YTL Wimax launched?

ciohbu
post Nov 21 2010, 08:09 AM

Group: Senior Member
2,104 posts

QUOTE(anakrantau @ Nov 21 2010, 02:13 AM)
I just bump into YES booth at one of the phone shop at JJ Bukit Tinggi.
Yes they did said only can use YES service with YES devices.
and its not even available yet, their service only available on 22nd Nov 2010.
so I need to go that shop on Monday to register and use YES service.
BTW I have no more interest on getting YES when they said need to buy their phone/modem in order to use YES service.
their phone are fuggly =.=

plus coverage not tat good yet

anyway... website www.yes.my stil down !!! doh.gif doh.gif
ciohbu
post Nov 21 2010, 09:43 AM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(anakrantau @ Nov 21 2010, 09:31 AM)
so basically what their offer for voice call is voip right?
yes.. its totally different from our current telco
ciohbu
post Nov 21 2010, 10:16 AM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(actisys @ Nov 21 2010, 10:00 AM)
Huh what? Need to buy their phone? I thought only get their devices and surf online? I'm not going to drop my iDevice just because of YES providing cheaper rate.
nope... u can just buy their device to online... but if u wanna use their voice service, u need to buy their phone, bcoz our normal phone cant use yes4G voice service
ciohbu
post Nov 21 2010, 10:46 AM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(actisys @ Nov 21 2010, 10:22 AM)
Huh? Even iPhone 4 also not supported?
not sure whether u can get a huddle and connect it to ur iphone 4 to online, but for sure iphone 4 alone can't use their voice service

bcoz yes4g is based on wimax, iphone 4 based on gsm, comparison as below :

iphone 4
Connectivity Quad-band GSM/GPRS/EDGE
(800 850 900 1800 1900 MHz)
Quad-band UMTS/HSDPA/HSUPA
(800 850 900 1900 2100 MHz) (800 MHz not yet announced as supported by Apple)
Wi-Fi (802.11b/g/n) (2.4 GHz only)
Bluetooth 2.1 + EDR

htc evo 4g (as example. yes4g only carry samsung buzz as their wimax phone currently )
Connectivity Dual-band CDMA/EVDO Rev. A (800 1900 MHz)
2.5 to 2.7 GHz WiMAX 802.16e[2]
Wi-Fi (802.11b/g/n[3]), Bluetooth 2.1 + EDR

yes4g is operating at 2.3ghz

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Nov 21 2010, 11:02 AM
ciohbu
post Nov 21 2010, 10:48 AM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(debbierowe @ Nov 21 2010, 10:47 AM)
haih... tot that this maybe great since unifi will not reach my place for a while.... after all these and registered a 018 number then the big disappointment...
their coverage not that good yet wink.gif
ciohbu
post Nov 21 2010, 11:04 AM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(debbierowe @ Nov 21 2010, 10:58 AM)
you mean "Yes"? but well, atleast they cover my area

if only unifi has aredy reach my place then i no need to choose any other bb provider.

i currently using izzi, will consider umobile
i see.. survey umobile d ?

unifi focus more on enterprise customers rather than end user from wat i can see.. bcoz they usually only cover those business business area > <

ciohbu
post Nov 21 2010, 12:33 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(deodherion @ Nov 21 2010, 12:25 PM)
iPhone is a multimode device which support both GSM and 3G. It will fallback to GSM when there is no 3G.

HTC Evo 4G is a multimode device which support both CDMA and WiMAX. It will fallback to CDMA when t here is no WiMAX.

YES Buzz is a single mode device which only support WiMAX (if not mistaken). That's why you won't able to use voice when you are out of coverage.

There is not much information given on the YES Buzz, there is no technical specification as well.

There is also no mention whether YES signed any MVNO agreement with any local telco operator to switch to GSM/3G when the user moves out of YES coverage. That's what U Mobile did when they first startup.
hmm... i think unless buzz support both gsm and wimax, then only u can do that.. if no, how to switch over to digi or maxis, its impossible

yupe, i can't find any info online on samsung buss > <'' YTL should provide more info, after a GRAND launching
ciohbu
post Nov 21 2010, 02:15 PM

2,104 posts

Yes 4G WiMAX - Misleading Ads & Embarrassing Launch

As if that were not enough, Yes 4G has been publishing misleading ads on Google by targeting competitor brand names, whether on purpose or because they have incompetent AdWords managers. When I did a search for rival “p1″ on google.com.my, I saw the following ad (click here for a bigger screenshot):

The ad is obviously misleading because while it advertises “P1 Malaysia”, users are instead taken to the Yes 4G website. This is not only unethical but I’m almost certain that it infringes P1’s trademarks, which gives P1 good reasons to compel Google to take down the ads, and possibly even give them grounds for legal action.

YTL’s Yes 4G WiMAX service was finally launched, albeit to an embarrassing start, at 6pm yesterday. Proudly touting Yes as the “world’s first fully converged mobile Internet service”, “most affordable mobile Internet service with voice” and having “65% coverage”, its website has failed to load correctly even after more than 24 hours since the launch.

This has left many potential customers deeply disappointed after the long anticipation, judging from the negative responses on the blogosphere and Yes 4G’s own Facebook fan page.

http://www.larrylim.net/seo-online-marketi...ing-launch/182/

unsure.gif unsure.gif

maybe tan sri yeoh didn't consult sifu about the date for launch .. bad feng shui ? lolx whistling.gif

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Nov 21 2010, 02:17 PM
ciohbu
post Nov 21 2010, 03:20 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(tigana @ Nov 21 2010, 03:17 PM)
Come on guys. Early days yet. I remember that P1 also had teething problems. Not a YTL fan boy. But to me, another service provider enables more competition which should be good for the end user.
with official website stil down today... they need MORE time b4 launch it whistling.gif whistling.gif
ciohbu
post Nov 21 2010, 03:35 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(hsyong @ Nov 21 2010, 03:32 PM)
The YES.my website is working fine.

Clarification regarding the RM30 MUR by the YES facebook admin:

"Hi everyone, to answer your questions on credit, credit will not expire. However, for the account to remain active, RM30 has to be loaded into the account each month. Any unused amount will be available for you to use the following month, s...o nothing is wasted smile.gif As for our rate plan, Yes is mobile internet and from what we have surveyed, most mobile internet users do not use finish their monthly quotas. That means, most everyone is paying for something they eventually never use, that's why we believe the utility model with rebates on top of that will consistently save our customers money."
maybe for certain area is fine.. i stil can't load it in my company or home

it sound like the same with DIGI or MAXIS prepaid rite ?
ciohbu
post Nov 21 2010, 04:31 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(hsyong @ Nov 21 2010, 04:28 PM)
Not sure as I don't use prepaid, maybe similar to Digi/Maxis VOICE plan prepaid? But all other prepaid BROADBAND plan has expiry right?
i don't use prepaid too.. ytl comms better come out with a clearer plans soon, b4 everyone got more and more confuse whistling.gif
ciohbu
post Nov 21 2010, 04:55 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(miskin @ Nov 21 2010, 04:36 PM)
1) Ask them to change their Terms of Use about MUR, then i can believe that "any unused credit will be available for you to use the following month" (see the attached Terms of Use.pdf) . If you complain about your credit been deducted, then they will say "It has been stated in our Terms of Use at our website, have you read it ??" . Do you want to say "But from the YES FB page, the YES FB Admin said not expired" ???  hmm.gif
2) "RM30 has to be reloaded into the account each month" is like monthly commitment, if not, our account will be suspended, if want to re-activate, have to pay RM50 for activation fee
3) I dont think they survey for the heavy user, they only survey like mobile user
4) Their yes.my website still did not working.
from light user point of view : " why i wanna pay rm30 each month, when my current prepaid i use less than rm30, i top up rm30 and i still can get my balance carry forward to next month, and wth, i need to buy ur fuggly phone? "

from heavy user point of view : " yeah, voice is cheap, but u charge me for data transfered, 1gb file complete faster but bill also increase faster, streamyx or unifi standard charges, although i need to wait 1 or 2 days, but wth, i on my pc 24 hours, who cares "

lolx

from another topic
@skthew u r right, if u dont utilize the svc over a period of 90 days, ur acct expires @iMleesh @soya_cincau

http://twitter.com/yes4g/status/6265451503943680

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Nov 21 2010, 05:04 PM
ciohbu
post Nov 21 2010, 05:46 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Nov 21 2010, 05:31 PM)
What does that say about their RM30 monthly commitment?
Aren't light users "not use finish their monthly quotas" of credit now instead of data?
If I use less than RM30 a month, at the end of one year I'm going to have a lot of unused credit.
What am supposed to do with it?
QUOTE(wiind @ Nov 21 2010, 05:40 PM)
even u use less than RM30, they will still charge you RM30, so u wont have a lot of unused credit... rclxub.gif
yupe..minimum usage per month is rm30, and account will expire in 90 days if not utilize, pay another rm50 to activate back
ciohbu
post Nov 21 2010, 06:03 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Nov 21 2010, 06:01 PM)
Read again.

That means you have to keep reloading RM30 even if you don't use one sen.
However since unused credit does not expire, your total credit will keep growing just like other celcos prepaid service.

So...
With other celcos, you need to top up RM30 for 30 days validity with RM30 credit.
With YES, you need to reload RM30 to keep your account active for the next month with RM30 credit.
Isn't that the same?

No commitment?
I think not.
ytl said it in different word, they said minimum usage for each month is rm30, and they wil auto deduct that from ur credit if u use less than rm30

for me its the same .. lolx

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0330sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:09 PM