Western Digital TV™ HD Media Player, Full HD 1080p Player

anfieldude
post Nov 22 2010, 11:16 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Nov 22 2010, 07:43 PM)
Nice sharing. smile.gif

Btw, can i revert back to official firmware if i don't want it? The latest official firmware fix a lot of issues of all those non working files. Maybe need to wait for a new version base on latest official firmware?
The one thing that is missing in the new firmware as compared to wdlxtv firmware is the auto resolution/framerate in the firmware. This is the single most important feature that is not implemented in the official firmware.
ADJ
post Nov 23 2010, 12:23 AM

..::fairlight::..
2,921 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Nov 22 2010, 11:16 PM)
The one thing that is missing in the new firmware as compared to wdlxtv firmware is the auto resolution/framerate in the firmware. This is the single most important feature that is not implemented in the official firmware.
hmm, maybe i should use that instead...
alucard89
post Nov 23 2010, 12:37 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Nov 22 2010, 11:16 PM)
WD still hasn't added that to the official firmware?
Then again I never really bothered using that after switching to wdlxtv tongue.gif

Added on November 23, 2010, 12:44 am
QUOTE(Matrix @ Nov 22 2010, 07:43 PM)
Nice sharing. smile.gif

Btw, can i revert back to official firmware if i don't want it? The latest official firmware fix a lot of issues of all those non working files. Maybe need to wait for a new version base on latest official firmware?
You still can revert back to official firmware
Just need to edit wdtv.ver file and modify the version number to be higher..
Like this

VERSION='1.02.10' ---> VERSION='1.02.35'
LOCATION='wdtv.bin'

Added on November 23, 2010, 12:55 am
QUOTE(zwanvedder @ Nov 22 2010, 07:17 PM)
bro how to enable that subdownlder, seems interesting... notworthy.gif
Quite easy, to use plugins you'll need to have a USB drive attached to the WDTV.
Create '.wdlxtv-plugin' folder in the root of the usb drive and place the plugins there
To create 'wdlxtv-plugin', use cmd
Type the usb drive name like 'D:' and press enter
Type 'mkdir .wdtvext-plugin' and there you have it.
Reboot wdtv once you've plugged the usb drive so the plugins can be detected.
And remember to enable subdownloader plugin in the plugins menu.

This post has been edited by alucard89: Nov 23 2010, 12:56 AM
mywii
post Nov 23 2010, 09:44 AM

239 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Nov 22 2010, 09:21 PM)
No need. You already have a modem/router for ur streamyx right? Just buy the switch. Connect the LAN port on your modem/router to the gigabit switch. Connect all your PCs, WDTV, XBOX, PS3 etc to the switch. Nothing to configure. Think of it like a power extension cord for the
Oh that easy. Understd. Thanks a lot.

reef_d
post Nov 23 2010, 05:08 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Nov 17 2010, 04:54 PM)
I bought a cheap Aztech Wireless-N a few weeks ago...retail price is RM29...promotion RM19 only...LOL. It works!!! thumbup.gif
can you share which aztech model usb dongle you are using? firmware version number? hardware number?
i plan to get 1.. i got the dlink dwa-125 but its not working on my wdtv live..
in the latest release dwa-125 ver A1 works.. mine is A2.. bummer..

Added on November 23, 2010, 5:14 pmone more thing..
when i plugged my dwa-125 wireless n usb dongle to my wdtv live running on b-rad firmware.. the dongle becomes very hot but the indicator light on the usb dongle doesnt light up.. let say if its a ip configuration issue, will it light up after a correct configuration? or does your usb dongle lightup during startup i.e. being detected by the wdtv player?

This post has been edited by reef_d: Nov 23 2010, 05:14 PM
SUSMatrix
post Nov 24 2010, 07:43 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(reef_d @ Nov 23 2010, 05:08 PM)
can you share which aztech model usb dongle you are using? firmware version number? hardware number?
i plan to get 1.. i got the dlink dwa-125 but its not working on my wdtv live..
in the latest release dwa-125 ver A1 works.. mine is A2.. bummer..

Added on November 23, 2010, 5:14 pmone more thing..
when i plugged my dwa-125 wireless n usb dongle to my wdtv live running on b-rad firmware.. the dongle becomes very hot but the indicator light on the usb dongle doesnt light up.. let say if its a ip configuration issue, will it light up after a correct configuration? or does your usb dongle lightup during startup i.e. being detected by the wdtv player?
Sure. Aztech Wireless N USB 2.0 Adaptor. Model: Aztech WL52USB. I use only official firmware, no hacked firmware. Maybe u use hacked firmware , that's why cannot work?

btw, just updated official firmware 1.04 last night...so many service added including facebook! It's the biggest facebook i ever saw...LOL. It also supports USB keyboard now...plan to get one later today.

Also added the ACCUWEATHER (neat!) and some other media services. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: Nov 24 2010, 07:44 AM
anfieldude
post Nov 24 2010, 08:26 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Nov 24 2010, 07:43 AM)
Sure. Aztech Wireless N USB 2.0 Adaptor. Model: Aztech WL52USB. I use only official firmware, no hacked firmware. Maybe u use hacked firmware , that's why cannot work?

btw, just updated official firmware 1.04 last night...so many service added including facebook! It's the biggest facebook i ever saw...LOL. It also supports USB keyboard now...plan to get one later today.

Also added the ACCUWEATHER (neat!) and some other media services. smile.gif
Interesting.....They lay dormant since April then release 2 firmwares in a matter of weeks. If they would add auto framerate and ability to display something like coverart, I think they r done.
AjkR06
post Nov 24 2010, 09:29 AM

that's me
1,561 posts

Ermm....
I saw one thread at LYN that sell WDTV for just RM210....

Interested to buy that WDTV... But what's the different between WDTV and WDTV Live? As I know, WDTV Live only have one extra feature which is we can stream media content via network and can watch Youtube, Flickr, Pandora etc via internet connection.. or any other different from WDTV? hmm.gif
SUSMatrix
post Nov 24 2010, 09:35 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Nov 24 2010, 09:29 AM)
Ermm....
I saw one thread at LYN that sell WDTV for just RM210....

Interested to buy that WDTV... But what's the different between WDTV and WDTV Live? As I know, WDTV Live only have one extra feature which is we can stream media content via network and can watch Youtube, Flickr, Pandora etc via internet connection.. or any other different from WDTV? hmm.gif
Don't buy WDTV lar...no network no fun....tongue.gif...but if u only use to watch movies from external local hard disk than ok lar. I stream all my movies from my server.

Added on November 24, 2010, 9:36 am
QUOTE(anfieldude @ Nov 24 2010, 08:26 AM)
Interesting.....They lay dormant since April then release 2 firmwares in a matter of weeks. If they would add auto framerate and ability to display something like coverart, I think they r done.
Yeah, i am suprised too...just updated last week and then got new firmware....it pays to buy branded media player like WDTV....so glad i sold my crap Clamul media player last time...LOL.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Nov 24 2010, 09:36 AM
art6969
post Nov 24 2010, 09:37 AM

1,520 posts

this media player still exist ka?
SUSMatrix
post Nov 24 2010, 09:57 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Nov 24 2010, 08:26 AM)
What is this auto framerate exactly? I thought there is this option in the display menu very long time oready?
anfieldude
post Nov 24 2010, 10:18 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Nov 24 2010, 09:57 AM)
What is this auto framerate exactly? I thought there is this option in the display menu very long time oready?
I'll give u an example. Say u select 1080p/23.976 as us resolution in ur video setup menu. Then u play a 50Hz file of a documentary. Now there is a mismatch of frame rates so u left with juddering with movement. With autores/auto framerate when u play a 50Hz file ur output resolution will autonatically be changed to 1080p/50 without u changing it thus avoiding mismatch. The auto setting in the video setup currently selects the highest resolution supported by ur display (via edid) and it is normally always 1080p/60 and is fixed.
ADJ
post Nov 24 2010, 10:18 AM

..::fairlight::..
2,921 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Nov 24 2010, 09:57 AM)
i think ur referring to auto resolution for the HDMI settings. Selecting Auto would allow the WDTV to select the highest possible screen settings, which would be 1080p/60 on most modern Full HD TVs.
DarkNite
post Nov 24 2010, 02:21 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

Waaaa...another firmware up date so soon.

Release 1.04.10 (11/22/10)
* Supports Facebook application.
* Supports Deezer application.
* Supports Flingo application.
* Supports AccuWeather application.
* Supports USB keyboards. << dunno if via wireless can or not?

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Nov 24 2010, 02:22 PM
reef_d
post Nov 24 2010, 05:49 PM

264 posts

i tried upgrading my brad firmware since the latest release supports the 2nd latest wd firmware but i cant get my unit to detect the update files in the thumbdrive.. tried renaming the ver. number as stated by replacing '.' with '_' and vice versa.. still no luck..

then i figured what the heck.. lets just try installing the latest update from wd instead.. copied over the file and plugged it in and my current wdtv live running on brad detected the update immediately.. proceeded to install it and now i'm running the latest firmware..

best thing is, now my usb dongle from dlink that doesnt work previously now works! yeah the facebook page on my lcd looks HUGE! laugh.gif

will test out some latest videos and see if there is any stutter or anything..
alucard89
post Nov 24 2010, 07:46 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(reef_d @ Nov 24 2010, 05:49 PM)
i tried upgrading my brad firmware since the latest release supports the 2nd latest wd firmware but i cant get my unit to detect the update files in the thumbdrive.. tried renaming the ver. number as stated by replacing '.' with '_' and vice versa.. still no luck..

then i figured what the heck.. lets just try installing the latest update from wd instead.. copied over the file and plugged it in and my current wdtv live running on brad detected the update immediately.. proceeded to install it and now i'm running the latest firmware..

best thing is, now my usb dongle from dlink that doesnt work previously now works! yeah the facebook page on my lcd looks HUGE!  laugh.gif

will test out some latest videos and see if there is any stutter or anything..
Have you tried using wireless keyboard with the latest official firmware?
Does it work?
reef_d
post Nov 24 2010, 08:50 PM

264 posts

sorry dont have any wireless usb keyboard to test with..
i did however tested my 4 port usb which was working on b-rad but now NOT.. bummer.. cry.gif
alucard89
post Nov 24 2010, 09:17 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(reef_d @ Nov 24 2010, 08:50 PM)
sorry dont have any wireless usb keyboard to test with..
i did however tested my 4 port usb which was working on b-rad but now NOT.. bummer..  cry.gif
I really don't get it why WD disabled support for USB Hub with the latest firmware.
All the more reason I'm sticking with wdlxtv.
SiriuslyCold
post Dec 6 2010, 03:36 PM

1,976 posts

Any interest for the WD TV Live Hub?

Looks interesting
  • Built in 1TB HDD
  • Facebook, YouTube, Flickr, Pandora, Live365, Mediafly, AccuWeather
  • Stream to any TV or computer on your network.
  • Programmable remote.
  • Hdmi 1.4
I suppose "Stream to any TV" means there's a corresponding WDTV Live player at the other end.

Viewnet lists it for rm699

This post has been edited by SiriuslyCold: Dec 6 2010, 03:39 PM
SUSMatrix
post Dec 6 2010, 05:13 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

WDTV Live is RM299 at ALL-IT....I think the new WDTV Live hub not worth the money...nothing special other than the internal hard disk. RMVB isn't even on the list.

65 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:49 PM