126 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Bottom

Nokia N8 - V9 - [The King of Camera Phones], New N8 Owner, please read the FrontPage!

BBXiong
post Oct 28 2010, 04:48 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 28 2010, 04:38 PM)
*cough* *cough*

Any improvement is welcome to Symbian. If Nokia re-write the layer to use the GPU, then BuFung will  notworthy.gif
doh.gif
do you know how long is it to even code UI stuff? let alone low level kernal stuff...
not to mention the $$$ they dump in for the R&D for it
BuFung
post Oct 28 2010, 04:51 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(freakenstein @ Oct 28 2010, 04:45 PM)
I'm having auto crashes on both browsers . I thought Opera would be a better browser than the stock one but didn't expected it to auto off by itself  doh.gif
Nope , it was not even close. Just some zooming focusing issues , well not really an issue.
Auto crash... sweat.gif sweat.gif new features ah? laugh.gif

ok...

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 28 2010, 04:45 PM)
Is there a differences between screen timeout and backlight? cause sometimes the setting is kinda confusing

I have disable Java support, but browser still crash.
screen timeout and backlight timeout.. same thing...
in AMOLED term.. there is no backlight.... so.. put it ask screen time out is a better term.. biggrin.gif

Leo the Lion
post Oct 28 2010, 04:52 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Oct 28 2010, 05:46 PM)
lol...c'mon lar, same hardware, same firmware....there's no such thing as 2nd batch no problem, just that you didnt perform the specific actions to make the bug occur..mine is first batch, apart from feeling that it responds kinda slow, i didnt face any major bug also
spec different, hence coding different. See it this way...5800 camera image processing and 5530 implementation might be different, so the seperate the coding for the camera processing part. it will work fine by that camera module itself, but, when you join together with other modules like file saving, preview, etc etc, it might have different behavior due to the different coding, hence even though the spec is the same, OS is the same, some of the bugs would only occur on specific models...due to different programmers and codings.
my N8? well...browser crash when i click on email link lor...other then that, never encounter anything before wor...maybe mine also 2nd batch?
it's not he hates symbian, is cos people that used other platform will know, Symbian cannot compete with other OS as of now. I been using 6680 -> N851 -> N82 also, long time Symbian fan, but even i think that compared to iOS, Symbian is like a baby in comparison...
we don have Symbian, you only think that way because you lack of exposure to other platforms.
that one i think is OS issue, save the OS cache to wrong place...
network connection is lame excuse? it's like your browser lar, if the page content is not loaded, what u want them to show?
doh.gif
you know how much power do you need to power a GPU? u know why gaming drains your battery like water? cos they uses GPU....your meaning is you want to use GPGU everywhere, and navigates thru the menu will also drain your battery at similar level of gaming? GPGPU is good, but it doesnt mean it must be applied everywhere, when battery life is a concern
Can't it show "Unable to load content"? like Android market? Make it like click Game Category and it moves to another page smoothly, but the current Ovi store isn't smooth and I noticed some slowness when moving to another page.

And c'mon, all I hear what people complaining is the slowness/lagness of N8, can't they use the GPU to make it more smooth?

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Oct 28 2010, 04:53 PM
BuFung
post Oct 28 2010, 04:52 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Oct 28 2010, 04:48 PM)
doh.gif
do you know how long is it to even code UI stuff? let alone low level kernal stuff...
not to mention the $$$ they dump in for the R&D for it
sweat.gif new OS require.. concluded...
freakenstein
post Oct 28 2010, 04:53 PM

2,239 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Oct 28 2010, 05:51 PM)
Auto crash... sweat.gif sweat.gif  new features ah? laugh.gif

ok...
in AMOLED term.. there is no backlight....  so.. put it ask screen time out is a better term.. biggrin.gif
Hehe type too fast tongue.gif
Leo the Lion
post Oct 28 2010, 04:54 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Oct 28 2010, 05:51 PM)
Auto crash... sweat.gif sweat.gif  new features ah? laugh.gif

ok...
in AMOLED term.. there is no backlight....  so.. put it ask screen time out is a better term.. biggrin.gif
There are backlight in my Ovi Map BETA settings and screentime out in nokia settings.
TSsklchan
post Oct 28 2010, 04:55 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

the waiting game start now for new fw release.... feel same as my old 5800xm... whistling.gif
BuFung
post Oct 28 2010, 04:56 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 28 2010, 04:54 PM)
There are backlight in my Ovi Map BETA settings and screentime out in nokia settings.
they refer to the same thing anyway....

beside.. like BBxiong say.. to make the entire phone rely on GPU resource.. that is almost a mission impossible...
Leo the Lion
post Oct 28 2010, 04:57 PM

6,358 posts

When I applied matte SP, feels like I'm using my old N97 laugh.gif
BuFung
post Oct 28 2010, 04:58 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Oct 28 2010, 04:55 PM)
the waiting game start now for new fw release.... feel same as my old 5800xm... whistling.gif
waiting for V30 on my N97.....

ohps.. I sold the phone...

waiting for OS6 on my BB..

ohps.. will not come to 9700.. RIM announce sister model 9780.....
Leo the Lion
post Oct 28 2010, 04:58 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Oct 28 2010, 05:56 PM)
they refer to the same thing anyway....
beside..  like BBxiong say..  to make the entire phone rely on GPU resource.. that is almost a mission impossible...
not entirely. if they can make pinch to zoom in ovi map really smooth (the features pinch to zoom is depend on GPU), then they can make the stock app smooth as well if certain code is depend on the GPU.

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Oct 28 2010, 05:01 PM
TSsklchan
post Oct 28 2010, 04:59 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 28 2010, 04:54 PM)
Ovi Maps backlight setting

Always ON - will overwrite the system screentime out DURING ovi maps running
Optimize - will dim if not in routing mode, on long straight road will dim as well (need confirmation)
System default - use back system screentime out setting...

nod.gif
nokia2004
post Oct 28 2010, 04:59 PM

98 posts

Is the N8 New firmware out? @@
Leo the Lion
post Oct 28 2010, 05:00 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Oct 28 2010, 05:59 PM)
Ovi Maps backlight setting

Always ON - will overwrite the system screentime out DURING ovi maps running
Optimize - will dim if not in routing mode, on long straight road will dim as well (need confirmation)
System default - use back system screentime out setting...

nod.gif
Can't they change it to screentime out? rclxub.gif

Added on October 28, 2010, 5:01 pm
QUOTE(nokia2004 @ Oct 28 2010, 05:59 PM)
Is the N8 New firmware out? @@
no.

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Oct 28 2010, 05:01 PM
TSsklchan
post Oct 28 2010, 05:01 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Oct 28 2010, 04:58 PM)
waiting for V30 on my N97..... 
ohps..  I sold the phone...
waiting for OS6 on my BB.. 

ohps.. will not come to 9700..  RIM announce sister model 9780.....
hehe... not the case for the tube oh...
v30 > v31 > v40 > v50 > v51.... huhuhu... but still all seem not major update to me... tongue.gif
BuFung
post Oct 28 2010, 05:01 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 28 2010, 04:57 PM)
u just destroy the clarity of the display.. laugh.gif

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 28 2010, 04:58 PM)
not entirely. if they can make pinch to zoom in ovi map really smooth, then they can make the stock app smooth as well if certain code is depend on the GPU.
u are talking about different level of programming already.. that is in App level.. not OS level..

U have to convince every single App maker to use the GPU then.. if that is the case.. maybe u can say bye bye to OT...
TSsklchan
post Oct 28 2010, 05:02 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 28 2010, 05:00 PM)
Can't they change it to screentime out?  rclxub.gif

Added on October 28, 2010, 5:01 pm

no.
"sorry bro... different department"... tongue.gif

Added on October 28, 2010, 5:04 pm
QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 28 2010, 04:57 PM)
WHY!!! WHY!!! WHY u using SP???? felt been left alone with naked N8 screen... cry.gif

This post has been edited by sklchan: Oct 28 2010, 05:04 PM
BuFung
post Oct 28 2010, 05:04 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Oct 28 2010, 05:01 PM)
hehe... not the case for the tube oh...
v30 > v31 > v40 > v50 > v51.... huhuhu... but still all seem not major update to me... tongue.gif
there is 1 time.. when they announce kinetic scrolling.. everybody.. wah.. wao.. wu!! Iphone!! doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

wtf... doh.gif

5800 keyboard are legendary... legendary small... sweat.gif
Leo the Lion
post Oct 28 2010, 05:05 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Oct 28 2010, 06:02 PM)
"sorry bro... different department"...  tongue.gif

Added on October 28, 2010, 5:04 pm

WHY!!! WHY!!! WHY u using SP???? felt been left alone with naked N8 screen...  cry.gif
Cheap SP RM10. But the SP already got some scratch coz of my car key. rclxub.gif
TSsklchan
post Oct 28 2010, 05:06 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Oct 28 2010, 05:04 PM)
there is 1 time.. when they announce kinetic scrolling.. everybody.. wah.. wao..  wu!!  Iphone!!  doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

wtf...  doh.gif 

5800 keyboard are legendary...    legendary small...  sweat.gif
but and now N8 user asking for that legendary small potrait keyboard back.... tongue.gif

126 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Top

0.0315sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:56 PM