...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

One recent post in www.blu-ray.com is similar to this post:

http://forum.blu-ray.com/plasma-tvs/157380...lasma-best.html
doremon
post Nov 16 2010, 12:10 PM

eMPtiNess =`(
2,621 posts

QUOTE(avantasia @ Nov 16 2010, 10:44 AM)
I dun give a damn bout their contrast ratio...

New model is Sony NX710-3D / or go for EX710 - no 3D ....i guess this has more natural colour than series 6 samsung LED.

UA40C6900 is a way cheaper than Sony EX710
Lol, relax bro. We are playing with the big boys here. Spending almost RM10k stuff of course we need to be sure of everything. Most definitely questions will be asked (no matter how ridiculous is sounds lol).
After viewing,thinking and research lol, I managed to filter down to 2 selection
http://www.sony.com.my/product/kdl-40ex710
or
http://www.sony.com.my/product/kdl-40nx700

Hope can come to a conclusion by the end of this month. Some more have to find small rack and suitable media player. Already got my sound system
http://store.razerzone.com/store/razerusa/...uctID.169418000
Not sure can fit in nicely or not.

Ngto
post Nov 16 2010, 12:17 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Nov 15 2010, 02:10 PM)
My Opinion on LCD / LED / Plasma (base on my eye):

Plasma
    Pros
  • Better in motion, you hardly seen any ghost / blur issue when object move.
  • Better black compare with LCD.
    Cons
  • If you seen closely, you will notice the way it draw line a bit like old fashion CRT TV.
  • Not as sharp and details compare with LCD / LED.
  • Dislike the glossy surface (most plasma) which will impact on viewing.
  • Image Burn-in issue.
  • Old tech which I believe soon will be obsolete.
LCD
    Pros
  • Sharpen in details.
  • Power Saving
  • Brighter.
    Cons
  • Motion blur / ghost effect occur compare with plasma, high end series with higher Hz like 120hz or 200hz reduce more on ghost effect. 24P helping on it as well.
  • Angle view not as wide compare with Plasma.
  • Not ready true black as Plasma or LED. (After some fine tune, it looks nice)
LED - Backlight (Edge)
    Pros
  • True Black.
  • Vivid color (sometimes I find it over vivid which became un-natural).
    Cons
  • More problematic on motion issue, it actually generate more ghost effect in low end model compare with LCD.
  • Expensive.
At the moment, I still suggest on LCD unless money is not your concern, then get a high end series of LED (with higher Hz for better in motion).

Plasma I won't get as it got burn-in issue, obsolete soon tech & not appealing me.
Finally someone who tries to be impartial thumbup.gif

In the end depends on your eyes , what you like best. Certain scenes Plasma better, certain scenes LCD better. Can't have it all, just choose according which citeria you find most important to you.
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 16 2010, 12:37 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Nov 16 2010, 11:59 AM)
One recent post in www.blu-ray.com is similar to this post:

http://forum.blu-ray.com/plasma-tvs/157380...lasma-best.html
Interesting observation. Foreigner seems to go for picture quality regardless of what sort of technology, old or new. On the other hand, Malaysian goes for whichever is considered newer technology, does not matter whether picture quality is better or worst.

darenlks
post Nov 16 2010, 12:56 PM

639 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Nov 16 2010, 12:37 PM)
Interesting observation. Foreigner seems to go for picture quality regardless of what sort of technology, old or new. On the other hand, Malaysian goes for whichever is considered newer technology, does not matter whether picture quality is better or worst.
Relax lah bro, if you like plasma, go ahead with it and enjoy your tv, no need to bother about others who prefer LCD or LED. If you judge the PQ by your own naked eyes, that's where others also doing the same thing and different ppl perceive it differently because of their own preferences, take a break icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 16 2010, 01:04 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(darenlks @ Nov 16 2010, 12:56 PM)
Relax lah bro, if you like plasma, go ahead with it and enjoy your tv, no need to bother about others who prefer LCD or LED. If you judge the PQ by your own naked eyes, that's where others also doing the same thing and different ppl perceive it differently because of their own preferences, take a break  icon_rolleyes.gif
I have not bought the plasma because of the reflection issue, not the PQ issue. But I notice some are significantly less reflection than others but at higher price. So may as well wait and see what's on offer around Christmas time.

avantasia
post Nov 16 2010, 02:32 PM

a while in dreamland!!!
2,827 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Nov 16 2010, 11:41 AM)
you're gonna be even more satisfied after messing up with the color configuration. still running on default i presume?
Yepp ...still on default...u PM me la the best configuration!! i dun have time at the moment!!

Added on November 16, 2010, 2:39 pm
QUOTE(avantasia @ Nov 16 2010, 02:32 PM)
Yepp ...still on default...u PM me la the best configuration!! i dun have time at the moment!!
Lol, relax bro. We are playing with the big boys here. Spending almost RM10k stuff of course we need to be sure of everything. Most definitely questions will be asked (no matter how ridiculous is sounds lol).
After viewing,thinking and research lol, I managed to filter down to 2 selection
http://www.sony.com.my/product/kdl-40ex710
or

Hope can come to a conclusion by the end of this month. Some more have to find small rack and suitable media player. Already got my sound system
http://store.razerzone.com/store/razerusa/...uctID.169418000
Not sure can fit in nicely or not.

I'm a cool already, never jump.....it's just a sentence that i use...

Both i guess a good choice...But in my future i will consider Samsung LED UA55C8000...hi hih hih hih

This post has been edited by avantasia: Nov 16 2010, 02:39 PM
doremon
post Nov 16 2010, 04:26 PM

eMPtiNess =`(
2,621 posts

Looks like I going for (70% confirm)
But the price a bit high. Anyone know where can get cheap?
like RM7K below. Standard warranty is 1 year. Can they extend it till 2 or 3 years?
avantasia
post Nov 16 2010, 06:17 PM

a while in dreamland!!!
2,827 posts

QUOTE(doremon @ Nov 16 2010, 04:26 PM)
Looks like I going for (70% confirm)
But the price a bit high. Anyone know where can get cheap?
like RM7K below. Standard warranty is 1 year. Can they extend it till 2 or 3 years?
Surely can have extra warranty as long as u pay extra for it!

Btw BD/HN sometime can give a good discount!! IMHO 40EX710 is more than enough!
razz3660
post Dec 20 2010, 02:24 AM

Hi guys,

LED TV actually not a correct term should be used bcoz both so called LCD & LED TV are using the same medium which is 'Liquid Crystal Display' panel. Typically when ppl talk about LCD they are referring to LCD panel TV with convesional CCFL light source to illuminate the panel.
So, Basically 'LCD TV' can be illuminate by 2ype of light source which; 1)CCFL -Cold Cathode Fluorescent Lamps or 2)LED -light emitting diode

..ontop of LED LCD TV, the position of the LED currently have 2 type; 1)Backlit LED @direct array or 2) Edge LED-position around the TV panel @frame

and finally the LED diode itself have 2type of it; 1)RGB LED -red green blue or 2)white LED
*for Edge LED light source (LED at frame), ONLY white LED diode will be use & for Backlit LED it can be RGB or white LED diode will be use.

But for plasma TV inert gas will be use as a medium for panel insteat of Liquid Crystal (LCD)

*If u ask my opinion, I prefer Backlit direct array LED LCD non-glossy surface TV bcoz;

- My hall room surround by window and glass sliding door to my balcony and reflection is my biggest enemy
- It give the highest and true black (LED off) contrast & brightness +tint can be adjust to suit your eyes
- Higher in Hz for fast motion scene compare to CCFL LCD TV
- Did not generate alot of heat that can make your room feeling warm
- Very low energy consumption where in return you save your electricity bill in a long run
- Long lasting light intensity compare to CCFL where the intensity % slowly will be reduced
- & lastly as the LED has been widely commerciallized, it become affordable to many ppl

*For info I bought my 40" Philips PFL5605S Backlit LED LCD TV & 3yrs warranty for only RM3399 +free philips blu-ray dvd player xtra original HDMI cable &Philips headphone. Which I think its worth every ringgit I spent.

Just sharing my knowledge to every of you. nod.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0154sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 04:35 AM