YTL Wimax launched?

Quantum_thinking
post Dec 4 2010, 11:15 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Dec 4 2010, 09:50 PM)

I did a pre-launch registration without knowing the actual cost of service and thought it was just some kind of "grab your username now" promo as advertised. After reading so many -ve feedbacks from the internet, I never bother about it until today I saw your posting.......I immediately login to check my account and I saw a RM-50 in my account balance too. I called them but unfortunately customer service not working during weekend. Can any one explain how to read YES billing format ?
I did not even hesitate to log in after i found out their rate and hardware requirement sucks. Let's see if they have balls to chase us for the RM50 or not.
Quantum_thinking
post Dec 4 2010, 11:55 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(iipohbee @ Dec 4 2010, 11:23 PM)
Me too. I pre-registered last time. But didn't have the time to make my way to their Yes flagship store to confirm my registration.

They can't force it down people's throat like that.
i also did not confirm my registration as well.

I don't think they will blacklist us for not paying the RM50, unless they ignore the fact we did not even sign any document with them.
Quantum_thinking
post Dec 5 2010, 12:56 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Dec 5 2010, 12:26 PM)
Pre-registered = pre-deducted RM50 activation

I guess when you pay RM50 activation when you buy their hardware, the -RM50 will be zeroed.
If you don't actually use their service, then after the due date for activation of pre-registered accounts, your account and 018 number will be terminated.
QUOTE(maxximus @ Dec 5 2010, 12:36 PM)
I pre-registered as well, and I encounter the same that my a/c having -RM50.

I called the customer service today, according to the customer service, the activation fee waiver ONLY applicable if u sign up and take the Huddle + iPad. 

As for the -RM50 at pre-registered user's a/c, if u did not activate it by 19-Dec-2010, your a/c will be automatically delete from their system.
I see. Thanks for replying, guys.
Quantum_thinking
post Dec 18 2010, 12:53 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(Skidd Chung @ Dec 18 2010, 10:04 AM)
Yes broadband review from KL to Penang.

Soya Cincau
Thanks for link. it is very useful.. rclxms.gif
Quantum_thinking
post Dec 23 2010, 11:47 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(coolstore @ Dec 23 2010, 05:47 PM)
maybe their new signup already slow down then come up with sth to attract ppl ........ saw their booth not much ppl.... and TM unifi and Time Fibre starting attack now... when walk around kl can see the Time fiber optic package banner hang here and there...TM unifi set up many mobile booth now, just like celcom bb...

really look like a war... just now outside a mbb, the celcom booth already been there for a long time...now on the opposite side (car parking site) got a new TM unifi booth , maybe unifi booth not strategic can't get much customer, then their 2 promoter walk to the mbb front door, where also the area of celcom booth, almost gaduh those guys ...  blink.gif
TIME fibre coverage is limited to my disappointment. YTL MS office and dongle package is not very attractive either. yawn.gif

P/S use the spoiler.

This post has been edited by Quantum_thinking: Dec 23 2010, 11:48 PM
Quantum_thinking
post Dec 26 2010, 01:15 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Dec 26 2010, 10:49 AM)
Exactly!
They may claim No Validity, No Expiry but instead introduce new condition - "MINIMUM USAGE REQUIREMENT" doh.gif
Same same
For me, it is totally contradict with their pay as you use method.

It is really unfair to me if I am being charged just because i am obliged by the company policy.
Quantum_thinking
post Dec 27 2010, 12:27 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(cy97 @ Dec 26 2010, 06:24 PM)
This YTL sucks a lot of our money in getting billion in term of power subsidy to sustain their other venture! It would be lonely to drive alone in the Highway ! Hope they dun find way to sell back to Govemen when they can't sustain thier business any more !
I do not think they need to do that as YTL is a very very big company.

P1 might offer a better deal to expand their network if YTL really decide to stay away from this business rather than the government.
Quantum_thinking
post Dec 27 2010, 02:00 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(nonameNo @ Dec 27 2010, 10:49 AM)
you can't calculate it like these.

if you using 3GB and above, there is rebate going on. E.g. using 4GB, then RM23 rebate. If using 5GB++, then 30% discount and so on....
At the end, it won't be better than the fixed rate broadband price and the constant fear of high bills.
Quantum_thinking
post Dec 27 2010, 10:32 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(nonameNo @ Dec 27 2010, 10:13 PM)
depend to your usage. for me, i dont streaming video like youtube or listen to music when using broadband. just need a mobile which can check office mail, do some work and occasionally browse internet. thus is feasible to me, pay as you use....
For you, yes.

For me, I do not download huge stuff such as movies into my netbook. But i still use quite a lot of data to surf the internet.
Quantum_thinking
post Dec 29 2010, 03:57 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(sunnyK @ Dec 29 2010, 03:50 PM)
wonder 5gb per month of usage will equate to how much after rebate .

how do they calculate normal surfing ? and how do they calculate if we took 1 hr to read certain website page

anyone experience user please contribute
Bro,

What kind of webpage that requires 1 hour to load?
Quantum_thinking
post Dec 30 2010, 02:14 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(sunnyK @ Dec 29 2010, 04:10 PM)
not load lah.

taking sweet time to concentrate and read
edit: just discover , actually YES website did have a usage calculation . 250 hrs surfing at RM30 per month but youtube is expensive
lowkl has answered most of my opinion.

QUOTE(lowkl @ Dec 29 2010, 11:26 PM)
Actually, YES costs are based on the amount of data transferred. So what you pay is the amount of data that makes up that web page. It does not matter how long you take to read the page.... take your time! You can even leave it on overnight and it will not use any extra data (and therefore will not cost you an extra sen).

Most web pages are only a few hundred kilobytes in size, so that they can be loaded faster. As such you can browse thousands of webpages for 1GB of data... eg. 100KB per page = 10 pages per 1MB, or 10,000 pages for 1GB.

Of course these days there are many pages which build in Flash graphics and even let you view video/YouTube within the page itself (without having to go to another site). In this case the amount of data transferred can be much more.

Nevertheless, even with heavy browsing, IMHO you won't touch 1GB a month, unless you do a lot of video.
Bro,

I still heard that a forumer claimed that he use 100mb at least per day due to very heavy surfing (3 hours at least per day).

Therefore, it is essential to have a data monitoring software to alert the user if too much data is used.
Quantum_thinking
post Dec 31 2010, 10:35 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Dec 31 2010, 07:24 PM)
I think immediately. The sales person asked me if I wanted assistance to set up the Huddle, so I said hey why not. Looked like the connection was live at the store itself (Lot10).

Confirmed that I linked up less than an hour after that.

Added on December 31, 2010, 8:07 pmI've done a side-by-side breakeven analysis with currently available broadband services against YTL Yes, purely on the basis of cost (not looking at quality).

My criteria:

- packages must provide at least 1Mbps. Less than that is a sad excuse for broadband.
- generally no promo considered (DiGi's an exception, because I generally like their service... so sue me)

The results:

Conclusion:

- There is nothing cheaper than YTL Yes if your data volume is less than 2.3GB per month. Above this until 3GB DiGi and Maxis have cheaper packages but only until 3GB at which point they will throttle. So if you use under 2.3 GB most of the time and sometimes exceed 3GB, still want full speed and are willing to pay for it, YTL Yes is still a better deal.

- For the next tier usage (10GB to 20GB) YTL Yes is only cheaper until 3.7GB (at DiGi speeds during promo), 4.7GB (at P1 or Maxis speeds), 5.1GB (at DiGi non-promo speeds) or 7.1 GB (at Unifi 5Mbps speeds). These only throttle at a min of 6GB to 60GB, depending on the service. So IMHO if you don't routinely exceed 5GB per month, then YTL Yes is more cost-effective; however, things can get pretty expensive if you go beyond this limit all the time.

- For the heavy usage tier (Above 10GB) no need to talk lah... as expected YTL Yes is NOT the service for you.
Please flame me lightly where I got it wrong...
Thanks for these comparison. Looks like i can consider of getting YTL wimax. But I prefertolearn more on securing the wireless before getting the huddle. If my YTL is being hacked, it will really make me cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
Quantum_thinking
post Jan 1 2011, 03:13 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Dec 31 2010, 10:45 PM)
I found out that I can link cabled to the Huddle and disable WiFi. This effectively secures the connection; however, you are right ... since YTL Yes is PAYU I also constantly worry that someone compromises my ID/password and eats up my credits.

Must suggest to YTL some ways to mitigate against this, eg: ID linked to a list of registered devices, so that only these devices can draw down on that ID's credits

@iipohbee

Does the huddle allows the user to set which device can connects based on their MAC address?

QUOTE(iipohbee @ Jan 1 2011, 01:17 AM)
Not to worry just make sure that your account has sufficient credits inside and not in excess will ensure that you won't be compromised.
RM100 is more than enough inside.

There's some concern about the RM1199 Free Huddle plan though which gives you a free Huddle with RM1200 credit.
If someone gets hold of your password say bye bye to your 40 months of RM30 1GB pre-payment.

So make sure your account has just enough.If your password is stolen, you'll know right away that someone has been using your line even when you didn't touch the account.
I thought i read in somewhere this thread that the YTL is the first prepaid system with negative balance?

I forgot which page already, but i think it is somewhere in this thread.

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Jan 1 2011, 01:26 PM)
it is prepaid system, no money no need to top up.
you won't get shocking bill.

Based on the system,I am not comfortable in using their service as I prefer the bill worry free subscription.

This post has been edited by Quantum_thinking: Jan 1 2011, 03:14 PM
Quantum_thinking
post Jan 1 2011, 06:03 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(iipohbee @ Jan 1 2011, 05:40 PM)
Nope and not recommended as well. With a personal mifi device, you're better off setting WPA2 and a strong password.

Also the negative balance only happened when they gave the complimentary 10GB last month.

Now no more, you won't get the negative balance and internet access will cut off once hits RM0.
A minimum of RM30 will be deducted every month or else if it doesn't find that amount , you'll get a negative in this case.

That's why don't top up too much in your account. Those who subscribed to the prepaid RM1200 with Free Huddle plan have to be very careful or else you'll be paying RM50 for the next 24months while still having to top up a minimum of RM30 for the next 2 years to keep your account alive.
I see. I am still not familiar with the WPA2 system yet.

Looks like it will be a while before I start to use YTL.
Quantum_thinking
post Jan 1 2011, 11:37 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(karheng @ Jan 1 2011, 06:40 PM)
surely not recommended YTL for heavy downloader...
I don't think the user would use that much in a month unless his/her account get hacked.
Quantum_thinking
post Jan 2 2011, 09:20 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Jan 2 2011, 01:30 AM)
Yup... the Huddle can indeed restrict access via MAC address....

However, since it is possible to fake a MAC address, this is only an additional precaution. A good WPA2 & secure password must still be used in addition to this.

On the negative balance, I think that is an anomaly due to their deduction of RM50 for registration fee....so before you load up the credits you will see negative. Also, during the first few weeks there was a free 10GB bonus access during which time the "meter" read -RM50.....
For me, i heard that it can be over come by changing the mac address.

However, such precaution may discourage the hacker if there are other soft targets around. Is there a way restrict the data usage through the huddle?
Quantum_thinking
post Jan 2 2011, 05:40 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Jan 2 2011, 11:55 AM)
Can't find any means to cap usage.... I think YTL wouldn't like the idea .....
Looks like we have to really monitor the YTL credit at all times.
Quantum_thinking
post Jan 2 2011, 08:04 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Jan 2 2011, 05:45 PM)
YES, can be hacked?

OMG, users will lose their credit in no time doh.gif

there are numerous hacking too around too brows.gif
Umm, any wireless device have such a risk. In YES case, it will be real painful.

QUOTE(BigMan123 @ Jan 2 2011, 06:13 PM)
Any idea how we can view usage? Credit seems to be going down quite fast... But i like the huddle or turtle shell. Haha
You can install a free network monitor software in your pc, but if people hacked into your huddle; you can only know when you check your credit.
Quantum_thinking
post Jan 3 2011, 12:43 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(NoobboyZzZ @ Jan 2 2011, 08:11 PM)
dude u need some brain fix
thr earn thr and use thr also wont feel exp
earn using USD use USD
we malaysia use MY dollar buy EXPENSIVE MY Server
even compare singapore dollar to dollar its even cheaper then malaysia
Sounds reasonable for them to charge more expensive than other country, but i am not a fan of YTL mainly because of its charging method.

QUOTE(iipohbee @ Jan 2 2011, 08:36 PM)
Yes follows Clearwire as their role model.

Did you all know that Clear Wimax packages comes with unlimited data usage and no speed caps?

http://www.clear.com/packages

They shame Verizon's LTE service.
Bro,

P1 wimax which operates the FUP also having a difficulty of maintaining optimum service to all customer. If no FUP in place, do you think it is "better" and fair to some users?
Quantum_thinking
post Jan 4 2011, 01:24 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(anderson.neu @ Jan 4 2011, 03:05 AM)
Don't use WEP.
Use WPA+WPA2 security and TKIP+AES encryption, this one more secure.
not very familiar with their system yet. Mind providing the link that explains those security?

Thanks in advance.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0350sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:55 AM