Guitars LYN Guitar Phreaks Club v11, Everything about our beloved guitars

isaacmiranda7
post Feb 1 2011, 09:44 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Axel95 @ Feb 1 2011, 06:45 PM)
but ceriatone is in Malaysia rite? give them a call and ask for ringgit then.

Added on February 1, 2011, 7:44 pmwooooo..... went through Ibanez website just now and saw this http://www.ibanez.com/ElectricGuitars/model-GRGA42TQA

Amazing featurs on a Gio series. plan to buy it if tdk mahal. haha. thoughts?
The maple neck D:
isaacmiranda7
post Feb 2 2011, 11:12 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

Aiyakk... Dilemma lahh.

Next guitar get ESP Horizon or ESP Eclipse? sad.gif

Now my ESP Mirage is a HSS Superstrat, fully rigged up with Bare Knuckles, but got 22 frets only, and recently I've been wanting those extra two frets, not to use them, but cause its easier to reach the 22 tongue.gif

Advice, guys? Both are about RM7k.

isaacmiranda7
post Feb 2 2011, 11:15 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Feb 2 2011, 11:19 AM)
7 grand for anotehr axe just to reach those hard to reach notes?

aint that overspending?
Its not biggrin.gif I need a backup axe too after I sold my Jackson.

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Feb 2 2011, 02:15 PM)
i am personally not a huge fan of ESP. i find them very overpriced, ive not tried any ESP's yet but for what glimpse i got with an ltd H series or the Ltd EC.  i find them a one trick pony; good for metal and pretty much that's it.

you can get the lowest horizon for 6k at guitar collection.

majority of ESP range were kinda copies of another axe or a souped up version with a metal influence, i wont put my cash on that tho.
Well, honestly, would you say that was overspending on a Gibson? smile.gif And I find the Eclipse so much more comfortable tongue.gif

Overpriced in what sense bro? I believe that with the workmanship they put in, and the quality in your hands, they are worth it. I love my ESP Mirage. biggrin.gif Well, they can't please everyone wink.gif

I'm very much into the hard rock/metal thing lah.. So I don't mind it being a "metal" guitar, I'll just throw in some Bare Knuckles and pray tongue.gif

I would say that, they are not copies, but improvements biggrin.gif

Anyway, I'm open. Well, would you guys suggest another guitar then?

isaacmiranda7
post Feb 3 2011, 10:49 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Feb 3 2011, 12:00 AM)
Personally i also think new Gibsons are overpriced, and yes i have been speaking against Gibson a number of times. unfortunately im against you on this, i dont like thin necks and love my necks thick like a baseball bat this a LP would fit me perfect.

but on the price of ESP, i have yet to find something i love about them. with an asking price that rivals some custom shops i would demand something special and to make things worse their site aint informative. its kinda hard to explain it, im just not impressed with ESP's i kinda see them as the Lexus of guitars. Nice but its no BMW.

other guitars? hmm

RR24
Blackjack ATX (horizon copy lol)

ps: i have a bias against metal axes  laugh.gif
I have considered the ATX smile.gif Isn't that pretty "metal" too? Custom Shops? For example?

But definitely not the RR24. Its not my type tongue.gif For weird shapes my maximum is the LTD Axxion? The Mustaine one.

QUOTE(aneyekay1 @ Feb 3 2011, 12:43 AM)
+100

The eclipse has a better feel than ur average gibson les paul
its thinner and lighter but can still beat the crap of gibsons IMO

who cares if it looks "metal-fied" ,doesnt mean u cant play other genres with it?
I agree. smile.gif

QUOTE(guitarinspiresme @ Feb 3 2011, 01:59 AM)
i dont think so. esp thin necks and light body doesnt mean its good and will beat the crap out of gibson.
i prefer slightly thicker necks and heavy guitars definately feels better. thats me, maybe u like it the other way la.
looks play a part to imo. don tell me u get one alexi laiho and play country? theres nothing wrong just wierd.
u too smile.gif
Hmm... I prefer lighter guitars, if not I would definitely have gotten a Gibson? Or if I had the cash, an Eclipse Full Thickness.

tongue.gif

I don't know wor... I'd say my maximum budget is RM7k smile.gif

QUOTE(daryl2811 @ Feb 3 2011, 02:34 AM)
EH, CAN WHAT!  rclxms.gif
Would love to see that la. biggrin.gif
^^ You buy lahh biggrin.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Feb 3 2011, 11:37 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Feb 3 2011, 11:17 AM)
yea the ATX is pretty metal, under ESP too  tongue.gif  but that sets you back 5k instead of 6-7k with similar specs. you get blackouts instead of EMG 81/85, the only thing that metal heads dont like would be the thick neck.

correct me if im wrong, but a good "mid range" ESP would damage you 8-10k. in that range you can scout for a j-custom and even try to get it from japan. its also just below fender custom shops which commands a price range above 10k. even in that range in aus you can custom make your own axe by stand alone shops.
Most ESPs, the standard series, are about 6-10k, the ESP Customs are about 15k+ and the ESP Custom Shop guitars are about 20k+

The one I'm shooting for is just under 7k, and is handbuilt by luthiers in Japan.

The ATX retail price is RM4790, for that price I might as well top up about a thousand and get the H-1001.

Either ways, the ATX is floating, and I'm looking for a fixed/string-thru/Wilkinson, not a Floyd or Edge. smile.gif

I've never really been into Ibanez, but I'm keeping my options open. I was looking at the PRS Mira too.

isaacmiranda7
post Feb 3 2011, 11:51 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(aneyekay1 @ Feb 3 2011, 11:49 AM)
buy a PRS Mira la,but still rm6k-7k i think,
go for the Mira X,its about rm4.5k+
its lighter and with a set of new pickups,layan habis
I know ^^ and its high on my list, but its a 22 fretter if I'm not mistaken, and I have nothing against 22 fretters, but I'd prefer having another 24, but.. we'll see. wink.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Feb 3 2011, 03:06 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Feb 3 2011, 12:12 PM)
aye, we are about right the Standard is right under the Custom Series of most re known guitar makers, for that same price a standard i can aim for a j-custom. the Customs are more expensive than a Fender Custom Shop and the ESP Custom Shop is about the same price as a Gibson Custom Shop

in that kinda range i just think its too much, for me lar. i would reluctantly take a Gibson LP over an ESP any day but thats me lar. lol

eh wait ATX got string thru models i dont know if they are available in kl.
I'll check out the string-thru ATX, but for that price I could get a used Horizon (: and wouldn't you agree that luthiers>builders and in most cases MIJ > MIK? I don't know lah :-) I still got time to decide. EVH anyone? Or the LTD 1000 series :-) I think the ATX would be good if my budget was sub 5k. I'll have to test it out. Any other suggestions?
I was classical, then moved on to metal, and now I'm at a mixed stage, but still considerably heavy. Dream Theater, Extreme.. Yeah. XD
isaacmiranda7
post Feb 3 2011, 05:46 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Feb 3 2011, 05:00 PM)
depends who you ask lar, the whole MIK<MIJ  argument is kinda meh at times. there are very good MIK axes floating around. but the thing is if we were to judge based on "Made In" then MIA > MIJ, as in the 80's Japan was the "low" end of the world (think indonesia now). then again even if we consider that the ESP would still be over priced. mind you the Standard goes up against a Fender Deluxe, which is the highest of fender MIA models with the best woods around. its no metal axe, but if fender can make an MIA axe with top features i would question what ESP is doing with theirs. tongue.gif

tone wise im also skeptical, correct me if im wrong but what i know of metal tone comes majority from teh preamp. which means that an axe with the best tone wood will not shine, a fender strat played through an ENGL would still be full of metal mojo.

as for me, i started with nu-metal, then went into metal, then got lazy and now i play 60-70s stuff

lol
Its true, there are even many MIC axes that are pretty good nowadays.

Hmm... I would say that all ESPs, starting from the standard series of course, not the LTDs, have top features too. Would you please elaborate? All standard (not sig) ESPs are between the RM6.5 - RM8k bracket, not a very big difference. Anything higher than that is either Sig or Custom or Custom Shop.
isaacmiranda7
post Feb 3 2011, 05:57 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(bumfart @ Feb 3 2011, 05:52 PM)
i got a japanese fender. i bought seymour duncan pickups swapped them with the originals.

recently i bought an ESP KH-2

now i am looking for a good quality 12 string acoustic. i don't really know about 12 strings. any recommendations? anyone wanna sell me?
PICTURES ON THE KH-2!
isaacmiranda7
post Feb 3 2011, 06:21 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Apple_DarreN @ Feb 3 2011, 06:08 PM)
Quality control..
Yup smile.gif The standard of ESPs is maintained at a very very high standard.
isaacmiranda7
post Feb 3 2011, 06:45 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Apple_DarreN @ Feb 3 2011, 06:35 PM)
Yea.. but mostly it depends.. always test a intruments before buying..
Sometimes its just not possible biggrin.gif But yes, on 99% of the cases, I agree. But you can't test a CS order before buying one.
isaacmiranda7
post Feb 3 2011, 11:32 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Apple_DarreN @ Feb 3 2011, 07:05 PM)
Well.. in that case. Agree. LOL

Mainly custom shop orders are perfectly fitter for you right? only a small chance that the CS order will be crap
You never know. tongue.gif

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Feb 3 2011, 10:40 PM)
well like i said if the EC and the H series of LTD are anything to go by i am not impressed, i wont say its features but if an ESP can only do metal well and have a boring clean i would be rather disappointed.

care to change my perspective by letting me go on a trial run  tongue.gif

then again i would dare say i might have a bias as im not in search for a metal tone  smile.gif
Well, which EC and H did you play?

Hmm.. I guess so. Perhaps you'd be better off trying the LTD Xtone series? (I'm looking at these too besides the Mira biggrin.gif) I hear they're great. And now that we've got another ESP user here besides myself... tongue.gif

@Bumfart Care to say anything about your KH-2? I'm planning on getting another ESP or LTD as a backup for my current ESP Mirage, any suggestions? Not necessarily ESP/LTD. My current axe has been modded to super "heavy" specs, o I'm looking for something that will rock, not necessarily as hard, but will a good clean tone.
isaacmiranda7
post Feb 4 2011, 12:09 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Axel95 @ Feb 3 2011, 11:33 PM)
Isaac: Ibanez PGM? I really digg those purple colour ones. biggrin.gif
I'm not much of a PGM guy. The lead guitarist in my band had two MIJ ones.. Sure, nice sounds, but not my type of feel.

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Feb 3 2011, 11:36 PM)
i cant remember which one, it was waay back then in mid valley and i was like dood gimmie something 3k and another 5k.

toy'ed with it and like i was not impressed with the price. to make things worse i play almost everything on clean, if the axe cant make me happy on clean then its axed (lame pun intended)
Hmm... I see. But most "pro" line guitars nowadays new are 5k upward, no? Music Man, PRS, ESP, GnL..

QUOTE(bumfart @ Feb 3 2011, 11:39 PM)
we did not play metal lah. we played our own folkish songs. i know, kh-2 and folk???? i wanted to use the strat, but it was badly in need of refretting

if you already have a heavy ESP, and you want good clean tone, i would recommend something with seymour duncans. it will rock hard, but the clean tones are friggin beautiful
This is what someone said earlier about an RR24 and Taylor Swift tongue.gif

I already know what pickups I'll be putting in tongue.gif Now I'm just worried about the shape, what's good for money/showing off/nice to play on tongue.gif I really like the Horizon, but I already have something Super Strat shaped... And I like the Eclipse too D: As well as the Xtone PD-1..

And as for what I'll be putting in.. DEFINITELY BARE KNUCKLE biggrin.gif

isaacmiranda7
post Feb 4 2011, 12:24 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

Nice price biggrin.gif AHAHAHAHA! But ESPs hard to find used here. tongue.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Feb 5 2011, 12:26 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(xnobys @ Feb 4 2011, 11:37 AM)
I was an ESP fanboy once... Almost bought myself an Urban Camo Viper. Kaw kaw defending the brand even though they are over-priced. Could get a Caparison/J-Custom for their standards. But after reading the reviews and watching some youtube videos, I'd rather invest on a good amp...

And speaking of high ESP quality standard, these might change that perception. Especially Part 2 and 3.

I guess so lah biggrin.gif

Basically Caparison = MIA-level Jackson mahh.

I'm keeping an open mind I guess, Music Man does look tempting too. smile.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Feb 5 2011, 01:16 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(i_bony @ Feb 5 2011, 12:48 AM)
hye guys,can u help me out?
i want to change pickup for schecter omen 6,but i didnt know which one.
currently eyeing on the EMG HZ H4 & H4A,is it good?
my budget is rm400 and below for both pickups.
and i play metal and rock the most.
hope u guys can help me figure it out.
thanks in advance! smile.gif
Save up an extra hundred and get actual EMGs.
isaacmiranda7
post Feb 5 2011, 01:19 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

Used pickups FTW.
isaacmiranda7
post Feb 5 2011, 01:56 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Feb 5 2011, 01:28 AM)
What's a good pick up to complement an LP?

I like how my guitar is sounding so far, the stock pickups at neck cleans are great and the distortion I get from the bridge is throaty and mature (for lack of better description - refined maybe?) sounding. But I'm currently toying with the idea of going from clean to crunch by just switching pick ups, but don't want something as drastic as the SD Invader on my Ibanez. Suggestions?
Hmm... Think about BKPs. biggrin.gif I suggest you mail Tim from BKP, the email is on the website. xD
isaacmiranda7
post Feb 5 2011, 05:05 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

BKP Mule or VH2?

Added on February 5, 2011, 9:18 pmWhat do you guys think of Rasmus by Suhr?

This post has been edited by isaacmiranda7: Feb 5 2011, 09:18 PM
isaacmiranda7
post Feb 6 2011, 07:02 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

What's the Caparison one? yawn.gif I'm looking for cheaper alternatives biggrin.gif

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0409sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:24 AM