Canon EOS thread V31, The White Knights

pengster
post Nov 9 2010, 12:01 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Nov 8 2010, 11:42 PM)
Hmm...Seems like quite tight spacing. Any bag slightly bigger than that?
Maybe you can try to look for Bagman. It's like the Crumpler 7 Million Dollar Home's clone. Should be below RM200. smile.gif
pengster
post Nov 9 2010, 12:11 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 9 2010, 12:03 AM)
Oh ya, good recommendation. The biggest size is only RM 150. smile.gif
Sifu Viking is using, still good until today, so no issue. thumbup.gif

Added on November 9, 2010, 12:05 am
Yeah, simply because Buffalo is not a well-known brand. laugh.gif
But it is so round that looks like a tortoise shell. tongue.gif

Yeah, Gorillapod is of course in my bag la. What I meant my tripod la, the real big tripod. laugh.gif
Yah, viking has been using that since forever laugh.gif

QUOTE(saru88 @ Nov 9 2010, 12:06 AM)
im choosing in between 5MDH and 6MDH... i dun like big bag.. 7MDH is too big for me, but i've never seen 6MDH in real life... 5MDH's size is nice, but i'm just worried kenot fit everything...

i have a 60D+18-200mm and 50mm so far... perhaps gonna get a flashgun... other lenses not sure yet... do u think 5MDH can do the job, or to be save, get 6MDH?

i saw some Crumpler OEM quite cheap... dunno it's a fake or what...
btw, i'm looking for screen protector for 60D... seems very hard to find tho... any recommendation?
The 5MDH would be able to fit your current gears. At most you can add a flash before you run out of space with the 5MDH. So if you're planning to get more lenses in the future then maybe the 6MDH is a better bet. smile.gif

And usually those cheap Crumplers are fake laugh.gif Except the OEM Crumpler + Canon EOS 5MDH la.
pengster
post Nov 9 2010, 12:18 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 9 2010, 12:16 AM)
Oh.. Slingshot bag, I had one and sold it off. laugh.gif
Doesn't really suit me, hurt me quite badly though.
Oh hell, sling bag always hurts me but bergaya. laugh.gif

Mine can fit a netbook though, I mean the slingshot that I sold...
I had a Slingshot 200AW last time too, while I loved it and the concept, it hurts like hell after a couple of hours sweat.gif
pengster
post Nov 9 2010, 12:23 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Nov 9 2010, 12:20 AM)
lol...wonder y so many ppl can get hurt by slingshot bag.. hmm.gif
i hang it for whole day n still feel nth... sweat.gif
What do you load your bag with? smile.gif

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 9 2010, 12:21 AM)
Yeah, I saw my colleague had one last time, like very nice, bought one and regret like hell. laugh.gif
Haha yeah. The concept is very good actually, I love the fact that I can just whip out my camera from the bag so easily at any time. And it acts as a lens changer for me too laugh.gif
pengster
post Nov 11 2010, 05:06 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

Whoa. I just softmodded my 70-200 F2.8L IS USM to be able to shoot at F1.4 laugh.gif laugh.gif

pengster
post Nov 11 2010, 08:17 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Redcross @ Nov 11 2010, 05:13 PM)
30mb Raw file? sweat.gif
shot at full 21 megapix ka? laugh.gif
Haha yeah. Was shot at full RAW size. laugh.gif
pengster
post Nov 12 2010, 07:24 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 12 2010, 06:56 PM)
What filter you use?

I used to use a capalang kenko for the 18-55 IS and the color/contrast not nice compared with nekkid so I just took it out and dumped it in McD's  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
With the Hoya HMC on my 50 1.8, it flares like hell when there's a strong source of light in the frame. doh.gif
pengster
post Nov 13 2010, 03:01 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(azrinarizz @ Nov 12 2010, 09:14 PM)
Went out shopping today at the street of HK and came back with a new toy. tongue.gif Wanted to get the sigmalux but things happened. laugh.gif Oh well. http://twitpic.com/365011
Wah nais thumbup.gif BTW, do lenses still carry the 1 year international warranty?
pengster
post Nov 13 2010, 06:01 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(niwooe @ Nov 13 2010, 03:56 AM)
if I'm not mistaken, they stopped offering the international warranty starting 1st Oct 2010 =/

QUOTE(azrinarizz @ Nov 13 2010, 06:45 AM)
Yes, they already stopped the warranty. Usually lenses in my opinion won't die within 1 year if you know how to take care. If crap happens, I have always someone here to help me out. tongue.gif When I buy lenses, I don't worry about warranty. Only care if I buy body.
Ahh yes, so what I've heard is true. Sad that Canon stopped the international warranty scheme for lenses. It was a good way to buy lenses overseas and yet still enjoy some peace of mind for a year.

But yeah so far, none of my stuff had to be sent back for warranty tongue.gif *touchwood touchwood*
pengster
post Nov 13 2010, 08:01 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Nov 13 2010, 07:19 PM)
lol.... thats why.... been thinking if either 5d mark ii or 7d can do it....

I mean.. I love to snap moments of my frens having fun... somehow getting picture sharp for the sake of moment really can't be done with 550d clearly....and yeah... kinda dislike when have to force them to stay still and such

been testing on this lil fella... as a practice since he always moves alot  sweat.gif

at last I gave up and give him abit massage on his back... then he can stop and lay down at 1 place  sweat.gif

Yes, like what Sniper said, forget about the 5D2 if you want quick autofocus. It's exactly the same as your 550D. It has an additional 6 invisible AF assist points for AI Servo but the rest is the same.

If you want fast, get a 7D or a used 1D series. biggrin.gif
pengster
post Nov 13 2010, 09:59 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Nov 13 2010, 08:20 PM)
been thinking of getting a FF body since... it is nice... somehow the af is... abit on the downside but.. for 7d it is nice since it capture fast... but somehow i find it something missing when comparing between the IQ of 5dm2 and 7d....

this 1 is quite nice guide... love the way he explains everything  rclxms.gif

Yeah the AF is crappy to me. My 40D performs better with the same lenses.

QUOTE(Andy Lo @ Nov 13 2010, 09:14 PM)
For still subjects, assuming lens calibration and lighting is good, 5D's AF will definitely be more accurate. Cannot deny that.
If shooting at shallow DOF at long focal length, very hard to anticipate as even the slightest difference in distance will throw the subject OOF.

The lens plays a more major role for AF tracking speed since the USM motor in every lens models also do vary in speed. Higher end bodies seem to be able to process faster and also lesser shutter lag..

But agree on the old fashion way as well.. It's probably the least-headache way... I do that often still. wink.gif

Added on November 13, 2010, 9:17 pm

Like mentioned by many members earlier, the lens motor plays major role and the overall kit also will affect the tracking..
Blur from shutter and OOF is diff... Maybe easier if you share the photo with EXIF and details. smile.gif
For still subjects + center AF point only, yes it is more accurate. But not for the peripheral points. Even with a still subject and shooting at F5.6 doh.gif

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 13 2010, 09:57 PM)
That's what you said last month... the month before AND the month before  whistling.gif  laugh.gif
LOL totally agree with Sniper. I'm sure fruitie will get her UWA by January laugh.gif
pengster
post Nov 13 2010, 10:06 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 13 2010, 10:04 PM)
Sadly I think I'll prove you wrong this time. Though in my heart wants this to happen.
But all purchases needed to be justified. nod.gif

Yeah lo. cry.gif
Haha good good. Have to control spending sometimes else it'll be bad for our healths laugh.gif

QUOTE(faizzi007 @ Nov 13 2010, 10:04 PM)
dear honourable sifus...
I wan ask, when doing fashion walkway photography, is AI-Focus the best?
Use AI-Servo. smile.gif
pengster
post Nov 13 2010, 10:46 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Nov 13 2010, 10:08 PM)
Mind sharing your experience with 5d mark ii ai servo? or maybe ai servo and ai focus? or is it that you just use the old way? hmm.gif
I use One Shot mode most of the time, unless I'm shooting sports. Then I'll use AI Servo.

QUOTE(faizzi007 @ Nov 13 2010, 10:13 PM)
I know ai-servo can give effect like moving cars background damn bokeh but subject almost perfect clear..
But what does Ai-Focus effect on my subject when Im doing fashion walkway??
AI Servo is predictive focus. It's the mode to use when you're shooting anything moving.

AI Focus is a "smart" focus system whereby the camera switches between One Shot and AI Servo. If the subject moves, the camera will change to AI Servo automatically. If it's still, it's One Shot. smile.gif
pengster
post Nov 13 2010, 11:49 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(faizzi007 @ Nov 13 2010, 11:00 PM)
thanks sifu...
U've been a great help...
No problem, everyone's gotta start somewhere. smile.gif

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Nov 13 2010, 11:10 PM)
owh...understood!
im also using one shot mode most of d time...
tongue.gif
means AI focus is sth like integration like tat...hmm...
i tried shooting a moving truck b4 using AI servo also
vry good! as long as d focus point folos d truck....it will jz AF during moving
Yup that's the point of AI Servo, to keep a moving subject in focus. smile.gif

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 13 2010, 11:30 PM)
Just wondering if anyone is interested in going around taking (street) photos of Petaling Street, Central Market, KL old railway station, Dataran Merdeka or any other places in KL that can portray the retro and vintage looking of KL? smile.gif

I'm always a retro lover. laugh.gif

If everything goes well, it should be on the 11th of December 2010. Any finalised decision will be posted in a proper thread later. wink.gif
I wouldn't mind joining in if I'm around on that day. laugh.gif
pengster
post Nov 15 2010, 12:10 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(zickenx @ Nov 14 2010, 11:31 PM)
Haha thanks for the reply. ANyway. Would be thinking of going directly to the Cannon store on monday to 'invest' in the particular unit. Rather spend a few hundred more just to be sure wink.gif
Just as a guideline, a 550D kit with 18-55 IS is around RM2800. Don't pay too much. As long as you get a local set with 1+2 years warranty you'll be fine smile.gif
pengster
post Nov 15 2010, 12:14 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 15 2010, 12:12 AM)
ehh shouldn't it be less already? 550D + 18-55 IS price RM 2,799 quite a while already. AFAIK body drop price bit kit set last i know that time no drop la. i thought maybe could've drop already since 60D came out.
Hmm I'm not sure, anyone has the latest price? I just got the price from some forummer here selling cameras. laugh.gif

Body only is RM2200 though. So the kit might be lower then RM2800.
pengster
post Nov 15 2010, 12:53 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 15 2010, 12:40 AM)
Luckily the value doesn't depreciate much else I'll have heartache. tongue.gif
I bought it when it was just released in March, that time for RM 2470, still OK la. laugh.gif
Yeah, it'll depreciate only when the 550D successor is released laugh.gif

But right now, the 550D is one awesome camera. I actually like it a lot. biggrin.gif
pengster
post Nov 15 2010, 01:04 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 15 2010, 12:59 AM)
laugh.gif Didn't know you like the 550D too. tongue.gif

Yup, I have a few friends with the 550D. I find it a very capable body, and that you're getting alot for your money. Quite a lot of the high end features can be found in the 550D. thumbup.gif
pengster
post Nov 15 2010, 01:13 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Nov 15 2010, 01:12 AM)
Haiseh! I really need a 18-55! 50 f/1.8 on crop is so hard to handle oh sad.gif

Anybody can pinjam me ar biggrin.gif
Why don't you get a used one in Garage Sales? It's only around RM250-RM300 biggrin.gif
pengster
post Nov 15 2010, 11:22 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(azrinarizz @ Nov 15 2010, 11:06 PM)
Today I went shopping. Walk until leg pain. Then I walked into the camera shop to see some stuff while resting my feet. 15 minutes later, I came out with something. tongue.gif http://twitpic.com/3740if
Woot another 100L user here thumbup.gif

Love the 100L. Super sharp and IS works really well.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0499sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:53 AM