hired intern rather than me)
2010 -- work at a event company - salary rm1600 - but resign in mid 2010 cause the company gonna bankruptcy (can you believe my worth 2 month salary given a Burberrry/prada bag buy in China)
2010 mid to present - working at the design advertising company, start salary RM1500 - after 3 month work here, my increment is, RM50. Yes people, RM50. SO my salary now is RM1550.

3 years experience, with a Degree in Multimedia, you salary is RM1550. FML. cry.gif

In short, its up to the company and your experiences and skills. Make sure you got a nice portfolio.  drool.gif
multimedia design degree rm1.5k? where did you get your degree? cry.gif

This post has been edited by Gmruleme: Jan 30 2012, 10:04 PM
Kavz212
post Apr 22 2012, 07:01 PM

er..highest salary for a graphic designer is...
FireFryXx
post Apr 23 2012, 09:49 PM

242 posts

my 1st salary as junior/assistant Graphic design only RM1200 for diploma holder.......sadly it increase a little by a year.

But yes, its depend on the company and experience too...if your lucky you might get RM1600 for your 1st time job! smile.gif
purplefellow
post Apr 23 2012, 10:59 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(Gmruleme @ Jan 26 2012, 08:37 PM)
the vote result is just disappointing.. how about multimedia designer? Also the same? heart-breaking..
My first job as Multimedia Designer (degree holder) is 2k+ as in house designer under a local college. Salary is good but working hours can be crazy at times. This is like 8 years ago. I quit to pursue my dreams after working there for a year. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by purplefellow: May 16 2012, 04:02 PM
keldramon
post May 4 2012, 12:48 PM

23 posts

Working as a in-house graphic designer For a property company who are into Property magazine (weird huh?).
Manage all the designing work for client and the whole magazine . Got a RM1500 salary. sad.gif
ekceli not bad considering my work load is not that much. Even can fesbook while working.
Started with no Experience, no qualification. Lol.
kcpanadol
post May 4 2012, 12:52 PM

134 posts

Not in your poll lists
kenn0202
post May 4 2012, 02:05 PM

133 posts

first salary 900basic + 500(ot & allowance)
2nd salary 2200 at MLM company as a designer
3rd and currently 2500 solo designer at agency company
acci
post May 4 2012, 08:10 PM

25 posts

anyone know any website or portals to find freelance graphic designers? (malaysian).. there are some out there but mostly web design

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0560sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:23 AM