805 posts

ok, ive reuploaded. Also, please feel free to solo over it if you want

Track
led_zep_freak
post Jul 9 2005, 10:42 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(ssslayerrr @ Jul 5 2005, 01:00 AM)
1. why the fjook do the drums sound so weak? I tried setting their volume to full, and really lowered the volumes of the otehr audio tracks, but it still sounds ....wimpy. what am i doing wrong?

2. The drums again, sound really synthetic and too perfect, any way to correct this?
3. Any good VST drumset?

Pamgrierdies in this part
Err... I'm no expert in this, but :
1. It's MIDI drums right?? I dunno how it works but I suppose that's how it should be. Try recording the drums into audio and *maybe add a little overdrive to add warmth and increase its volume. Ample amount of reverb should help too.
2. Try varying the intensity of each hit (You using the MIDI map of Cubase right?) and *maybe recreate the ghost notes of the snare. Perhaps a soft & short delay would help?
3. The only VST drumset I've used it the one came with Computer Music magazine (they offered a few more studio-quality VST too thumbup.gif ), which is pretty good. They have one acoustic drum set and the rest are pretty much techno/electronica-ish. If you remember my track Oriental Break, the drums are coming directly from the VST.
*Don't have the CD with me now, it's with my friend, whom I've lost contact with.

Other than that, I fjooking dig the panning you did in the beginning. The riff's ace even though it's a cover/whatever.

ssslayerrr
post Jul 10 2005, 11:12 AM

805 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Jul 9 2005, 10:42 PM)
Err... I'm no expert in this, but :
1. It's MIDI drums right?? I dunno how it works but I suppose that's how it should be. Try recording the drums into audio and *maybe add a little overdrive to add warmth and increase its volume. Ample amount of reverb should help too.
2. Try varying the intensity of each hit (You using the MIDI map of Cubase right?) and *maybe recreate the ghost notes of the snare. Perhaps a soft & short delay would help?
3. The only VST drumset I've used it the one came with Computer Music magazine (they offered a few more studio-quality VST too thumbup.gif ), which is pretty good. They have one acoustic drum set and the rest are pretty much techno/electronica-ish. If you remember my track Oriental Break, the drums are coming directly from the VST.
*Don't have the CD with me now, it's with my friend, whom I've lost contact with.

Other than that, I fjooking dig the panning you did in the beginning. The riff's ace even though it's a cover/whatever.

Ok, thanks for the feedback. I have a few questions.

OK, in understand this, but using midi drums, i tried applying effects available to the audio channels to it, but it seems to have different effects for midi altogether. Other than the way you mentioned, isnt there any other way to apply the effects directly to the midi track?

Ok, but this would mean that i would have to create the drums on different tracks, to isolate the snare so that I can export that as audio and add delay just to that. Is that correct? also, other than ghost notes, is there anything else that can be done?

if you still have it in your computer, maybe you could just upload the dll file for me. Anyway, how would you rate the drum set i used for the track? its called lm-7, and is the only one available wiht the cubase installation
ssslayerrr
post Jul 10 2005, 11:15 AM

805 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Jul 9 2005, 10:42 PM)

Thats john carpenter's genius. can you believe this guy, he writes, directs, produces his movies and composes their soundtrack. This track was from his movie, ghosts of mars. its very typical of him, simple repetative beat orientated groove but very catchy
led_zep_freak
post Jul 10 2005, 12:31 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(ssslayerrr @ Jul 10 2005, 11:12 AM)
OK, in understand this, but using midi drums, i tried applying effects available to the audio channels to it, but it seems to have different effects for midi altogether. Other than the way you mentioned, isnt there any other way to apply the effects directly to the midi track?

Ok, but this would mean that i would have to create the drums on different tracks, to isolate the snare so that I can export that as audio and add delay just to that. Is that correct? also, other than ghost notes, is there anything else that can be done?

if you still have it in your computer, maybe you could just upload the dll file for me. Anyway, how would you rate the drum set i used for the track? its called lm-7, and is the only one available wiht the cubase installation
1. Without a plug-in, I'm afraid not. Maybe some VSTi offers such function, but I'm not really sure as I have not used them.

2. Actually you don't really have to go through that much trouble lar. I've read this article Star whichs says that you could humanize ur drum tracks by adding some percussions (eg. bongos, conga & preferbly mic'ed up). Reverb is also very important & try not to make the drums stand up too much in the mix (esp the cymbals). I think if you put layers of audio track on top of it, you should be a ble to hide it.

3. The lm-7 is pretty poor imho, but it's good enough for backing tracks or electronica-type of drum beats... I think. Usually I'ill just use my soundcard's MIDI synth, doesn't make a huge difference tho.
I don't have the VST in my computer anymore, I'm trying to get it back but I've lost contact with my friend who borrowed it & Computer Music isn't popular enough to be on our bookstores tongue.gif .

Anyway once you've remix your track, post em up. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

led_zep_freak
post Jul 10 2005, 12:35 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(ssslayerrr @ Jul 10 2005, 11:15 AM)
Thats john carpenter's genius. can you believe this guy, he writes, directs, produces his movies and composes their soundtrack. This track was from his movie, ghosts of mars. its very typical of him, simple repetative beat orientated groove but very catchy
Really? Well this is the first time I've heard of his name blush.gif I'ill check out some of his stuff. Sounds damn good. thumbup.gif

ssslayerrr
post Jul 11 2005, 09:52 AM

805 posts

ok, I figured out how to use the soundfont capability of my card, and downloaded some pretty good sounding drum sets, but they are huge (one is 60 megs +)
modD
post Jul 11 2005, 07:00 PM

the forest whispers my name
942 posts

hey guys, here's the .flp file for my Fearful Solution project. depending on your Fruityloops version, you might/might not be able to play it properly.

linky

This post has been edited by modD: Jul 11 2005, 07:04 PM
huzai
post Jul 16 2005, 02:28 PM

197 posts

hello guys, im also FL user, for real drum i use DFH Samples or Battery2 Samples, tu use the samples u need a vsti plugin like Battery,Kontakt,etc..i've uploaded Battery2 samples before in yousendit.com but its expired now, but if anyone of you need it i can re-upload it back, the file is around 60mb and work in Battery2 vsti..for bass, i use BooBass in FL n eq it a little bit..
also, i want to share with all of u my stuff , here is my link, www.i-bands.net/syns .. all of is programmed using Fruityloops.. thx
xnobys
post Jul 17 2005, 06:56 PM

See me, Feel me, Hear me, You just ruined me...
1,220 posts

man... you guys are definately not speaking in english here...

huzai,
i really think that you're talented notworthy.gif . if possible i really like to learn from you hands-on.
modD
post Jul 18 2005, 01:11 AM

942 posts

QUOTE(huzai @ Jul 16 2005, 02:28 PM)
hello guys, im also FL user, for real drum i use DFH Samples or Battery2 Samples, tu use the samples u need a vsti plugin like Battery,Kontakt,etc..i've uploaded Battery2 samples before in yousendit.com but its expired now, but if anyone of you need it i can re-upload it back, the file is around 60mb and work in Battery2 vsti..for bass, i use BooBass in FL n eq it a little bit..
also, i want to share with all of u my stuff , here is my link, www.i-bands.net/syns .. all of is programmed using Fruityloops.. thx
share la, after that i'll upload on my server and no need yousendit anymore.

anyway i've never worked with this vsti thingy before... worth a try! hopefully can get better metal drums sound compared to what i'm using now...

huzai
post Jul 18 2005, 09:39 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(xnobys @ Jul 17 2005, 06:56 PM)
man... you guys are definately not speaking in english here...

huzai,
i really think that you're talented  notworthy.gif . if possible i really like to learn from you hands-on.
smile.gif thank you xnobys, just ask me what u want to know, i'll try my best to teach it..

huzai
post Jul 18 2005, 09:42 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(modD @ Jul 18 2005, 01:11 AM)
share la, after that i'll upload on my server and no need yousendit anymore.

anyway i've never worked with this vsti thingy before... worth a try! hopefully can get better metal drums sound compared to what i'm using now...
orait dude, i'll inform u after i upload it, btw, if u want a metal drum sound, u should have Drumkit From Hell , Drumkit From Hell 2, Drumkit From Hell Superior or Imperial BFD.
if u are members in audionews.ru, u can download it there using torrent..

modD
post Jul 18 2005, 12:49 PM

942 posts

can't register in audionews.ru la, it says i need to be invited by a current member. u a member? i searched in google for drumkit from hell torrents and all i get are dead torrents sad.gif
huzai
post Jul 18 2005, 12:55 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(modD @ Jul 18 2005, 12:49 PM)
can't register in audionews.ru la, it says i need to be invited by a current member. u a member? i searched in google for drumkit from hell torrents and all i get are dead torrents sad.gif
laugh.gif i am member in there but to invite user, i must upload 10gb > .. where can i upload torrent without register ?
modD
post Jul 18 2005, 05:33 PM

942 posts

dunno lah... seems that every torrent site requires you to register first.
i checked out the infos for DFH Superior... bloody hell it's 35 GB!!! hopefully some shop in LY sells it.

for now, i just downloaded NsKit 7 free edition (70Mb) and hope it's good enough.

how about BFD Fxpansion? is it good?
huzai
post Jul 18 2005, 05:37 PM

197 posts

hehe, DFH Superior Contains 9 dvd.. and require 40gb for samples.. hehe.. BFD just like DFH..
huzai
post Jul 19 2005, 10:26 AM

197 posts

guys. i've uploaded acoustic drumkit.. but to use it u need Native Instrument Battery.

Here is the link :
http://s13.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=1ADM8Z5...3W2UMRKWB5UVTI1

This post has been edited by huzai: Jul 19 2005, 11:54 AM
modD
post Jul 19 2005, 11:44 AM

942 posts

downloading...
huzai
post Jul 20 2005, 10:13 AM

197 posts