Question about between Plasma & LED!

avantasia
post Nov 15 2010, 03:47 PM

a while in dreamland!!!
2,827 posts

QUOTE(doremon @ Nov 15 2010, 03:21 PM)
Bro avantasia, wanna ask u something. What so special about the Series 8. Might as well shoot to series 9 (The highest end of all  tongue.gif ). If it's more than RM6k then I'm in trouble already  tongue.gif . Like i said before, mine is only 40" to 42" (Max). Can't go for more because my room can only accommodate this measurement.
Truly unfortunate.

If u in my shoe bro, what will you take and any place (recommendation) to buy. Harvey Norman ok?
Series 9 is too expensive...Series 8 i guess still affordable!!

Take your time go Best Denki KLCC to compare, They can explain to u detail ... Sony LED EX710 at RM5k+- i can say a good choice, or samsung Series 6 but the color it's looks unnatural for my eyes!

I prefer to buy at my fren place whether LH or BGC..[good bargain definitely]
low98944
post Nov 15 2010, 03:50 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

No everyone living room or whatever are the same or identical. Everyone have their own priority on certain aspect of the TV their want. So, buyers themselves need to visit the shop(s) and select the model according to their own eye, feeling and environment in their home before their make the final decision.
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 15 2010, 03:51 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(avantasia @ Nov 15 2010, 01:38 PM)
From my eyes The big diffrence between V and C6500 is their design which is series 6 is much more slimmer & stylish design..The most significant is RM1k higher than samsung.

i dunno wat to call this difference but the is the white colour of V series is slightly whiter than samsung.....

When test using blue ray disc, not much difference!! but i love Plasma samsung colour separation very much when compare to LED series 6 or 7
May I ask what's the price of the V50 and the C6500?

Added on November 15, 2010, 3:55 pm
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Nov 15 2010, 02:10 PM)
My Opinion on LCD / LED / Plasma (base on my eye):

[/list]LCD[list]Pros
[*]Sharpen in details.
[*]Power Saving
[*]Brighter.
LOL. One man's meat is another man's poison. Brightness is one thing I can not stand because it is harsh to my eyes.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Nov 15 2010, 03:55 PM
doremon
post Nov 15 2010, 03:59 PM

eMPtiNess =`(
2,621 posts

QUOTE(avantasia @ Nov 15 2010, 03:47 PM)
Series 9 is too expensive...Series 8 i guess still affordable!!

Take your time go Best Denki KLCC to compare, They can explain to u detail ... Sony LED EX710 at RM5k+- i can say a good choice, or samsung Series 6 but the color it's looks unnatural for my eyes!

I prefer to buy at my fren place whether LH or BGC..[good bargain definitely]
Sony LED EX710 at RM5k+- seems reasonable and good enough for me. Question, the ration is 1000000:1 right? Best Denki KLCC? BTS also have right?

But is not 3D right? But all the upper samsung series with 3d. is it display all the time in 3d motion or need to activate certain button?

Thanks bro, u been mostly help full. notworthy.gif
Andrewtst
post Nov 15 2010, 06:04 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,781 posts

QUOTE(doremon @ Nov 15 2010, 03:59 PM)
Sony LED EX710 at RM5k+- seems reasonable and good enough for me. Question, the ration is 1000000:1 right? Best Denki KLCC? BTS also have right?

But is not 3D right? But all the upper samsung series with 3d. is it display all the time in 3d motion or need to activate certain button?

Thanks bro, u been mostly help full.  notworthy.gif
3D? If not wrong, the most cheap 3D now is RM 7k+ for 40 inch - Samsung brand.

The rest all RM 15k+ and above.

You need to wear glasses for 3D, and only for 3D BD disc which running at 3D capable blu-ray player.

kembara51
post Nov 15 2010, 06:11 PM

143 posts

1) Plasma - picture sharp,clear but highest power consumption n generate a lot of heat

2) LED - got 3D, lowest power consumption but expensive

3) LCD - higher power consumption it compare to LED
4g15p
post Nov 15 2010, 06:44 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Nov 15 2010, 12:32 PM)
I will only consider 50" and above. Panasonic 50X is RM3K so how much is the Philip's 50" LED?
50', 60', 100', i dun really care, none of my business, it's your problem,

my response is to ur previous statement as an info to be sharing with others who scouting for cheap and affordable LED atm.
BeastX
post Nov 15 2010, 06:51 PM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

I could not stand the old plasma.... with around 60-65Hz refresh rate.... My brain/eyes will not sense the throbbing refresh rate if it was 75Hz and above. Newer ones with above 100Hz -700Hz are great.

A great disadvantage of plasma is most panels are not true 1080p.. but lower or stretch resolution panel. There is no denying Plasma has better range and contrast and picture quality. Tri colour LED panels (not white) will probably beat it, but these are very expensive (the very high end SONY/SAMSUNG LCD LED panels).

Optiplex330... both plasma and LCD are digital panels, Plasma being less sharp is probably because the panel your looking at is not a true 1080p panel. If both LCD/LED panel and plasma panel are at 1080p, both are just as sharp.

Aside from back-light being CCFL or LED... there is little difference between the LCDs... just that LED panels may incorporate the latest tech in LCD tecnology, better contrast, better colour reproduction, faster panels. Switch the LED backlight to CCFL you essentially get/view the same thing. White LED has more advantage than disadvantage than CCFL. Tri colour LEDs has almost no disadvantage (except for OLED panels, if they last).

This post has been edited by BeastX: Nov 15 2010, 06:55 PM
specuvestor
post Nov 15 2010, 07:05 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Nov 15 2010, 01:17 PM)
Well, I hasn't bought mine yet and like I said, I didn't know the difference between Plasma/LCD/LED. So what I did was, I pulled a chair and sat there watching. Initially the LCD attracts me with those stationary image of apples etc but when it comes to watching movies, something was not quite right and I actually prefer my old CRT instead! Then I turned to Plasma and did not take my eyes off it for solid 15 minutes and when I immediately turn back to LCD/LED, it actually hurts my eyes with their intense glare and that was when I know LCD/LED is definitely not for me. Who cares about old technology or extinct technology etc or whatever the salesman said because at the end of the day, it's whatever makes me enjoy watching more. Isn't that the whole point of watching movies?

Another thing I felt was, I sometime felt the sharper LED image have more digital artifact or have a less "organic" look to them. It's similar to listening to digital CD music vs analog LP with the former being more 'digital' or artificial.

So I know for sure, when I buy a flat panel TV for watching movies, it's Plasma for certain.  Others can buy whatever they want for whatever reasons. Non of my business.
I had the same experience until I learn more about plasma vs LCDs

1) Plasma looks bad in showrooms because showrooms are at least 5X brighter than our homes. Nowadays plasma tries to compensate it by torch mode but practically in our house, you will realise LCDs are too bright but tuning the backlight lower will disturb the contrast. SO you need to keep some lights on for LCD viewing

2) Plasma are reflective because it helps in contrast. Again in the showrooms it will look bad. Manufacturers are trying to mitigate the glare by applying AR (anti-reflection) solutions. You will also see that LED LCD have better contrast but if you look properly most of them are using reflective glass for that purpose.

3) Plasma colors are usually less vibrant out of the box. But they are actually more realistic. But Samsung has been able to persuade consumers that bright colors are great, which actually suits a lot of people.

4) Plasmas nowadays hardly get Burn in... Image retention (IR) possibly. If you break in your plasma for the first 150 hours or so and activate the anti-IR mode eg orbiter then you are ok. Still I would NOT recommend people use it as HTPC or gaming where there is a lot of fixed images.

These are the 4 main issues about plasmas. Power is not so much an issue nowadays as rule of thumb CCFL LCD uses 1/2 of plasma while LED LCD uses 1/2 of CCFL LCD. But 3 years ago 50" plasma easily uses 600W (peak) but nowadays around 300W. % difference similar now and 3 years ago but absolute difference is minor now.

There are CCFL LCD and LED LCD, defined by their backlighting. And LED LCD is further split into edge lit and direct array.

1) LCDs are great for still picture. They are extremely sharp, but ironically sharpness causes blur in motion. That is why we always reduce sharpness for viewing movies or video.

2) LCD colors are more vibrant out of the box. The stronger backlight also helps as the eyes are more sensitive to luma (brightness) than chroma (color)

3) Main advantage of LED vs CCFL backlighting is i) local dimming so that you can perceive better blacks. ii) strobing to reduce motion blur due to sample and hold effect.

4) To further reduce motion blur, frame insertion is introduced. There are the black frame insertion method (BFI) which purpose is similar to strobing, and frame interpolation to create a "video look" or commonly known as "soap opera effect"

In short if you are keen on NATIVE 24p movie and has a light controlled environment, then plasma is better choice. In a bright environment with some static images like HTPC or gaming then LCD is better. But LED LCD is catching up in terms of motion viewing but inherently LCD need higher framerate input at least 50/60Hz to reduce motion blur.

This post has been edited by specuvestor: Nov 15 2010, 07:38 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 15 2010, 07:17 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(4g15p @ Nov 15 2010, 06:44 PM)
50', 60', 100', i dun really care, none of my business, it's your problem,

my response is to ur previous statement as an info to be sharing with others who scouting for cheap and affordable LED atm.
Don't know the price just say don't know lah. If it's my problem, why bother replying? Isn't that an oxymoron statement?

Added on November 15, 2010, 7:21 pm
QUOTE(BeastX @ Nov 15 2010, 06:51 PM)
I could not stand the old plasma.... with around 60-65Hz refresh rate.... My brain/eyes will not sense the throbbing refresh rate if it was 75Hz and above. Newer ones with above 100Hz -700Hz are great.
Ha. Lucky I didn't get that problem simply because back then, I wasn't interested in buying panel TV so never really study what's available etc.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Nov 15 2010, 07:21 PM
BeastX
post Nov 15 2010, 07:41 PM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

QUOTE(specuvestor @ Nov 15 2010, 07:05 PM)
And LED LCD is further split into edge lit and direct array.
You can also further split LED to "Tri colour LED" or "White LED"
4g15p
post Nov 15 2010, 10:12 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Nov 15 2010, 07:17 PM)
Don't know the price just say don't know lah. If it's my problem, why bother replying? Isn't that an oxymoron statement?
LOL since when this forum can't be discuss, sharing, rebuttal, be opinionated, etc?

when someone else debunks your general point i.e.

QUOTE(Optiplex330)
"LED is out of the question because it cost too much, what's the point of comparing a RM3000 Plasma vs a RM6000 LED?

and instead proof there is a cheaper LED

you just went sharp dull and hype at other's reply

keep the "sharp dull" attitude to thee-self please

it doesn't help in discussion

dunno price tag? what a bollock! hahaha rclxms.gif tongue.gif

try again please, this time around no reply frm me to contribute to your post counts.

tongue.gif

low98944
post Nov 15 2010, 10:42 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

To me, this kind of thread is only create more argument. To make it simple, neither Plasma or LED LCD can completely superior than other. For example, maybe Mr. A think that brightness for LED LCD is a + point to him/her but other maybe think it is - point.

So, still like I said early, visit the shops, observe those TVs yourself with relevant knowledge of those technology and choice the one best fit your need (of course, within your $ limit) and your room's environment. After all, this is your TV, not other people TV. Closed case. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by low98944: Nov 15 2010, 10:43 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 15 2010, 11:18 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(4g15p @ Nov 15 2010, 11:38 AM)
Philips 40pfl5605s/98 is direct LED backlighting LCD not EdgeLED
LED backlighthing, Philips 40pfl5605s/98 is selling at RM3199 @ Best Denki, still can kowtim the price with salesman

fyi
You are comparing apples and oranges. There is a big difference in size between 40" and 50"

A 50" Plasma can be as low as RM3000. How much is a 50" LED? Surely more expensive, no?

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Nov 15 2010, 11:20 PM
avantasia
post Nov 16 2010, 01:26 AM

a while in dreamland!!!
2,827 posts

QUOTE(doremon @ Nov 15 2010, 03:59 PM)

Thanks bro, u been mostly help full.  notworthy.gif
NX710 have 3D, EX710 dunt have!

Most of samsung 3D series displayed in 3D...7, 8 & 9 series are available at Best Denki..

50V = RM5.6k
C6500 = RM4.6k

Watever it is trust u'r own eyes/pocket
doremon
post Nov 16 2010, 08:25 AM

eMPtiNess =`(
2,621 posts

Which one is better?

KDL-40NX700 (Is this LED?) What the ratio of this set? Is is 1000000:1 - RM8,000 (Retail price)
or
UA40C6900 40" Series 6 (What the ratio of this set? Is is 3000000:1) - RM?

I personally remeasured my room. Dam I can only go for 40" as my room a bit cramp. 40" best fit. What a waste =(

This post has been edited by doremon: Nov 16 2010, 08:35 AM
paskal
post Nov 16 2010, 08:28 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(avantasia @ Nov 16 2010, 01:26 AM)
NX710 have 3D, EX710 dunt have!

Most of samsung 3D series displayed in 3D...7, 8 & 9 series are available at Best Denki..

50V = RM5.6k
C6500 = RM4.6k

Watever it is trust u'r own eyes/pocket
already pulled the trigger eh?
noticed anymore motion juddering with 24p playback at home?
calvin_ng
post Nov 16 2010, 09:53 AM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

To be frank I prefer 24p movies than those display at showrooms where the motion is too smooth... and turn out fake...
avantasia
post Nov 16 2010, 10:44 AM

a while in dreamland!!!
2,827 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Nov 16 2010, 08:28 AM)
already pulled the trigger eh?
noticed anymore motion juddering with 24p playback at home?
so far when play using BD-C5500 and Blue ray disc no issue on that! very satisfied so far!! And Thanx to u too for enlightened me!!

Added on November 16, 2010, 10:49 am
QUOTE(doremon @ Nov 16 2010, 08:25 AM)
Which one is better?

KDL-40NX700 (Is this LED?) What the ratio of this set? Is is 1000000:1 - RM8,000 (Retail price)
or
UA40C6900 40" Series 6 (What the ratio of this set? Is is 3000000:1) - RM?

I personally remeasured my room. Dam I can only go for 40" as my room a bit cramp. 40" best fit. What a waste =(
I dun give a damn bout their contrast ratio...

New model is Sony NX710-3D / or go for EX710 - no 3D ....i guess this has more natural colour than series 6 samsung LED.

UA40C6900 is a way cheaper than Sony EX710

This post has been edited by avantasia: Nov 16 2010, 10:51 AM
paskal
post Nov 16 2010, 11:41 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(avantasia @ Nov 16 2010, 10:44 AM)
so far when play using BD-C5500 and Blue ray disc no issue on that! very satisfied so far!! And Thanx to u too for enlightened me!!
you're gonna be even more satisfied after messing up with the color configuration. still running on default i presume?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0212sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:53 PM