Astro B.yond V7.0, NEW WORLD OF ENTERTAINMENT

SUSjalsrix
post Jan 8 2011, 05:49 PM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Jan 8 2011, 03:50 PM)
With closed caption, the subscriber can disable the irritating BM subtitle from appearing.  Also, Ass-throw should give more options like, maintain the dub mandarin language at One HD for chinese subscribers.  Channel 393 = under the channel group of 300s where the main subscribers are chinese.

Added on January 8, 2011, 3:53 pm
So you thank God since your nenek can't read and still can enjoy Korean movie and one HD becomes her fav channel.  What will happen to my nenek who can't read BM and can't understand BM?  No offence too.
One HD audio should be in original Korean language because that is more natural than those fake dubbed language (look at 391 thumbup.gif ). There is a small korean community living in Malaysia who understands Korean.

Subtitles should be in malay, english, chinese and should be selectable for non-koreans. There are many foreigners living in Malaysia that only knows English (eg. arabs, africans )

Maybe ass-throw wants to save money by not hiring english and chinese translators ? shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by jalsrix: Jan 8 2011, 05:52 PM
SUSjalsrix
post Jan 8 2011, 11:14 PM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(art6969 @ Jan 8 2011, 08:04 PM)
astro first = suck
astro first = SUCK BIG TIME !

Where's the other HD channels like Discovery HD, Star world HD, Fox crime HD, Fox HD etc that Singapore StarHUB has ?

And add another Disney HD.

Can we hope for AEC HD before this coming Chinese New Year ?

This post has been edited by jalsrix: Jan 8 2011, 11:25 PM
SUSjalsrix
post Jan 9 2011, 06:53 PM

1,927 posts

So what is happening this 11 jan ?
SUSjalsrix
post Jan 10 2011, 10:59 AM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Jan 10 2011, 01:05 AM)
Because of this, people will not believe what ever their saying any more.  whistling.gif
Ass-throw is a money sucking monopoly ! They don't have to fulfill their promise.

Even the new HD channels coming soon in wikipedia is deleted. cry.gif

This post has been edited by jalsrix: Jan 10 2011, 11:00 AM
SUSjalsrix
post Jan 10 2011, 02:51 PM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Jan 10 2011, 02:33 PM)

Added on January 10, 2011, 2:35 pm
Let see if 13/1/11 got any surprise for us ! hmm.gif
Malaysians are too rich, pay rm20 for crap.

That's why astro is getting richer and richer and Ananda is now the xxx richest man in the world. laugh.gif
SUSjalsrix
post Jan 11 2011, 11:23 AM

1,927 posts

Can we have one Thai channel in original Thai language ?

We don't have a channel for our nearest neighbour but have one for arab channel which is million of miles away ? doh.gif
SUSjalsrix
post Jan 12 2011, 12:03 AM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(apexg2 @ Jan 11 2011, 12:46 PM)
got many arab tourist here la bro....that movie i think a lot...check the table..i think it always show at channel 131!good luck!
channel 131 don't have non dubbed thai shows, it is malay channel and also not in family package.

U think no thai tourist in malaysia when they are our nearest neighbour beside singapore ? doh.gif

This post has been edited by jalsrix: Jan 12 2011, 12:04 AM
SUSjalsrix
post Jan 12 2011, 10:48 AM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Jan 12 2011, 08:59 AM)
Now astro is wasting bandwidth for 5 sd and 1 hd channels for astro first...
That's why the original 15 hd become 12 hd, it is being used for astro first. doh.gif

These few weeks, astro people have been calling me up to sign for astro on demand and wah lai toi.

I fxxx them off.

SUSjalsrix
post Jan 13 2011, 10:25 AM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jan 12 2011, 11:52 AM)
I already PM "lapaq" with some account details last two days, maybe lapaq is busy recently, haven't seen any reply from lapaq yet, or seen lapaq status is online.  cry.gif
is lapaq working in Astro ? Anybody here can confirm ?

what is his position there ?

This post has been edited by jalsrix: Jan 13 2011, 10:25 AM
SUSjalsrix
post Jan 13 2011, 10:52 PM

1,927 posts

3 weeks to chinese new year and no new chinese HD channel yet ? mad.gif

This post has been edited by jalsrix: Jan 13 2011, 10:53 PM
SUSjalsrix
post Jan 14 2011, 11:28 PM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(wongsf @ Jan 14 2011, 08:10 AM)
We already have Zhi Zun HD channel, one superb show now on is Three Kingdom.  RM 20.00 just for Three Kingdom is worth it, bonus HBO HD and Star Movies HD, not interested in other hd channel.
Not everyone is rich to subscribe to Wah Lai Toi. doh.gif that package is double the family package price, totally not worth it.

We need a family package chinese HD channel just like the korean one hd channel.

This post has been edited by jalsrix: Jan 14 2011, 11:29 PM
SUSjalsrix
post Jan 15 2011, 09:59 AM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(mr_faidhi @ Jan 15 2011, 01:02 AM)
I thought you guys don't welcome inhouse hd channel. Why even bother for any family package channel which we know Astro will only give in house channel for free? What chinese hd channel available to be added? Don't say tvbhd. Even Singapore don't have it yet.
In house HD is OK. Currently channel 301 AEC can be changed to HD.
SUSjalsrix
post Jan 23 2011, 09:48 AM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jan 22 2011, 03:31 PM)
Cantonese vs Mandarin. I don't understand why Malaysian Chinese TV program mainly in Cantonese. Don't they realize China is up and coming and Mandarin is the de facto medium of China and Cantonese merely a dialect? If insist on Cantonese, what about showing it also in the other Chinese dialect as well? Where will it end? I called that any Malaysia Boleh half baked idea.
Mandarin is the dialect of Northern China !

We are all southern chinese and Mandarin is NOT our mother tongue. Mandarin is used to communicate with different dialects in China because they don't know English. Not every Malaysian know Mandarin !

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malaysian_Chinese

We don't want to be like Singapore where they have lost their ability to speak their mother tongue.

Added on January 23, 2011, 9:54 am
QUOTE(pokemon @ Jan 22 2011, 06:04 PM)
Are you a malaysian chinese yourself?  I think you have the wrong perception here.

I think all these young Mandarin educated don't mix around a lot (other than their parents and their close friends).

Not ALL malaysians know how to speak or read Mandarin.

The older English educated Malaysian chinese only know the popular dialects such as Cantonese or Hokkien.

This post has been edited by jalsrix: Jan 23 2011, 09:54 AM
SUSjalsrix
post Jan 23 2011, 09:59 AM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jan 22 2011, 07:22 PM)

The fact is, Astro think just because the majority of people in Klang understood Cantonese, then all Malaysian Chinese understood Cantonese. To hell with the Hokkien, Hakka, Teochew, Foochow, Hainanese or whatever. Typical Malaysia Boleh way of doing things IMO. Malaysia know best. Singapore know nothing  rclxub.gif
The shows should be shown in the original language whether it is cantonese or hokkien or mandarin.

Those dubbed language where the actor /actress is not the original voice is very FAKE ! I have seen it in Singapore and the acting voice is poor and not the original actor voice.

If you don't like to watch cantonese shows, just switch to Mandarin shows. Nobody forces you to watch.

Malaysia has cantonese (ch 304), hokkien (ch 333), mandarin (ch 301) so you have the choice. We need another channel to cater to the Hakka. laugh.gif
SUSjalsrix
post Jan 23 2011, 10:13 AM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Jan 22 2011, 08:03 PM)
Astro is showing other non-cantonese channels.  So, there are choices for ppl in Malaysia to view cantonese and non-cantonese chinese channels.  It is the mandarin channels programmes are not as good quality as TVB hongkong programmes and it is the people choices to choose what to watch.

Same for Golden horse awards, nowadays it is very common to see hongkong movies, be in in cantonese or non-cantonese to grab most of the awards.

If those chinese mandarin programmes do buck up then they can attract more viewership.   Even my indo maid prefers to watch cantonese programmes compared with mandarin programmes for a non-speaking chinese ppl.
let's not argue with him. if he knows only mandarin, then let him speak mandarin only. laugh.gif

Malaysian chinese (eg. gary chow can speak both cantonese and mandarin) are well known in the chinese circle for the ability to speak multiple chinese dialects unlike singapore where they only speak mandarin.

Singapore loses to malaysian chinese. brows.gif

This post has been edited by jalsrix: Jan 23 2011, 10:16 AM
SUSjalsrix
post Jan 23 2011, 10:16 AM

1,927 posts

Added on January 23, 2011, 10:15 am
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jan 23 2011, 10:09 AM)
Are you saying all Malaysian Chinese know Cantonese?
Not every Malaysian chinese know cantonese or hokkien or mandarin.

Read here

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malaysian_Chinese#Languages

So if you know only mandarin just watch the mandarin channels.

If you don't know hokkien, don't watch ch 333 etc, as simple as that.

This post has been edited by jalsrix: Jan 23 2011, 10:17 AM
SUSjalsrix
post Jan 23 2011, 10:23 AM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Jan 23 2011, 09:33 AM)
It depends which channels the so called mandarin movies are shown.  If they are showing in a cantonese channel, then Astro may dub it to cantonese.  The better option is showing in original language with dub if showing in other language channels.  Say, even when AXN (english language channel) was showing chinese movies, they have dual languages, ie., english dubbed and chinese original.
I think all movies should be shown in the original language and NOT dubbed. The dubbed voice is awful. mad.gif

If people don't understand, then show the chinese subtitles which is universal. Make all subtitles closed caption ! thumbup.gif

SUSjalsrix
post Jan 23 2011, 10:29 AM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jan 23 2011, 10:21 AM)
If the original movies was shown in Mandarin (in Malaysian cinema), why must non-Cantonese now watches it in Cantonese instead when many don't even understand Cantonese? Why can't Astro show it in it's original form?
This I agree ! All original language shouldn't be dubbed.

Even singapore now is showing hokkien shows in starhub and not dubbed in mandarin.

While mandarin is important, but it is equally important to preserve our own mother tongue. Mandarin is NOT the mother tongue of any malaysians. whistling.gif

Eg. if you want to learn English, does that mean you shouldn't learn chinese because English is more important than Chinese ?

SUSjalsrix
post Jan 23 2011, 10:57 AM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jan 23 2011, 10:42 AM)
While mother tongue is important, one must also be pragmatic and face reality.
There is no problem for malaysians who go to china, hk or taiwan. Is there ?

just look at gary chow, ah niu, wu qi xian etc. they can speak multiple chinese dialects unlike singaporeans (AND YOU )

Have you been to china ? You will be shocked to know that many southern chinese DON'T know mandarin !

If you go to fujian or taiwan province to do business, do you think that mandarin or hokkien is more important ?

The same goes to gwangdong or HK, they will prefer to speak cantonese rather than mandarin because it is their mother tongue.

They would rather do business with people who speak their own mother tongue rather than mandarin which is not their mother tongue.

Don't get brainwash by those chinese medium teachers who has NO practical experience outside of their schools.

SUSjalsrix
post Jan 23 2011, 11:13 AM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jan 23 2011, 11:03 AM)
And I didn't know Southern Chinese don't know Mandarin? So they spoke Italian or Portuguese instead?

As for Fujian or Taiwan. Are you sure Mandarin can't be used? If they don't know Mandarin, then they are probably the Malaysian version of Gary Chow or ah niu. Not much business potential with these people.
Buy an air ticket and go to China yourself. You are just like a 'frog under the well' brainwashed by those mandarin teachers.

Southern chinese speak their own mother tongue, the younger generation know mandarin but not the older generation. The older generation study their chinese books in cantonese, hakka or hokkien. Those chinese characters are NOT mandarin but chinese and can be read in any chinese languages.

Furthermore, the richest provinces in greater china is Gwangdong, HK (and Taiwan). Even the northerners migrate to gwangdong,HK to look for work.

You think that just because you speak Mandarin, you are very great and people will want to do business with you ? laugh.gif

There are tons of people who speak Mandarin in taiwan, but if you are able to ALSO speak hokkien, you will get the business (versus somebody speaking mandarin ONLY) as hokkien is closer to them. Same goes to gwangdong and HK.

Mandarin is a Manchurian influence language, the southern chinese languages are the true chinese languages.

Look, you still want to be stubborn and forget your mother tongue, so be it. But don't force other people not to learn their mother tongue.

This post has been edited by jalsrix: Jan 23 2011, 11:14 AM

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0513sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:43 AM