Samsung LED TV Thread, owners pls share

ukiya
post May 30 2017, 03:22 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

hey guys, yesterday one of the shop offer me:

Samsung UA55KU6000, RM2899 with free installation and delivery within Klang Valley.

Additional I get 5% rebates: Final price shud be around RM2755
Should I Buy? Or shud I go for LG 55UJ63 ?

Cheap? Good?

I'm also saw a Samsung QLED display unit (was out of the box for exhibition) and they letting go at RM8880 ... shud b 55" inch TV in Harvey Norman.
Wish I m have the budget!? Or any good one to recommend beside UA55KU6000? I m try looking for KS series. very hard to find even desa home ...

This post has been edited by ukiya: May 30 2017, 03:42 PM
ukiya
post Jun 5 2017, 10:08 AM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(Haruji Sora @ May 30 2017, 06:57 PM)
LG LCD TV is kinda worse off than Samsung equivalent.

There is a RM4999 KS7000 above @ 11 street.

As mention prior few, for below RM3k price tag, KU6000 is kinda the best choice for 55 inch TV for that price.
I m saw. KU6000 quite attractive to me ... however the demo and the screening kinda turn me down when i pay a visit to the show room.
And KS7000 wow me but SH told me its a last year model and they stop manufacture KS7000 and cheapest I can get is RM5099.

Since, KU6000 is not as bad as I think... might consider buying from Lazada. Found one shop selling RM2599 with free shipping and installation. RM300 cheaper than SH quoted me. Wait for my house ready in 1 or 2 months time and see whats the best turn out. If not, will just stick with KU6000.

Another offer, is from Harvey. They have 2 demo unit forsales (last 2 weeks i check) they selling off QLED for RM8288... I like tat model but the price is way beyond my level edy.
ukiya
post Jun 5 2017, 11:43 AM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ Jun 5 2017, 11:41 AM)
which SH u pay visit? mind share?
Seng Heng SS2 Branch.
They offered me RM2899 last month. Latest price not sure. But tats their promo last week.
Can go and ask ask and see? They said only their branch having such low price sales for KU6000.
ukiya
post Aug 3 2017, 10:38 AM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

Any review on Samsung QLED Q7F 55" UHD 4K?

Some one offer me RM7080. Should I take it?

Initially looking for either KU6000 or KS7000 but due to no stock... so they suggested me this model.
ukiya
post Aug 3 2017, 01:34 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(Haruji Sora @ Aug 3 2017, 11:36 AM)
LOL KU6000 to KS7000 to Q7F is a big price difference, you talking about price range like 3k to 5k to 7k, each iteration is like a RM2k jump.

If budget allow, Q7F is a decent buy.

If you like LED tech, then Q7F is the way to go (but do try look around OLED offering from LG as their prices are roughly the same or sometimes cheaper abit than Q7F)

For that RM7k range, I probably go for OLED series instead and be careful about burn in (yeah OLED can burn in, although most of the time it is just temporary, but who knows it might be permanent if you left it on a same channel for a few months)
LG which model? Let me go n have a look look.

Yeah. Initially I was looking for KU6000 but no more stock from many of the electrical shop I've been.
Also looking for KS7000, again, limited to none the stock.

Then they start inject me with Q7F for RM7000 ish... The shadowing is quite good and no more reflection compare to other panel.
But it may cost me a bomb. I know... which I hope I dont end up in their poisonous sting ... (well, who's knows right!?) Samsung provided onsite training, 10 years warranty for panel, and free wireless keyboard after installing and gave them a call for assistance.

OLED, I m have bad experienced with OLED before. Not so kin as two of my device using OLED and AMOLED. Both inside got burnt mark after certain time and usage. Quite unpleasant if u ask me. Tho I wow at the silky smooth of the display, but again I m afraid for my next purchase as I'm use TV quite often.

Wanted to enjoy cinema-like kinda of environment and some time PS4. I don't mind KU6000 certainly dont mind to pump a bit more to KS7000. But of coz, cheapest still win provided stock are available. If KS7000 is around RM5 near 6K, I would rather go to Q7F straight away.
ukiya
post Aug 3 2017, 02:51 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(Haruji Sora @ Aug 3 2017, 02:05 PM)
LG you might want to see last year B6 Model. It should be roughly 6k to 8k ish (with or without soundbar price)

I know a few months back I saw it for 8xxx with one free soundbar for the 55 inch variant.

OLED is prone for burn in however there are build in tools that you can run occasionally to negate that issue.

You can go to rting for Q7F review (very in depth)

http://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/samsung/qled-q7f-q7

Not so reflection most probably due to the "moth eye" coating they have, it is present on KS7000 as well (MU removed that coating, boo on them)

Is your primary concern future proofing for HDR? Or just want to the best bang for buck on Picture Quality?

If HDR is a concern, you probably won't get satisfied with KU6000.

KU6000 is good value for money, have very decent PQ, as long as you dont be too fussy with HDR (and let's put it this way, HDR content is fairly limited now).

Past few month ago I saw a KU6000, 60 inch going for like RM5599 (before discount) on a local shop near my place.

I end up cave in to KS7000 55 inch @ RM4950 a few months back, snapping one of the last few units in Sg Buloh cause my primary concern was PS4 Pro and HDR support .
Check the Rtings before for Q7F.
For me, I'm planning to buy somewhere in the middle, between the best and the affordable range. Coz TV for me not changing yearly type of device. So planning to get a good one with good features.

Few months back, I also posted about KU6000 from Sengheng here b4. For about RM2599 but I didnt resort to buy it as my new house is not ready yet and the shop dont wanna keep the stock for too long. Hence, didnt seal the deal.

Now my new house is almost ready in few weeks, so its bout time to get it. But no stocks for both KU6000 and KS7000 model.

I'm looking for 55" UHD with the best available feature whether at entry (RM2-3K) or middle price range (RM3-5K),
Slightly above middle/average (RM5-7K) and high range (RM8K ++) I'm not so kin. as these product price will depreciate eventually. Not really a budget constraint issue but more like I dont feel good to spend so much at the moment as house reno, furniture and other things is costing me a bomb or two edy.

Q7F did caught my attention is the "next generation" TV... but price... really dont feel syok to grab that. I dont mind getting it but personally deep down I would rather die die find a KU6000 or KS7000 or similar products and grab another laptop for gaming edy or use the money invest in a proper sound system or other stuff...
ukiya
post Aug 3 2017, 03:22 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(OPT @ Aug 3 2017, 03:01 PM)
No stock for KU6000?

Actually if you don't mind buying online...there are still available online. Just saying... icon_rolleyes.gif
Yeah. Hardly find.
Online, I saw many seller. But I need to contact them to arrange a delivery and installation so this quite difficult especially in Lazada with no seller contacts.

QUOTE(Haruji Sora @ Aug 3 2017, 03:02 PM)
If you dont mind curved screen, KS7500 should have several stocks hovering around various shops.

I do agree 7k is pretty steep esp after just done renovation (went through that, omg so many things overbudget near the end)

If HDR is not a concern, and you can't find KU series as well, perhaps you can look into the MU series.

I believe 55 inch MU series should be roughly between the RM4k range ish.

MU8000 has better build quality than KS7000 (albeit the design look the same) and similar colors output. Only downside is no moth-eye (so slightly more reflective and lesser peak brightness performance) The MU6xxx is the one that's cheaper, and it is the successor for the KU6300
I'm dont mind curve screen but would prefer flat instead. Gonna hang on the wall.
Yeah... already over budget really doh.gif trying to cut down n minimize. And again, these things dont change always. So better get a good one.
MU8000 I saw yesterday, non curve RM3599 and curve is RM3999. Was quite reflective. Tats y they suggest me Q7F. Higher contrast, black is really black and shadow was good but it was launch not long ago and price is not cheap. Can-Afford but is tat necessary?!

I m gonna paint my tv wall into greyish wall paint with nippon paint.
This type: http://decor.mthai.com/app/uploads/2015/04/elegant.jpg

And mount my TV on d wall. And would prefer black bezel frame. Q7F is using silver bezel and it support universal remote. Q7F remote very cool.

So if i found KU6000 or KS7000 I may not think twice, just buy first. Next time when got budget only buy a better one, and these KU6000 or KS7000 will switch to my master bedroom... hahaha...
ukiya
post Aug 3 2017, 03:50 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(Haruji Sora @ Aug 3 2017, 03:36 PM)
Then I highly suggest not to go for Q7F since QLED is kinda a gimmick now and overpriced atm. You probably can get Q7F for like 5k or lesser by next year (that's how far KS7000 dropped in a year)

Is your living wide? If your seating area is wide then you can also forget about Curved screen.

Also how far is your viewing distance from the sofa to the screen? It will affect how big screen you need (I got 55 inch cause i cheapskated, end up moving the sofa a good 1 feet away more towards the TV to make do LOL)

You might also can look around Sony last year offering for those clearance stock (though I find Sony Malaysia discount is quite bad compared to Samsung)

I'll avoid LG SUPER UHD LCD though, not sure why but it looks damn washed out to me (maybe cause IPS panel)
Yeah... U have the good point.
Tats y I m felt so not good with Q7F now.
When its launch it was around RM12k, and after few weeks, it drop to RM8k. Yesterday I checked, it become 7K ish... it drop drastically.

My sofa is a L shape type, the distance is about 6ft ish and 8ft ish from the wall. Btw, is a condo. I'm dont mind 60" or more as long as hanger can hold and not over big. Of coz later will pump in a carpet from IKEA and 1 or 2 bean bag ...

After painting, I will somehow soundproof (not 100% of course but to minimize the sound to avoid disturbance to other neighbors) the area.

And yes, I avoiding LG IPS Screen, Haier, Hisense, Philips these brand.
Looking into Samsung and Sony at the moment. Other like Panasonic, Sharp... not really like it.

Clearance stock? Didn't see it... And I find Harvey Norman quite expensive compare to other shop.
ukiya
post Aug 3 2017, 05:03 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(Haruji Sora @ Aug 3 2017, 04:06 PM)
Hunt around shops like Hoe Huat, Seng Heng / SenQ, or if you know a local trustworthy shop, you can ring / visit them and just get prices.

For 6 feet ish, you're probably need at min 55 inch, at max 65 inch.

KS7000 is probably more or less sold out now, but it is value for money at that time due to the price cut.
Yeah. I do some hunting yesterday. Seng Heng, SenQ, ESH, no more stocks even their branches.

I'm just wonder is there any merdeka sales started already for the Tv?
ukiya
post Aug 4 2017, 08:07 AM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(Haruji Sora @ Aug 3 2017, 05:08 PM)
I see a number of Merdeka promotion for LG, Samsung, and Sony.

Though mostly on the newer models.

Old stock usually wont show up haha.

Frankly I'm quite surprised you're having difficulty finding KU6xxx series. Just like a month or 2 back I see it everywhere.

Wasn't really visiting Electrical shop nowadays though.
I'm also very surprised its out of stock. If they told me earlier, limited or gonna discontinue, I could have place deposit and secure an unit first.
Anyway, now talk also being late edy.

Gotta hunt down the unit edy. or else have to find someone to sponsor me a Q7F edy.
Is Q7F same with Q7FAM? Same model? Coz yesterday I drop by TBM, quite a weird feeling they display. Aint good.
Their demo sucks! Picture ain't sharp, color not smooth... After discount Price is RM8999 from RM9999 (more pricy than the rest).

QUOTE(ngks @ Aug 3 2017, 07:22 PM)
KU6000 HDR is just signal support but not actually can display it, panel limited.
KS7000 HDR is real and the panel can go upto 1000 nits, as HDR standard recommend
Yeah... either one is good for me.
Just need something tat is OK and not so bad for me at the moment.
Its like getting the best out from the big bucks! TQ.

QUOTE(cycloon @ Aug 3 2017, 11:02 PM)
I ady send message to Senheng ask for availability stock.
Hope they will reply by tomorrow.
Let us know if there's any availability. Thanks!

This post has been edited by ukiya: Aug 4 2017, 08:12 AM
ukiya
post Aug 4 2017, 01:33 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Aug 4 2017, 11:40 AM)
Desa Home is having Aug promo. There's LG 55" B6 for RM7899 + RM750 voucher.

For KS7000, I guess you need to hunt at lesser known shops to try your luck if there's any leftover units. Example - Best Denki

EDIT
Just browsing through Lazada and there's still a lot of shops selling 55" KS7000 at Rm5399. Maybe can try to contact them directly and nego for RM5k price? XD
Sengheng also offer me about the same.
Samsung Q7F RM7899 and rebate 10% into Sengheng account for next purchase. Which I plan to buy a 450L fridge for new home.

OLED vs QLED? Need to read more on this beside the burn in issue with OLED.

Thanks for the Lzd suggestion, tried engage few of them, no response so far. Even comment in Lzd, 11street, shopee few shop, no feedback too.
I m guess its okay. I think I might just look for a latest model then.

Tomorrow I'll go back Pahang hometown, will drop by and have a look. But bit scare coz i need them to install the new TV in my condo in KL. Wonder they may extra charging me or not!? hahaha... anyway, will go n have a look... ^^
ukiya
post Aug 4 2017, 03:27 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(cycloon @ Aug 4 2017, 03:22 PM)
Ok, new reply from Senheng.
Left Only display set @ Kepong, Cheras leisure Mall and Alamanda.
I can check Alamanda later... This is for KU6000 or KS7000?
Thanks for the feedback.
ukiya
post Aug 4 2017, 04:02 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(cycloon @ Aug 4 2017, 03:30 PM)
KS7000, but that day our member said the display set got problem,rite?
Noted. Will double check now...
ukiya
post Aug 5 2017, 12:24 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(cycloon @ Aug 4 2017, 04:21 PM)
UA55KS7000,Yes is 55“, if not mistake is RM4500 after member discount.
QUOTE(cycloon @ Aug 5 2017, 09:15 AM)
Any news?
Yeah. Tat unit got issue. they will contact me soon... whether units can be rectify and by when it's ready.

Thanks ya! Will drop by Pahang Outlet have a look later too.

ukiya
post Aug 7 2017, 01:11 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(cycloon @ Aug 5 2017, 02:50 PM)
Great,hope will replace 1 .
I'll go kepong branch and c 1st.
KS7000 all gone. The alamanda currently "irreplaceable".

KU6000 can forget bout it edy. I m amazed with HDR1000 edy. Will settle for tat or higher range edy.

OLED, i check mostly all RM7K ++ edy. Any recommendation? If not, I will try settle with KS7000 (hopefully can find in Harvey Norman or other electrical rather than SenHeng, ESH and SenQ).
ukiya
post Aug 7 2017, 03:21 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(ubi1kelubi @ Aug 7 2017, 03:12 PM)
if not mistaken led tv life span shud last 60,000 hours - 100,000 hours. if minus 1 year of 24 hours operation, still got long life.
"Technically" la...
ukiya
post Aug 7 2017, 03:54 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(Ivan_T @ Aug 4 2017, 03:45 PM)
Samsung QLED TV is still LCD panel with LED backlighting. QLED stands for Quantum Dot LED (same concept as SUHD from 2016 but upgraded version) is basically just one layer of filter with tiny particles added in front of the backlighting to better manage the colors to ensure accuracy and range. One enhancement for QLED TV is the peak brightness which can reach 1500nits. This is no different from what is being used by LG for their SUHD TV with so called Nanocells technology.

On the other hand OLED (Organic LED) is a completely new TV panel technology and it will be the future for TV panel. OLED panel is with individual self emitting light pixels and each of the pixels can be switch on and off, achieving true blacks and infinite contrast level that no LED backlighting TV can match, doesn't matter what quantum dots technology is being used. Also OLED TV has got the best color range and accuracy as well as the widest viewing angle. Samsung TV using VA panel which has got limited viewing angle and the side view will have degraded picture quality. Also not forgetting LG OLED support Dolby Vision that required hardware support and not just the software HDR support as that from Samsung.

Between QLED and OLED at the same price, it is a no brainer choice. Don't even need to think which is the better choice. QLED is just another marketing gimmick by Samsung, why all their top end mobiles using AMOLED anyway, anyone complain the their S8 screen doesn't look good? OLED burn in issue? I have seen many OLED display sets that runs 12 hours per day at the shops for months, didn't observed any such issue and both the color and brightness are still top notch. QLED TVs are price even higher than OLED TV which is simply ridiculous.
I'm done a lot of reading recently and survey recently.

From what I "observed" from shop to shop...
I realized that OLED, when is Black is perfect Black. It's awesome at some point. But when picture in black or mild black, pictures tends to be completely black whereby QLED, when its black its 98% black. Can see some lighting here tat looks like noise in the picture. That makes some percentage of the darkness to be more revealing...

OLED have certain lifespan but it's not greater than LED.!? OLED might be the future tho as many manufacturer venture into this technology even Apple soon.
But QLED probably just marketing gimmick but HDR1500 really nice... at least no need worry about the burn mark in near future.

Read a lot ... getting confused and tired some time... rclxub.gif
Might just get what it is ... n be done with it.

This post has been edited by ukiya: Aug 7 2017, 03:56 PM
ukiya
post Aug 7 2017, 04:37 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(Haruji Sora @ Aug 7 2017, 04:24 PM)
Tecnically iinm the old OLED tech lifespan is short but the latest breakthrough as of last year or this year is like 100k hours already (of course not all OLED is created equal)

IINM Q7F is still Edge dimming right?

The best way to see dimming is like running a movie with those white middle logo as the start screen (usually it is like SONY or something in the middle in white lettering)

OLED you will see pitch black background (cause the individual pixels is turn off for blacks) while Edge dimming will dim the backlight from each corners until the word sony so you'll see like blooming effect (bright in the middle i.e. gray like black, dark at the rest of the screen)

I would just say buy whatever your budget allow smile.gif

Do take note though that tech sort of change rapidly nowadays so a 5 to 7 year old TV is like approaching the time when you feel itchy to upgrade again hahaha.

You know 4K and HDR is pushed out quickly cause the TV manufacturers want to sell more TV right?

HDR is not even at the stable version yet XD
Very much agreed on HDR is not stable yet...

I do have a lot of 4K contents from gopro, drone footage, and other footage.

I think I will resort to Samsung MU6300 55" RM3420 or Samsung 65" KU6000 RM4280 or this .. LG 60UH617T 60" for RM3699.
Anything above RM5k, i think i will go for LG B6 OLED RM7999 or Samsung QLED Q7FAM RM7119
ukiya
post Aug 7 2017, 07:11 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Aug 7 2017, 04:48 PM)
don't forget the time you'll have to wait for the warranty claim/repair/replacement wink.gif
I phoned Samsung. They wont repair. They will replaced with newer unit provided warranty still within.
Extended warranty have to check the warranty given by Shop or Samsung. If Samsung no issue, if shop, have to take note.

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Aug 7 2017, 05:52 PM)
The way I see it - it's really depends on your luck. Brand new or display, both equally have chance to break down some time in the future haha

Having additional warranty when purchasing display unit is a must. Even if the TV breakdown outside warranty 5 years later, you won't feel bad because you already use it for 5 years.
Yeah. Like a car. Solely based on luck and of coz primary inspection.

QUOTE(sigheart @ Aug 7 2017, 06:41 PM)
Display or new doesn't matter imo. If you get a lemon, new or display it's still a lemon.

But personally I prefer new. Don't like my stuff abused by other people beforehand.

I'm usually one of those guys that just "hentam" on everything and anything on display. Other than testing PQ I would also "caress" and "molest" the TV physically to see how good the build quality is which are stuff I usually won't do if it's my own.

This is the only time you get to do it no?

So yeah, no display sets for me even with a substantial discount.
I also preferred new. But no more in the market. How?

QUOTE(Ivan_T @ Aug 7 2017, 06:47 PM)
Completely agreed. I bought my first LED TV, Samsung 55" many years ago when it was just released for ~RM10k vs new set of RM13k. Bought the display set used in the shop for ~3 months to save RM3k. The TV panel spoiled right after 5 years. My other Panasonic LCD TV 3 years older is still running fine as of today.

Now it is harder to find a good 65" TV at reasonable price, the new Samsung MU series is expensive but picture quality can't match that of last year's KS series.
I managed to found one. Its a clearance unit, from roadshow.
RM4399 for Samsung SUHD KS7000 55" ... Should I go for it? Tho I m already reserving the unit. But still a bit in dilemma... I m glad I managed to secure it and actually hoping it will break within next year or soon... so I can get a replacement "soon" ... hehehe rclxms.gif

ukiya
post Aug 7 2017, 09:16 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

QUOTE(cycloon @ Aug 7 2017, 08:20 PM)
Lazada lor, still a lot. But >RM5399.00
hahaha... I managed to get RM1k lesser plus rebate. Tomorrow go have a look n check condition first.
If okay... will consider making the call and purchased it.

If not, keep looking lolz...

Lazada I tried contact few of them failed. Some location very far as I googled the shop address, few in JB and Penang. One in Bintulu, Sarawak.
So far... later cermin pecah... Sama like Senheng Kuantan, scare to ship coz too far.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1102sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:12 AM