1,583 posts

look for LCD tv that have "GAME MODE" it should be ok
hz428
post Nov 24 2010, 11:27 AM

1,056 posts

panasonic TH-L42U29K
sony KLV40BX400

any model from other brands as well? cause i find it hard to obtain the 100hz motion in the official sites
camrycilver
post Nov 24 2010, 01:50 PM

'Sheet' Happens. Just Take It Easy. Relax la.. (`_´)v
1,234 posts

QUOTE(hz428 @ Nov 24 2010, 11:27 AM)
panasonic TH-L42U29K
sony KLV40BX400

any model from other brands as well? cause i find it hard to obtain the 100hz motion in the official sites
is tis Plasma models? hmm.gif
calvin_ng
post Nov 25 2010, 09:51 AM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

I dont think Sony have Plasma .... they have discontinue plasma from their line...
camrycilver
post Nov 25 2010, 12:25 PM

1,234 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Nov 25 2010, 09:51 AM)
I dont think Sony have Plasma .... they have discontinue plasma from their line...
oh yea, Sony don hav Plasma sweat.gif
Drian
post Nov 25 2010, 04:34 PM

4,999 posts

Is there a big difference between Full HD screen and non full HD plasma assuming my TV size is only 42 inch.

It's around 1.8K premium for a Full HD screen at the same size.

This post has been edited by Drian: Nov 25 2010, 04:34 PM
camrycilver
post Nov 25 2010, 09:22 PM

1,234 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Nov 25 2010, 04:34 PM)
Is there a big difference between Full HD screen and non full HD plasma assuming my TV size is only 42 inch.

from my eyes, not much diff... blink.gif (maybe no diff at all shocking.gif )
azbro
post Nov 26 2010, 12:04 AM

4,403 posts

Depends, if you are tired from work or viewing it late night or early morning, eyes vision blur2...you will see not difference smile.gif
It also depends on the source.

But come on...just get the FullHD version...it has never been so affordable.

This post has been edited by azbro: Nov 26 2010, 12:05 AM
penangmee
post Nov 26 2010, 12:08 AM

633 posts

Depends on source if BR slight diff. But if astro - no difference
camrycilver
post Nov 26 2010, 02:10 AM

1,234 posts

bcos plasma PQ slightly dark a bit than lcd/led... difficult 2 c dfference... blink.gif
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 26 2010, 07:04 AM

12,696 posts

Watching Bluray, there is no doubt the Plasma has the big 'wow' factor, absolutely great.

But comparing CRT (one of the best from the old days, a big Sony) vs Plasma watching DVD, I somehow got the feeling it's better off watching CRT. And I suspect, when watching Astro or normal Satellite program, it may be the same or worst. Anyone else got this type of feeling?

BTW, I was watching the Panasonic 50U and the Samsung 6500. Both the same.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Nov 26 2010, 07:16 AM
calvin_ng
post Nov 26 2010, 08:10 AM

1,583 posts

old CRT TV resolution is 420p like so and you need to stretch the DVD/astro pic to fit 1080p of course blur lah....
piscesguy
post Nov 26 2010, 08:15 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

Astro/DVD will have better PQ on HD ready plasma.
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 26 2010, 08:37 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Nov 26 2010, 08:15 AM)
Astro/DVD will have better PQ on HD ready plasma.
I don't understand. DVD is 520 lines. HD Ready Plasma is 720 line and Full HD is 1080 line.

So regardless of which plasma you use, both have to process the DVD's 520 to display picture. So how can HDReady be better than FullHD in viewing DVD?

piscesguy
post Nov 26 2010, 08:42 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Nov 26 2010, 08:37 AM)
I don't understand. DVD is 520 lines. HD Ready Plasma is 720 line and Full HD is 1080 line.

So regardless of which plasma you use, both have to process the DVD's 520 to display picture. So how can HDReady be better than FullHD in viewing DVD?
dvd is 480 line. biggrin.gif

A DVD is going to look at best on a 480p TV. 1080p TVs or upconverting DVD players will create too much scaling and noise in the image. Scaling is bad regardless how good the scaler is. You want to always display the video at its native resolution.
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 26 2010, 09:00 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Nov 26 2010, 08:42 AM)

A DVD is going to look at best on a 480p TV. 1080p TVs or upconverting DVD players will create too much scaling and noise in the image. Scaling is bad regardless how good the scaler is. You want to always display the video at its native resolution.
I didn't know DVD is 480 lines because this wikipedia site mentioned 520 lines.

To display picture on 1080p TV, you have to upconvert from 480 to 1080

To display picture on 720p TV, you have to upconvert from 480 to 720.

So in either case, both have to undergo conversion. So why is it converting to 1080 is worst than 720?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image_resolution

Now does anyone know how many lines are the transmission from station like Sun TV, CCTV etc? I don't seem to be able to find those information and my Mandarin is only ground level blush.gif
http://www.tv14.net/china-sun-tv/

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Nov 26 2010, 09:04 AM
calvin_ng
post Nov 26 2010, 09:28 AM

1,583 posts

480 is for NTSC and 520 is for PAL

duh.....
camrycilver
post Nov 26 2010, 06:34 PM

1,234 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Nov 26 2010, 08:42 AM)

i've been using hdmi dvd n upscale it to 1080i on HD ready lcd... PQ ok.. rolleyes.gif
calvin_ng
post Nov 26 2010, 06:36 PM

1,583 posts

Wait till you see real 1080p movies from bluray
neb
post Nov 26 2010, 06:37 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Nov 26 2010, 09:28 AM)
480 is for NTSC and 520 is for PAL

duh.....
PAL should be 576i

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0191sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:42 AM