QUOTE(QiW @ Mar 23 2012, 12:47 PM)
back to mode 1, obviously. no point switching, i guess. better practice some other stuff than practice switching mode. Hobbies RC Flying Models v3
Hobbies RC Flying Models v3
Mar 23 2012, 02:41 PM
1,255 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
Apr 3 2012, 10:59 AM
QUOTE(theCrab @ Apr 3 2012, 12:39 AM) Oh hi ALL ! i am new to this thread not really. the motors get pretty hot even after 5-6 mins flight, this is true from coax to bigger helis with brushless(although brushless will withstand this better). so bigger batt will just add weight and eat the motors lifespan(especially if not brushless). plus, more maH = bigger size, which means it may not fit your heli and you may loose your center of gravity.plan to get a rc helicopter as my new toy budget below 200 but i've check all battery just last long for 15 minutes is there any extra powerful battery i can get then can last me mroe than 30 minutes? please advise trust me(although i'm still new in this hobby), 5-8mins flights is plenty enough. you'll probably loose focus if you're flying 10mins or more( at least i do). This post has been edited by zeroglyph: Apr 3 2012, 11:01 AM |
Apr 5 2012, 04:30 PM
May 3 2012, 09:37 AM
QUOTE(zaku90 @ May 1 2012, 10:15 AM) btw, is there a big difference in all 3 type to fly it?? coaxial, fixed and also collective pitch??? and if the heli size is different but it is using collective pitch, does it have any different in difficulties on flying it or any other things different?? edit: and what brand or model heli that is stable to fly outside?? and does clone heli has it bad side, meaning like easily broken parts and others?? thanks.. (sorry for so many question) fixed pitch (w/ 45 degree flybar)= flies just like a coax, self stabilizing fixed pitch (w/ 90 degree flybar) = flies like a collective pitch but simpler to setup Collective pitch= able to do acrobatics and more agile. harder to setup heli size generally dictates the responsiveness. bigger helis are less responsive but are more wind resistant, smaller helis, vice versa. a CP heli has better chances flying in the wind. a 300+ size FP/coax have a better chance in the wind than the smaller ones. QUOTE(zaku90 @ May 1 2012, 01:57 PM) owh, ok, so if i'm going for the trex 100, its ok rite?? between 8-10 i'd say btw, this is just for fun question, is it really hard if i am starting with a collective pitch heli?? in a range 1 to 10, 1 being easy, 10 extremely hard... just want to know the baseline here.. and what transmiter model that u suggest if i'm going for collective pitch from align?? QUOTE(zaku90 @ May 2 2012, 11:52 PM) i mean, for you guys, the more experienced, usually you guys using which one on your remote?? Left side is rudder and elevator, right side is throttle and Aileron, or the other one???? or is it the remote u can change to your preference??? but usually you guys use which one?? most remotes, you can just swap the potentiometer to change mode. some (like esky ET4), you only need so exchange the retention spring and flick a switch. note that the mode you fly, depends on the 1st mode you use. so if you want to use mode 2, start with mode 2. else, it's not that easy to change later because it's muscle memory (i know, i've tried). so although most remotes can swap from 1 mode to the other, you won't. so pick a mode to fly in a stick with it. QUOTE(zaku90 @ May 3 2012, 12:07 AM) ooo, ya, btw, if later i go for serious flying, i see that most of the kit dont have Tx, so usually the Tx that we buy can change the mode to our preference??? depends on the design i guess. but logic wise, swapping the potentiometer would work for most remotes. not so sure on the higher end remotes though. |
May 4 2012, 08:46 AM
QUOTE(QiW @ May 3 2012, 12:37 PM) but i find mode 1 easier for forward flight QUOTE(leroy87 @ May 4 2012, 01:29 AM) zaku90: haha WL is some china wan right, i think i have a RC drift car by WL also.. ill go look if can find @ RM130.. what is the shop name selling at Time Square? a 100 size is too small for my taste. i'd go for at least a 200. a 100 size is fun for indoor obstacle course though. QiW: besides v911 what else bigger ones that can recommend? i tot v911 is the medium size, i checked in the internet its actualy a mini rc copter.. QUOTE(QiW @ May 4 2012, 05:41 AM) Added on May 4, 2012, 5:46 am walkera spare parts not cheap at all .. and not easily available .. hehehehe |
May 4 2012, 02:41 PM
QUOTE(leroy87 @ May 4 2012, 01:02 PM) because i just got a cheap mini RC.. by LS.. so tot of getting another 1, slightly bigger size.. what about the Esky Big lama v4.. isit durable? to be honest, i like esky. they are really beginner friendly, in price point that is. the lama v4 is quite a great heli, but some upgrades will be require to handle minor outdoor wind. the big lama is more or less a bigger version of the v4, so it will handle wind a bit better.Any flyers in Melaka or not here? QUOTE(Chongster @ May 4 2012, 02:10 PM) Problem is my area always so windy haha...i crash my HB v2 a few days ago, into a tree. after a 10 foot drop(on grass), only one link arm was broken. it flies again after replacement. the HBFP V2 is indeed more durable. |
May 8 2012, 04:22 PM
QUOTE(Chongster @ May 8 2012, 02:14 PM) hmm .. meaning .. if I want to do proper Mode 2, I need to do some internal wiring changes? in most cases, it's just gimbals swap and some switch flicking involved(servo reverser). no re-soldering or what so ever required. not too hard actually, just need to pay attention to what you are doing.Added on May 8, 2012, 2:16 pm and reason for not detecting it funny is because the 3 channel toy heli that i have, the rudder is on the right side .. so .. playing mode 4 controller is "natural" .. damn . Added on May 8, 2012, 4:24 pm QUOTE(leroy87 @ May 8 2012, 02:24 PM) Added on May 8, 2012, 2:37 pmso can i say that aileron is actually the 4th channel? normal 3channel onli have elevator rudder and throttle rite? This post has been edited by zeroglyph: May 8 2012, 04:24 PM |
May 9 2012, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(Chongster @ May 8 2012, 05:07 PM) I am using eSky controller. Found a switch at the back of the panel (taking off the battery) and fully converted that back to Mode 2. But then... realized that I am doomed. Not used to it .. wondering if Mode 4 is something available commonly? or if other controller can easily "switch" from Mode 2 to Mode 4 or not .... if you're using esky's et4 tx, you just need to swap throttle spring , then flick the pot switch at the back. the pot switch will swap the throttle and elevator and viola, mode 1/2. QUOTE(QiW @ May 8 2012, 06:21 PM) 5th channel is not for collective in ccpm .. it is normally used as remote gyro gain channel my bad, i was referring to flight channels actually. not what's actually written on the rx box(or setup wise). if u do not use radio to adjust your gyro gain then 5 channels sufficient for ccpm heli in the case of 911 micro heli .. there is no case of simple swap soldering IS REQUIRED ... if u fly futaba then no need la .. just swap springs only .. and set the mode via radio software on the tx mode swap, yeah, it's an "in most cases" basis. obviously, programmable tx will be easier and none standard clone would be harder. |
May 10 2012, 09:16 AM
QUOTE(leroy87 @ May 9 2012, 11:42 PM) im getting an Esky lama mode 2.. so if not biasa with it, isit possible to do minor fix to mode 1 maybe? yes it is. esky tx would definitely work with methods described earlier. LAMA tx uses the gimbals swap method.question is, can you find an esky LAMA in mode 2 here? i think most of them comes in mode 1. |
May 10 2012, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(leroy87 @ May 10 2012, 09:47 AM) between mode 1 and mode 2.. which one is more preferable by flyers? any poll on this issue before? hehe.. well, no real advantage on either of them. the general rule is, you fly in the mode you started with. for example, i started in mode 1, because the 1st heli i got was mode 1. 2 years, later i tried to go to mode 2, but it's kinda stupid move, you can't really untrained muscle memory. so i stick with mode 1.if you really want to nitpick. heli wise, i found: mode1: easier for forward flight, as elevator and yaw in on one stick. (especially in the case of coax or helis with similar flight characteristics.) mode2: easier for hovering, as cyclic is on one stick. some argue that mode 2 is more to the real thing, but then, with the real thing, you don't have to learn orientation |
May 14 2012, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(leroy87 @ May 14 2012, 01:18 AM) i recently just bought my esky lama v4.. anyone got any tips on how to tune the lama v4 2.4ghz so that it can hover stably? you didn't ask the seller to test fly the thing for you? seems like the 4-in-1 is messed up, or a motor is defective.when i adjust the throttle trim to middle, it actually spins by itself even though my throttle stick is held down... isit necessary to make all trimmer to middle? or must adjust according to situation? or the gain and proportional setting? usually you don't have to mess with the 4-in-1 setting out of the box. but just in case: the gain is for gyro lock, and proportion is for rotor proportion. turn the proportion knob to where the heli is spinning. if helis spin CW, turn the knob CW and vise versa. try adjusting this knob 1st to see if it helps. QUOTE(QiW @ May 14 2012, 02:57 AM) ESKY LAMA v4 ?? don't be like that la. esky's lama v4 isn't that bad. parts are easy to come by and upgrades are easily available. plus, various fuselage option is a cool feature. hmmm .. compared to the 911 u are gonna kick yourself .. my ESKY coaxial from years ago is on someone's roof somewhere after 2 weeks .. never bothered to retrieve it .. hehehe |
May 14 2012, 03:53 PM
QUOTE(leroy87 @ May 14 2012, 02:05 PM) blade strike as in both upper and lower blades accident each other? i think i had that arlaedy,, painful to the blades man.. anyway where can i get the parts ?? any recommended seller or shops? and wahts the price like? blade strike happens when the heli tilt too much causing the blade spinning planes to clash. not related to the flybar linkage. the seller that you linked didn't sell extended inner shaft. he/she sells the metal part upgrade, which is not that necessary(at least not all of it). http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=658600&hl= this guy here is selling the set for like RM50.. im just wroried its abit hard to fix all those.. i think the blade strike is because the stock v4 onli have 1 linkage from flybar to the upper blade.. you need "extended" inner shaft to help "reduce" blade strikes, which is quite infamous in coax. here's a sample: http://www.rcsmart.com.my/webshaper/store/...roductItem=1074 and yeah, get some hard blade upgrade too, that'll help with the crashing. |
May 16 2012, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(leroy87 @ May 14 2012, 05:14 PM) Added on May 14, 2012, 5:16 pmhttp://www.rcsmart.com.my/webshaper/store/...roductItem=1074 omg one batang besi Rm50.. its like 1/4 price of the heli liao lolz.. but if its really worth it, ill get this and the xtreme blades... Added on May 14, 2012, 5:17 pmbtw is rcsmart price reasonable? i started with 2 coax, an esky lama v4 and a colco apache(1st heli). the colco comes with an extended shaft out of the box, and yeah, you can clearly feel the benefit of it. you can go a little bit more aggressive with an extended inner shaft. rcsmart is just like any other hobby shop. some stuff are cheaper some are more pricey. the sell lipos pretty cheap though. |
May 16 2012, 11:57 AM
QUOTE(leroy87 @ May 16 2012, 09:45 AM) okay thanks.. erm but for batteries what are recommended for lama v4? the tail is wagging? most likely the gyro lock is too tight. loosen the gyro gain a bit.anyway i manage to stabliize my lamav4 already in the air, but just the tail is vibrating while idling.. whats the reason ar? Added on May 16, 2012, 9:51 amthere are many other brand 7.4 battery that offer higher mah .. cheap wei RM20+ only err...yes, but those cheap batteries are....."cheap". won't last. you're comparing against what exactly? |
May 16 2012, 12:02 PM
QUOTE(leroy87 @ May 16 2012, 11:59 AM) i already asked RCmart, they recomend Cellmax which only cost RM20.. shud i go for those or go for any other brand? or stick back with Esky orignal, which cost around RM40+... i just want a safe alternative.. donwan my IC board burn enough liao for esky lama, i like turnigy. for some reason these things just balanced out nicely with the heli. |
May 16 2012, 12:17 PM
QUOTE(leroy87 @ May 16 2012, 12:04 PM) haha ok turnigy 800mah only around RM25.. Rm5 more exp, i take ur words for it.. so the best place to get is frm RCsmart right? haaha. lazy wan to do survey alrady.. i just need some extra fuel! for that Rm5, you can see the difference just in appearance. plus, my coax runs xtreme motors, any batt below 20C won't last too long, it'll get bloated only after several flights.and yeah, rcsmart sells lipo at "competitive" 'price. i bought a 3-cells 900mah in TS for my honey bee at RM55. rcsmart sells a turnigy 3-cells 1000mah only for RM30. |
May 18 2012, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(Davidyeong @ May 18 2012, 01:52 AM) wan to ask something about the Rudder, when i ply my Co-axial heli...i can just spin the heli whatever i wan. but when i ply fixed pitch heli (mine is v200d02)...when i try to spin...the heli will drift to left or right...cant spin like a Co-axial...need to do more control only can stable the heli...is this normal? yes, it's normal. sort of the same condition why an FP/CP heli would want to drift to the left upon lift off. the tail blade exert some force to one side when you spin, so it will definitely try to drift to the opposite side. a coax has no tail blade and thus can spin in one axis. |
May 18 2012, 03:32 PM
QUOTE(Davidyeong @ May 18 2012, 02:11 PM) icic...because i saw a CP heli last time at kelana jaya(not sure 450 or 500 size)...the heli just spin at 1 spot without drift left right front or back. (maybe high end gyro? not really gyro. it actually has to do with:1) weight of the heli - those bigger heli has better CoG doesn't drift that easily 2) belt driven - better tail authority with CP tail 3) gyro gain control - you can control the gyro gain with CP heli(in flight). so if you want to spin like crazy, just disable the gyro lock and the heli would spin freely. - you can spin the v200d02 like that too if you loosen the gyro lock.(can't do it in flight though) This post has been edited by zeroglyph: May 18 2012, 03:35 PM |
May 18 2012, 04:55 PM
May 18 2012, 11:39 PM
QUOTE(Davidyeong @ May 18 2012, 05:23 PM) well, i read somewhere flying an unstable heli actually helps you build your reflex/control skills. you have to constantly try to recover the heli instead of just letting it hover hands free. so it's really not a bad thing |
| Change to: | 0.0869sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:55 PM |