TSdariofoo
post Mar 26 2011, 11:56 AM

In the kingdom of the blind, the one-eyed man is king
2,795 posts

QUOTE(jalsrix @ Mar 26 2011, 08:57 AM)
My lawyer has asked me for the diff sum (not taking 90% loan) before the request for redemption sum is submitted, is this standard procedure ?

When will the bank release the loan ?

Shouldn't the diff sum and bank loan be released at almost the same time (within few days)

I am afraid if i release my money, the seller will take their own sweet time (ie. after one month) to get redemption statement.
Differential sum is separate from your loan sum. Your financier must be certain that you have the financial capacity to complete the transaction before they commit to redeem the vendor's outstanding loan. That is standard procedure. The diff sum will not be released to the vendor yet. It will be kept by your solicitor in their client's account as stakeholder.

Your SPA should state a duration of time for the vendor to obtain the redemption statement, failing which the completion date would be extended automatically. So there's essentially nothing to be afraid of.

If you deliberately delay forwarding the diff sum to your solicitor, it will delay the transaction indefinitely and things will not move.
TSdariofoo
post Mar 26 2011, 12:13 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(xecton @ Mar 26 2011, 10:00 AM)
Hi all, what are the process of buying an auctioned property?
I've also heard that we need to check for unpaid bills that the previous owner may have neglected. If that is the case, do the bills fall under our responsibility?
You would need to put in a deposit. You would normally only be able to view the property from it's exterior. Attend on the auction date and if you're successful, the rest of the process is about the same as a subsale. You would have to appoint a lawyer, apply for a loan, etc.

With regard to outstanding payments/bills, yes, you would have to pay for everything which is outstanding. It's part of the risk which you take when you purchase such properties. I would advise you to do as much homework to find out as much as possible about the property before you decide to bid for it. Don't get stuck later on once you've committed yourself to it. If there's an existing occupier, all costs of evicting the occupier would be borne by you. All damage to the property would have to be repaired/remedied at your own cost.

Good luck nod.gif
ykl
post Mar 26 2011, 05:03 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Mar 25 2011, 08:37 PM)
1) If they say free legal fees for SPA then yes, you pay nothing for that. With regard to the legal fees on the loan doc, you better check with them. Some developers absorb the fees if you take a loan from their panel banks. Some would not. Best to check with them as the policy differs from one developer to another.

2) The agreement is a standard format agreement based on the Schedule G or Schedule H agreement as provided for by statute. I have uploaded a copy of the Schedule G agreement in the earlier posts of this thread. Perhaps you can print it out and use it as a comparison with your SPA. However, I doubt if there would be any material difference from the standard agreement template as the developer can get into trouble if someone reports it to the authorities.

3) CF has nothing to do with individual title. It only has a bearing on when you can expect to get VP for your property. Individual title depends on the initiative and efficiency of the developer. Some developers even offer individual titles upon signing of the SPA. They offer it as part of the package to attract purchasers. It is very hard to estimate. Some get it done even during the launch of sales, while some developers drag their feet for years before eventually splashing the cash to apply for subdivision. Hopefully your developer has a good reputation. Some homework on the Internet to gauge their previous projects, if any, would be useful.

Good luck  smile.gif
hi, thank you very much for the info, the SA told me that the loan legal fee is not covered, so may i know roughly how much for the legal fee for loan? If the developer take few year time to give us the individual title would that be a problem? Because according to the SA they told me that take longer to take the individual title is good because can enjoy more year for the leasehold land - mean that after subdivision the lease will start from 99year again. Is this true or just some sales talk?
mikeyyh
post Mar 28 2011, 10:57 AM

39 posts

Is it safe to use bank panel's lawyer? Are they effective?

Also, according to my agent, it will be much faster to process the release title, MOT etc if the vendor and buyer are on the same bank. Is it true?

Thanks!
TSdariofoo
post Mar 28 2011, 11:48 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(ykl @ Mar 26 2011, 05:03 PM)
hi, thank you very much for the info, the SA told me that the loan legal fee is not covered, so may i know roughly how much for the legal fee for loan? If the developer take few year time to give us the individual title would that be a problem? Because according to the SA they told me that take longer to take the individual title is good because can enjoy more year for the leasehold land - mean that after subdivision the lease will start from 99year again. Is this true or just some sales talk?
This link is quite helpful to calculate:
http://www.fiscal-wise.com.my/FinancialToo...Calculator.aspx

With regard to your query if the lease will "start from 99year again" after subdivision, let me check on that and get back to you. Interesting question. hmm.gif
TSdariofoo
post Mar 28 2011, 11:58 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(mikeyyh @ Mar 28 2011, 10:57 AM)
Is it safe to use bank panel's lawyer? Are they effective?
Safe? In what sense? Effective? In what sense? All these are subjective questions where no one can give you a definite, general answer. The speed, smoothness and efficiency of the whole transaction depends on the parties involved, the SPA solicitor, the land office, LHDN, the banks itself, the developer (if applicable), etc. If one part gets stuck, the whole engine can't move and gets stuck as well. It has nothing to do with the fact that your loan documentation is handled by a firm who sits on the bank's panel.

Some people may tell you things like, 'Bank panel lawyers are better because they are big, experienced, have a lot of staff, they know what the banks want, etc etc'.

All that is hogwash and once again, is a general statement which is not applicable across the board. Who says bank panel firms are big? And who says that big is good? If you look at it from another perspective, big means that each clerk is handling a lot of files - which means that she would find it difficult to pay more attention to your file to ensure that things move A.S.A.P as she has to divide her attention between all her files. See my point,mate? wink.gif

As I've always mentioned in this thread - go for recommendations when you appoint a law firm, be it for your SPA or your loan. If you're convinced that your SPA lawyer is capable enough to do your loan doc, and the bank doesn't mind to allow the firm to do it on an ad hoc basis, by all means, use the same law firm! smile.gif

Ask your friends and family to recommend.

QUOTE(mikeyyh @ Mar 28 2011, 10:57 AM)
Also, according to my agent, it will be much faster to process the release title, MOT etc if the vendor and buyer are on the same bank. Is it true?
Still not safe to generalise, as slip-ups and mistake do happen internally, but most of the time, yes, it would be faster smile.gif

sansi
post Mar 28 2011, 03:12 PM

Hi Dario,

I managed to get this note of charges from the lawyer by email. However, I'm still waiting confirmation of final charges from them whether it's RM 1504 or RM 1922.

Beside that, what is the estimate charges if I appoint my own lawyer assuming the selling price as stated below?

Your advise very much appreciated.

Selling Price : RM560,000

LEGAL FEES Disbursement Charges

Discharge of Charge (2 sets) 600.00
Filing Form CKHT 1 (2 Sets) 600.00

DISBURSEMENTS
Stamping Discharge of Charge (2 sets) 20.00
Filing Discharge of Charge (2 Sets) 180.00
Affirmation Fees on SD & Stamping 40.00
Change of Title 20.00
Bankruptcy Search 40.00
Transportation Fees 200.00
Miscellaneous Charges 150.00
6% Government Tax 72.00
---------
-------- Total : 1,922.00

mikeyyh
post Mar 28 2011, 03:15 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Mar 28 2011, 11:58 AM)
Safe? In what sense? Effective? In what sense? All these are subjective questions where no one can give you a definite, general answer. The speed, smoothness and efficiency of the whole transaction depends on the parties involved, the SPA solicitor, the land office, LHDN, the banks itself, the developer (if applicable), etc. If one part gets stuck, the whole engine can't move and gets stuck as well. It has nothing to do with the fact that your loan documentation is handled by a firm who sits on the bank's panel.

Some people may tell you things like, 'Bank panel lawyers are better because they are big, experienced, have a lot of staff, they know what the banks want, etc etc'.

All that is hogwash and once again, is a general statement which is not applicable across the board. Who says bank panel firms are big? And who says that big is good? If you look at it from another perspective, big means that each clerk is handling a lot of files - which means that she would find it difficult to pay more attention to your file to ensure that things move A.S.A.P as she has to divide her attention between all her files. See my point,mate?  wink.gif

As I've always mentioned in this thread - go for recommendations when you appoint a law firm, be it for your SPA or your loan. If you're convinced that your SPA lawyer is capable enough to do your loan doc, and the bank doesn't mind to allow the firm to do it on an ad hoc basis, by all means, use the same law firm!  smile.gif

Ask your friends and family to recommend.
Still not safe to generalise, as slip-ups and mistake do happen internally, but most of the time, yes, it would be faster  smile.gif
Thanks dario! Cheers smile.gif
ykl
post Mar 28 2011, 03:42 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Mar 28 2011, 11:48 AM)
This link is quite helpful to calculate:

With regard to your query if the lease will "start from 99year again" after subdivision, let me check on that and get back to you. Interesting question.  hmm.gif
Hi, thank you very much for the info, and hope can see your result regarding the subdivision part. smile.gif
TSdariofoo
post Mar 28 2011, 04:39 PM

2,795 posts

Sansi:

Why discharge of charge 2 sets? There's 2 individual titles is it? Do check.

Bankruptcy search RM40 is not needed as it is the purchaser who has the duty to check on the status of the vendor (you). What this lawyer is trying to do is to push the cost of the bankruptcy search to you, which is unjustified. Don't be surprised if he also charges his clients the same but uses the same search. doh.gif

Transportation fees of RM200 is way too expensive. Misc charges fixed by the law is only RM50, so this RM150 once again is not justified.

What is RM20 for change of title????? I've no idea what that means.

Just double check all of the above with them as the difference is quite a bit.

With regard to legal fees if you appoint your own solicitor, the fees can be calculated here (insert the selling price):

nod.gif

This post has been edited by dariofoo: Mar 28 2011, 04:39 PM
TSdariofoo
post Mar 28 2011, 04:42 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(mikeyyh @ Mar 28 2011, 03:15 PM)
Thanks dario! Cheers  smile.gif
cheers.gif

QUOTE(ykl @ Mar 28 2011, 03:42 PM)
Hi, thank you very much for the info, and hope can see your result regarding the subdivision part.  smile.gif
cheers.gif

Will revert with an answer but do give me time to climb the highest mountain and seek guidance from the ultimate sifu of sifus of sifus sweat.gif
ykl
post Mar 28 2011, 06:05 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Mar 28 2011, 04:42 PM)
cheers.gif
cheers.gif

Will revert with an answer but do give me time to climb the highest mountain and seek guidance from the ultimate sifu of sifus of sifus   sweat.gif
hahaha... really thanks! This is my 1st house so hope can know more to minimise the possible problem that may happened... cheers.gif
sansi
post Mar 28 2011, 06:30 PM

Why discharge of charge 2 sets? There's 2 individual titles is it?

Yes, 2 individual titles. (me & spouse)

Transportation fees of RM200 is way too expensive

What is the reasonable fees?

From your point of view, what is the reasonable overall fees charge by lawyer as I'm a vendor
with the selling price 560,000 and 2 individual titles.

Of course I will double check with them vmad.gif
Thanks mate!

This post has been edited by sansi: Mar 28 2011, 06:54 PM
Seremban_2
post Mar 28 2011, 09:10 PM

1,491 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Mar 28 2011, 04:39 PM)
Sansi:

What is RM20 for change of title????? I've no idea what that means.

Change of title is to change the old version, torn and crumple title to a new title. The land office charges RM20.

1) Postage/Courier/Telephone/other expenses.

2) Printing of document.

1 and 2 your lawyer forgot to bill into your bill. Remember to ask him to add in 1 and 2 and remove the unwanted extra billing. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Seremban_2: Mar 28 2011, 09:22 PM
tishaban
post Mar 29 2011, 07:57 AM

3,615 posts

First of all dario, thanks very much for the thread. It's been very useful and answered many of my questions already.

I bought a property from the developer and am now selling it off before the property has been completed. If there are any delays on the developer side and the developer pays penalties, will that come to me as the official current owner or to the new buyer?

This post has been edited by tishaban: Mar 29 2011, 08:38 AM
TSdariofoo
post Mar 29 2011, 11:46 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(sansi @ Mar 28 2011, 06:30 PM)
Yes, 2 individual titles. (me & spouse)
Two individual registered proprietors and two individual titles are different altogether. I was asking if your property sits on two different titles, hence the need for two discharge of charges. Do check.

QUOTE(sansi @ Mar 28 2011, 06:30 PM)
What is the reasonable fees?
From your point of view, what is the reasonable overall fees charge by lawyer as I'm a vendor
with the selling price 560,000 and 2 individual titles.
What is reasonable differs from person to person. Hard to tell. If you want to appoint your own lawyer you'd better start getting a few recommendations and compare quotations. At the end of the day, decide yourself what is reasonable to you.

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post Mar 29 2011, 11:49 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(Seremban_2 @ Mar 28 2011, 09:10 PM)
Change of title is to change the old version, torn and crumple title to a new title. The land office charges RM20.

1) Postage/Courier/Telephone/other expenses.

2) Printing of document.

1 and 2 your lawyer forgot to bill into your bill. Remember to ask him to add in 1 and 2 and remove the unwanted extra billing.  biggrin.gif
Bro,

It's not his lawyer. It's the purchaser's solicitor. He's unrepresented.

And why advise him to ask the lawyer to add in things when the lawyer does not see fit to include those in the bill? hmm.gif

At the end of the day lawyer goes like this - drool.gif
Client goes like this - cry.gif
Moderator goes like this - bruce.gif
dariofoo goes like this - sweat.gif
You'll go like this - ph34r.gif

This post has been edited by dariofoo: Mar 29 2011, 11:50 AM
TSdariofoo
post Mar 29 2011, 11:57 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(Seremban_2 @ Mar 28 2011, 09:10 PM)
Boss, then I think the term the lawyer ought to mention is replacement title, not change of title. Plus I highly doubt so as the lawyer would not know that the current issue document of title is crumpled or torn as same is still being held by the vendor's financier (based on the fact that the discharge of charge has not been done yet).

So I think it's something else. No worries. Sansi shall check it out. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post Mar 29 2011, 12:03 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Mar 29 2011, 07:57 AM)
First of all dario, thanks very much for the thread. It's been very useful and answered many of my questions already.

I bought a property from the developer and am now selling it off before the property has been completed. If there are any delays on the developer side and the developer pays penalties, will that come to me as the official current owner or to the new buyer?
Good of you to read through. Knowledge is power,brother. When you are knowledgeable, even lawyers go like this -> sweat.gif

QUOTE(tishaban @ Mar 29 2011, 07:57 AM)
What do you mean by "delays on the developer side and the developer pays penalties" ,bro? If delay on the part of the developer to provide a letter of confirmation then it would not normally affect things much as most agreements are drafted whereby the completion date would start to run from the date of receipt of the letter of confirmation. So the delay in that part, if any, would not affect you directly (in the sense that you need not cough up any money for penalties, etc) but the effect is that the completion date would run longer, thus you would have to wait longer to receive your balance purchase price.

Other than that there's basically no other concerns,really. Appoint a good law firm to run the show for you, and relax nod.gif
tishaban
post Mar 29 2011, 12:34 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Mar 29 2011, 12:03 PM)
Other than that there's basically no other concerns,really. Appoint a good law firm to run the show for you, and relax  nod.gif
The "good law firm" part is what concerns me now. I do know a bad law firm having dealt with them many years ago but the rest that I've dealt with while buying and refinancing have been almost invisible that I don't know if they're good or bad if something goes wrong...

But thanks again, reading 20 pages kept me awake this morning biggrin.gif

128 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0313sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:04 PM