AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V24, Thuban or Bulldozer!? Its 6-Season

TSAMDAthlon
post Nov 1 2010, 10:42 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Nov 1 2010, 10:40 PM)
That price to me i would say quite ok, the lowest i can scan thru the pricelist online are RM389, soo should be ok smile.gif

IINM Sapphire GPU has 2 Year Warranty smile.gif unless selected models.
TSAMDAthlon
post Nov 15 2010, 01:40 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Nov 14 2010, 09:52 PM)
yes..its more like ngam2 for the sweet volt..
more volt not just not helping, it will make things worse.. i wonder..
tried with regors and propus.. both same..

i wonder it is only me  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

while using the evo.. this kind of tweaks, i really enjoy..

but with ud3.. i kindda hate it..because vdimm and vIMC need to be changed in bios.. evo got turboV..
that is why less result produced these days.. and now the evo pulak mati.. haish..
Sometimes higher volt doesnt meant will have stability.Maybe there are other factors?
But looking at that i think its the mobo is failing..

TSAMDAthlon
post Nov 19 2010, 05:52 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

ok some update on Bulldozer and fusion just for fun tongue.gif

Zambezi: 8, 6 and 4 core models: DDR3-1866, 32nm SOI.
Socket: AM3+

TSAMDAthlon
post Nov 20 2010, 12:28 AM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Nov 19 2010, 07:00 PM)
This is where i'm starting to get confused, is both the bulldozer & Llano chippies share the same socket? I mean are they both gonna use AM3+ socket? hmm.gif
Or are they going to the route like Intel, having a different socket for mainstream and highend eg: LGA1155 & LGA2011? hmm.gif
If they're using the same socket that means from a thuban i can just upgrade my mobo & after that maybe somewhere down the line i can opt to go for a bulldozer or Llano core, if thats true wow that gonna be sweet  drool.gif
No.

If you realize,Llano uses socket FM1 for desktop while BGA for laptops i guess.

So yes it is separate since it uses different architechture.

But for you,u just get AM3 + la,then put ur Thuban then kumpul $$ buy Bulldozer lor whistling.gif

I maybe going for Bulldozer 4 Core if not i will just go Llano..

Who knows Llano future socket might compatible with its own Fusion chip? smile.gif

And do expect next generation Bulldozer and Fusion(2012) to use 1 socket since both of the arch will have Integrated Graphic smile.gif

This post has been edited by AMDAthlon: Nov 20 2010, 12:29 AM
TSAMDAthlon
post Nov 24 2010, 01:44 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

No.Llano and Bulldozer wont use same socket IINM

Llano uses FM1 while Bulldozer uses AM3+ no?Didnt i showed you before the roadmap?

take a look at this roadmap vs bulldozer

and bulldozer :-

In the future,Bulldozer will also have IGP,which means they(Bulldozer and Fusion) might use same socket in the future..but not now..

Since Fusion APU has already GPU inside it,there would be no need for IGP on its motherboard(FM1).That IGP should be for Bulldozer Socket(AM3+) which it support older AM3 Processor.

This post has been edited by AMDAthlon: Nov 24 2010, 01:50 PM
TSAMDAthlon
post Nov 24 2010, 06:38 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

Ahha no need to worry which path to take le.

We'll just see how it performs and announced then decide.But we cannot do anything with socket also because its architechtural differences.

TSAMDAthlon
post Nov 25 2010, 09:41 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

Eh guys,i dont know whats problem with my sister PC le.

The system keep hang/BSOD eventhough in stock mode.

I already tested the RAM with memtest but detect no error.What problems could it be?(before this i unlock the sempron,so i tot its sempron problem then i back to Single Core but the problem still persist).
TSAMDAthlon
post Nov 25 2010, 10:26 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Nov 25 2010, 10:06 PM)
even in safe mode?  hmm.gif
Didnt tried yet.But if safe mode still same thing happend,what could causes this?
Because when this thing happend,i need to shutdown the pc then nid wait few mins before can turn on back. doh.gif
If saying temperature it is very cool enough <40C
I still wonder sweat.gif

This post has been edited by AMDAthlon: Nov 25 2010, 10:27 PM
TSAMDAthlon
post Nov 26 2010, 11:01 AM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Nov 26 2010, 09:23 AM)
easy, if safe mode ok > driver/software related issue. if safe mode still d same, prolly hw issue. could be d board is givin u all d problems. what board is that btw?  hmm.gif

try to bring d board outta d case too if possible, mebe short circuit between mobo & case? wild guess only thou...  tongue.gif
If short circuit between case and mobo,it wouldnt power up at all,i experienced it before.

It is Asus M4A785 TD V-EVo sth like that forgot le.. Using 785 Chipset.

Any other kind of hardware problems maybe?
TSAMDAthlon
post Nov 26 2010, 11:56 AM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Nov 26 2010, 11:09 AM)
if ram & chip is ok, either board or gfx only. but if u can memtest for long period, i doubt bsod is caused by board.  smile.gif
GFX use integrated.Whatelse eh? sweat.gif

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Nov 26 2010, 11:23 AM)
Maybe ram incompatible? Last time my friend pc like that also, cabut gpu try other gpu, cabut psu try other psu, lastly i gave him my kingston kvr to try on his pc & then no prob whatsoever..
Its like his mobo is picky with ram type sweat.gif
How come incompatible?Its the same RAM i used since i buy.Before this no problem,just recently only doh.gif

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Nov 26 2010, 11:50 AM)
hey guys

its been a while since i drop by here.got a few toys to play around with this weekend and im gonna post out some screenie.

sneezec4fsneeze
I will be waiting brows.gif
TSAMDAthlon
post Nov 26 2010, 12:46 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Nov 26 2010, 12:12 PM)
What toys are those??  drool.gif  drool.gif
Well it was kinda the same, after assembling it went well with his pc tooo at 1st, a month after i piece up his rig he start to face numerous reboot, hangs etc..
Tested the ram one by one using memtest it was ok, but when used as a pair it went haywire.. demm..
Then i gave him my kvr's all his problem just went away.. hmm.gif
Maybe i have to swap with my RAM too right?
I wonder if i will face same problem if i use my sister RAM....

I will try that later.
TSAMDAthlon
post Nov 28 2010, 03:01 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Nov 28 2010, 11:02 AM)
Woooooowwww nice one there bro, and still people kept fretting that AMD stock HSF are a piece of crap laugh.gif tongue.gif
I can see some intel stock fan in action too albeit as a ram cooler tho laugh.gif and demm just love the low cpu volt u use to go 4ghz there  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

Mind to do maybe a single run of Vantage while u at it also bro?  tongue.gif
their ambient temp is very cool compared to Malaysia. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Nov 28 2010, 02:03 PM)
never knew the new 6 core is this cool on load
Now you know,go push it whistling.gif
TSAMDAthlon
post Nov 28 2010, 03:54 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

Looks good on me,but you dont want find sweet spot a?
TSAMDAthlon
post Nov 29 2010, 11:56 AM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

bro cloud

I already tried with changing RAM still no avail doh.gif

It hangs then black screen,restart cannot Post edy

Is it possible of mobo faulty or processor faulty?
TSAMDAthlon
post Nov 29 2010, 04:28 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Nov 29 2010, 04:09 PM)
It seems like faulty mobo to me, if u already try different cpu & ram still it persist confirm mobo fault..  sweat.gif
Still under warranty kah? hmm.gif I forgot already but is it a DDR2 mobo or DDR3 mobo meh? If DDr2, if u need a cpu i got an old X2 3600+ that u can try if u want.. hmm.gif
BTW have u try other SATA & IDE cables too? Maybe just cable fault, hopefully ah..
Wah cable fault also can hang/bsod meh?

It is DDR3 anyway,i will try other CPU first and try changing the cable and i'll tell u the results.
But why the mobo become faulty anyway? doh.gif

It was working fine,out of blue it gg - -..

CPU replacement from AMD is fast smile.gif

Mine take 2 weeks only biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AMDAthlon: Nov 29 2010, 04:28 PM
TSAMDAthlon
post Nov 29 2010, 05:26 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 29 2010, 05:11 PM)
checked again and again that heatsink is locked and secured...

voltage wise i never fiddle with it... juz purely raising the bus speed to 220MHz...

anyway, think i should ve done this earlier...

CPU - Athlon x2 5200+ Brisbane (oc @ 2.9GHz)
Mobo - Biostar TA790GX XE
GPU - Sapphire Radeon HD4670 1GB GDDR3
RAM - Kingstom KVR DDR2 800MHz CL5 1GB x2
Heatsink - Scythe Shuriken Rev B
TIM - Arctic MX2
PSU - CM Extreme Power Plus 460W
Chasis - CM Elite 470
Oh brisbane..the old days.It is known for sensor problem.Try to touch the heatsink when the temperature is high and see if it is really hot as reported.
If it is not hot as reported by the sensor,then you have nothing to worry.If it auto-shutdown,turn the feature off at BIOS.

This post has been edited by AMDAthlon: Nov 29 2010, 05:26 PM
TSAMDAthlon
post Nov 29 2010, 10:18 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 29 2010, 09:59 PM)
thanks for the heads up, i let it ran Folding@Home for the past 2 hrs@ default settings  and surprisingly the max temp on HWMonitor is only 66C for Core 0 and 71C for Core 1...

opened up to touch it... it's slightly warm, i can put my finger on the heatsink for a long period...

i am not sure if i really want to keep it at oc settings.. hmm.gif
Go ahead,its nothing wrong actually.It is known for its sensor problem. sweat.gif

So cloud,it is confirmed board faulty ka?
TSAMDAthlon
post Nov 29 2010, 10:57 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 29 2010, 10:25 PM)
lol, but juz 10% oc and i ve experienced auto shut down before... sweat.gif
Auto Shutdown.I said before,you need to off the feature @ BIOS since your proc has sensor problems.

TSAMDAthlon
post Nov 29 2010, 11:02 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 29 2010, 10:59 PM)
ah, alright... i will try that again...
Since you here,next year you getting new netbook ma?

You see Bobcat review jor? biggrin.gif
TSAMDAthlon
post Nov 30 2010, 03:34 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Nov 30 2010, 01:53 PM)
i clock till my pant drops oso can't reach that kinda score. bro verdict really expert... wonder what's his secret kungfu...  icon_idea.gif
Ah khoo,your place reach AMD Phenom II X4 970 le ma?

If yes how much it is.The proc is Zosma Based Processor brows.gif icon_idea.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0591sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:30 PM