Astro B.yond V7.0, NEW WORLD OF ENTERTAINMENT

smileguy
post Dec 1 2010, 06:18 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Dec 1 2010, 12:45 AM)
If it was true 700mhz ( though sources say yes) to roll out paytv was given to YTL then its good competition for astro. nod.gif They wld behave from now on at least flex.gif Only competetion can make astro behave like wats going on in Spore between starhub and singtel, prices were slashed attractive packages were introduced and everyone is happy.

This post has been edited by smileguy: Dec 1 2010, 06:24 AM
azrin_kiko
post Dec 1 2010, 07:17 AM

634 posts

In the other news... Again...

Radio Television Malaysia Builds Massive HD Studio Complex with Grass Valley Production Technologies

Radio Television Malaysia (RTM), the state-owned public broadcaster which owns and operates 31 radio and two television stations, has returned to Grass Valley™ after almost a decade to place its largest order to date: a large number of high-definition cameras, production switchers, and routers for a new all-digital HD studio complex in Kuala Lumpur that will be completed in November 2010. The new HD studios are the first for RTM and represent a major win for Grass Valley in the region as its equipment will be used during the production of high-profile international events.

To support several studios and control rooms within the multi-level facility, RTM has purchased 24 Grass Valley LDK 8000 Elite multi-format HD cameras, five Kayak™ HD production switchers (four 3 M/E models and one 3.5 M/E model), and four Concerto™ Series 64×64 routers to distribute all types of audio and video signals throughout the facility. The equipment will be used to support five RTM locations: Auditorium, IBC (Kuala Lumpur), Studio 3 (Seremban), Kuching (East Malaysia), and a flyaway kit.

“Malaysia is one area of the world where Grass Valley has seen increased business over the past year, as broadcasters there migrate their platforms to high-definition in anticipation of a national conversion,” said Jeff Rosica, Senior Vice President of Grass Valley. “RTM understands the value, flexibility, and reliability that Grass Valley production technologies provide.”

RTM has built the new facility in preparation for full-time HD broadcasting beginning in 2015.

TSapexg2
post Dec 1 2010, 11:56 AM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

astro oso use their gadjet!
victorwan
post Dec 1 2010, 01:20 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Dec 1 2010, 06:18 AM)
If it was true 700mhz ( though sources say yes) to roll out paytv was given to YTL then its good competition for astro. nod.gif They wld behave from now on at least  flex.gif Only competetion can make astro    behave like wats  going on in Spore between starhub and singtel, prices were slashed attractive packages were introduced and  everyone is happy.
I think whatever technology is introduced to new entertainment players to counter attack Asstro, Asstro will still be strong because I believe is NOT whatever technology of whether IPTV or Satellite TV or wave signal TV. The MOST important is the PROGRAMS. Most people go for Asstro is because they have English Premier League or whatever other Football league and also Wah Lai Toi etc.

If the new player able to secure their own rights for EPL and other Football League and maybe also has secure rights to broadcast TVB programs and other popular channel, then only Asstro will panic because there is another option now.

Right?????

This post has been edited by victorwan: Dec 1 2010, 01:21 PM
neb
post Dec 1 2010, 01:21 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Dec 1 2010, 01:09 AM)
Guys, first of all please excuse my question if it's a ridiculous one. Totally clueless about this.

Currently I connect my TV to a pretty old home theater system via the AV jacks (the red + white jacks) and only 2 speakers plus the subwoofer have sound but the centre and the surround speakers remained silent. So this is due to the AV jacks limitation right?

So if I were to change to B.yond, what should the setup be to my home theater system in order for the sound to be coming out from all the speakers?

Once again, excuse me for this newbie question. laugh.gif
you can switch on fake surround on your home theater system for analog audio source

but for the real Dolby digital surround sound, you will need to connect either hdmi or coaxial digital audio from byond to your amp

if your amp does not have any digital audio input, then buy a new av receiver

This post has been edited by neb: Dec 1 2010, 01:22 PM
Qash-M
post Dec 1 2010, 01:28 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

To support several studios and control rooms within the multi-level facility, RTM has purchased 24 Grass Valley LDK 8000 Elite multi-format HD cameras, five Kayak™ HD production switchers (four 3 M/E models and one 3.5 M/E model), and four Concerto™ Series 64×64 routers to distribute all types of audio and video signals throughout the facility.

Question is, Does Astro HD facility have more than RTM does? brows.gif
sky3742
post Dec 1 2010, 01:43 PM

561 posts

so.... 2015 digitaled= no more old crt tv????
Qash-M
post Dec 1 2010, 01:47 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(sky3742 @ Dec 1 2010, 01:43 PM)
Can, but with converter box. LCD TV that don't have DVB-T tuner might also use that.
neb
post Dec 1 2010, 01:50 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(sky3742 @ Dec 1 2010, 01:43 PM)
the digital part is from TV station transmission tower to your rooftop antenna

you can still use your crt to receive digital TV, simply connect set top box's composite video to your crt composite video
Uncle 6
post Dec 1 2010, 03:01 PM

112 posts

Any new HD channels to be lauched soon?
Qash-M
post Dec 1 2010, 03:07 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(Uncle 6 @ Dec 1 2010, 03:01 PM)
Any new HD channels to be lauched soon?
Hopefully on 18th (i hope). Been 1 year since B.yond came... smile.gif

This post has been edited by Qash-M: Dec 1 2010, 03:07 PM
dxjb
post Dec 1 2010, 03:19 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(victorwan @ Dec 1 2010, 01:20 PM)
I think whatever technology is introduced to new entertainment players to counter attack Asstro, Asstro will still be strong because I believe is NOT whatever technology of whether IPTV or Satellite TV or wave signal TV. The MOST important is the PROGRAMS. Most people go for Asstro is because they have English Premier League or whatever other Football league and also Wah Lai Toi etc.

If the new player able to secure their own rights for EPL and other Football League and maybe also has secure rights to broadcast TVB programs and other popular channel, then only Asstro will panic because there is another option now.

Right?????
+1000..some of the city folks or the urban people and technology savvy people have the knowledge of technology that helps them decide the best option to watch TV be it IPTV or satellite TV or whatever kind of transmission and quality that TV companies provide..however, a large portion of the country and subscribers decide their choice by the programmes..the regular guy or the kampung folks would subscribe to something based on the programmes that are available..so yes technology is important but programming is vital..

I was wondering if mitv had that problem plus the fact they did not go nationwide quickly enough..TM IPTV could also face the same fate..they dont have the programmes and rights that astro holds and they arent even nationwide..history tells u that if u dont go nationwide after starting ur operation, it will be an uphill task to keep u in the game..

This post has been edited by dxjb: Dec 1 2010, 03:19 PM
smileguy
post Dec 1 2010, 05:45 PM

3,147 posts

The govt is the culprit and shld be held resposible for all these mess,its still not late other players can still do business but I just dont know whats keeping them away! There are 1000 over worldwide channels.If singapore so small has two players going strong, and Indonesia with no control over satelite still going strong with a dozen FTA channels, WTF is wrong here I just dont undersatnd ! The govt shld not hv allowed any channel full control esp. EPL the FTA channels shld hv access to some matches, This are the results when u give someone a sole licence for over 17yrs !Start something now for RM50 for 200 over general entertainment channels like Sun DTH tell me if u say no market ! If u hv no b.... to do it return your licences p mad.gif ls !

This post has been edited by smileguy: Dec 1 2010, 05:48 PM
minimize
post Dec 1 2010, 07:46 PM

1,543 posts

4 more year to 2015 but I see nothing to be proud right now in local HD source. I bet they will extended their target to 2020 to fully broadcast in HD
Qash-M
post Dec 1 2010, 08:20 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Dec 1 2010, 07:46 PM)
4 more year to 2015 but I see nothing to be proud right now in local HD source. I bet they will extended their target to 2020 to fully broadcast in HD
By then, HD channel on B.yond will be...how many? brows.gif
acexii
post Dec 1 2010, 11:25 PM

572 posts

By year 2020, HD will became today SD quality...... doh.gif

Astro still leading for Malaysia market for satellite broadcast vmad.gif
Qash-M
post Dec 2 2010, 12:39 AM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(acexii @ Dec 1 2010, 11:25 PM)
By year 2020, HD will became today SD quality...... doh.gif

Astro still leading for Malaysia market for satellite broadcast vmad.gif
Can't we do something in next GE about that? hmm.gif
dxjb
post Dec 2 2010, 03:12 AM

807 posts

RTM to be HD in 2015? Yeah right..tell me if they have completed building the studio in November 2010 like it says in that article..n dont get hopes so high it will be in HD in 2015..werent they supposed to do that this year? even if they get it done by 2015, i wonder what kind of HD programming the government wants to push down our throats..

I was just watching South Korea's presentation bid to host the World Cup in 2022..and one of the things they promised was to install 8K Ultra HD cameras at all stadiums for broadcast..now thats what i call development and planning for the future..not planning to build a HD studio and use it in 4 years time by which time HD might even be out of date..

GO 1MALAYSIA..LETS BUILD HIGH BUILDINGS!!!

This post has been edited by dxjb: Dec 2 2010, 03:12 AM
smileguy
post Dec 2 2010, 06:19 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Dec 2 2010, 12:39 AM)
Can't we do something in next GE about that? hmm.gif
Of course u can ! With postal votes in hand we hv to just dream of changing the present ruling party ! hmm.gif

Added on December 2, 2010, 6:20 am
QUOTE(dxjb @ Dec 2 2010, 03:12 AM)
RTM to be HD in 2015? Yeah right..tell me if they have completed building the studio in November 2010 like it says in that article..n dont get hopes so high it will be in HD in 2015..werent they supposed to do that this year?  even if they get it done by 2015, i wonder what kind of HD programming the government wants to push down our throats..

I was just watching South Korea's presentation bid to host the World Cup in 2022..and one of the things they promised was to install 8K Ultra HD cameras at all stadiums for broadcast..now thats what i call development and planning for the future..not planning to build a HD studio and use it in 4 years time by which time HD might even be out of date..

rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by smileguy: Dec 2 2010, 06:20 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Dec 2 2010, 07:16 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ Dec 2 2010, 03:12 AM)
RTM to be HD in 2015? Yeah right..tell me if they have completed building the studio in November 2010 like it says in that article..n dont get hopes so high it will be in HD in 2015..werent they supposed to do that this year?  even if they get it done by 2015, i wonder what kind of HD programming the government wants to push down our throats..

One tell tale sign as to whether it will happen is how much details given out in the report. If it's just a general phrase like "HD in 2015" then it's more likely to be empty talk with lots of room to get out of it. But if it's very detailed like who were the consultant, what specific HD standard to be used, how to go about it etc, then there is hope. Otherwise just treat it as hot air similar to kids saying....I can fly like superman.

146 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:54 AM