135 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Bottom

Show Pics Of Your Workstation [Thread V5], Opened for Viewing

dma0991
post Sep 12 2011, 02:05 AM

nyoron~
3,333 posts

How much does it cost for each of the SATA expansion card and how many drives are supported per card?
AlamakLor
post Sep 12 2011, 02:16 AM

9,856 posts

The mobo I am using is a server board that uses PCI-X raid card. There are PCI-E version. Raid cards start at around RM400-1k+. Mine support 8 drives per card.
Sky.Live
post Sep 12 2011, 12:59 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Try to google for fileserver build in either engadget or anandtech (cant rmb which RSS i read it from), it's more towards home user build than server eccentric user. Not much people know how configure and maintain them.

I have a workstation desktop, dell precision or something.. brought from office. Gonna dump it edi.. Kinda slow and difficult to upgrade due to the registered ECC RAM

I still don't get what's the differences between a workstation and a home desktop
dma0991
post Sep 12 2011, 03:17 PM

nyoron~
3,333 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Sep 12 2011, 02:16 AM)
The mobo I am using is a server board that uses PCI-X raid card. There are PCI-E version. Raid cards start at around RM400-1k+. Mine support 8 drives per card.
As expected it would be quite pricey but considering that you're using a RAID with parity, the cards might do a better job at calculating the parity rather than depending on the processor itself. Nice rig and file server you have there.

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Sep 12 2011, 12:59 PM)
Try to google for fileserver build in either engadget or anandtech (cant rmb which RSS i read it from), it's more towards home user build than server eccentric user. Not much people know how configure and maintain them.

I have a workstation desktop, dell precision or something.. brought from office. Gonna dump it edi.. Kinda slow and difficult to upgrade due to the registered ECC RAM

I still don't get what's the differences between a workstation and a home desktop
The difference is not huge if you're with the lower end workstation but if you're spending for the higher end workstation which depends on your work requirements then the workstation will be quite different than a home desktop. Usually workstations would not be overclocked or not allowed to be overclocked so it uses more expensive parts like Xeon or dual Xeons for more performance. ECC RAM is also one of those server specific kind of parts but not too important to the regular user. Also you would more likely to find rendering type GPU like the Quadro/Firepro with workstations and gaming type GPU with home desktops.
blacktubi
post Sep 12 2011, 05:04 PM

-
8,405 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Sep 11 2011, 11:08 PM)
I don't have a render farm, but I have a file-farm (file server)

Forget about lifting this, I think it weights more than my 800D
Mind if I ask, basically what do you store there.
I just googled around and found tha unraid is powered from USB Drive, will it be stable since I know some USB flash drive will overheats after long term
Shunz
post Sep 12 2011, 05:10 PM

217 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Sep 12 2011, 02:16 AM)
Do you use any UPS?
Thanks notworthy.gif
kaiserreich
post Sep 12 2011, 05:11 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

IF you want to see more pictures of file servers like these, head to Hardforum and look for the Storage section.
AlamakLor
post Sep 12 2011, 06:07 PM

9,856 posts

Unraid runs from USB. You need to get a decent usb key and submit the GUID when purchasing the pro key. The USB drive is just to boot up the OS, nothing much gets written into it while the server is running.

I archive everything in there - Media, documents, and etc. Since everything is protected, I just toss everything in there and use SSD for OS drive. Just think of it as a mini SAN. One thing that I'd hoped unraid would be able to do in the future is support lan teaming. There's still some wait time with gigabit connection. Fiber costs too much and isn't very practical for home use.

My server is in my rack, with an APC rackmount UPS + Network controller card that triggers everything connected to the UPS to shut down automatically biggrin.gif

loonsave
post Sep 13 2011, 10:36 PM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Sep 11 2011, 11:30 PM)
It's my file server. Only 1 cpu is in there, I moved my E8400 into the server and it's actually an overkill. The server is powered by an OS called Unraid (lime technology) which is based on a linux distro. The server comes with 20 hot swap bays, and 2 more internal 3.5" bays. 1 drive is required for Parity and it protects the whole array.

I can have 19 hdds with 1 parity drive. If one of my drives died, I could just replace that drive and the system will rebuild all data. If 1 data drive died, and the parity drive died at the same time, I lose the data drive and parity drive. If 2 data drives died, I lose data on both drives. This is very similar to RAID4/5.

Since it is powered by Linux, I could run all kinds of stuff in it. My squeezebox server is being hosted there, so is my SABNZBD, Utorrent and etc are all hosted in there as well biggrin.gif
I would assume your OS running on the kingston pendrive (Didn't read till the last post) tongue.gif

I'm building my network farm and hyper-v farm as well. Saving money now.

This post has been edited by loonsave: Sep 13 2011, 10:39 PM
Norazam
post Sep 14 2011, 09:26 PM

424 posts

change my cooling to wc hahaha...

5p3ak
post Sep 15 2011, 04:27 PM

CPE, FIG Certified Gymnastics Coach
5,648 posts

Why your GPU no waterblock ah?
KcX35
post Sep 15 2011, 06:21 PM

ㄨㄨ
2,364 posts

may i knoe how much is wc system?
TechnoG
post Sep 15 2011, 06:28 PM

9,337 posts

^

a good one cost >RM800. Unless you want it just for your CPU, then RM600.

Added on September 15, 2011, 6:29 pm
QUOTE(5p3ak @ Sep 15 2011, 04:27 PM)
I believe cause it is not a reference-designed card tongue.gif

This post has been edited by TechnoG: Sep 15 2011, 06:29 PM
Norazam
post Sep 15 2011, 06:36 PM

424 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Sep 15 2011, 04:27 PM)
my gpu no block yet llaa
5p3ak
post Sep 15 2011, 07:38 PM

5,648 posts

QUOTE(TechnoG @ Sep 15 2011, 06:28 PM)
^

a good one cost >RM800. Unless you want it just for your CPU, then RM600.

Added on September 15, 2011, 6:29 pm
I believe cause it is not a reference-designed card tongue.gif
shocking.gif Walao?! Need reference-designed GPU only can put WB at GC?! WATDAPHUCK?! shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif ohmy.gif sad.gif
kl920930
post Sep 15 2011, 08:42 PM

mr. minibosskl
1,221 posts

QUOTE(Norazam @ Sep 14 2011, 09:26 PM)
change my cooling to wc hahaha...

thumbup.gif
AlamakLor
post Sep 15 2011, 11:42 PM

9,856 posts

WC GPU isn't mandatory, it's mainly to kill the noise. Performance boost from OCing the GPU isn't very significant.
5p3ak
post Sep 16 2011, 08:14 AM

5,648 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Sep 15 2011, 11:42 PM)
WC GPU isn't mandatory, it's mainly to kill the noise. Performance boost from OCing the GPU isn't very significant.
I scare of Overheating lol~ Besides it's looks cool and people will shocking.gif ohmy.gif drool.gif at your Rig Like I did on yours blush.gif
BanG_DeaD
post Sep 17 2011, 09:16 AM

168 posts

Contributing to the thread... icon_rolleyes.gif

TechnoG
post Sep 17 2011, 11:35 AM

9,337 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Sep 15 2011, 07:38 PM)
shocking.gif Walao?! Need reference-designed GPU only can put WB at GC?! WATDAPHUCK?!  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  ohmy.gif  sad.gif
Yup. You think companies like EK, Swiftech got the time to custom build a block for different layouts? tongue.gif

Added on September 17, 2011, 11:35 am
QUOTE(BanG_DeaD @ Sep 17 2011, 09:16 AM)
Contributing to the thread...  icon_rolleyes.gif

retro-ish thumbup.gif
that's a nice keyboard and mouse. Let me guess..A4Tech and Logitech?

This post has been edited by TechnoG: Sep 17 2011, 11:35 AM

135 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Top

0.0180sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:06 PM