9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

How much is the Graphic Designer First Salary?, Around 2009-2011

acvd
post May 6 2012, 05:28 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(acci @ May 4 2012, 08:10 PM)
anyone know any website or portals to find freelance graphic designers? (malaysian).. there are some out there but mostly web design
I do lots of freelance work if you are interested.

You can also look at www.freelancer.com.

On another note, the poll results above is kinda sad.... majority starting salary is low. And price inflation is rising faster than salary increment. Malaysia isn't such an expensive place to live in compared to other capitol cities but it sure is getting worse...
demonhunter360
post May 11 2012, 09:41 AM

201 posts

After going for a few rounds of interviews, and finding out myself, sadly I must admit, it is true.

Starting salary is very very low.
Very long hours of work (18 hours per day).

It's really sad you know, graphic designers spend so much at college and to be trained, and it turns out you are soooo......cheaply paid.

Oh by the way, unless you really want, you might as well don't bother to get good grades at your design school or college.
They don't care.

After you graduate, just make some new portfolio pieces that are top notched, a lot better than the exam grades you got. Because they don't care and won't look at your grades. :-)
VaCo
post May 17 2012, 08:15 AM

Do you think is there any different between diploma or degree holder which Graduate in UK? Will they get higher wages?
B-Mecha
post May 17 2012, 11:23 AM

Mecha collector & Multimedia Designer
1,080 posts

QUOTE(VaCo @ May 17 2012, 08:15 AM)
Do you think is there any different between diploma or degree holder which Graduate in UK? Will they get higher wages?
If I'm the employer, No. I won't pay extra just because someone graduate in UK.

I'm looking for people who can contribute, so I pay for skill set. diploma or degree just a piece of paper to make my paperwork easier (if required).

Golden rules of design industry, portfolio and skill set are the most important. If some employer pay more because he graduate from UK but not because of his skills, better look for someone who really appreciate design.

When a SPM holder, a diploma holder and a degree holder go to interview, assuming all 3 have same skill set and can produce good design. Degree holder usually get better salary mainly because he goes through design training and other additional information like media law, thesis research and other design topics. Of cos if his transcript shows he have bad result in all the subjects, he will get lower salary compare to the other 2 smile.gif

at the end it is about how u present your skill set, knowledge and experience that can benefit the company. Degree just a paper that makes the presentation easier because employer knows the holder at least have certain knowledge ready.

If you are really the expert in design, without degree cert can get good salary too. Polish your presentation skill.
Ageha_Butterfly
post May 17 2012, 02:17 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(demonhunter360 @ May 11 2012, 09:41 AM)
After going for a few rounds of interviews, and finding out myself, sadly I must admit, it is true.

Starting salary is very very low.
Very long hours of work (18 hours per day).

It's really sad you know, graphic designers spend so much at college and to be trained, and it turns out you are soooo......cheaply paid.

Oh by the way, unless you really want, you might as well don't bother to get good grades at your design school or college.
They don't care.

After you graduate, just make some new portfolio pieces that are top notched, a lot better than the exam grades you got. Because they don't care and won't look at your grades. :-)
true ar... sad.gif
my internship only get rm 300 permonth...working hours from 9 am to 9pm...but still, going back home need to continue the work.
i hate the part when i almost done some client come and ask me to redo the whole thing... doh.gif
before i already give them my concept and design, half work also show they still ok, once 95%, another person from same company said no, means no...
shakehead.gif if like that why dun reject earlier shocking.gif
NeoMnemonic
post Jul 4 2012, 07:33 PM

760 posts

It's pretty sad that Graphic Designers are not recognized in Malaysia. Mostly with peanuts pay and long working hours. If you are in your 20's at least you still have time to change into another field of job. In future don't even let your kids study design.
huattk
post Jul 4 2012, 08:46 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(NeoMnemonic @ Jul 4 2012, 07:33 PM)
It's pretty sad that Graphic Designers are not recognized in Malaysia. Mostly with peanuts pay and long working hours. If you are in your 20's at least you still have time to change into another field of job. In future don't even let your kids study design.
Not in Malaysia perhaps. But quite a number of them manage to carve out a fine niche and eventually gain celebrity status. In Chinese we have a saying, 三百六十行,行行出状元. Every trade and profession produce its master. Just follow after your heart, because who would want to slave their lives away stacking cans in a supermarket?
s7ran9er
post Jul 4 2012, 09:19 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

Thousand of graduates every year competing for the same position every year, these are some of the words that experienced ECDs or Masters told me and my buddies in class. We have to compete with each other, be part of the latest trend or start a new trend, we must have a head start in whatever we're doing, this applies to advertising field my friends.

We're fortunate to have guidance in this thread, read every pages and you'll gain a few points in the field. biggrin.gif
emmm
post Jul 9 2012, 01:59 PM

After reading all the earlier posts, then I consider my current job as a graphic design GREAT! MY current salary is RM5440.00. Working hour from 9am to 5.30pm, 5-day a week, 26 days annual leave, if public holiday falls on Sunday, I also get replacement. It's a damn good job ya? And I am considering changing of job.
pinkyd
post Jul 10 2012, 12:01 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(emmm @ Jul 9 2012, 01:59 PM)
After reading all the earlier posts, then I consider my current job as a graphic design GREAT! MY current salary is RM5440.00. Working hour from 9am to 5.30pm, 5-day a week, 26 days annual leave, if public holiday falls on Sunday, I also get replacement. It's a damn good job ya? And I am considering changing of job.
You must be an inhouse designer for some corporate company or gov. agency?
NinG
post Jul 10 2012, 04:04 PM

Vroomm
403 posts

Sad thread. Im fresh grad with few years freelance experience.

First job 1.3k, after probation 1.5k. Solo designer at supermarket.

This is last month working. Imma LEAVING...
limfreelance
post Jul 10 2012, 05:13 PM

343 posts

Honest, work at 7-11 starting can be 1.2K. No need to redo, no need to brain drain, no need to work under pressure, rushing this & that. Some more got training to become supervisor, salary 1.5-1.8K.
Gmruleme
post Jul 10 2012, 10:48 PM

Art Enthusiast
1,468 posts

QUOTE(NinG @ Jul 10 2012, 05:04 PM)
Sad thread. Im fresh grad with few years freelance experience.

First job 1.3k, after probation 1.5k. Solo designer at supermarket.

This is last month working. Imma LEAVING...
rclxub.gif ... oh my, I can see that a lot of fresh grads are quiting their first job as graphic designer....

QUOTE(limfreelance @ Jul 10 2012, 06:13 PM)
Honest, work at 7-11 starting can be 1.2K. No need to redo, no need to brain drain, no need to work under pressure, rushing this & that. Some more got training to become supervisor, salary 1.5-1.8K.
sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif

That comparison made graphic designers feel more sad...
emmm
post Jul 12 2012, 10:46 AM

QUOTE(pinkyd @ Jul 10 2012, 12:01 PM)
You must be an inhouse designer for some corporate company or gov. agency?
Yeah... public listed company. I don't want to work for ad agency anymore. too tiring, the only thing is glamor if your are working in 4A agency, but don't expect to have a life lor.

In fact, my company is hiring, though not in my section but the starting salary for degree holder is pretty good... If not mistaken, should be more than 2K. Benefits: 21 days annual leave, maybe 2 months contract bonuses plus 0 to 2 months individual performance bonus. 13% EPF contribution by the company. But all these can only confirm by the person who interview you.

can email me emmm_8 [at] yahoo [dot] com your CV + portfolio and I will pass it on to the manager in-charge.

This post has been edited by emmm: Jul 12 2012, 10:47 AM
SUSAdamiquesce
post Jul 12 2012, 11:18 AM

Perlu ada Soul
711 posts

QUOTE(emmm @ Jul 9 2012, 01:59 PM)
wow so good...do they accept people without diploma or degree? lol
emmm
post Jul 12 2012, 01:27 PM

QUOTE(Adamiquesce @ Jul 12 2012, 11:18 AM)
wow so good...do they accept people without diploma or degree? lol
I suppose the starting salary will be lower. You know corporate lah.... no matter what, the paper do worth some money wei.... i know a diploma and degree holder gets different starting salary. if you want, can email me your portfolio and CV.
SUSAdamiquesce
post Jul 12 2012, 01:29 PM

Perlu ada Soul
711 posts

QUOTE(emmm @ Jul 12 2012, 01:27 PM)
I suppose the starting salary will be lower. You know corporate lah.... no matter what, the paper do worth some money wei.... i know a diploma and degree holder gets different starting salary. if you want, can email me your portfolio and CV.
wow so they accept?

btw I havent build portfolio yet...just wanna survey tongue.gif
emmm
post Jul 12 2012, 01:33 PM

QUOTE(Adamiquesce @ Jul 12 2012, 01:29 PM)
wow so they accept?

btw I havent build portfolio yet...just wanna survey tongue.gif
up to you... we are hiring, but not desperate....
SUSAdamiquesce
post Jul 12 2012, 01:35 PM

Perlu ada Soul
711 posts

QUOTE(emmm @ Jul 12 2012, 01:33 PM)
up to you... we are hiring, but not desperate....
hmm.gif then I get what u mean
funnybone
post Jul 12 2012, 01:35 PM

1,040 posts

QUOTE(HuorElendil @ Dec 3 2010, 11:29 AM)
wtf?? with diploma?? for experience-yes, for long term/health - big NO man.. haha
You kidding me? RM400??? You're earning less than banglas and indon maids. You're way way way below minimum wage even for India's standard blink.gif

This post has been edited by funnybone: Jul 12 2012, 01:36 PM

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0527sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:41 AM