Nov 15 2010, 12:01 AM
78 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(XionCity @ Nov 14 2010, 11:51 PM) if u hunger for power, 1.6 will b EX, or SX step down to 15-16'' rim....but the real traction/grip feel won't b there anymore.... Thanks for ya speedy reply XionCity. next option is 2.0....best in everyway Of course i understand with such a size, pick up would need to be compromised abit as compared to a small car like fiesta but for forte 1.6sx still in acceptable range since you guys have been driving around for so long? i'm planning to change to a lighter 17" as i dun wanna mess up with my speedometer if i change to 15 or 16. (if im not wrong, the speed shown might not be accurate if i downgrade the original rim size. sorry noob here) Hmm..2.0 is a lil bit out of my budget coz i got other commitment as well. |
Nov 15 2010, 12:04 AM
171 posts Joined: Mar 2010 From: Perth, Western Australia |
even u changed to lighter 17'' rim, ur speedometer will mess up too
dun change factory default settings a.k.a. change rims coz, everything had been calculated and detailed programmed in ECU... if u change = setting corrupt/mess up or gone.. that's y alot of ppl asked me 2 change rim, i refuse....my car, all original |
Nov 15 2010, 12:07 AM
Hahaha.. dun get me wrong XionCity.
I'm not in hunger for speed. Currently im driving a slk (small little kenari) so i felt so frustrated to overtake especially in highway and i test drove my bro's new cruze (damn, its like so reluctant to move or maybe its still new below 1k) |
Nov 15 2010, 12:09 AM
76 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
test drive first and you'll be amazed.. don't forget to bring along your favourite song in thumbdrive.
Nov 15 2010, 12:09 AM
get EX then....oh
if u get EX, when they offer u free rim change, plz tukar for discount in d/p or cash plz....i hate change ori rims, coz will mess up speedometer |
Nov 15 2010, 12:10 AM
2,778 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: about:robots |
QUOTE(jam3s @ Nov 15 2010, 12:07 AM) Hahaha.. dun get me wrong XionCity. no shiftronic/tiptronic in cruze? I'm not in hunger for speed. Currently im driving a slk (small little kenari) so i felt so frustrated to overtake especially in highway and i test drove my bro's new cruze (damn, its like so reluctant to move or maybe its still new below 1k) manual override |
Nov 15 2010, 12:17 AM
Well ... from ya reply i interpret it as not that sluggish coz im not in hunger for speed coz i dun speed more than 150 in highway, mostly 120 or 130 tats it.
Thanks for the head up Taipan. I will definitely test it with my iphone. ayiesz: Well.. i have not tested it myself but my bro told me tat not that significant difference between manual overide. As i said maybe the car is still new and it needs to run in first. |
Nov 15 2010, 12:18 AM
then SX won't failed u....but if i were u, i go for EX....perhaps Inspira also a good choice
Nov 15 2010, 12:20 AM
QUOTE(XionCity @ Nov 15 2010, 12:09 AM) get EX then....oh if i'm not mistaken, the speedometer only affected if you change different size rim.if u get EX, when they offer u free rim change, plz tukar for discount in d/p or cash plz....i hate change ori rims, coz will mess up speedometer if use lightweight or aftermarket rim, the reading is still accurate. even if change to different size rim, the difference in speedo reading is not much. |
Nov 15 2010, 12:21 AM
nope, u r wrong...still affected
my OLD Toyota SEG, by changing stock steel(rim cap type) 14'' to JRD 14'' rim, using back same tyres.....changed drastically |
Nov 15 2010, 12:23 AM
Thanks for everyone useful tips.
I guess i will need to wait till i try out the forte. |
Nov 15 2010, 12:24 AM
1.6SX is sluggish if you're new to the car.
once you get used to it, you'll be fine. and by default the throttle cable is loosen a bit. just tighten it up and no more sluggish and your car response better. |
Nov 15 2010, 12:25 AM
yea, and more makan minyak....
get 1.6SX, and fix custom VS+GC from erictioh done!! but make sure hv 2 let ur SC trusty technical 2 fix it....not outside accessories shop..coz, will void warranty...in term of misunderstanding |
Nov 15 2010, 12:26 AM
2,778 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: about:robots |
QUOTE(Taipan052 @ Nov 15 2010, 12:24 AM) 1.6SX is sluggish if you're new to the car. can we get SC do it for free?once you get used to it, you'll be fine. and by default the throttle cable is loosen a bit. just tighten it up and no more sluggish and your car response better. anyone here changed the spark plug/air filter with better one? i'm aiming K&N AF and iridium spark plug. will SC allow us to bring our own spark plug/air filter? 10k service they will change them right? |
Nov 15 2010, 12:27 AM
QUOTE(XionCity @ Nov 15 2010, 12:21 AM) nope, u r wrong...still affected seriously i dont get it. change in term of what?my OLD Toyota SEG, by changing stock steel(rim cap type) 14'' to JRD 14'' rim, using back same tyres.....changed drastically and you compare with what? use GPS to track stock rim and speedometer.. and after change compare with new rim reading? means if stock rim speedo shown 100km/h;GPS 100km/h.. and if new rim speedo shown 100km/h; GPS show higher/lower than 100km/h? like that? |
Nov 15 2010, 12:28 AM
107 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
u r wrong too, never heard of 3% rule ? The difference within 3% of manufacture tyre rotation measurement won't affect speedometer. It will increase FC as more traction with wider tyre, but stability improves.
Nov 15 2010, 12:29 AM
QUOTE(Taipan052 @ Nov 15 2010, 01:27 AM) seriously i dont get it. change in term of what? GPS 90km/h = stock 103km/hand you compare with what? use GPS to track stock rim and speedometer.. and after change compare with new rim reading? means if stock rim speedo shown 100km/h;GPS 100km/h.. and if new rim speedo shown 100km/h; GPS show higher/lower than 100km/h? like that? GPS 90km/h = sport rim 108km/h |
Nov 15 2010, 12:32 AM
QUOTE(XionCity @ Nov 15 2010, 12:25 AM) yea, and more makan minyak.... bro, no offense, some of your comments lately misleading others.get 1.6SX, and fix custom VS+GC from erictioh done!! but make sure hv 2 let ur SC trusty technical 2 fix it....not outside accessories shop..coz, will void warranty...in term of misunderstanding same like above. any mod to your car will void warranty one. just when come claim for warranty time, just put back all stock condition. SC wont install 3rd party stuff into your car. unless you have good relationship with the boss. and by tighten throttle cable won't affect FC. you just need to control your right foot. QUOTE(ayiesz @ Nov 15 2010, 12:26 AM) can we get SC do it for free? adjust throttle cable can do for free.. ask them to tighten them.anyone here changed the spark plug/air filter with better one? i'm aiming K&N AF and iridium spark plug. will SC allow us to bring our own spark plug/air filter? 10k service they will change them right? SC won't allow 3rd party stuff. try your luck at SC dealer.. SC branch confirm cannot. |
Nov 15 2010, 12:34 AM
QUOTE(Taipan052 @ Nov 15 2010, 01:32 AM) bro, no offense, some of your comments lately misleading others. u r right.....coz i hv good relationship with the boss of the company, as well as his technicals as well....same like above. any mod to your car will void warranty one. just when come claim for warranty time, just put back all stock condition. SC wont install 3rd party stuff into your car. unless you have good relationship with the boss. and by tighten throttle cable won't affect FC. you just need to control your right foot. adjust throttle cable can do for free.. ask them to tighten them. SC won't allow 3rd party stuff. try your luck at SC dealer.. SC branch confirm cannot. acually, VS+GC they fixed for me FOC...and won't void warranty |
| Change to: | 0.0185sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:45 AM |