4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Hobbies RC Flying Models v3

zeroglyph
post May 21 2012, 02:35 PM

woot!!! senior member now?
1,255 posts

QUOTE(Davidyeong @ May 19 2012, 11:45 AM)
after honeybee which heli u going to ply? 450? or small size heli?  hmm.gif
not sure yet. original plan was not to get too involved in this hobby. so probably won't be getting into CP any time soon. plus, the complexity of CP mechanics scares me sweat.gif .
zeroglyph
post May 21 2012, 07:52 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(leroy87 @ May 21 2012, 07:47 PM)
guys my lamav4 when turning always the blade hit each other n. crash.. what's the reason...  or what must I mod?
as in banking turns? you can't really do banking turns with a coax, even with extended inner shaft.
zeroglyph
post May 23 2012, 03:48 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(QiW @ May 23 2012, 01:37 PM)
no idea ..
but one thing is for sure ... BIGGER = $$$$ .. hahahaha
...especially after crashing! sweat.gif

Added on May 23, 2012, 3:54 pm
QUOTE(zaku90 @ May 23 2012, 08:09 AM)
how about for my v911, it can hover, but it does not hover statically at one place, it hover in a rotation movement... why is that???
...in addition to Qiw's comment:

- check the fly bar. a 45 degree affects the flight characteristic a lot. make sure it's not bent and is level with the main blade spinning plane. (this is usually the prime suspect for TBE)
- check the main shaft make sure it's not bent too.

This post has been edited by zeroglyph: May 23 2012, 03:54 PM
zeroglyph
post May 24 2012, 05:30 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(Davidyeong @ May 24 2012, 12:11 PM)
fixed pitch or collective pitch maybe? haha...i oso bored with the lama v3...then yesterday i use some of the lama v3 parts to make a Airboat.  biggrin.gif
that's why i also have a honey bee. thumbup.gif

i use my coax for indoor flying and in flight video capturing. FP/CP can't really be flown safely indoors.
zeroglyph
post May 25 2012, 02:35 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(Davidyeong @ May 24 2012, 07:44 PM)
for the video capturing...which video recorder u using? i got 1 mini dv bought from mudah around rm100...but quality not really good at night...day still ok.  biggrin.gif
just some cheap "spy cam" that fits nicely on both my coax and honey bee. not that good, but heck, it does the job.

QUOTE(leroy87 @ May 24 2012, 10:24 PM)
was thinking to go for honey bee 2 instead... does it fight wind better?
a tad better than a coax, but of course not as good as a CP. the main thing is, it's cheap and flies pretty much like a CP. so if you plan to move to a CP, the HB is a good platform to learn on. even hovering it in a spot is challenging.

on that note, does a 250 size CP handles the wind as good a 450 size? i suspect not, but what do i know blush.gif .

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ May 25 2012, 08:43 AM)
How much is the HOney Bee 2?

Is there any model that is 2.4ghz?
there is, but the HB itself is scarce. not many shop sells it and parts are hard to find too. but it's quite crash worthy out of the box.

QUOTE(leroy87 @ May 25 2012, 09:50 AM)
honey bee 2 shud be around 300 there.. its single  blade... and slighlt bigger than lamav4
i got mine for about 360. it's a 300 class, so it's bigger than most coax.
zeroglyph
post May 26 2012, 01:06 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(cpmboy @ May 25 2012, 11:38 PM)
I readed somewhere in some forums, saying that the short and longer ball links at the swash determine the cyclic movement whether you want it to be more responsive or less responsive...I forgot where it was....rcgroup???
this is true on the HBFP. i swaped to the longer ball and it does become more responsive and sensitive. although i'm not sure whether it will have much effect on such a small heli. by angling the linkage arm, you give the main rotor more movement range.

on the lama, the extra ball for the flybar is probably just part of the moulding process. in won't do anything.
zeroglyph
post May 29 2012, 02:41 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ May 29 2012, 01:59 AM)

was so stoked and amazed with the 3D capability of rc heli haha. (damn, this is what all noobs crave for when they enter the new world tongue.gif)

...and it's also the reason why a lot of people quit the hobby. those stunts are not as easy as it looks. sweat.gif beginners tends to just jump straight to 3D flying and end up with a really expensive paper weight.
zeroglyph
post May 29 2012, 07:46 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ May 29 2012, 05:13 PM)
Get the v911 you won't regret it. I gave up on 6channels long time ago. Sometimes its just the joy of flying. No need to do 3D.

Maybe one of these days since those china 6 channels are cheap.  icon_idea.gif

true, i'm just into this hobby because i like Heli sim game. no intention to do 3D flying, at least not yet.

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ May 29 2012, 05:13 PM)
EDIT:

What model is this? Stated as Honey Bee IV but cannot seem to find any videos of it on YouTube.

Any reviews and also what is the parts availability?

thanks!
that is the honey bee 1st version (but with LiPo). not the updated honey bee v2. FP honey bee only goes up to V2. CP has a few version. the HBFPV2 is much tougher.

This post has been edited by zeroglyph: May 29 2012, 07:46 PM
zeroglyph
post May 30 2012, 08:12 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ May 30 2012, 07:08 PM)
not the antenna. According to sources online, its the receiver crystal. The small cylindrical thing next to what i would assume to be the gyro.

I'm getting a replacement board la. No point my 911 sit here gather dust also.

By any chance you know anything about the honey bee V2's spare parts? Most of the online store i go to list the parts as "out of stock"

is it hard to get stock? Want a bigger one to play with. 911 too darn small.
well, as i mentioned earlier, spare part for any honey bee is hard to come by(FPv1 and FPv2 uses a lot of common parts). some shops have them, but most likely, not all parts. i've been trying to find after market blades for my HBFPV2 to no avail. i did however managed to get extreme main motor and direct drive motor for it in time square(where i bought the thing).

the FPV2 is quite resilient to minor crashes. the stock blade is strong too. i bought a spare when purchasing my HB, but never had to replace it even after a 10ft outdoor crash into a tree sweat.gif . heck, i've even hit a wall with the blades one time and it still didn't brake.

knowing how to crash properly will definitely help saves on parts in this hobby. thumbup.gif

note however that the HB don't fly like the 911. it's more like a CP. constant input required even to hover.

This post has been edited by zeroglyph: May 30 2012, 08:13 PM
zeroglyph
post May 30 2012, 10:03 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ May 30 2012, 09:42 PM)
Sound interesting. Anymore others that is like the HBFP models? I'm looking for one with 3rd party parts support and affordable for me to just play and forget about it. Esky seems to fit the description. Just that I'm about 2 years too late.  laugh.gif
thing is FP heli like the honey bee(w/ 90 degree flybar) are becoming less popular these day due to the newer 45 degree flybar FP. the 90 deg flybar FP flies just like a CP, but they don't handle the wind like a CP and usually are too big/unstable to be played indoors.

the 45 deg flybar FP flies like a coax, so although it doesn't handle the wind that good, it's still stable enough for an enjoyable indoor flight but without blade clash. so more beginners are moving towards the 45 deg flybar FP, like the 911. so thus, most company are migrating towards the 45 deg flybar FP, esky doesn't though.

so what's my point?

coax<45degFP<90degFP<CP, basically that's about it. sweat.gif as such, heli like the HBFP are phasing out.
zeroglyph
post May 31 2012, 07:33 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ May 30 2012, 10:22 PM)
but i don't seem to see any 45deg FPs around. Those that are at least 450 sized. Walkera and Align is too darn expensive.
well the common ones available here are walkera Cb180 series, CB100 series and the likes. your 911 is a 45deg flybar FP, same as that double horse 9116.

walkera cb180q isn't half bad and look really sweet and the cb180z and cb180q2 comes brushless and is shaft drive. if only walkera's stuff aren't too fricking expensive for a beginners' budget.

IMO, the next step for any beginners are definitely 90deg flybar FP. it will get you accustomed to the unstable nature of an rc heli and will prepare you should you decide to go CP. get the HBFPv2 if you can find it(or the likes). a heli that flies like a CP but without the complexity = fun thumbup.gif .

This post has been edited by zeroglyph: May 31 2012, 07:41 AM
zeroglyph
post May 31 2012, 02:02 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ May 31 2012, 12:44 PM)
../snip
they say 3D flying is superbly hard and it's like skateboarding. Cool but not easy to do, you will give up very easily icon_rolleyes.gif
but unlike skateboarding, crashing can be expensive (especially CP). my advice, learn how to crash properly and it can save a bunch of unnecessary damage. icon_rolleyes.gif

the art of crashing 101:
1. know when you are no longer in control (can't recover anymore) <-- at this point trying to recover will only cause more damage
2. ALWAYS throttle down BEFORE you hit something <--this really saves you rotor head parts and electronics too.
3. quickly deliberate where to crash with the least damage <-- into a bush?, into a tree?, head-on to sofas or wall?, onto tarmac?
zeroglyph
post May 31 2012, 03:55 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ May 31 2012, 02:35 PM)
ehh.... if you break some bones, it's huge sum oso XD
well at least the skateboard would still be working sweat.gif . rc heli can cause serious injuries too when crashed into people or yourself.

This post has been edited by zeroglyph: May 31 2012, 03:56 PM
zeroglyph
post May 31 2012, 05:56 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(kertaznet @ May 31 2012, 03:59 PM)
exactly lol..

Btw v911 vs Esky Honey Bee 2 vs EskyBelt CPV2 which one is better? I know CPV2 cost alot more than my range but just askin opinion..

And how about some Syma & Shuang Ma model?
none. none of them are better than the other as all of them are targeted to different skill level.

learning curve wise
v911< HBFP < Belt CP

the CP is more for advance player. if you start directly with a CP, you'll probably find more frustration than fun. learning curve is steep. a FP like the HB still have a high learning curve (if you've never flown before), but it is a little more forgiving for beginners(less complex mechanics). the v911 (and any FP with 45degree flybar) is tailored for 1st time flyer. by design it auto stabilized, like a coax (but w/o the blade strikes). so it's easy to pick up and fly.

QUOTE(leroy87 @ May 31 2012, 04:31 PM)
yeahh im also looking for somethin better than lama v4 and v911.. 4 chanels any recommendation?
walkera has several offering like i mentioned before. or if you need a bit more challenge, get a FP with 90 degree flybar, like the HBFP.
zeroglyph
post May 31 2012, 08:14 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(leroy87 @ May 31 2012, 06:32 PM)
by 90degrees flybar, means the flybar is fixed at 90degrees? unlike v911 ones the flybar can move up and down.. ?

the walkera cb180Z looks nice..im looking for that kinda shape one..

what about walkera v200d? im just looking for a decent 4channel, around v4 lama size, or abit bigger is ok... just wan to play outdoor cause near my house got 1 tanah lapang by the beach. looks like an awesome place to fly!

Added on May 31, 2012, 6:34 pmsweet the cb180 is 45 degrees flybar.. shud be easy to play..
it's the angle of the flybar in relation to the main blade when you look at the heli from the top. all flybars will still move up and down, else it'll cause more damage in a crash.

QUOTE(kertaznet @ May 31 2012, 07:48 PM)
all rc heli i think can play up to 10~15min without any modification (direct play out of the box)
that's y rc player buy extra battery so that they can play longer..
well, the reason why the fly time is short is mostly because of the heating motors. not because of battery restriction. you should only fly for ~10mins each session(scale with motor size), let the motor cool, and continue the next session. it'll help to prolonged the motors life, especially if it's brushed motors. plus, 10 mins flying is actually quite long, because you must be focus at the time of flying. rclxub.gif

QUOTE(SilverSpoon @ May 31 2012, 07:58 PM)
Then must buy re-chargeable battery to save money & environment?
I read that i needs 6 x AAA battery.
the heli actually uses lipo battery. the AAA is for the transmitter. those don't really suck the battery juice.
zeroglyph
post May 31 2012, 10:00 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(leroy87 @ May 31 2012, 09:36 PM)
zero: owh ok.. a seller recommeded me v120d01.. its shud be smaller than cb180 right? which is better?

any comments on honey bee cT?

my budget is around RM500 maybe..

ive owned v911 and v4 lama.. now looking for smth more challenging and slightly bigger..
v120d01 is pretty cool, brushless & shaft driven CP tail. can't go wrong, except that the price is pretty steep for beginners. you can get it for around ~Rm500?

honey bee CT/CPX, not really recommended. a CP with tail motor won't give you much tail authorities, . perhaps fine for normal flight, but not 3D. plus, the motors are just normal HB motors. doubt it can perform beyond normal flight.
zeroglyph
post May 31 2012, 11:47 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ May 31 2012, 11:00 PM)
Rm500's steep. A few updates on my v911. Board out of stock, so i went on to buy a new heli. As in heli only. without the batts and the charger and the TX. Cost my pocket Rm70.
Any other 90deg flybars to reccomend besides the HBFPv2?

I really like the v2, but looking at the availability of parts, i'm really concerned.
as i said earlier, FP helis with 90deg flybar are phasing out. yes the HBFPv2 parts availability is a concern, so far i only know 1 shop that carries some parts. i'm in KL btw.

QUOTE(leroy87 @ May 31 2012, 11:10 PM)
zero: the v120d01 is around RM550 -.-" and the size if not mistaken is slightly bigger than v911? not sure if its the same as v4 lama... any shop selling the cb180z for a fair price that youve known of? thanx...

TAG: RM70 you get 4 channel or 3 channel wan? as for parts if youre staying in KL , i dont think its going to be hard to find .. so many hobby shops around.. for a flyer like me in Melaka.. maybe abit hard lor.. =\
at that price, i think it's worthed. considering it comes with brushless motor. a lama v4, depending on fuselage, is about 200-250(how the heck do they calculate this anyway?). for me, i think the cb180z is just a nice size for indoors and a little bit of outdoor flight, but probably more expensive.
zeroglyph
post Jun 2 2012, 01:36 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(kertaznet @ Jun 1 2012, 11:39 PM)
I read somewhere that Honey Bee v2 parts are hard to find?

Btw what is the current market price for Lama v3/v4?
err....i believe i just said that a few pages back. blink.gif
zeroglyph
post Jun 6 2012, 10:40 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(zaku90 @ Jun 5 2012, 11:05 PM)
i think they will say, get it and change the electronic... tongue.gif just my instinct.. haha... QIW, where are u... we need your opinion.. biggrin.gif
no, i won't say that. tongue.gif

i'm no sifu, so i don't really know the quality of the electronics on the KDS. but since it's a trex clone, it's quite a safe bet for the long run. heck, i think the belt CP is also quite a safe bet for the long run. sure the electronics aren't that good for 3D flying, but since the spare/upgrade parts are easily available EVERYWHERE, it'll definitely grow with your skill level too.

QUOTE(leroy87 @ Jun 5 2012, 11:25 PM)
itu yg tak shiok tu.. i nak RTF.. sometime i look at the spareparts, the amount of screws and all.. my god, i dont know i can pasang anything or not if any accident happen.. hantar kedai sure kana servis caj..
well to venture into CP you definitely need to have the setup skill. when a CP heli crash, you have to set it up again, not like an FP. that's the main reason i don't want to venture into CP yet. don't want to end up with a "white elephant".

QUOTE(zaku90 @ Jun 5 2012, 11:33 PM)
i like to assemble, but that if the manual is good enough for a beginner... haha.. biggrin.gif
QUOTE(leroy87 @ Jun 5 2012, 11:45 PM)
haha yeah if got manual i ok.. i like to pasang gundam last time muahaha..

so now the question is KDS 450 C / QS / SV is better and good for the long run?

or just straight go for ALIGN TREX 450.
i'm kinda a DIY guy myself, and i built gundams too, but CP heli still scares me sweat.gif . yes, i think the KDS is quite good for the long run, same as any other trex clone.

the thing with align is, they come with good parts to begin with. so if you get an RTF or ARTF trex, it can actually be cheaper on your budget, since you can remove all the mix n match problems.
zeroglyph
post Jun 6 2012, 12:25 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(leroy87 @ Jun 6 2012, 11:11 AM)
this statement i fear. muahhaa.
well...you don't have to set everything up, just to make sure things are the way it's suppose to be e.g: blade pitch, servo linkage and stuff. more moving parts = more fiddling. it's inevitable. laugh.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0480sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:46 AM